DETAILED ACTION
Email Communication
Applicant is encouraged to authorize the Examiner to communicate via email by filing form PTO/SB/439 either via USPS, Central Fax, or EFS-Web. See MPEP 502.01, 502, 502.05.
Claim Objections
The objections to claims 7-8 are withdrawn in view of the amendments to claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael (US 6,778,390) in view of Lee (US 5,676,523).
With respect to claim 1, Michael teaches (In Figs 3-6) a system comprising: a thermal transfer device (301) having a first side (Near 317) and a second side (Near 311), the thermal transfer device comprising:
a first heat sink member (401) arranged at the first side and comprising: a first plate (317), at least one sidewall (Not labeled but sidewall extending upward from 317) extending towards the second side from the first plate, and
a plurality of fins (405); and
a second member (311) arranged at the second side and comprising: a second plate (See Fig 5).
Michael fails to specifically teach or suggest that the second member is a heat sink member and that a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface, and the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other.
Lee, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first heat sink member (40a), a second heat sink member (50a) comprising a plate (See Fig 1), a portion of a surface of the first heat sink member includes at least one sidewall facing a second side and is raised relative to a rest of the surface, and the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other (See Fig A1 below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that the second, in Michael the second member is a heat sink member a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface, and the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other, as taught by Lee, since doing so would increase the heat dissipation from the component (119) of Michael. Further, including a notch in the at least one sidewall will reduce the weight and profile of the thermal transfer device.
With respect to claims 2-3, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 and modified Michael further teaches wherein a surface of the first heat sink member (401) contacts a surface of the second heat sink member (311) at the contact area, wherein a portion of the surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side (Side near 311) contacts a portion of the surface of the second plate facing the first side (Side near 317) at the contact area, and the contact area is an arcuate shape (See Fig A below).
With respect to claim 4, and modified Michael further teaches a fan assembly arranged between the first plate and the second plate, the fan assembly comprising: a base member (Circular frame shown in Fig 5), a fan blade (Not labeled but shown in Fig 5), and a motor (Not shown but well known in a fan), wherein the fan assembly is configured to direct cooling air across respective surfaces of the first heat sink member (401) and the second heat sink member (311, where 311 is modified to be a second heat sink member as per the above rejection to claim 1) to increase a heat dissipation at the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member (Airflow over 311 and 401 will increase heat dissipation from each).
With respect to claim 5, Michael further teaches wherein the plurality of fins perpendicularly extend from at least one of the first plate and the at least one sidewall (See Figs 4-6).
With respect to claim 6, modified Michael further teaches wherein the second plate (311) is configured to distribute heat thermally conducted from the first heat sink member throughout the second plate (See Fig 5, the second plate (311) of Michael is configured to distribute any heat received from 401).
With respect to claim 7, Michael further teaches at least one thermal source (119), wherein the first heat sink member (401) is configured to be in thermal connection with the at least one thermal source at the first side (Near 401) for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source throughout the first heat sink member (Col. 8, ll. 9-12).
With respect to claim 8, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 7 as per above and Lee further teaches at least one thermal heat source (60a) is in colinear alignment with at least one sidewall (See Fig 1, sidewall of 40a), and the at least one sidewall is in thermal connection with the second heat sink member (50a) at the contact area for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source to the second heat sink member through the at least one sidewall (See Fig 1, see also Col. 1, ll. 26-27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the further teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that, in Michael the at least one thermal source is in colinear alignment with at least one sidewall, and the at least one sidewall is in thermal connection with the second heat sink member at the contact area for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source to the second heat sink member through the at least one sidewall, as taught by Lee, since doing so would allow for the heat to efficiently be transferred to the second member (Aligning the heat source with the component allows for a more direct thermal path from the heat source to the second member).
