DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franz (US 2018/0231861 A1) in view of Kumazawa (JP 2007093720 A, Machine Translation).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Franz discloses a solar cell panel comprising (See Figs. 1-3 [0018]-[0032]): a solar cell layer (Fig. 1, 72, Fig. 2, 150, Fig. 3, 250) that receives sunlight to generate electricity and has a light transmissivity; and
a transmission/reflection switching layer (see Fig. 1, 68 Fig. 2, 152, Fig. 3, 254) that is switchable between a mirror state that reflects a visible light and a transmission state that allows the visible light to pass through ([0004][0030], darkened window is reflective), wherein
the solar cell layer includes:
a conversion layer (Fig. 1, 72, Fig. 2, 150, Fig. 3, 250 [0023]) that converts the sunlight into electric energy and has the light transmissivity;
an inner transparent electrode (see Fig. 1, 52, Fig. 2, 144 Fig. 3 238 242, electrically conductive films made of ITO [0022][0025][0029] [0034]) film disposed on an inner side of the conversion layer adjacent to the transmission/reflection switching layer; and an outer transparent electrode film (See Fig. 1, 48, see Fig. 2, 138, see Fig. 3 238) disposed on an outer side of the conversion layer further from the transmission/reflection switching layer(see Fig. 1, 68 Fig. 2, 152, Fig. 3, 254).
Franz discloses that the transmission/reflection switching layer is composed of a light modulation layer in the transmission state so that the visible light having passed through the solar cell layer also passes through the transmission/reflection switching layer ([0025] solar cell is transparent and electro-optic device can be in a clear non-darkened state [0025]).
However, Franz does not disclose that the transmission/reflection switching layer includes a switching electrode is composed of a light modulation mirror layer that is
switchable between a metal state and a non-metal state.
Kumazawa discloses an electrochromic device that can switch between an transmission/reflection switching layer which includes a switching electrode (7) disposed between transparent electrode films (layer 3 and 8), the switching electrode is composed of a light modulation mirror layer that is switchable between a metal state and a non-metal state [0021], the light modulation mirror layer in the metal state causes the transmission/reflection switching layer to the mirror state so that the visible light is reflected (see [0020] [0021] Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrochromic optical device of Franz by having the layers between the transparent electrodes of Franz be those disclosed by Kumazawa which includes layers 4-7 because the electrochromic device is known to provide the same purpose as desired by Franz of an electrochromic device which is mainly a device which switches between a transmissive and reflective state.
Regarding claim 8, modified Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Franz discloses which is provided at a window part of a vehicle (any glass of a vehicle [0003][0049][0061]), a detector (84 [0024] 164 [0027] 266 [0031] ) that detects at least one of a getting on or off state of an occupant, a stopped state of the vehicle, or an intensity of light; and a controller that switches, based on a detection signal of the detector, the mirror state and the transmission state of the transmission/reflection switching layer (84 [0024] 164 [0027] 266 [0031] ).
Regarding claims 12 and 14, modified Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Franz discloses wherein the solar cell panel is configured to be provided on at least one of a windshield, a door glass, a sunroof, or a rear glass of the vehicle (any glass of a vehicle [0003][0049][0061]).
Regarding claim 16, modified Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
In addition, Franz discloses that layer (152) is directly adjacent the inner transparent electrode (144).
Furthermore, in the modification above in Kumazawa disclosed the transparent electrode film can be directly adjacent and coupled to light modulation layer (see Fig. 1 layers 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 4, Franz discloses a solar cell panel comprising (See Figs. 1-3 [0018]-[0032]): a solar cell layer (Fig. 1, 72, Fig. 2, 150, Fig. 3, 250) that receives sunlight to generate electricity and has a light transmissivity; and
a transmission/reflection switching layer (see Fig. 1, 68 Fig. 2, 152, Fig. 3, 254) that is switchable between a mirror state that reflects a visible light and a transmission state that allows the visible light to pass through ([0004][0030], darkened window is reflective), wherein
the solar cell layer includes:
a conversion layer (Fig. 1, 72, Fig. 2, 150, Fig. 3, 250 [0023]) that converts the sunlight into electric energy and has the light transmissivity;
an inner transparent electrode (see Fig. 1, 52, Fig. 2, 144 Fig. 3 238 242, electrically conductive films made of ITO [0022][0025][0029] [0034]) film disposed on an inner side of the conversion layer adjacent to the transmission/reflection switching layer; and an outer transparent electrode film (See Fig. 1, 48, see Fig. 2, 138, see Fig. 3 238) disposed on an outer side of the conversion layer further from the transmission/reflection switching layer(see Fig. 1, 68 Fig. 2, 152, Fig. 3, 254).
