DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2023/0064695 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Jeon”).
With respect to claim 1, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, a display device, comprising: a substrate (BSL); a pixel unit (PXL) disposed on the substrate (PCS) (see Par.[0059] wherein referring to FIG. 1, the display device according to an embodiment may include the display panel PNL including a base layer BSL and pixels PXL disposed on the base layer BSL; see Par.[0147] wherein the pixel substrate PCS may be the substrate including the base layer BSL and the pixel circuit layer PCL described with reference to FIGS. 4 and 5), comprising: a first sub-pixel (PXL1), comprising: a first light-emitting element (LD), wherein an emitted light (LD) has a first color (see Par.[0134]-[0135] wherein the first color conversion layer CCL1 may be disposed on the second electrode EL2 of the first sub-pixel PXL1 and overlap the light emitting element LD; the first color conversion layer CCL1 may include a red quantum particle (not shown) that converts blue light emitted from the light emitting element LD into red light; the red quantum particle may absorb the blue light and shift a wavelength according to an energy transition to emit the red light of a wavelength band of about 620 nm to about 780 nm); and a reflective structure (BNK) disposed on the substrate (PCS) and comprising a first portion (BNK1) and a second portion (BNK2), wherein the first portion (BNK1) of the reflective structure surrounds the first light-emitting element (LD), and a projection area of the first portion (BNK1) on the substrate (PCS) is less than a projection area of the second portion (BNK2) on the substrate (PCS) (see Par.[0104] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the display element layer DPL may include the bonding electrode BMT, the light emitting element LD, a first insulating layer INS1, a second electrode EL2, a first bank BNK1, a second bank BNK2, a color conversion layer CCL, and a color filter layer CF; see Fig.5 wherein the width in dR1 direction of BNK2 is wider than that of BNK1).
With respect to claim 3, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a first color conversion structure disposed on the first light-emitting element and adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element into a second color, and the second portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first color conversion structure (see Par.[0130]-[0132] wherein the color conversion layer CCL may convert the light emitted from the light emitting element LD, and may include a color conversion particle (for example, a quantum dot) corresponding to a predetermined color to convert the light generated by the light emitting element LD).
With respect to claim 5, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the display device, further comprising a first color filter pattern (CF1) disposed on the first color conversion structure (CCL), wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0137]-[0144] wherein the first color filter CF1 may include a color filter material that selectively transmits light generated in the first sub-pixel PXL1. For example, in a case that the first sub-pixel PXL1 is a red pixel, the first color filter CF1 may include a red color filter material; the second color filter CF2 may be disposed on the second color conversion layer CCL2; the second color filter CF2 may include a color filter material that selectively transmits light generated in the second sub-pixel PXL2; for example, in a case that the second sub-pixel PXL2 is a green pixel, the second color filter CF2 may include a green color filter material).
With respect to claim 7, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a second sub-pixel area (PXL2), the second sub-pixel area comprises a second light-emitting element (LE) and a second color conversion structure (CCL2), and the second color conversion structure is disposed on the second light-emitting element and is adapted to convert a light emitted by the second light-emitting element into a third color (see Par.[0132]-[0135] wherein the second color conversion layer CCL2 may be disposed on the second electrode EL2 of the second sub-pixel PXL2 and overlap the light emitting element LD; the second color conversion layer CCL2 may include a green quantum particle (not shown) that converts the blue light emitted from the light emitting element LD into green light; the green quantum particle may absorb the blue light and shift the wavelength according to the energy transition to emit the green light of a wavelength band of about 500 nm to about 570 nm).
With respect to claim 8, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the display device, further comprising a second color filter pattern (CF2), disposed on the second color conversion structure (CCL2), wherein the second color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the third color (see Par.[0137]-[0144] wherein the second color filter CF2 may be disposed on the second color conversion layer CCL2; the second color filter CF2 may include a color filter material that selectively transmits light generated in the second sub-pixel PXL2; for example, in a case that the second sub-pixel PXL2 is a green pixel, the second color filter CF2 may include a green color filter material).
