DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oustry et al. WO 2023/027790.
Regarding Claim 1, Oustry teaches a motor configured to have one or more positions (see figures 3-5 and 24 and [0043] discussing a motor);
a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to generate a rectification signal (528 generates rectification signal 308; see figure 24 step 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals; see figure 24, 2410, which gives a final rectified signal in the form of rotational speed from the cos and sin signals);
a resolver configured to generate at least one sine signal and at least one cosine signal based on the rectification signal generated by the MCU and based on an initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals); and
a signal rectifier in the MCU, wherein the signal rectifier is configured to reconstruct a sign signal based on a position sensing variable (see figure 24, steps 2406-2408, in which the cos and sin rectified signals are signed using information regarding direction of rotation),
wherein the position sensing variable is based on an absolute value of at least one sine sample signal exceeding a threshold or an absolute value of at least one cosine sample signal exceeding the threshold (see [0112]-[0115] and figure 24, steps 2410-2414, which teach position detection based on the sin and cos signals surpassing a threshold).
Regarding Claim 2, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the MCU is further configured to provide, via a signal generator, the rectification signal to the resolver (figure 5, signal generator 506 and [0060]).
Regarding Claim 3, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface).
Regarding Claim 4, Oustry teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to generate the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 5, Oustry teaches the system of claim 3, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to set a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign sample of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 6, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the threshold is associated with noise in the system (see [0100] discussing an association).
Regarding Claim 7, Oustry teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Regarding Claim 8, Oustry teaches an apparatus comprising:
a micro controller unit (MCU) configured to generate a rectification signal (528 generates rectification signal 308; see figure 24 step 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals; see figure 24, 2410, which gives a final rectified signal in the form of rotational speed from the cos and sin signals);
a resolver configured to receive one or more positions of a motor and configured to generate at least one sine signal and at least one cosine signal based on the rectification signal generated by the MCU and based on an initial position of the one or more positions of a motor (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals); and
a signal rectifier in the MCU, wherein the signal rectifier is configured to reconstruct a sign signal based on a position sensing variable (resolver 200 generates sin and cos signals 316 and 318, respectively; see figure 24, 2402-2404 in which the motor controller, an MCU, generates cos and sin rectification signals),
wherein the position sensing variable is based on an absolute value of at least one sine sample signal exceeding a threshold or an absolute value of at least one cosine sample signal exceeding the threshold (see [0112]-[0115] and figure 24, steps 2410-2414, which teach position detection based on the sin and cos signals surpassing a threshold; see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 15, the device as recited in claim 8 is specific to this method and thus it must perform the method. The method is intrinsic to the apparatus because the recited method steps will be performed during normal operation of the apparatus. Therefore, Claim 15 is also rejected.
Regarding Claim 9, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the MCU is further configured to provide, via a signal generator, the rectification signal to the resolver (figure 5, signal generator 506 and [0060]).
Regarding Claim 10, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface; also see [0050]-[0054]).
Regarding Claim 11, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to generate the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 12, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the resolver interface circuitry is configured to set a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 13, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the threshold is associated with noise in the apparatus (see [0100]).
Regarding Claim 14, Oustry teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Regarding Claim 16, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the MCU comprises a resolver interface circuitry, the resolver interface circuitry further comprising an excitation generator circuitry configured to generate an excitation signal and a demodulation circuitry configured to perform rectification sign signal reconstruction (see figure 5, elements 526, 506, 510 as well as [0060]-[0061] discussing said interface).
Regarding Claim 17, Oustry teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: generating, by the resolver interface circuitry, the rectification signal, wherein the rectification signal is a rectification sign signal synchronized with one or more modulated feedbacks of the resolver (see [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding Claim 18, Oustry teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising: setting, by the resolver interface circuitry, a sign of the reconstructed sign signal based on a sign of the position sensing variable (see figure 24 and [0065]-[0068], [0128]-[0129] details the signal sampling and sign reconstruction).
Regarding Claim 19, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the threshold is associated with noise impacting the at least one sine sample signal or the at least one cosine sample signal (see [0100]).
Regarding Claim 20, Oustry teaches the method of claim 15, wherein the position sensing variable is based on the initial position of the one or more positions of the motor (see figures 5 and 24; also note that, broadly, position sensing is always based to some extent on the initial motor position).
Conclusion
/MICHAEL A HARRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2852