Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 5, 2024 is in compliance with time for filing requirements of 37 C.F.R. 1.97, and thus, the information disclosure statement has been considered except as otherwise indicated. The examiner notes that the second citation of CN 10821273 A has been struck through because this citation is a duplicate.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the switching elements connected to the first sensing signal line are connected in parallel, on page 1 lines 15-16. This limitation lacks antecedent basis because independent claim 1, which claim 2 depends from, recites a first number, which can include the number one, of the plurality of switching elements electrically connected to a first sensing line while the switching elements is a plural term that requires at least two switching elements. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpretated as reciting two switching elements are connected to the first sensing signal line are connected in parallel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 20170051713 A) in view of Zou et al. (US 10,371,980). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Moon refer to paragraphs of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 1:
Moon discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first sensing signal line (touch line, See fig. 6, ref no. 524b, paragraphs 6 and 90) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraphs 6 and 90) and electrically connected to a first number (two transistors, See fig. 6, ref. no. T2, paragraphs 92-95 and 99) of the plurality of switching elements (plurality of transistors, See fig. 6, ref. nos. T1, T2, T3, paragraphs 92-95 and 99. The examiner notes the different W/L ratios of transistors T1, T2, T3 correspond to different numbers of parallel transistors having the same W/L ratio connected to the touch lines as follows: the first transistor T1 has a W/L ratio of 1/4 the third transistor and the first transistor T1 corresponds to one transistor, the second transistor T2 has a W/L ratio of 1/2 the third transistor and the second transistor T2 corresponds two parallel transistors, and the third transistor T3 corresponds four parallel transistors.); and
a second sensing signal line (touch line, See fig. 6, ref no. 524a, paragraphs 6 and 90) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraphs 6 and 90) and electrically connected to a second number (one transistor, See fig. 6, ref. no. T1 and paragraphs 92-95 and 99) of the plurality of switching elements,
and the first number is different from the second number (the first number of transistors is two and the second number of transistors is one, See fig. 6, ref. no. T1, T2, paragraphs 92-95 and 99).
Moon does not disclose a substrate having a peripheral area; a plurality of switching elements disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area; and
wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line.
Zou discloses a substrate (display substrate, See fig. 10 and paragraph 47) having a peripheral area (peripheral area, See fig. 10, ref. no. B and paragraph 47);
a plurality of switching elements (plurality of switches in the peripheral area of the display substrate, See fig. 10 ref. no. 9 and paragraph 47) disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon to include a substrate having a peripheral area and a plurality of switching elements disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area as taught by Zou in order to simply manufacture of the touch display device by forming the transistors on the same substrate as the touch lines.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line.
Zou discloses wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line (the plurality of switches are electrically connected to a common electrode line, See fig. 10, ref. nos. 7, 9, and paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line in order reduce differences in the voltages being supplied to the transistors.
Regarding Claim 2:
Moon discloses wherein the switching elements connected to the first sensing signal line are connected in parallel (two transistors having the same W/L ratio are connected in parallel to create a W/L ratio of 1/2 of the four transistors connected in parallel that correspond to the third transistor T3, See paragraphs 92-95 and 99).
Regarding Claim 3:
Moon discloses wherein the plurality of switching elements comprise transistors (plurality of transistors, See fig. 6, ref. nos. T1, T2, T3, paragraphs 92-95 and 99).
Regarding Claim 6:
Moon discloses wherein the transistors comprise two transistors connected in parallel (two transistors having the same W/L ratio are connected in parallel to create a W/L ratio of 1/2 of the four transistors connected in parallel that correspond to the third transistor T3, See paragraphs 92-95 and 99).
Regarding Claim 7:
Moon discloses wherein the first sensing signal line is connected to a first sensing electrode (T shaped touch electrode, See fig. 6, ref. no. 522b, 524b, and paragraphs 90-92), the second sensing line is connected to a second sensing electrode (L shaped touch electrode, See fig. 6, ref. no. 522a, 522b, and paragraphs 90-92), and a first electrode width of the first sensing electrode along a direction is different from a second electrode width of the second sensing electrode along the direction (the T shaped touch electrode has a larger width than the L shaped electrode in the horizontal direction, See fig. 6, ref. nos. 522a, 522b).
