DETAILED ACTION
As per MPEP 2111 and 2111.01, the claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation and the words of the claims are given their plain meaning consistent with the specification without importing claim limitations from the specification.
In responding to this Office action, the applicant is requested to include specific references (figures, paragraphs, lines, etc.) to the drawings/specification of the present application and/or the cited prior arts that clearly support any amendments/arguments presented in the response, to facilitate consideration of the amendments/arguments.
Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's Amendment, filed 07-06-2026. The changes and remarks disclosed therein have been considered.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 8, 9, 11, 20, and 22 has/have been amended, claim(s) 4 has/have been cancelled, and claim(s) 1-3, and 5-22 remain(s) pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 7, 11, 12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ha, US 20200066342 A1.
As to claim 1, Ha discloses a system (see Ha Fig 1) comprising:
a memory array (see Ha Fig 1 Ref NVM) comprising at least one first memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL5); and
a controller (see Ha Fig 1 Ref 100) configured to: determine errors (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114) associated with the first memory cell; determine a physical address of at least one second memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL6; OR see annotated image of Ha Fig 8 below) using at least one offset (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S119) from a physical address of the first memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL5; OR see annotated image of Ha Fig 8 below); and
apply a write refresh to the second memory cell (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S116); wherein
the controller is further configured to determine at least one temperature associated with the memory array (see Ha Fig 6 and Paras [0074-0078], [0175], and [0176]; Determining a temperature does not imply real time, on-die, temperature sensing.), and determine, based on the errors, whether at least one criterion is satisfied (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114).
As to claim 2, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the at least one first memory cell is at least one of an individual memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL5), and a plurality of cells (see Ha Fig 8 Ref WL5) associated with a memory unit of the memory array.
As to claim 3, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the second memory cell is on at least one of a same wordline as the first memory cell, and on a same bitline as the first memory cell (see annotated image of Ha Fig 8 below).
As to claim 6, Ha disclose the system of claim 1, wherein
the at least one offset is determined by at least one of adding or subtracting a respective first value to or from a bitline number for each first memory cell (The language "at least one of” implies that only one of the “adding or subtracting” limitations needs to be met.), or adding or subtracting a respective second value to a wordline number for each first memory cell (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S119).
As to claim 7, Ha disclose the system of claim 6, wherein
each of the respective first and second values has a value of 1 or 2 (see Ha Fig 15 Ref S216).
As to claim 11, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the criterion is a threshold (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114), and the threshold is a function of temperature (see Ha Para [0176]).
As to claim 12, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the errors are zero-to-one failures (see Ha Fig 9 Refs S4 and RR).
As to claim 14, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the first memory cell and the second memory cell are each programmable by the controller to be in an amorphous state or a crystalline state (see Ha Para [0075]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, US 20200066342 A1, in view of Bradshaw, US 20190325956 A1.
As to claim 5, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the at least one offset comprises a wordline offset.
Ha does not appear to explicitly disclose a bitline offset.
Bradshaw discloses a bitline offset (see Bradshaw Para [0064] and Fig 3 Refs 200B and 200D).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a system, as disclosed by Ha, may implement individual memory cell access for data correction, as disclosed by Bradshaw. The inventions are well known variants of resistive memory technologies, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Bradshaw’s attempt to maintain data (see Bradshaw Para [0070]).
As to claim 13, Ha and Bradshaw disclose system of claim 1, wherein
the memory array is a cross-point memory array (see Bradshaw Para [0021]).
Claim(s) 9 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, US 20200066342 A1, in view of Yang, US 20170116075 A1.
As to claim 9, Ha discloses the system of claim 1, wherein
the controller is further configured to: adjust the at least one criterion based on temperature (see Ha Para [0176]).
Ha does not appear to explicitly disclose determine a temperature; and adjust the at least one criterion based on the determined temperature.
Yang discloses determine a temperature (see Yang Fig 17 Ref 1106); and adjust the at least one criterion based on the determined temperature (see Yang Fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a system, as disclosed by Ha, may implement sensors for determining local temperature , as disclosed by Yang. The inventions are well known variants of resistive memory technologies, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Yang’s attempt to identify error conditions (see Yang Para [0031]).
