Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Abe (US 20210161004).
Regarding claim 1, Abe discloses a stretchable device comprising:
a stretchable substrate (a stretchable base material 1, Fig. 6);
a stretchable wiring (the stretchable wiring 3) on the stretchable substrate;
a conductive member (the land part 2; paragraph 37) in contact with the stretchable wiring;
a solder member (the soldering part 7) on the conductive member and in contact with the conductive member;
an electronic component (an electronic part 9) electrically connected to the conductive member with the solder member interposed therebetween; and
a first insulating layer (the protective layer 10) covering at least a part of the stretchable wiring and continuous with the conductive member along an outer surface of an end portion of the stretchable wiring.
Regarding claim 2, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Abe further suggests the first insulating layer is in contact with an end portion of the conductive member (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 3, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Abe further suggests the first insulating layer overlaps an end portion of the conductive member in plan view (from the sideview in Fig. 6, it is understandable the plan view is same as described by the claim).
Regarding claim 4, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Abe further suggests a part of the first insulating layer (10) is in contact with both the conductive member (2) and the solder member (7, Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Abe further suggests a part of the first insulating layer (10, Fig. 6) is in contact with both the conductive member (2) and the solder member (7).
Regarding claim 6, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Abe further suggests the first insulating layer, the conductive member, and the solder member overlap each other in plan view (from the sideview in Fig. 6, it is understandable the plan view is same as described by the claim).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 20210161004), in view of Huang (US 6521997).
Regarding claim 7, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 6.
Abe does not explicitly disclose a part of the first insulating layer is between the solder member and the conductive member.
Huang suggests a part of the first insulating layer (the solder mask 11, Fig. 3) is between the solder member (14) and the conductive member (12).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the working component in order to fit all components in a space of the circuit board.
Regarding claim 17, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Abe does not explicitly disclose
Huang suggests a resin layer (18’, Fig. 4) covering the electronic component (15’).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to cover the component with a protective resin layer in order to protect the component from the environment.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abe (US 20210161004), in view of Ogura (US 20180027661).
Regarding claim 10, Abe discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Abe does not explicitly disclose a part of the stretchable wiring is between the conductive member and the stretchable substrate.
Ogura teaches a part of the stretchable wiring (20, Fig. 2) is between the conductive member (40) and the stretchable substrate (10).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to rearrange the working component in order to fit all components in a space of the circuit board.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 9, 11 – 16, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a part of the first insulating layer is between the solder member and the stretchable wiring. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a part of the stretchable wiring is on the conductive member, and the first insulating layer is between a part of the stretchable wiring and the solder member. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the stretchable wiring includes a first portion having a first thickness and a second portion having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness, and at least a part of the second portion is between the conductive member and the stretchable substrate. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 12, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a part of the stretchable wiring is in contact with an upper surface and a lower surface of the conductive member. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a second insulating layer in contact with an end portion of the conductive member on a second side thereof opposite to a first side thereof in contact with the first insulating layer. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that a protective layer between the stretchable wiring and the stretchable substrate. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the conductive member contains a thermosetting resin. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sagawa (US 20100258341) discloses a substrate having wire, pad, component, solder and protective layer, Fig. 4A.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847