DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-22 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN 116705784) (hereinafter, “Chen”) (The machine translation provided is relied on for the following citations.).
Re: independent claim 1, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 an electronic package, comprising: a carrier structure (100) having a first electrical contact pad (fig. 2) and a second electrical contact pad (fig. 2); a passive element (200) disposed on the carrier structure and electrically connected to the first electrical contact pad (fig. 3); an interposer structure (300) disposed on the carrier structure and electrically connected to the second electrical contact pad (fig. 11); and an electronic element (500) disposed on and electrically connected to the passive element (200) and the interposer structure (300).
Re: claim 2, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the carrier structure (100) is formed with a recess (101) accommodating the passive element (200).
Re: claim 3, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein a plurality of the passive elements (200) are disposed on the carrier structure (100).
Re: claim 4, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the passive element (200) has a first contact (connected to bottom of 202) and a second contact (connected to top of 202) opposing the first contact, wherein the first contact (connected to bottom of 202) is electrically connected to the first electrical contact pad (fig. 2), and the second contact (connected to top of 202) is electrically connected to the electronic element (500).
Re: claim 5, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the passive element (200) is served as a power transmission element (p. 5 ll. 1-8) for the electronic element (500).
Re: claim 6, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the interposer structure (300) comprises a plate body (302) having a plurality of penetrating conductive vias (within 302), wherein the conductive via is electrically connected to the electronic element (500) and the second electrical contact pad (fig. 14).
Re: claim 7, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 6, wherein the interposer structure (300) further comprises a circuit portion (301) bonded to the plate body (302), wherein the conductive via is electrically connected to the second electrical contact pad via the circuit portion (fig. 11-13).
Re: claim 8, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 6, wherein the interposer structure (300) is disposed on the second electrical contact pad via a conductor (fig. 11).
Re: claim 9, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein a plurality of the electronic elements (500) are disposed on the interposer structure (300), and the interposer structure (300) electrically bridges at least two of the plurality of electronic elements (fig. 14).
Re: claim 10, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, wherein the interposer structure (300) is served as a signal transmission element (through 301, 302) for the electronic element (500).
Re: claim 11, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 the electronic package of claim 1, further comprising an encapsulation layer (203) encapsulating the passive element (200).
Re: independent claim 12, Chen discloses in figs. 2-17 a method of manufacturing an electronic package, comprising: providing a carrier structure (100) having a first electrical contact pad (fig. 2) and a second electrical contact pad (fig. 2); disposing a passive element (200) and an interposer structure (300) on the carrier structure (100), wherein the passive element (200) is electrically connected to the first electrical contact pad (fig. 3), and the interposer structure (300) is electrically connected to the second electrical contact pad (fig. 11); and disposing an electronic element (500) on the passive element (200) and the interposer structure (300), wherein the electronic element (500) is electrically connected to the passive element (200) and the interposer structure (300) (fig. 14).
Re: claim 13, see claim 2 rejection above.
Re: claim 14, see claim 3 rejection above.
Re: claim 15, see claim 4 rejection above.
Re: claim 16, see claim 5 rejection above.
Re: claim 17, see claim 6 rejection above.
Re: claim 18, see claim 7 rejection above.
Re: claim 19, see claim 8 rejection above.
Re: claim 20, see claim 9 rejection above.
Re: claim 21, see claim 10 rejection above.
Re: claim 22, see claim 11 rejection above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin et al. US 2025/0125273 teach a multi-chip package including a passive component including vertical-through-via connector and an interposer.
Chen et al. US 2025/0132296 teach a semiconductor package including an interposer including a redistribution structure and a passive device.
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner. When responding to this office action, applicants are advised to provide the examiner with the line numbers and page numbers in the application and/or references cited to assist the examiner in locating appropriate paragraphs.
/ALLISON BERNSTEIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2824 8/14/2026