Franz discloses that the transmission/reflection switching layer is composed of a light modulation layer in the transmission state so that the visible light having passed through the solar cell layer also passes through the transmission/reflection switching layer ([0025] solar cell is transparent and electro-optic device can be in a clear non-darkened state [0025]).
However, Franz does not disclose that the transmission/reflection switching layer includes a switching electrode is composed of a light modulation mirror layer that is
switchable between a metal state and a non-metal state.
Kumazawa discloses an electrochromic device that can switch between an transmission/reflection switching layer which includes a switching electrode (7) disposed between transparent electrode films ( layer 3 or 8), the switching electrode is composed of a light modulation mirror layer that is switchable between a metal state and a non-metal state [0021], the light modulation mirror layer in the metal state causes the transmission/reflection switching layer to the mirror state so that the visible light is reflected (see [0020] [0021] Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrochromic optical device of Franz by having the layers between the transparent electrodes of Franz be those disclosed by Kumazawa which includes layers 4-7 because the electrochromic device is known to provide the same purpose as desired by Franz of an electrochromic device which is mainly a device which switches between a transmissive and reflective state.
It is noted that the inner transparent electrode film now can consist of two layers a transparent electrode film of Franz coupled with the light modulation mirror layer included with the modification of Kumazawa.
Note that Kumazawa disclosed the transparent electrode film can be directly adjacent and coupled to light modulation layer (see Fig. 1 layers 7 and 8).
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franz (US 2018/0231861 A1) in view of Kumazawa (JP 2007093720 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14, and 16 above and in further view of Conklin (US 2014/0198371 A1).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, modified Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Franz does not disclose that the transparent electrode film is a bendable transparent conductive film and is made of carbon nanotubes.
Conklin discloses an electrochromic device (400) coupled with a transparent solar cell (200) wherein the transparent solar cell (200) which has transparent electrode wherein the electrodes can be formed of ITO or carbon nanotubes (210,250 [0030]) ([0029][0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to replace the solar cell ITO transparent electrode of modified Franz with carbon nanotube transparent electrode as discloses by Conklin because it is an alternate suitable material for a transparent electrode for a solar cell coupled with an electrochromic device.
The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franz (US 2018/0231861 A1) in view of Kumazawa (JP 2007093720 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14, and 16 above and Pattikonda (US 2008/0007086 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Franz does not disclose that the detector is a stop detection unit and further discloses that other types of detectors can optionally be used ([0024]).
Pattikonda discloses an electrochromic device which is controlled based on a signal from a detector and that detector is a stop detection unit ([0009]) that detects a stopped state of the vehicle, and in response to the stop detection unit detecting that the vehicle is stopped ([0029][0030][0031]), the controller causes the transmission/reflection switching layer to be switched to the mirror state ([0031]), and in response to the stop detection unit detecting that the vehicle is not stopped ([0030], power to windows turned off and thus in a transmissive non-shaded state, [0031]), the controller causes the transmission/reflection switching layer to be switched to the transmission state.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to add an adding sensor to Franz which senses the state of the vehicle as disclosed Pattikonda and controls the electrochromic device based on the state of the vehicle because Pattikonda because it provides shade to the interior of the vehicle without requiring the user to deploy any mechanical shades during a parked state.
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Franz (US 2018/0231861 A1) in view of Kumazawa (JP 2007093720 A, Machine Translation) as applied to claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 12, 14, and 16 above and Albahri (US 2009/0027759 A1).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, Franz discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
However, Franz does not disclose that the solar cell panel is detachably provided on the windshield of the vehicle.
Albahri discloses an electrochromic windshield visor that can formed as an attachable/removable panel ([0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the panel of Franz so that it was formed to be attachable and removable as disclosed by Albahri because it will allow for the panel to be placed on different windows dependent on user preference.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DEVINA PILLAY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1726
/DEVINA PILLAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726