With respect to claim 13, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the display device, further comprising a second film layer (INS1) disposed between the first portion of the reflective structure (BNK) and the first light-emitting element (LD) (see Par.[0154]-[0157] wherein the first insulating layer INS1 may be etched to expose the second end EP2 of the light emitting element LD; the second electrode EL2 (or the common electrode) may be formed to cover or overlap the first insulating layer INS1 and the second end EP2 of the light emitting element LD).
With respect to claim 15, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, a manufacturing method of a display device, comprising: providing a substrate (PCS); disposing a pixel unit (PXL) on the substrate (PCS) to be electrically connected to the substrate (PCS), wherein the pixel unit comprises a first sub-pixel (PXL1), the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (LD), and a light emitted by the first light-emitting element has a first color (see Par.[0059] wherein referring to FIG. 1, the display device according to an embodiment may include the display panel PNL including a base layer BSL and pixels PXL disposed on the base layer BSL; see Par.[0147] wherein the pixel substrate PCS may be the substrate including the base layer BSL and the pixel circuit layer PCL described with reference to FIGS. 4 and 5; see Par.[0134]-[0135] wherein the first color conversion layer CCL1 may be disposed on the second electrode EL2 of the first sub-pixel PXL1 and overlap the light emitting element LD; the first color conversion layer CCL1 may include a red quantum particle (not shown) that converts blue light emitted from the light emitting element LD into red light; the red quantum particle may absorb the blue light and shift a wavelength according to an energy transition to emit the red light of a wavelength band of about 620 nm to about 780 nm); and forming a reflective structure (BNK) on the substrate through an electroplating process, wherein the reflective structure comprises a first portion (BNK1) and a second portion (BNK2), the first portion (BNK1) of the reflective structure surrounds the first light-emitting element, and an area of the first portion projected on the substrate is less than an area of the second portion projected on the substrate (see Par.[0104] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the display element layer DPL may include the bonding electrode BMT, the light emitting element LD, a first insulating layer INS1, a second electrode EL2, a first bank BNK1, a second bank BNK2, a color conversion layer CCL, and a color filter layer CF; see Fig.5 wherein the width in dR1 direction of BNK2 is wider than that of BNK1; see Par.[0124], [0161] wherein the first bank BNK1 may include a metal material; for example, the first bank BNK1 may include an electrolyte, an electroplating material, and the like).
With respect to claim 16, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color conversion structure (CCL1) on the first light-emitting element (LD), wherein the first color conversion structure is adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element into a second color, and the second portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first color conversion structure (see Par.[0130]-[0132] wherein the color conversion layer CCL may convert the light emitted from the light emitting element LD, and may include a color conversion particle (for example, a quantum dot) corresponding to a predetermined color to convert the light generated by the light emitting element LD).
With respect to claim 17, Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color filter pattern (CF1) on the first color conversion structure (CCL1), wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0137]-[0144] wherein the first color filter CF1 may include a color filter material that selectively transmits light generated in the first sub-pixel PXL1. For example, in a case that the first sub-pixel PXL1 is a red pixel, the first color filter CF1 may include a red color filter material; the second color filter CF2 may be disposed on the second color conversion layer CCL2; the second color filter CF2 may include a color filter material that selectively transmits light generated in the second sub-pixel PXL2; for example, in a case that the second sub-pixel PXL2 is a green pixel, the second color filter CF2 may include a green color filter material).
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 13, 15-17, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 2022/0352241 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Jeon ‘2022”).
