DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 6, 2024, February 1, 2025, December 10, 2025, and June 22, 2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 112928339 A), hereinafter referred to as Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a winding needle structure for a lithium battery sheet winding machine (“a winding mandrel, configured to wind a battery cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001]). Li teaches the winding needle structure includes an inner winding needle 3 (“a first connecting member”) and an outer winding needle 5 (“a second connecting member configured to be combined with the first connecting member”) (see e.g., paragraph [0024] and Figure 5). Li teaches the inner winding needle 3 and the outer winding needle 5 are arranged coaxially (“wherein the second connecting member and the first connecting member are arranged coaxially”) (see e.g., Figure 5) and the length of a combination of the inner winding needle 3 and the outer winding needle 5 is greater than the length of a singular inner winding needle 3 or a singular winding needle (“length of the combined first connecting member and second connecting member is greater than length of the first connecting member or the second connecting member”) (see e.g., Figure 5).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches the inner winding needle 3 comprises two ends along its own length direction (“wherein the first connecting member comprises two ends along its own length direction”) (see e.g., Figure 5) and the outer winding needle 5 also comprises two ends along its own length direction (“the second connecting member also comprises two ends along its own length direction”) (see e.g., Figure 5). Li teaches the inner winding needle 3 and the outer winding needle 5 are configured to be combined by a connecting rod 17 (“one end of the first connecting member along its length direction and one end of the second connecting member along its length direction are combined”) (see e.g., Figure 5 and paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
Li teaches the inner winding needle 3 is mounted in an inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle 5 is mounted in an outer winding needle mounting shaft (see e.g., paragraph [0024]). Li teaches the connecting rod is installed between the inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle mounting shaft 5 via an insertion manner (“wherein one end of the first connecting member along its length direction and one end of the second connecting member along its length direction are connected in an insertion manner”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
Li teaches the inner winding needle 3 is mounted in an inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle 5 is mounted in an outer winding needle mounting shaft (see e.g., paragraph [0024]). Li teaches the connecting rod 17 is installed between the inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle mounting shaft 5, forming apart from each other (“wherein one end of the first connecting member along its length direction and one end of the second connecting member along its length direction are combined in a manner of being apart from each other”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
Li teaches the connecting rod 17 is installed between the inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle mounting shaft 5, forming apart from each other (“wherein the winding mandrel further comprises an intermediate connecting member, and one end of the first connecting member along its length direction and one end of the second connecting member along its length direction are combined through the intermediate connecting member”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027] and Figure 5).
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Li teaches the connecting rod 17 is installed between the inner winding needle mounting shaft 2 and the outer winding needle mounting shaft 5, forming apart from each other (“wherein the intermediate connecting member comprises a connecting rod, and two ends of the connecting rod are connected through insertion to one end of the first connecting member along its length direction and one end of the second connecting member along its length direction, respectively”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027] and Figure 5).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Li teaches the connecting rod 17 is a solid rod with a hole in its center (“wherein the connecting rod is a solid rod or a hollow rod”) (see e.g., Figure 5).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches a lithium battery sheet winding machine (“a winding machine, comprising the winding mandrel according to claim 1”) (see e.g., paragraph [0001]).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 13, as previously described.
Li teaches the lithium battery sheet winding machine includes a winding mandrel telescopic mechanism, where the inner winding needles and the outer winding needles are installed on the mechanism to be drive to approach or leave each other (“wherein the winding machine comprises a winding mandrel telescopic mechanism, and the first connecting member and the second connecting member are installed on the winding mandrel telescopic mechanism so as to be driven by the winding mandrel telescopic mechanism to approach or leave each other”) (see e.g., Figures 2-7 and paragraphs [0010], [0019], and [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li teaches a winding method (“a battery cell winding method”) of electrode sheets and a separator (“providing an electrode plate and a separator”) with the winding mandrel according to claim 1 (“winding the electrode plate and the separator using a winding mandrel, wherein the winding mandrel is the winding mandrel according to claim 1”) (see e.g., [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112928339 A) in view of Bao et al. (CN 201038263 Y), hereinafter referred to as Bao.