Regarding Claim 8:
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo discloses the above stated electronic device.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein the direction is an extending direction of a gate line.
Zuo disclose a gate line extending a horizontal direction (See fig. 10, ref. no. 9 and paragraph 47. The horizontal line connecting the gates of the transistors is being read on a gate line).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include a gate line connecting the gates of the transistors as taught by Zou in order to reduce the amount of wiring to operate the transistors.
Regarding Claim 9:
Moon discloses wherein the first electrode width is greater than the second electrode width (the T shaped touch electrode has a larger width than the L shaped electrode in the horizontal direction, See fig. 6, ref. nos. 522a, 522b), and the first number is greater than the second number the first number of transistors is two and the second number of transistors is one, See fig. 6, ref. no. T1, T2, paragraphs 92-95 and 99)
Regarding Claim 10:
Moon discloses wherein a width of the first sensing electrode along a direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the gate line is the same as a width of the second sensing electrode along the direction perpendicular to the extending direction of the gate line (the T shaped touch electrode and the L shaped electrode have the same largest width dimension in the direction perpendicular to the gate line, See fig. 6, ref. nos. 522a, 522b).
Regarding Claim 11:
Moon discloses wherein a ratio of the first electrode width to the second electrode width is greater than 1.2 (the ratio of the T shaped touch electrode width to the L shaped touch electrode width is 2, See fig. 6, ref. nos. 522a, 522b, and paragraph 92. The examiner notes that the touch panel is formed from a repeating pattern of T shaped touch electrodes and cross shaped touch electrodes with touch electrodes at the edges of the panel being portions of a T shaped touch electrode or a portion of a cross shaped touch electrode. The examiner next notes that Moon discloses the L shaped touch electrode has an area half the size of the T shaped touch electrode, thus, the L shaped touch electrode is half of a T shaped electrode touch electrode. The examiner now notes the L shaped touch electrode has a width 1/2 of the width of the T shaped touch electrode. Therefore, the ratio of the width of the T shaped touch electrode to the width of the L shaped touch electrode is 1 / (1/2) = 2.)
Regarding Claim 1 (The examiner notes that subsequent rejections in view of Yang et al. refer to this rejection of claim 1):
Moon discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first sensing signal line (touch line, See fig. 6, ref no. 524a, paragraphs 6 and 90) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraphs 6 and 90) and electrically connected to a first number (one transistor, See fig. 6, ref. no. T1, paragraphs 92-95 and 99) of the plurality of switching elements (plurality of transistors, See fig. 6, ref. nos. T1, T2, T3, paragraphs 92-95 and 99. The examiner notes the different W/L ratios of transistors T1, T2, T3 correspond to different numbers of parallel transistors having the same W/L ratio connected to the touch lines as follows: the first transistor T1 has a W/L ratio of 1/4 the third transistor and the first transistor T1 corresponds to one transistor, the second transistor T2 has a W/L ratio of 1/2 the third transistor and the second transistor T2 corresponds two parallel transistors, and the third transistor T3 corresponds four parallel transistors.); and
a second sensing signal line (touch line, See fig. 6, ref no. 524b, paragraphs 6 and 90) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraphs 6 and 90) and electrically connected to a second number (two transistors, See fig. 6, ref. no. T2 and paragraphs 92-95 and 99) of the plurality of switching elements,
and the first number is different from the second number (the first number of transistors is one and the second number of transistors is two, See fig. 6, ref. no. T1, T2, paragraphs 92-95 and 99).
Moon does not disclose a substrate having a peripheral area; a plurality of switching elements disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area; and
wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line.