With respect to claim 1, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, a display device, comprising: a substrate (SUB1); a pixel unit (PX) disposed on the substrate (SUB1), comprising: a first sub-pixel (EA1) (see Par.[0088]-[0089] wherein each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a plurality of light emission areas EA1, EA2, and EA3 that emit light), comprising: a first light-emitting element (LE), wherein an emitted light has a first color; and a reflective structure (PW) disposed on the substrate (SUB1) and comprising a first portion (PW1) and a second portion (PW2), wherein the first portion (PW1) of the reflective structure (PW) surrounds the first light-emitting element (LE), and a projection area of the first portion (PW1) on the substrate (SUB1) is less than a projection area of the second portion (PW2) on the substrate (SUB1) (see Par.[0105]-[0106] wherein the semiconductor circuit board 110 may include a first substrate SUB1, a plurality of pixel circuit areas PXC, pixel electrodes 111; see Par.[0096] wherein the partition wall PW may be disposed to be spaced from the light emitting element LE; the partition wall PW may have a meshed plane shape, a net plane shape, or a lattice plane shape; the partition wall PW may include a first partition wall PW1 (FIG. 5) and a second partition wall PW2 (FIG. 5); see Par.[0249] wherein the width Wpw1 of the first partition wall PW1_1 may be different from the width Wpw2 of the second partition wall PW2_1 (e.g.; Wpw1 > Wpw2 or Wpw1 < Wpw2), but the present disclosure is not limited thereto; the width Wpw1 of the first partition wall PW1_1 may substantially be the same as the width Wpw2 of the second partition wall PW2_1).
With respect to claim 3, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a first color conversion structure (QDL) disposed on the first light-emitting element (LE) and adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element (LE) into a second color, and the second portion (PW2) of the reflective structure (PW) surrounds the first color conversion structure (QDL) (see Par.[0136]-[0142] wherein the color control layer 130 may include wavelength conversion layers QDL, a second partition wall PW2 of the partition wall PW, and a plurality of color filters CF1, CF2, and CF3; the wavelength conversion layer QDL may convert a portion of the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into fourth light and emit the fourth light. For example, the fourth light may be the light of a yellow wavelength band; the fourth light may be the light that includes both a green wavelength band and a red wavelength band; see Par.[0163]-[0164] wherein the second wavelength conversion particles WCP2 may convert the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into the second light; for example, the second wavelength conversion particles WCP2 may convert the light of the blue wavelength band into the light of the green wavelength band; the third wavelength conversion particles WCP3 may convert the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into the third light; for example, the third wavelength conversion particles WCP3 may convert the light of the blue wavelength band into the light of the red wavelength band).
With respect to claim 5, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, further comprising a first color filter (CF1) pattern disposed on the first color conversion structure (QDL), wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0136] wherein the color control layer 130 may include wavelength conversion layers QDL, a second partition wall PW2 of the partition wall PW, and a plurality of color filters CF1, CF2, and CF3; see Par.[0152]-[0153] wherein each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit the first light and absorb or block the fourth light; for example, each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit light of the blue wavelength band and absorb or block light of the green and red wavelength bands; therefore, each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit the first light, which is not converted by the wavelength conversion layer QDL, among the first light emitted from the light emitting element LE, and may absorb or block the fourth light converted by the wavelength conversion layer QDL).
With respect to claim 7, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a second sub-pixel area (EA2), the second sub-pixel area (EA2) comprises a second light-emitting element (LE) and a second color conversion structure (QDL_EA2), and the second color conversion structure is disposed on the second light-emitting element (LE) and is adapted to convert a light emitted by the second light-emitting element into a third color (see Par.[0153]-[0154] wherein each of the second color filters CF2 may transmit the second light, and may absorb or block the first light and the third light; for example, each of the second color filters CF2 may transmit the light of the green wavelength band and absorb or block the light of the blue and red wavelength bands; each of the second color filters CF2 may absorb or block the first light that is not converted by the wavelength conversion layer QDL among the first light emitted from the light emitting element LE).
With respect to claim 8, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, further comprising a second color filter pattern (CF2), disposed on the second color conversion structure (QDL), wherein the second color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the third color (see Par.[0153]-[0154]).
With respect to claim 13, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, further comprising a second film layer (INS) disposed between the first portion (PW1) of the reflective structure (PW) and the first light-emitting element (LE) (see Par.[0193]-[0197] wherein the planarization insulating film PINS may remain without being etched; in this case, the planarization insulating film PINS may be disposed between the first substrate SUB1 and the insulating film INS).
