DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication(s) filed on 28 April 2026.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Remarks
The arguments in response to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C § 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) have been fully considered and in combination with the amendments are not found persuasive for the following reasons.
Regarding the Applicant’s remarks pertaining to FIG. 2 and FIG. 5:
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the embodiments disclosed in FIG. 2 and FIG. 5 (including the remarks pertaining to the ring splitter) are not found persuasive because the Applicant has mischaracterized the rejection of record, which relied on the embodiment disclosed in FIG. 6.
Regarding the Applicant’s remarks pertaining to fluid flow and fluid mechanics:
The Applicant’s remarks pertaining to the after fan turbine, fluid flow and fluid mechanics are not found persuasive since the Applicant has merely presented conclusory statements which are not supported by fact or evidence. The arguments pertaining to the intended use are further not found persuasive since the prior art teaches the same claimed structures as the Instant Application and a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2144). Further, the independent claims’ claim language does not require the downstream object to be any object in particular, and those dependent claims which do claim the object to be a specific structure do not require the structure to be immediately adjacent the split variable fan exit guide vanes in the downstream direction.
A new grounds for rejection is included in this Office Action, necessitated by amendment.
Claim Interpretation
Examiner note: no 112(f) invocations have been identified by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 1, 8, and 14:
The claim language, “wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes can be at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from a downstream object and adjusted to direct exit airflow toward a downstream object,” renders the claim indefinite. It is not clear if the second instance of “a downstream object” is the same structure or if an additional structure is required. For purposes of examination the second instance of “a downstream object” is interpreted to instead be, “the downstream object.”
Regarding Claims 2-7, 9-13, and 25-20:
Claims 2-7, 9-13, and 25-20 are rejected by virtue of dependence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-12, and 14-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sidelkovskiy et al (US 2020032585), hereafter referred to as Sidelkovskiy.
Regarding Claim 1, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
A gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes comprising:
a fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6) supporting a circumferential pattern of split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) circumferentially spaced, the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) comprising an upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and a lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6), the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) each being adjustable about an axis (labeled V in FIG. 5, shown but not labeled in FIG. 6) extending along a span of each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6), wherein the entire upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and entire lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) rotate (see for example [0061-62]);
an upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6), the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) configured to independently adjust an incidence angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) responsive to predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]);
a lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6), the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) configured to independently adjust an incidence angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) responsive to the predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]);
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) can be at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from a downstream object and adjusted to direct exit airflow toward a downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct, see for example [0061-62]);
wherein at least one of the upper section and the lower section are configured adjustable (see for example [0061-62]) for adjustment of the split variable fan exit guide vane to minimize back pressure induced fan stress during predetermined flight conditions and optimize the hub to tip loading of the fan during predetermined flight conditions (Examiner notes: The claim language, “for adjustment of the split variable fan exit guide vane to minimize back pressure induced fan stress during predetermined flight conditions and optimize the hub to tip loading of the fan during predetermined flight conditions” is interpreted to be merely intended use since “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding Claim 2, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1,
wherein the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) is configured to adjust an installation angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for each associated split variable fan exit guide vane (64B; FIG. 6); and the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) is configured to adjust an installation angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for each associated split variable fan exit guide vane (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 3, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1,
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are divided between the span extending between fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6) walls supporting the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 4, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1,
wherein each of the individual split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are configured to be individually adjustable (see [0061]) during operation of the gas turbine engine operation (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]).
Regarding Claim 5, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1, further comprising:
a controller (100) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with each of the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) and the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 6, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1,
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are configured to be adjustable throughout the circumferential pattern (see [0061-62]; it is noted, the claim language does not require the vanes in the vane ring portions 64A, 64B to be in dividually controllable.).
Regarding Claim 8, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
A gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes comprising:
a fan located within a fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6);
a circumferential pattern of split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B) circumferentially spaced supported within the fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6) downstream from the fan (82), the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) comprising an upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and a lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6), the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) each being adjustable about an axis (labeled V in FIG. 5, shown but not labeled in FIG. 6) extending between a span of each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6), wherein the entire upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and entire lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) rotate (see for example [0061-62]);
an upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6), the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) configured to independently adjust an incidence angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) responsive to predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]); and
a lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6), the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) configured to independently adjust an incidence angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) responsive to the predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]); and
a controller (100) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) and/or the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6)(The Examiner notes, the claims as written do not require the entire upper portion and entire lower portion of the split vanes to rotate, and to be circumferentially spaced from the fixed guide vane.);
wherein each of the upper section and lower section of the split variable fan exit guide vanes can be at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from a downstream object and adjusted to direct exit airflow toward a downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct, see for example [0061-62]); wherein at least one of the upper section and the lower section are configured adjustable to radially redistribute airflow through the fan in order to obtain a predetermined radial total pressure profile of airflow exiting the fan blade (Examiner notes: The claim language, “to radially redistribute airflow through the fan in order to obtain a predetermined radial total pressure profile of airflow exiting the fan blade” is interpreted to be merely intended use since “apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (see MPEP 2144).
Regarding Claim 9, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 8,
wherein the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) is configured to adjust an installation angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for each associated split variable fan exit guide vane (64B; FIG. 6); and the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) is configured to adjust an installation angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for an associated split variable fan exit guide vane (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 10, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 8,
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are divided between the span extending between fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6) walls supporting the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 11, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 8,
wherein each of the individual split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are configured individually adjustable (see [0061]) during operation of the gas turbine engine operation (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]).