Zou discloses a substrate (display substrate, See fig. 10 and paragraph 47) having a peripheral area (peripheral area, See fig. 10, ref. no. B and paragraph 47);
a plurality of switching elements (plurality of switches in the peripheral area of the display substrate, See fig. 10 ref. no. 9 and paragraph 47) disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area;
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon to include a substrate having a peripheral area and a plurality of switching elements disposed on the substrate and disposed in the peripheral area as taught by Zou in order to simply manufacture of the touch display device by forming the transistors on the same substrate as the touch lines.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line.
Zou discloses wherein the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line (the plurality of switches are electrically connected to a common electrode line, See fig. 10, ref. nos. 7, 9, and paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include the plurality of switching elements is electrically connected to a common signal line in order reduce differences in the voltages being supplied to the transistors.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 20170051713 A) and Zou et al. (US 10,371,980) in view of Fujishima et al. (JP 2012074920 A). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Fujishima refer to paragraphs of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 4:
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo discloses the above stated electronic device.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein each of the transistors comprises a pair of gate electrodes.
Fujishima discloses transistors that comprises a pair of gate electrodes (See fig. 3, ref. no. Q2 and paragraph 28)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include each of the transistors comprises a pair of gate electrodes as taught by Fujishima in order to provide for a greater tolerance for misalignment when connecting the gate electrodes of the transistors to a common line.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 20170051713 A) and Zou et al. (US 10,371,980) in view of Lin et al. (US 2022/0130874)
Regarding Claim 5:
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo discloses the above stated electronic device.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein each of the transistors comprises a source electrode and a drain electrode and either the source electrode or the drain electrode is U-shaped.
Lin discloses a transistor (thin film transistor, See fig. 1 and paragraph 39) that comprises a source electrode (source, See fig. 1, ref. no. 31) and a drain electrode (the drain is a U-shaped structure, See fig. 1, ref. no. 32 and paragraph 43) and either the source electrode or the drain electrode is U-shaped.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include each of the transistors comprises a source electrode and a U-shaped drain electrode as taught by Lin
in order to reduce delay time of the transistor. (See Lin paragraph 41.)
Claims 7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon et al. (KR 20170051713 A) and Zou et al. (US 10,371,980) in view of Yang et al. (CN 110047422 A). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Yang refer to paragraphs of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 7:
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo discloses the above stated electronic device.
The above stated combination of Moon and Zuo does not disclose wherein the first sensing signal line is connected to a first sensing electrode, the second sensing line is connected to a second sensing electrode, and a first electrode width of the first sensing electrode along a direction is different from a second electrode width of the second sensing electrode along the direction.
Yang discloses wherein the first sensing signal line (second signal line connected to the second common electrode block third in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. no. 322, 332, paragraphs 32 and 36-37) is connected to a first sensing electrode (the second common electrode block third in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. no. 322, paragraphs 32 and 36-37), the second sensing line (first signal line connected to the first common electrode block fourth in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. no. 321, 331, paragraphs 32 and 36-37) is connected to a second sensing electrode (the first common electrode block fourth in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. no. 321, paragraphs 32 and 36-37), and a first electrode width of the first sensing electrode along a direction is different from a second electrode width of the second sensing electrode along the direction (the width at the bottom of the second common electrode block third in from the left on the top row is less than the width at the bottom of the first common electrode block fourth in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. nos. 321, 322).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon and Zou to include have the touch electrode layout as taught by Yang in order to provide an area where a camera can be placed. (See Yang paragraph 5)
Regarding Claim 12:
The above stated combination of Moon, Zuo, and Yang discloses wherein the substrate has a display area adjacent to the peripheral area (display area adjacent to the peripheral area, See Zuo, fig. 10, ref. nos. A,B and paragraph 47), the display area comprises an opening area (cutout area, See Yang figs. 1-4, ref. no. 311 and paragraph 32), and the first sensing electrode is closer to the opening area than the second sensing electrode (the second common electrode block third in from the left on the top row is closer to the cutout area than the second common electrode block fourth in from the left on the top row, See figs. 1-4, ref. nos. 311, 321, 322).