With respect to claim 15, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, a manufacturing method of a display device, comprising: providing a substrate (SUB1); disposing a pixel unit (PX) on the substrate (SUB1) to be electrically connected to the substrate (SUB1), wherein the pixel unit (PX) comprises a first sub-pixel (EA1), the first sub-pixel (EA1) comprises a first light-emitting element (LE), and a light emitted by the first light-emitting element has a first color; and forming a reflective structure (PW) on the substrate (SUB1) through an electroplating process, wherein the reflective structure (PW) comprises a first portion (PW1) and a second portion (PW2), the first portion (PW1) of the reflective structure (PW) surrounds the first light-emitting element, and an area of the first portion projected on the substrate is less than an area of the second portion projected on the substrate (see Par.[0088]-[0089] wherein each of the plurality of pixels PX may include a plurality of light emission areas EA1, EA2, and EA3 that emit light; see Par.[0105]-[0106] wherein the semiconductor circuit board 110 may include a first substrate SUB1, a plurality of pixel circuit areas PXC, pixel electrodes 111; see Par.[0096] wherein the partition wall PW may be disposed to be spaced from the light emitting element LE; the partition wall PW may have a meshed plane shape, a net plane shape, or a lattice plane shape; the partition wall PW may include a first partition wall PW1 (FIG. 5) and a second partition wall PW2 (FIG. 5); see Par.[0249] wherein the width Wpw1 of the first partition wall PW1_1 may be different from the width Wpw2 of the second partition wall PW2_1 (e.g.; Wpw1 > Wpw2 or Wpw1 < Wpw2), but the present disclosure is not limited thereto; the width Wpw1 of the first partition wall PW1_1 may substantially be the same as the width Wpw2 of the second partition wall PW2_1); see Par.[0197]-[0198] wherein the first partition wall material layer PWL1 may be formed by electro-plating or electroless-plating; a thickness of the first partition wall material layer PWL1 may be thicker than that of each of the light emitting elements LE).
With respect to claim 16, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color conversion structure on the first light-emitting element, wherein the first color conversion structure is adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element into a second color, and the second portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first color conversion structure (see Par.[0136]-[0142] wherein the color control layer 130 may include wavelength conversion layers QDL, a second partition wall PW2 of the partition wall PW, and a plurality of color filters CF1, CF2, and CF3; the wavelength conversion layer QDL may convert a portion of the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into fourth light and emit the fourth light. For example, the fourth light may be the light of a yellow wavelength band; the fourth light may be the light that includes both a green wavelength band and a red wavelength band; see Par.[0163]-[0164] wherein the second wavelength conversion particles WCP2 may convert the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into the second light; for example, the second wavelength conversion particles WCP2 may convert the light of the blue wavelength band into the light of the green wavelength band; the third wavelength conversion particles WCP3 may convert the first light incident from the light emitting element LE into the third light; for example, the third wavelength conversion particles WCP3 may convert the light of the blue wavelength band into the light of the red wavelength band).
With respect to claim 17, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color filter pattern on the first color conversion structure, wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0136] wherein the color control layer 130 may include wavelength conversion layers QDL, a second partition wall PW2 of the partition wall PW, and a plurality of color filters CF1, CF2, and CF3; see Par.[0152]-[0153] wherein each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit the first light and absorb or block the fourth light; for example, each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit light of the blue wavelength band and absorb or block light of the green and red wavelength bands; therefore, each of the first color filters CF1 may transmit the first light, which is not converted by the wavelength conversion layer QDL, among the first light emitted from the light emitting element LE, and may absorb or block the fourth light converted by the wavelength conversion layer QDL).
With respect to claim 20, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the manufacturing method according, further comprising: forming a second film layer (INS) between the first portion of the reflective structure (PW1) and the first light-emitting element (LE) (see Par.[0193]-[0197] wherein the planarization insulating film PINS may remain without being etched; in this case, the planarization insulating film PINS may be disposed between the first substrate SUB1 and the insulating film INS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 6, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon ‘2022.