With respect to claim 12, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above and Lee further teaches wherein the first heat sink member (40a) comprises one or more bores extending at least partially through the at least one sidewall from a second side towards a first side, wherein the second heat sink member (50a) comprises one or more screw holes extending through the second plate, each screw hole being in colinear alignment with a respective bore of the one or more bores, wherein the first heat sink member is configured to be fixedly attached to the second heat sink member using one or more fasteners installed into respective screw holes of the second heat sink member and respective bores of the first heat sink member (See Fig B below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that, in Michael the first heat sink member comprises one or more bores extending at least partially through the at least one sidewall from the second side towards the first side, wherein the second heat sink member comprises one or more screw holes extending through the second plate, each screw hole being in colinear alignment with a respective bore of the one or more bores, wherein the first heat sink member is configured to be fixedly attached to the second heat sink member using one or more fasteners installed into respective screw holes of the second heat sink member and respective bores of the first heat sink member, as taught by Lee, since doing so would allow for the second heat sink member to be securely fastened to the first heat sink member.
With respect to claim 13, Michael teaches (In Figs 3-6) a thermal transfer device comprising: a first side (Bottom side of 301); a second side (Top side of 301) opposite the first side; a first heat sink member (401) arranged at the first side and comprising: a first plate (317), at least one sidewall (Not labeled but sidewall extending upward from 317) extending towards the second side from the first plate, and a plurality of fins (405); wherein the first heat sink member (401) is configured to be in thermal connection with at least one thermal source (119) at the first side for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source throughout the first heat sink member.
Michael fails to specifically teach or suggest a second heat sink member arranged at the second side and comprising: a second plate; wherein a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side, the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other, and the second plate is configured to distribute heat thermally conducted from the first heat sink member throughout the second plate.
Lee, however, teaches (In Fig 1) a first heat sink member (40a) and a second heat sink member (50a) arranged at a second side of the first heat sink member and comprising: a second plate (See Fig 1); wherein a portion of a surface of at least one sidewall of the first heat sink member facing a second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side, the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member (40a) and the second heat sink member (50a) are configured to be in thermal connection with each other (See Fig A1 above), and the second plate (50a) is configured to distribute heat thermally conducted from the first heat sink member (40a) throughout the second plate (Col. 1, ll. 26-27, “When the CPU 60a is operated, heat is transmitted from the CPU 60a through the casing 40a to the cover 50a” where the cover then distributes the heat throughout the cover and to atmosphere).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that, in Michael a second heat sink member is arranged at the second side and comprising: a second plate; wherein a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side, the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other, and the second plate is configured to distribute heat thermally conducted from the first heat sink member throughout the second plate, as taught by Lee, since doing so would increase the heat dissipation from the component (119) of Michael. Further, including a notch in the at least one sidewall will reduce the weight and profile of the thermal transfer device.
With respect to claim 14, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13 and modified Michael further teaches wherein a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side (Bottom side of 301) contacts a portion of the surface of the second plate facing the first side (Top side of 301) at the contact area, and the contact area is an arcuate shape (See Fig A above).
With respect to claim 15, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13 as per above and Lee further teaches at least one thermal source (60a) is in colinear alignment with at least one sidewall (See Fig 1, sidewall of 40a), and the at least one sidewall is in thermal connection with the second heat sink member (50a) at the contact area for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source to the second heat sink member through the at least one sidewall (See Fig 1, see also Col. 1, ll. 26-27).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the further teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that, in Michael the at least one thermal source is in colinear alignment with at least one sidewall, and the at least one sidewall is in thermal connection with the second heat sink member at the contact area for thermally conducting heat from the at least one thermal source to the second heat sink member through the at least one sidewall, as taught by Lee, since doing so would allow for the heat to efficiently be transferred to the second member (Aligning the heat source with the component allows for a more direct thermal path from the heat source to the second member).
With respect to claim 16, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13 and modified Michael further teaches a fan assembly (303) is configured to be installed between the first plate (313) and a second plate (311) and direct cooling air across respective surfaces of the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member (When 311 of Michael is modified to be a second heat sink member which is in thermal contact with the sidewall of 401, the fan assembly directs cooling air across the bottom of 311 and over surfaces of 401).