Regarding Claim 12, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 8,
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) are configured to be adjustable throughout the circumferential pattern (see [0061-62]; it is noted, the claim language does not require the vanes in the vane ring portions 64A, 64B to be in dividually controllable.).
Regarding Claim 14, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
A process (for example see Claim 17; it is further noted, the mere existence of the apparatus is evidence the process steps have been carried out) for a gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes comprising:
supporting a circumferential pattern of split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) in a fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6), the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) comprising an upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and a lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6);
configuring the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) adjustable about an axis (labeled V in FIG. 5, shown but not labeled in FIG. 6) extending between a span of each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6); and
coupling an upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6);
configuring the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) to independently adjust an incidence angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) responsive to predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]), wherein the entire upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and entire lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) rotate (see for example [0061-62]); and
coupling a lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6);
configuring the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) to independently adjust an incidence angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) responsive to the predetermined gas turbine operating conditions (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]);
configuring each of the upper section and lower section of the split variable fan exit guide vanes at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from a downstream object and adjusted to direct exit airflow toward a downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct).
Regarding Claim 15, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 14, further comprising:
configuring the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) to adjust an installation angle of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for each associated split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6); and
configuring the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6) to adjust an installation angle of the lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) from an original predetermined value (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]) to another value for each associated split variable fan exit guide vane (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 14, further comprising:
configuring each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) into separate portions between a span extending between fan duct (space between 66, 70; FIG. 6) walls supporting the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 17, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 14, further comprising:
configuring each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) individually adjustable (see [0061]) during operation of the gas turbine engine operation (cruise or climb conditions; see for example [0061-62]).
Regarding Claim 18, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 14, further comprising:
coupling a controller (100) in operative communication (via controller 100; for example see [0050]) with each of the upper actuator (84A; FIG. 6) and the lower actuator (84B, FIG. 6).
Regarding Claim 19, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 14, further comprising:
configuring each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) adjustable throughout the entire circumferential pattern.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidelkovskiy et al (US 2020032585), hereafter referred to as Sidelkovskiy, in view of Muldoon et al (US 20200300164), hereafter referred to as Muldoon.
Regarding Claim 7, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 1,
wherein each of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) can be at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from the downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct).
Sidelkovskiy does not disclose the following:
wherein the downstream object is at least one of an upper and lower bifurcation, air-to-oil cooler cowl, environmental control system inlet, and splitter.
However Muldoon teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to use a pylon (130) located within a bifurcation in the fan stream to connect a gas turbine engine (120) to the aircraft body (see FIG. 2, [0037-38]);
the pylon comprising a downstream environmental control system inlet (156; FIG. 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy, with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, with the reasonable expectation of successfully connecting the engine to the aircraft, and further providing the aircraft with an environmental control system that provides conditioned breathing air to the cabin for aircraft crew and passengers (see [0036-37]). It is noted, the simple substitution of the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, yields the predictable result of substituting one means to connect an engine to an aircraft for another known means to connect an engine to an aircraft, and this rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 13, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The gas turbine engine with split variable fan exit guide vanes according to claim 8,
wherein each of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) can be at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from the downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct and adjusted to direct exit airflow toward a downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct).
Sidelkovskiy does not disclose the following:
wherein the downstream object is at least one of an upper and lower bifurcation, air-to-oil cooler cowl, environmental control system inlet, and splitter.
However Muldoon teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to use a pylon (130) located within a bifurcation in the fan stream to connect a gas turbine engine (120) to the aircraft body (see FIG. 2, [0037-38]);
the pylon comprising a downstream environmental control system inlet (156; FIG. 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy, with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, with the reasonable expectation of successfully connecting the engine to the aircraft, and further providing the aircraft with an environmental control system that provides conditioned breathing air to the cabin for aircraft crew and passengers (see [0036-37]). It is noted, the simple substitution of the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, yields the predictable result of substituting one means to connect an engine to an aircraft for another known means to connect an engine to an aircraft, and this rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Regarding Claim 20, Sidelkovskiy discloses the following:
The process of claim 19, further comprising:
configuring each of the upper section (64Ba; FIG. 6) and lower section (64Bb; FIG. 6) of the split variable fan exit guide vanes (64B; FIG. 6) at least one of adjusted to direct an exit airflow away from the downstream object (it is noted, when the vanes are rotated from a first position to a second position, at least a portion of the vanes are directing air away from one portion of the downstream fan duct and towards another portion of the downstream fan duct).
Sidelkovskiy does not disclose the following:
wherein the downstream object is at least one of an upper and lower bifurcation, air-to-oil cooler cowl, environmental control system inlet, and splitter.
However Muldoon teaches the following:
it is well known in the art to use a pylon (130) located within a bifurcation in the fan stream to connect a gas turbine engine (120) to the aircraft body (see FIG. 2, [0037-38]);
the pylon comprising a downstream environmental control system inlet (156; FIG. 2);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy, with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, with the reasonable expectation of successfully connecting the engine to the aircraft, and further providing the aircraft with an environmental control system that provides conditioned breathing air to the cabin for aircraft crew and passengers (see [0036-37]). It is noted, the simple substitution of the unknown engine to aircraft connection details of Sidelkovskiy with the known engine to aircraft connection details of Muldoon, yields the predictable result of substituting one means to connect an engine to an aircraft for another known means to connect an engine to an aircraft, and this rationale further supports a conclusion of obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (see MPEP 2143, I, B).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN CHRISTOPHER DELRUE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745