With respect to claim 2, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the first portion of the reflective structure (PW1) has a first height along a first direction (DR3), and the first height falls in a range of greater than Tpw1 (see Fig.5, Par.[0150]).
Even though Jeon ‘2022 does not disclose the first height falls in a range of greater than 5 microns and less than 12 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 4, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the first color conversion structure has a second height (Tpw2) along a first direction (DR3), and the second height falls in a range (see Fig.5, Par.[0150]).
Even though Jeon ‘2022 does not disclose the second height falls in a range of greater than 1 micron and less than 3 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 6, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the first color filter pattern has a third height along a first direction, and the third height falls in a range.
Even though Kim does not disclose the third height falls in a range of greater than 1 micron and less than 3 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 14, Jeon ‘2022 discloses, in Figs.1-52, the display device, wherein the second film layer has a first thickness along a second direction.
Even though Kim does not disclose he first thickness falls in a range of greater than 200 nanometers and 500 nanometers, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2024/0030389 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Kim”) in view of Jeon.
With respect to claim 1, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, a display device, comprising: a substrate (SUB1); a pixel unit (PX) disposed on the substrate (SUB1), comprising: a first sub-pixel (EA1) (see Par.[0100]-[0102] wherein each of the pixels PX may include a plurality of emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3); FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate that each of the pixels PX includes three emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3; each of the emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3) of each of the pixels PX may include a light-emitting element LE; see Par.[0107]-[0110] wherein the semiconductor circuit substrate 110 may include a first substrate SUB1, a plurality of pixel circuit units PXC, pixel electrodes 111, and a first insulating layer INS1)), comprising: a first light-emitting element (LE), wherein an emitted light has a first color (see Par.[0116] wherein the light-emitting layer 120 may include the connecting electrodes 112, the light-emitting elements LE, a second insulating layer INS2, a common electrode CE, wavelength conversion layers QDL, the partition wall PW, first reflective layers RF1, second reflective layers RF2, and a plurality of color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3)); and a reflective structure (PW) disposed on the substrate (SUB1) and comprising a first portion/(lower portion) and a second portion/(upper portion), wherein the first portion/(lower portion) of the reflective structure (PW) surrounds the first light-emitting element (LE), and a projection area of the first portion on the substrate is same than a projection area of the second portion on the substrate (see Par.[0157] wherein the thicknesses of wavelength conversion layers QDL and a partition wall PW are generally reduced and a width Wpw_1 of the partition wall PW between light-emitting elements LE is the same as a width Wpw_2 of the partition wall between the wavelength conversion layers QDL). However, Kim does not explicitly disclose that a projection area of the first portion on the substrate is less than a projection area of the second portion on the substrate.
Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, a display device, comprising: a substrate (BSL); a pixel unit (PXL) disposed on the substrate (PCS) (see Par.[0059] wherein referring to FIG. 1, the display device according to an embodiment may include the display panel PNL including a base layer BSL and pixels PXL disposed on the base layer BSL; see Par.[0147] wherein the pixel substrate PCS may be the substrate including the base layer BSL and the pixel circuit layer PCL described with reference to FIGS. 4 and 5), comprising: a first sub-pixel (PXL1), comprising: a first light-emitting element (LD), wherein an emitted light (LD) has a first color (see Par.[0134]-[0135] wherein the first color conversion layer CCL1 may be disposed on the second electrode EL2 of the first sub-pixel PXL1 and overlap the light emitting element LD; the first color conversion layer CCL1 may include a red quantum particle (not shown) that converts blue light emitted from the light emitting element LD into red light; the red quantum particle may absorb the blue light and shift a wavelength according to an energy transition to emit the red light of a wavelength band of about 620 nm to about 780 nm); and a reflective structure (BNK) disposed on the substrate (PCS) and comprising a first portion (BNK1) and a second portion (BNK2), wherein the first portion (BNK1) of the reflective structure surrounds the first light-emitting element (LD), and a projection area of the first portion (BNK1) on the substrate (PCS) is less than a projection area of the second portion (BNK2) on the substrate (PCS) (see Par.[0104] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the display element layer DPL may include the bonding electrode BMT, the light emitting element LD, a first insulating layer INS1, a second electrode EL2, a first bank BNK1, a second bank BNK2, a color conversion layer CCL, and a color filter layer CF; see Fig.5 wherein the width in dR1 direction of BNK2 is wider than that of BNK1).