Regarding Claim 13:
Yang discloses wherein the first sensing electrode has a shape corresponding to the opening area (the bottom left portion of the second common electrode block third in from the left on the top row has a curved shape, See figs. 1-4, ref. nos. 311, 322).
Regarding Claim 14:
The above stated combination of Moon, Zuo, and Yang discloses the above stated electronic device.
The above stated combination of Moon, Zuo, and Yang does not disclose an optical sensing module, a communication module, or a combination thereof disposed in the opening area.
Yang discloses a camera set in a punch-hole hole area of a display area of a display panel (See paragraph 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Moon, Zou, and Yang include a camera as taught by Yang in order to increase the functionality of the touch display device.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (CN 110162219 A) in view of Zou et al. (US 10,371,980). The examiner notes that the citations to paragraphs of Lee refer to paragraphs of the attached English language translation.
Regarding Claim 15 (The examiner notes that the subsequent rejections of claims 16-18 refer to this rejection of claim 15):
Lee discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first switching element (transistor, See fig. 2, ref. no. T1 and paragraph 47) and a second switching element (transistor, See fig. 2, ref. no. T4 and paragraph 47) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraph 58);
a first sensing signal line (sensing line electrically connected to transistor T1, See fig. 2, ref. nos. SL, T1, and paragraph 36) electrically connected to the first switching element; and
a second sensing signal line (sensing line electrically connected to transistor T4, See fig. 2, ref. nos. SL, T4, and paragraph 36) electrically connected to the second switching element,
wherein a channel area (the channel area of the transistor T1 is the left channel area shown in figure 3A, See fig. 3A and paragraphs 56-57) of the first switching element has a first channel width (channel width, See fig. 3A, ref. no. W1) along a direction (vertical direction, See fig. 3A), a channel area (the channel area of the transistor T4 is the middle channel area shown in figure 3A, See fig. 3A and paragraphs 56-57) of the second switching element has a second channel width (channel width, See fig. 3A, ref. no. W2) along the direction (vertical direction, See fig. 3A), and the first channel width is different from the second channel width (the channel width W1 is larger than the channel width W2, See fig. 3A, ref. nos. W1, W2).
Lee does not disclose a substrate having a peripheral area, the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area, the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate, and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate.
Zou discloses a substrate (display substrate, See fig. 10 and paragraph 47) having a peripheral area (peripheral area, See fig. 10, ref. no. B and paragraph 47); the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area (plurality of switches in the peripheral area of the display substrate, See fig. 10 ref. no. 9 and paragraph 47), the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate (lead wire electrically connected to a switch of the plurality of switches, See fig. 10, ref. no. 3 and paragraph 47), and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate (lead wire electrically connected to another switch of the plurality of switches, See fig. 10, ref. no. 3 and paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Lee to include a substrate having a peripheral area, the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area, the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate, and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate as taught by Zou in order to simply manufacture of the touch display device by forming the transistors and sensing signal lines on the same substrate.
Regarding Claim 15 (The examiner notes that the subsequent rejections of claims 19-20 refer to this rejection of claim 15):
Lee discloses an electronic device, comprising:
a first switching element (transistor, See fig. 4, ref. no. T1 and paragraph 69) and a second switching element (transistor, See fig. 4, ref. no. T2 and paragraph 69) disposed on the substrate (substrate, See paragraph 58);
a first sensing signal line (sensing line electrically connected to transistor T1, See fig. 4, ref. nos. SL, T1, and paragraph 36) electrically connected to the first switching element; and
a second sensing signal line (sensing line electrically connected to transistor T2, See fig. 4, ref. nos. SL, T2, and paragraph 36) electrically connected to the second switching element,
wherein a channel area (the channel area of the transistor T1 is the left channel area shown in figure 3B, See fig. 3B and paragraph 69) of the first switching element has a first channel width (channel length, See fig. 3B, ref. no. L1) along a direction (horizontal direction, See fig. 3B), a channel area (the channel area of the transistor T2 is the middle channel area shown in figure 3B, See fig. 3B and paragraph 69) of the second switching element has a second channel width (channel width, See fig. 3B, ref. no. L2) along the direction (horizontal direction, See fig. 3B), and the first channel width is different from the second channel width (the channel length L1 is small than the channel length L2, See fig. 3B, ref. nos. L1, L2).