With respect to claim 17, Michael further teaches wherein the plurality of fins (405) perpendicularly extend from at least one of the first plate (317) and the at least one sidewall, and the plurality of fins are integrally formed with the at least one sidewall and the first plate (See Fig 5, the first plate, sidewall, and fins are all shown to be integrally formed as one piece).
With respect to claim 20, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13 as per above and Lee further teaches wherein the first heat sink member (40a) comprises one or more bores extending at least partially through the at least one sidewall from a second side towards a first side, wherein the second heat sink member (50a) comprises one or more screw holes extending through the second plate, each screw hole being in colinear alignment with a respective bore of the one or more bores, wherein the first heat sink member is configured to be fixedly attached to the second heat sink member using one or more fasteners installed into respective screw holes of the second heat sink member and respective bores of the first heat sink member (See Fig B above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Michael such that, in Michael the first heat sink member comprises one or more bores extending at least partially through the at least one sidewall from the second side towards the first side, wherein the second heat sink member comprises one or more screw holes extending through the second plate, each screw hole being in colinear alignment with a respective bore of the one or more bores, wherein the first heat sink member is configured to be fixedly attached to the second heat sink member using one or more fasteners installed into respective screw holes of the second heat sink member and respective bores of the first heat sink member, as taught by Lee, since doing so would allow for the second heat sink member to be securely fastened to the first heat sink member.
Claims 9-11, 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michael in view of Lee and further in view of Ahamed et al. (US 2017/0055372 – hereinafter, “Ahamed”).
With respect to claims 9-11, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 1 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claims 9-11.
Ahamed, however, teaches a copper plate (2) having a thickness of .2mm (¶ 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahamed with that of Michael, such that the second plate of Michael is made of a copper plate which is approximately .2mm, as taught by Ahamed, since doing so would provide for a thin plate which is made of a relatively cheap material, has good thermal conductivity, and which is light in weight due to its low thickness.
With respect to claims 18-19, Michael as modified by Lee teaches the limitations of claim 13 as per above but fails to specifically teach or suggest the limitations of claims 18-19.
Ahamed, however, teaches a copper plate (2) having a thickness of .2mm (¶ 0034).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahamed with that of Michael, such that the second plate of Michael is made of a copper plate which is approximately .2mm, as taught by Ahamed, since doing so would provide for a thin plate which is made of a relatively cheap material, has good thermal conductivity, and which is light in weight due to its low thickness.
Response to Arguments
With respect to the Applicant’s remarks to claim 1 that, “Lee fails to remedy Michael's deficiency. Lee purports to relate to "a brushless DC fan which needs less installation space." Lee, Column 1, Lines 6-8. Lee describes the "structure of [the] brushless DC fan...[as comprising]...a fan blade 10a[,] a winding assembly 20a, a circuit board 30a, a casing 40a, and a cover 50a." Lee, Column 1, Lines 17-19. Further, Lee states that a "bottom side of the casing 40a...[adjoins]...a CPU 60a...[and that when]...CPU 60a is operated, heat is transmitted from the CPU 60a through the casing 40a to the cover 50a." Id., Column 1, Lines 26-28. However, neither the CPU 60a, the casing 40a, nor the cover 50a (or any other component configuration described in Lee) describes "a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side," and "the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other," as recited in claim 1.” (Present remarks page 9) the Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that, as per the above rejection to claim 1 (and, in particular, as per Fig A1 above), Lee is believed to teach, “a portion of a surface of the at least one sidewall facing the second side is raised relative to a rest of the surface, and the portion that is raised defines a contact area at which the first heat sink member and the second heat sink member are configured to be in thermal connection with each other”.
Accordingly, claim 1 is believed to be prima facie obvious in view of Michael and Lee.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZACHARY PAPE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841