Kim and Jeon are analogous art because they are all directed to a display device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Kim to include Jeon because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the partition walls dimensions in Kim by including upper partition wall portion wider than the lower partition wall portion as taught by Jeon in order to utilize these partitions control the spacing and shape of each pixel cel thereby providing advantages of such designs such as: improve image quality; defect prevention; mechanical stability and design scalability.
With respect to claim 2, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the first portion of the reflective structure has a first height along a first direction, and the first height falls in a range.
Even though Kim does not disclose the first height falls in a range of greater than 5 microns and less than 12 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 3, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a first color conversion structure disposed on the first light-emitting element and adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element into a second color, and the second portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first color conversion structure (see Par.[0170]-[0173] wherein as wavelength conversion layers QDL include a first scatterer SCP1 and a first base resin BRS1, the wavelength conversion layers QDL can scatter light emitted from the light-emitting elements LE and can emit the light through color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3); the first wavelength conversion pattern 240 may convert or shift the peak wavelength of incident light to a desired peak wavelength (e.g., a predetermined peak wavelength) and may emit the peak wavelength-converted (or shifted) light. The first wavelength conversion pattern 240 may convert first light emitted from the light-emitting element LE in the second emission area EA2 to second light having a single peak wavelength of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, for example, red light).
With respect to claim 4, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the first color conversion structure (QDL) has a second height along a first direction, and the second height falls in a range (see Par.[0158] wherein a partition wall PW is formed by etching areas above the light-emitting elements LE where the wavelength conversion layers QDL are to be disposed. Thus, the width and the height of the partition wall PW may be designed in consideration of the width and the height of the wavelength conversion layers QDL by using etching mask patterns).
Even though Kim does not disclose the second height falls in a range of greater than 1 micron and less than 3 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 5, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, further comprising a first color filter pattern (CF1-CF3) disposed on the first color conversion structure (QDL), wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0142]-[0143] wherein the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed on the partition wall PW and the wavelength conversion layers QDL; the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed to overlap with the pixel circuit units PXC and the wavelength conversion layers QDL).
With respect to claim 6, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the first color filter pattern has a third height along a first direction, and the third height falls in a range.
Even though Kim does not disclose the third height falls in a range of greater than 1 micron and less than 3 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 7, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the pixel unit further comprises a second sub-pixel area (EA2), the second sub-pixel area (EA3) comprises a second light-emitting element (LE) and a second color conversion structure (QDL), and the second color conversion structure is disposed on the second light-emitting element and is adapted to convert a light emitted by the second light-emitting element into a third color (see Fig.13, Par.[0102]-[0104]).
With respect to claim 8, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, further comprising a second color filter pattern (CF2), disposed on the second color conversion structure (QDL), wherein the second color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the third color (see Par.[0142]-[0143] wherein the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed on the partition wall PW and the wavelength conversion layers QDL; the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed to overlap with the pixel circuit units PXC and the wavelength conversion layers QDL).
With respect to claim 9, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, further comprising a lens layer (LP1) disposed on the substrate (SUB1), wherein the reflective structure (PW) is located between the lens layer (LP) and the substrate (SUB1) (see Par.[0161]-[0163] wherein A first lens LP1 may be disposed in a first emission area EA1, a second lens LP2 may be disposed in a second emission area EA2, and a third lens LP3 may be disposed in a third emission area EA3).
