DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The oath/declaration filed on 06/05/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Specification
4. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-5 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over KURASHIMA N (JP-2012015192-A1) in view of 김현기 (KR-102127772-B1).
Regarding claim 1, KURASHIMA N discloses a package structure, comprising a first substrate (12), a second substrate (20), a first chip (14), a second chip (34), a heat sink (24) and an inter-board connection structure (18), wherein
the second substrate (20) is provided with a first opening penetrating through an upper surface and a lower surface of the second substrate (20);
the first chip (14) is mounted to an upper surface of the first substrate (12), and the first chip (14) is electrically connected to the first substrate (12);
the second substrate (20) is mounted to the upper surface of the first substrate (12), the inter-board connection structure (18) is positioned between the lower surface of the second substrate (20) and the upper surface of the first substrate (12), the second substrate (20) is electrically connected to the first substrate (12) through the inter-board connection structure (18), and the first opening in the second substrate (20) at least exposes a part of the back side of the first chip (14);
the second chip (34) is mounted to the upper surface of the second substrate (20), and the second chip (34) is electrically connected to the second substrate (20); and
the heat sink passes through the first opening (Figs. 5a-5b and 8 and English Text).
KURASHIMA N discloses the features of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose the heat sink is mounted to the back side of the first chip through the first opening.
김현기, however, discloses the heat sink (11) is mounted to the back side (27) of the first chip (25) through the first opening (by a first thermal interface material layer (TIM layer) 8) Fig. 16 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of KURASHIMA N to provide the heat sink is mounted to the back side of the first chip through the first opening as taught by 김현기 for a purpose of providing the heat dissipating efficiency of the first chip.
Regarding claim 2, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to
KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first chip (14) has a size larger than that of the first opening, and the first chip (14) has a thickness thinner than that of the inter-board connection structure (18) (Fig. 16 and English Text).
Regarding claim 3, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to
KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the surface of the back side of the first chip (14) outside the first opening is adhered to the lower surface of the second substrate (31/41) at an edge of the first opening through sealing material (81), and the first opening exposes the back side of the first chip (14) between the sealing material (81) (Fig. 8 in KARASHIMA N and Fig. 16 in 김현기).
Regarding claim 4, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to
KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the sealing material (81) completely seals, partially seals, or does not seal the space between the second substrate (31/41) at the edge of the first opening and the surface of the back side of the first chip (25) outside the first opening (Fig. 16 in 김현기).
Regarding claim 5, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein a molding compound (22) is filled between the first substrate (12) and the second substrate (20) (Fig. 6).
With respect to process claim 12 prior art device renders obvious a claimed process, in its normal and usual operation, and it would necessarily perform the method claim. MPEP2112.02.
Regarding claim 13, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to KARASHIMA N unless
otherwise noted) discloses wherein the first chip (14) has a size larger than that of the first opening, and the first chip (14) has a thickness thinner than that of the inter-board connection structure (18) (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 14, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to
KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the surface of the back side of the first chip (25) outside the first opening is adhered to the lower surface of the second substrate (31/41) at an edge of the first opening through sealing material (81), and the first opening exposes the back side of the first chip between the sealing material (81) (Fig. 16 in 김현기).
Regarding claim 15, KARASHIMA N and 김현기 (citations to
KARASHIMA N unless otherwise noted) discloses wherein the sealing material (81) completely seals, partially seals, or does not seal a space between the second substrate (31/41) at the edge of the first opening and the surface of the back side of the first chip (25) outside the first opening (Fig. 16 in 김현기).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-11 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
7. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
PARK M (KR-20130035805-A) discloses a package structure, comprising a lower package (10) includes a first substrate (110) having a first semiconductor chip. An upper package (20) includes a second substrate (210) having a second semiconductor chip. A heat sink (250) is formed between the upper and the lower package. A connection terminal (120) electrically connects the lower package to the upper package. A first heat spreader (170) is arranged on the first semiconductor chip (Fig. 1 and English Text).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897