As to claim 15, Ha discloses an apparatus (see Ha Fig 1) comprising:
a memory array (see Ha Fig 1 Ref NVM) comprising at least one first memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL5); and a controller (see Ha Fig 1 Ref 100) configured to:
determine errors (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114) associated with the first memory cell; determine, at least one criterion (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114); determine, based on the errors, whether the at least one criterion is satisfied (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S114); and in response to determining that the criterion is satisfied: determine a physical address of at least one second memory cell (see Ha Fig 8 Refs most right MC and WL6); and apply a write refresh to the second memory cell (see Ha Fig 11 Ref 116).
Ha does not appear to explicitly disclose at least one sensor; collect sensor data from the at least one sensor; and determine, based on the sensor data.
Yang discloses at least one sensor (see Ha Fig 17 Ref 1106; Use of a sensor is inherent.); collect sensor data from the at least one sensor (see Ha Fig 17 Ref 1106); and determine, based on the sensor data (see Yang Fig 9).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a system, as disclosed by Ha, may implement temperature sensing methods , as disclosed by Yang. The inventions are well known variants of resistive memory technologies, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Yang’s attempt to identify error conditions (see Yang Para [0031]).
As to claim 16, Ha and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein
the sensor is a temperature sensor (see Yang Fig 17 Ref 1106).
As to claim 17, Ha and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein
the sensor data is temperature data (see Yang Fig 17 Ref 1106), the criterion is a threshold (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S118), and the threshold is reduced by the controller in response to determining, using the temperature data, that a temperature associated with the memory array has increased (see Ha Para [0176]; Latency reduction requires an error margin threshold to be reduced.).
As to claim 18, Ha and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein
a physical address of the second memory cell is determined using at least one offset from the physical address of the first memory cell (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S119).
As to claim 19, Ha and Yang disclose the apparatus of claim 15, wherein
the controller is further configured to read a status of the first memory cells (see Ha Fig 11 Ref S112), and the read status is a read error due to failure to decode data read from the memory array (see Yang Fig 6B), and the first memory cell is refreshed in response to determining the read error (see Yang Fig 6B Ref 786).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ha, US 20200066342 A1 and Yang, US 20170116075 A1, in view of Sakakibara, US 20220293198 A1.
As to claim 10, Ha and Yang disclose the system of claim 9, wherein
the temperature is a temperature of a semiconductor device (see Ha Para [0176]) which the memory array is formed (see Yang Para [0117]; Forming is a normal operation.).
Ha and Yang do not appear to explicitly disclose a temperature of a semiconductor die.
Sakakibara discloses a temperature of a semiconductor die (see Sakakibara Fig 2A Ref 318 and Para [0095]).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the effective filing of the invention that a system, as disclosed by Ha and Yang, may implement sensors for determining local temperature, as disclosed by Sakakibara. The inventions are well known variants of resistive memory technologies, and the combination of known inventions which produces predictable results is obvious and not patentable. Further evidence to the obviousness of their combination is Sakakibara’s attempt to improve reliability (see Sakakibara Para [0024]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/06/2021 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argued language does not appear to overcome the prior art. Determining a temperature does not imply real-time real time, on-die, temperature sensing. Determining does not preclude using corelated variables to determine a criterion. Ha explicitly discloses the controller using temperature sensing to trigger thresholds in Para [0176].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 20-22 are allowed.
Claim(s) 8 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art does not appear to discloses (as recited in claim 8):
the at least one criterion includes a first threshold and a second threshold; the at least one second memory cell is a first set of cells when a number of the errors exceeds the first threshold; the at least one second memory cell is a second set of cells when the number of the errors exceeds the second threshold; the second threshold is greater than the first threshold; and the second set is larger than the first set.
The prior art does not appear to disclose (as recited in claim 20):
the errors are compared to a first threshold and a second threshold; a first number of second memory cells is refreshed in response to determining that the errors exceed the first threshold.
Conclusion
/JEROME LEBOEUF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 - 08/08/2026