With respect to claim 10, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, further comprising a first film layer (BF) disposed between the lens layer (LP) and the reflective structure (QDL) (see Par.[0150] wherein a buffer layer BF may be disposed below the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) and the light-blocking member BM; the buffer layer BF may be disposed on the partition wall PW and the wavelength conversion layers QDL).
With respect to claim 11, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, The display device according to claim 10, wherein the first film layer has a fourth height along a first direction, and the fourth height falls in a range.
Even though Kim does not disclose the fourth height falls in a range of greater than 1 micron and less than 3 microns, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 12, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, any one of the lenses has a fifth height along a first direction, any one of the lenses has a first width along a second direction, and a ratio of the first width to the fifth height falls in a range of greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7.
Even though Kim does not disclose a ratio of the first width to the fifth height falls in a range of greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 13, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, further comprising a second film layer (INS2) disposed between the first portion of the reflective structure (QDL) and the first light-emitting element (LE) (see Par.[0202]-[0203] wherein the second insulating layer INS2 is deposited to cover the entire surface of the first substrate SUB1 where the light-emitting elements LE are disposed).
With respect to claim 14, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the second film layer has a first thickness along a second direction.
Even though Kim does not disclose the first thickness falls in a range of greater than 200 nanometers and 500 nanometers, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 15, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, a manufacturing method of a display device, comprising: providing a substrate (SUB1); disposing a pixel unit (PX) on the substrate (SUB1) to be electrically connected to the substrate (SUB1), wherein the pixel unit (PX) comprises a first sub-pixel (EA1), the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (LE), and a light emitted by the first light-emitting element has a first color (see Par.[0100]-[0102] wherein each of the pixels PX may include a plurality of emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3); FIGS. 6 and 7 illustrate that each of the pixels PX includes three emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3; each of the emission areas (EA1, EA2, and EA3) of each of the pixels PX may include a light-emitting element LE; see Par.[0107]-[0110] wherein the semiconductor circuit substrate 110 may include a first substrate SUB1, a plurality of pixel circuit units PXC, pixel electrodes 111, and a first insulating layer INS1); see Par.[0116] wherein the light-emitting layer 120 may include the connecting electrodes 112, the light-emitting elements LE, a second insulating layer INS2, a common electrode CE, wavelength conversion layers QDL, the partition wall PW, first reflective layers RF1, second reflective layers RF2, and a plurality of color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3)); and forming a reflective structure (PW) on the substrate, wherein the reflective structure comprises a first portion and a second portion, the first portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first light-emitting element. Kim does not explicitly disclose: forming a reflective structure (QDL) on the substrate through an electroplating process; and an area of the first portion projected on the substrate is less than an area of the second portion projected on the substrate.
Jeon discloses, in Figs.1-21, a manufacturing method of a display device, comprising: providing a substrate (PCS); disposing a pixel unit (PXL) on the substrate (PCS) to be electrically connected to the substrate (PCS), wherein the pixel unit comprises a first sub-pixel (PXL1), the first sub-pixel comprises a first light-emitting element (LD), and a light emitted by the first light-emitting element has a first color (see Par.[0059] wherein referring to FIG. 1, the display device according to an embodiment may include the display panel PNL including a base layer BSL and pixels PXL disposed on the base layer BSL; see Par.[0147] wherein the pixel substrate PCS may be the substrate including the base layer BSL and the pixel circuit layer PCL described with reference to FIGS. 4 and 5; see Par.[0134]-[0135] wherein the first color conversion layer CCL1 may be disposed on the second electrode EL2 of the first sub-pixel PXL1 and overlap the light emitting element LD; the first color conversion layer CCL1 may include a red quantum particle (not shown) that converts blue light emitted from the light emitting element LD into red light; the red quantum particle may absorb the blue light and shift a wavelength according to an energy transition to emit the red light of a wavelength band of about 620 nm to about 780 nm); and forming a reflective structure (BNK) on the substrate through an electroplating process, wherein the reflective structure comprises a first portion (BNK1) and a second portion (BNK2), the first portion (BNK1) of the reflective structure surrounds the first light-emitting element, and an area of the first portion projected on the substrate is less than an area of the second portion projected on the substrate (see Par.[0104] wherein as shown in FIG. 5, the display element layer DPL may include the bonding electrode BMT, the light emitting element LD, a first insulating layer INS1, a second electrode EL2, a first bank BNK1, a second bank BNK2, a color conversion layer CCL, and a color filter layer CF; see Fig.5 wherein the width in dR1 direction of BNK2 is wider than that of BNK1; see Par.[0124], [0161] wherein the first bank BNK1 may include a metal material; for example, the first bank BNK1 may include an electrolyte, an electroplating material, and the like).