Lee does not disclose a substrate having a peripheral area, the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area, the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate, and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate.
Zou discloses a substrate (display substrate, See fig. 10 and paragraph 47) having a peripheral area (peripheral area, See fig. 10, ref. no. B and paragraph 47); the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area (plurality of switches in the peripheral area of the display substrate, See fig. 10 ref. no. 9 and paragraph 47), the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate (lead wire electrically connected to a switch of the plurality of switches, See fig. 10, ref. no. 3 and paragraph 47), and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate (lead wire electrically connected to another switch of the plurality of switches, See fig. 10, ref. no. 3 and paragraph 47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Lee to include a substrate having a peripheral area, the first switching element and the second switching element disposed on the substrate in the peripheral area, the first sensing signal line disposed on the substrate, and the second sensing signal line disposed on the substrate as taught by Zou in order to simply manufacture of the touch display device by forming the transistors and sensing signal lines on the same substrate.
Claims 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (CN 110162219 A) and Zou et al. (US 10,371,980) in view of Yang et al. (CN 110047422 A)
Regarding Claim 16:
The above stated combination of Lee and Zou discloses the above stated electronic device. The combination of Lee and Zou further disclose a gate line (line connecting the sensing drive circuit to the gates of transistors T1 and T4, See Lee fig. 2, ref. nos. T1, T4, 130 and paragraphs 48-50) disposed on the substrate (display substrate, See Zou, fig. 10 and paragraph 47) and having an extending direction (the line extends in a horizontal direction to connect to the gates of transistors T1 and T4, See Lee fig. 2, ref. nos. T1, T4), a first sensing electrode (touch electrode connected to the sensing signal line connected to transistor T1, See fig. 2, ref. no. PX1 and paragraph 48) connected to the first sensing signal line and having a first electrode width along the extending direction (the horizontal dimension of the touch electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. PX1), a second sensing electrode (touch electrode connected to the sensing signal line connected to transistor T4, See fig. 2, ref. no. PX4 and paragraph 48) connected to the second sensing signal line and having a second electrode width along the extending direction (the horizontal dimension of the touch electrode, See fig. 2, ref. no. PX4), wherein the channel area of the first switching element has the first channel width along a direction perpendicular to the extending direction (the channel width of the transistor T1 is in the vertical direction, See fig. 3A, ref. no. W1), the channel area of the second switching element has the second channel width along the direction perpendicular to the extending direction (the channel width of the transistor T4 is in the vertical direction, See fig. 3A, ref. no. W2), and the first channel width is greater than the second channel width (the channel width W1 is larger than the channel width W2, See fig. 3A, ref. nos. W1, W2).
The above stated combination of Lee and Zou does not disclose the first electrode width is greater than the second electrode width.
Yang discloses the first electrode (the square shaped common electrode block third from the top in the left most column of common electrode blocks, See fig. 1 and paragraphs 32 and 36-37) width is greater than the second electrode width (the triangular shaped common electrode block at the bottom of the left most column of common electrode blocks, See fig. 1 and paragraphs 32 and 36-37. The examiner notes that the width at the bottom of the square shaped common electrode block is greater than the width at the bottom of the triangular shaped common electrode block. See fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Lee and Zou to have the touch electrode layout as taught by Yang in order to provide an area where a camera can be placed. (See Yang paragraph 5.)