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the intermediate connecting member comprises a hollow sleeve, and the first connecting member and the second connecting member are inserted into the hollow sleeve from two ends of the hollow sleeve, respectively.
However, Bao teaches a battery coil needle for producing lithium batteries (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Bao teaches the cylindrical coil needle has axially recessed air grooves on its surface (“wherein the intermediate connecting member comprises a hollow sleeve, and the first connecting member and the second connecting member are inserted into the hollow sleeve from two ends of the hollow sleeve, respectively”) to reduce friction between the diaphragm and the winding needle and to balance the air pressure above and below the diaphragm in order effectively prevent the diaphragm from tearing due to electrostatic adsorption or pressure difference when it is pulled out of the winding needle (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the connecting rod of Li to have axially recessed air grooves on its surface, as taught by Bao, in order to effectively prevent the diaphragm from tearing due to electrostatic adsorption or pressure difference when it is pulled out of the winding needle (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
Regarding claim 9, Li, as modified by Bao, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Li, as modified by Bao, teaches the inner winding needle and the outer winding needle are connected to or apart from each other by the connecting rod as taught by Li, as modified by Bao, as previously described in claim 8 (“wherein the first connecting member and the second connecting member are connected to or apart from each other in the hollow sleeve”).
Regarding claim 10, Li, as modified by Bao, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
As previously described in claim 8, the connecting rod of Li, as modified by Bao, teaches the connecting rod has axially recessed air grooves on its surface (“wherein the hollow sleeve is provided with a plurality of ventilation holes”) (see e.g., paragraph Bao [0010]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112928339 A) in view of Yang (CN 107994259 A).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein surfaces of the first connecting member and the second connecting member are provided with coatings to reduce a frictional force generated during pull-out from the battery cell.
However, Yang teaches a winding machine (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Yang teaches applying a lubricant to the winding needle to reduce friction between the core and the winding needle, thereby avoiding or mitigating the problem of core pulling during cell removal (“wherein surfaces of the first connecting member and the second connecting member are provided with coatings to reduce a frictional force generated during pull-out from the battery cell”) (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first winding needle and the second winding needle of Li to have a lubricant applied to their respective surfaces, as taught by Yang, in order to to reduce friction between the core and the winding needle, thereby avoiding or mitigating the problem of core pulling during cell removal (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112928339 A) in view of Huang et al. (CN 211858815 U), hereinafter referred to as Huang.
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 2, as previously described.
Li does not explicitly teach wherein the other end of the first connecting member along its length direction is provided with a radial connecting hole; the other end of the second connecting member along its length direction is also provided with a radial connecting hole; and the first connecting member and the second connecting member are configured to be fixed to a winding machine through the connecting holes.
However, Huang teaches a winding needle structure (see e.g., paragraph [0002]). Huang teaches the first winding needle 100 has a first mounting hole 121 provided on a first connecting seat in order to install the winding needle as a whole on the drive mechanism of the winding machine (“wherein the other end of the first connecting member along its length direction is provided with a radial connecting hole”) (see e.g., paragraph [0056]). Huang teaches the second winding needle 200 includes a second mounting hole 221 on the second connecting seat 220 (“the other end of the second connecting member along its length direction is also provided with a radial connecting hole” and “the first connecting member and the second connecting member are configured to be fixed to a winding machine through the connecting holes”) (see e.g., paragraph [0058]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the first winding needle and the second winding needle of Li to have a mounting hole, as taught by Huang, in order to install the winding needle as a whole to the drive mechanism of the winding machine (see e.g., paragraphs [0056] and [0058]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zeng et al. (US 20170288274 A1) teaches a winding mandrel that comprises a first winding mandrel and a second winding mandrel which are sequentially provided along the length direction, a first end surface of the first winding mandrel and a second end surface of the second winding mandrel face each other and form a clamping groove; an end of the first end surface which is close to the blank second current collector is beyond an end of the first end surface which is away from the blank second current collector in the length direction; an end of the second end surface which is close to the blank second current collector is beyond an end of the second end surface which is away from the blank second current collector in the length direction (see e.g., paragraph [0006]).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728