Kim and Jeon are analogous art because they are all directed to a display device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Kim to include Jeon because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the partition walls dimensions and material in Kim by including upper partition wall portion wider than the lower partition wall portion and electroplating material as taught by Jeon in order to utilize these partitions control the spacing and shape of each pixel cel thereby providing advantages of such designs such as: improve image quality; defect prevention; mechanical stability and design scalability. Also, electroplating can deposit a range of metals (e.g., nickel, copper, or specialized alloys) tailored for PDL functions; this allows optimization for electrical conductivity, corrosion resistance, and anti-reflective properties, which are important for both transparent and black PDLs.
With respect to claim 16, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color conversion structure (QDL) on the first light-emitting element (LE), wherein the first color conversion structure is adapted to convert the light emitted by the first light-emitting element into a second color, and the second portion of the reflective structure surrounds the first color conversion structure (see Par.[0170]-[0173] wherein as wavelength conversion layers QDL include a first scatterer SCP1 and a first base resin BRS1, the wavelength conversion layers QDL can scatter light emitted from the light-emitting elements LE and can emit the light through color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3); the first wavelength conversion pattern 240 may convert or shift the peak wavelength of incident light to a desired peak wavelength (e.g., a predetermined peak wavelength) and may emit the peak wavelength-converted (or shifted) light. The first wavelength conversion pattern 240 may convert first light emitted from the light-emitting element LE in the second emission area EA2 to second light having a single peak wavelength of about 610 nm to about 650 nm, for example, red light).
With respect to claim 17, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a first color filter pattern (CF1) on the first color conversion structure (QDL), wherein the first color filter pattern has a filter pattern with the second color (see Par.[0142]-[0143] wherein the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed on the partition wall PW and the wavelength conversion layers QDL; the color filters (CF1, CF2, and CF3) may be disposed to overlap with the pixel circuit units PXC and the wavelength conversion layers QDL).
With respect to claim 18, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a lens layer (LP1) on the substrate (SUB1), wherein the reflective structure is located between the lens layer and the substrate (see Par.[0161]-[0163] wherein A first lens LP1 may be disposed in a first emission area EA1, a second lens LP2 may be disposed in a second emission area EA2, and a third lens LP3 may be disposed in a third emission area EA3).
With respect to claim 19, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the display device, wherein the lens layer comprises a plurality of lenses, any one of the lenses has a fifth height along a first direction, any one of the lenses has a first width along a second direction, and a ratio of the first width to the fifth height falls in a range of greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7.
Even though Kim does not disclose a ratio of the first width to the fifth height falls in a range of greater than 0.4 and less than 0.7, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice, such as, overall reflectivity of display device. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
With respect to claim 20, Kim discloses, in Figs.1-32, the manufacturing method, further comprising: forming a second film layer (INS) between the first portion of the reflective structure (PW) and the first light-emitting element (LE) (see Par.[0188]-[0190], [0202]-[0204] wherein the second insulating layer INS2 may be deposited on the entire top surfaces of the light-emitting elements LE, except for the openings (OP1, OP2, and OP3), on the sides of each of the light-emitting elements LE, the sides of each of the connecting electrodes 112, and on parts of the first insulating film INS1 where the light-emitting elements LE are not disposed, and the tops of the light-emitting elements LE may be exposed through the openings (OP1, OP2, and OP3)).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818