DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oustry et al. WO 2023/027790.
Regarding Claim 1, Oustry teaches a motor configured to have one or more positions (see figures 3-5 and 24 and [0043] discussing a motor);
a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to generate a rectification signal (528 generates rectification signal 308; see figure 24 step 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals; see figure 24, 2410, which gives a final rectified signal in the form of rotational speed from the cos and sin signals);
a resolver configured to generate at least one sine signal and at least one cosine signal based on the rectification signal generated by the MCU and based on an initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals); and
a signal rectifier in the MCU, wherein the signal rectifier is configured to reconstruct a sign signal based on a position sensing variable (see figure 24, steps 2406-2408, in which the cos and sin rectified signals are signed using information regarding direction of rotation),
wherein the position sensing variable is based on an absolute value of at least one sine sample signal exceeding a threshold or an absolute value of at least one cosine sample signal exceeding the threshold (see [0112]-[0115] and figure 24, steps 2410-2414, which teach position detection based on the sin and cos signals surpassing a threshold).
Regarding Claim 2, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the MCU is further configured to provide, via a signal generator, the rectification signal to the resolver (figure 5, signal generator 506 and [0060]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface).
Regarding Claim 4, Oustry teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to generate the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 5, Oustry teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to set a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign sample of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 6, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the threshold is associated with noise in the system (see [0100] discussing an association).
Regarding Claim 7, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Regarding Claim 8, Oustry teaches an apparatus comprising:
a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to generate a rectification signal (528 generates rectification signal 308; see figure 24 step 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals; see figure 24, 2410, which gives a final rectified signal in the form of rotational speed from the cos and sin signals);
a resolver configured to receive one or more positions of a motor and configured to generate at least one sine signal and at least one cosine signal based on the rectification signal generated by the MCU and based on an initial position of the one or more positions of a motor (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals); and
a signal rectifier in the MCU, wherein the signal rectifier is configured to reconstruct a sign signal based on a position sensing variable (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals),
wherein the position sensing variable is based on an absolute value of at least one sine sample signal exceeding a threshold or an absolute value of at least one cosine sample signal exceeding the threshold (see [0112]-[0115] and figure 24, steps 2410-2414, which teach position detection based on the sin and cos signals surpassing a threshold; see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 15, the device as recited in claim 8 is specific to this method and thus it must perform the method. The method is intrinsic to the apparatus because the recited method steps will be performed during normal operation of the apparatus. Therefore, Claim 15 is also rejected.
Regarding Claim 9, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the MCU is further configured to provide, via a signal generator, the rectification signal to the resolver (figure 5, signal generator 506 and [0060]).
Regarding Claim 10, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface; also see [0050]-[0054]).
Regarding Claim 11, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to generate the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 12, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to set a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 13, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the threshold is associated with noise in the apparatus (see [0100]).
Regarding Claim 14, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Regarding Claim 16, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface).
Regarding Claim 17, Oustry teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating, by the resolver interface circuitry, the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 18, Oustry teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: setting, by the resolver interface circuitry, a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 19, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the threshold is associated with noise impacting the at least one sine sample signal or the at least one cosine sample signal (see [0100]).
Regarding Claim 20, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicants’ first argument concerning the rejection Claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 (see Remarks p.7), Applicant states: “In Oustry, reference numeral 528 refers to a "sensor signal processing module" (e.g., Oustry at [0073]) and reference numeral 308 refers to an "excitation signal" (e.g., Oustry at [0052]). As may be easiest to see in FIG. 5 of Oustry, the rectification signal 308 is generated by a Resolver-to-Digital Converter 502 that is not part of the motor controller 504. See also, e.g., Oustry at [0050]. As to FIG. 24, in paragraph [0160] Oustry describes step 2402 and discloses "receiving a sine feedback signal and a cosine feedback signal from a resolver wherein the sine feedback signal and the cosine feedback signal modulate an excitation (e.g., the excitation signal 308) signal provided to the resolver." In paragraph [0161], Oustry describes step 2404 and discloses "generating a rectified sine signal and a rectified cosine signal by way of sampling the sine feedback signal and the cosine feedback signal at a frequency less than a respective frequency of the excitation signal." It is respectfully submitted that Oustry's steps 2402 - 2404 fail to teach the claimed limitations. As Oustry makes clear at FIG. 5 and at steps 2402 - 2404 of FIG. 24, Oustry does not disclose an MCU generating the excitation signal 308, which is alleged by the Office Action to be the recited rectification signal. Steps 2402 - 2404 also do not disclose a resolver generating a sine signal and a cosine signal "based on the rectification signal generated by the MCU and based on an initial position of the one or more positions of the motor."”
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Claim 1 does not claim an excitation signal, and therefore Oustry is not required to teach said signal. Respectfully, Applicant’s remarks interpret the claim language to be narrower than the broadest reasonable interpretation.
Regarding Applicants’ second argument concerning the rejection Claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 (see Remarks p.8), Applicant states: “The Office Action asserts that Oustry discloses, at steps 2406 - 2408 of Figure 24, "the cos and sin rectified signals are signed using information regarding direction of rotation." However, in paragraph [0164], Oustry describes step 2406 and discloses "determining a direction of rotation of the output shaft using the sine feedback signal, the cosine feedback signal, the rectified sine signal, and the rectified cosine signal." In paragraph [0165], Oustry further describes step 2408 and discloses "converting the rectified sine signal and the rectified cosine signal into a signed sine signal and a signed cosine signal respectively, using information associated with determining the direction of rotation." Oustry's conversion of rectified signals into signed signals relies on information about determining the direction of rotation and not on position. Steps 2406 - 2408 fail to teach "a signal rectifier in the MCU, wherein the signal rectifier is configured to reconstruct a sign signal based on a position sensing variable."”
Contrary to Applicant’s arguments, the claim language is broader than Applicant’s interpretation of the claim language as discussed in the arguments. Respectfully, claim 1 recites a “position sensing variable”, not necessarily position itself, which is broad enough to encompass direction. For this reason the claims stand rejected.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852