DETAILED ACTION
(1)
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This is the first office action on the merits. Claims 1-13 are pending before the Office for review.
(2)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gong et al., Nano Lett., 2018, 18, 3969-3977, which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
With respect to claim 1, Gong teaches a perovskite solar cell comprising a perovskite layer comprising first and second surfaces that are opposite each other in the thickness direction, a hole transport layer provided on the first surface and a multi-layer electron transport layer provided on the second surface, the multi-layer electron transport layer having a doping material and at least sub-layers having a conduction band bottom energy level lower than that of the hole transport layer and a valence band top energy level lower than that of the hole transport layer. Abstract, Figure 2, Figure 3(e) and Page 3972.
With respect to claim 2, Gong teaches the difference between the conduction band bottom energy levels of the sub-layer of the ETL closest to the second surface and the perovskite layer is 0.2, which is within the claimed range. Figure 3(e).
With respect to claim 3, Gong teaches the valence band top energy level of the sub-layer of the ETL closest to the second surface is lower than that of the perovskite layer. Figure 3(e).
With respect to claim 4, Gong teaches the difference between the Fermi levels of the sub-layer of the ETL closest to the second surface and the perovskite layer is less than 1.5 eV. Figure 3(e).
With respect to claim 5, Gong teaches the difference between the conduction band bottom energy level and the Fermi level of the sub-layer of the ETL closest to the second surface is less than 1.5 eV. Figure 3(e).
With respect to claim 6, Gong teaches the difference between the conduction band bottom energy level and the valence band top energy level of the ETL closest to the second surface is greater than 1.5 eV. Figure 3(e).
(3)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al., Nano Lett., 2018, 18, 3969-3977, which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement.
With respect to claims 7, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12, although Gong teaches an ETL bi-layer, Gong also teaches the gradual introduction of fluorine into SnO2 to tailor the ETL/perovskite band offset to increase the built-in electric field to maximize VOC and charge collection. Abstract. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize three or more sub-layers of fluorine-doped tin oxide because Gong teaches this multi-layer approach allows for a tailored band offset, meaning the modification has a reasonable expectation of success.
Furthermore, when Gong is modified to contain 3 sub-layers to tailor the band offset, as explained above, each sub-layer is fluorine-doped tin oxide, which satisfies the requirements of a tin oxide layer doped with a non-metallic element (fluorine), an oxide layer comprising Sn, and a SnO2 layer comprising a fluorine doping material. Abstract and Figure 2.
(4)
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gong et al., Nano Lett., 2018, 18, 3969-3977, which is cited in Applicant’s information disclosure statement, in view of Huang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0194102).
With respect to claim 13, Gong teaches the solar cell but is silent as to whether it is comprised within a module.
However, Huang, which deals with perovskite modules, teaches a perovskite module contains a plurality of perovskite solar cells interconnected electrically to obtain improved open circuit voltage. Paragraph 34.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art at a time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dispose Gong’s perovskite solar cell in a module with other similarly constructed solar cells that are then interconnected because Huang teaches doing so obtains improved open circuit voltage.
(5)
Conclusion
/ELI S MEKHLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759