Regarding Claim 17:
The above stated combination of Lee, Zou, and Yang discloses wherein the substrate has a display area adjacent to the peripheral area (the display substrate has a display area adjacent to the peripheral area, See Zou fig. 10, ref. nos. A, B, and paragraph 47), the display area comprises an opening area (cutout area, See Yang fig. 1, ref. no. 311 and paragraph 32), and the first sensing electrode is closer to the opening area than the second sensing electrode (the square shaped common electrode block is closer to the opening area than the triangular shaped common electrode block. See fig. 1)
Regarding Claim 18:
Lee discloses the channel area of the first switching element has a third channel width (channel length, See fig. 3A, ref. no. L1 and paragraphs 56-57) along the extending direction (the channel length is along the horizontal direction, See fig. 3A, ref. no. L1) and the channel area of the second switching element has a fourth channel width (channel length, See fig. 3A, ref. no. L2 and paragraphs 56-57) along the extending direction (the channel length is along the horizontal direction, See fig. 3A, ref. no. L2). The examiner respectfully points out that the channel widths and the channel lengths of transistors are result effective variables because adjusting the channel widths and the channel lengths of transistors adjusts the impedance of the transistors. The examiner next points out that channels widths and the channels lengths of transistors are recognized in the prior art as result-effective variables. The examiner notes that Lee discloses increase the channel width of a transistor decreases the impedance of the transistor and increasing the channel length of a transistors increase the impedance of the transistor. See paragraph 46. The examiner next notes that optimization of result effective variable through routine experimentation is an obviousness expedient and not a patentable distinction. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the third channel width smaller than the fourth channel width so that the first switching element and the second switching element have the desired impedances.
Regarding Claim 19:
The above stated combination of Lee and Zou discloses the above stated electronic device. The combination of Lee and Zou further disclose a gate line (line connecting the sensing drive circuit to the gates of transistors T1 and T4, See Lee fig. 4, ref. nos. T1, T4, 130 and paragraphs 48-50) disposed on the substrate (display substrate, See Zou, fig. 10 and paragraph 47) and having an extending direction (the line extends in a horizontal direction to connect to the gates of transistors T1 and T4, See Lee fig. 4, ref. nos. T1, T4), a first sensing electrode (touch electrode connected to the sensing signal line connected to transistor T1, See fig. 4, ref. no. PX1 and paragraph 48) connected to the first sensing signal line and having a first electrode width along the extending direction (the horizontal dimension of the touch electrode, See fig. 4, ref. no. PX1), a second sensing electrode (touch electrode connected to the sensing signal line connected to transistor T2, See fig. 4, ref. no. PX4 and paragraph 48) connected to the second sensing signal line and having a second electrode width along the extending direction (the horizontal dimension of the touch electrode, See fig. 4, ref. no. PX4), wherein the channel area of the first switching element has the first channel width along the extending direction (the channel length of the transistor T1 is in the horizontal direction, See fig. 3B, ref. no. L1), the channel area of the second switching element has the second channel width along the extending direction (the channel length of the transistor T2 is in the horizontal direction, See fig. 3B, ref. no. L2), and the first channel width is smaller than the second channel width (the channel length L1 is smaller than the channel length L2, See fig. 3A, ref. nos. L1, L2).
The above stated combination of Lee and Zou does not disclose the first electrode width is greater than the second electrode width.
Yang discloses the first electrode (the square shaped common electrode block third from the top in the left most column of common electrode blocks, See fig. 1 and paragraphs 32 and 36-37) width is greater than the second electrode width (the triangular shaped common electrode block at the bottom of the left most column of common electrode blocks, See fig. 1 and paragraphs 32 and 36-37. The examiner notes that the width at the bottom of the square shaped common electrode block is greater than the width at the bottom of the triangular shaped common electrode block. See fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electronic device of Lee and Zou to have the touch electrode layout as taught by Yang in order to provide an area where a camera can be placed. (See Yang paragraph 5.)
Regarding Claim 20:
The above stated combination of Lee, Zou, and Yang discloses wherein the substrate has a display area adjacent to the peripheral area (the display substrate has a display area adjacent to the peripheral area, See Zou fig. 10, ref. nos. A, B, and paragraph 47), the display area comprises an opening area (cutout area, See Yang fig. 1, ref. no. 311 and paragraph 32), and the first sensing electrode is closer to the opening area than the second sensing electrode (the square shaped common electrode block is closer to the opening area than the triangular shaped common electrode block. See fig. 1)
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/B.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2899