CTNF 18/735,252 CTNF 82012 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: This claim is grammatically awkward, which may cause confusion. It is suggested that the claim be amended as follows: 2. (Currently Amended) The vehicle body structure according to claim 1, wherein a fragile portion is formed in the panel over [[in]] an entire region in a vehicle width direction of the panel is provided on the panel . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The wording of claim 3 is unclear and confusing. Claim 3 is being examined as best understood. Examiner suggests the following amendment, which coincides with examiner’s understanding of the intended meaning of claim 3. 3. The vehicle body structure according to claim 2, wherein further comprising at least one additional a plurality of fragile portion[[s]] , each additional fragile portion extending over the entire width of the panel and each being the fragile portion are provided in the vehicle forward-rearward direction relative to the fragile portion . Appropriate clarification and correction are required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5 is /a re rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)( 1) as be ing anti cipated by Ag hs sa et al. (US 6,053,566, hereinafter Aghssa ). With regard to claim 1, Aghssa discloses a vehicle body structure, comprising: a panel (i.e. “floorpan 22”) that is provided on a vehicle lower part (underside of vehicle is shown in Fig. 1 and thus the lowest part of the vehicle body is being shown) ; and a plurality of reinforcement members that are provided on the panel (three longitudinal reinforcement members are provided on the lower surface of the floorpan 22—see Fig. below) and extend in a vehicle forward-rearward direction (see Fig. below) , wherein the plurality of reinforcement members each has a stiffness change region (stiffness change regions are identified in the Fig. below. Note: any physical change within the reinforcement member, such as the addition of a hole, a change in height or width, a surface undulation, etc. will cause a change in stiffness. Thus, examiner has arbitrarily chosen specific stiffness change regions in order to meet the claim language) , and the stiffness change region of a first reinforcement member that constitutes one of the plurality of reinforcement members is provided at a different position in a longitudinal direction from the stiffness change region of a second reinforcement member that constitutes one of the plurality of reinforcement members (this is visible in Fig. 1, annotated below) . PNG media_image1.png 687 722 media_image1.png Greyscale With regard to claim 2, Aghssa discloses that a fragile portion (32 and 34—“a groove 32 extending transversely that acts as a trigger to initiate crush of the floorpan 22” and also “trough 34 terminates crush of the floorpan after the impact”) formed in an entire region in a vehicle width direction of the panel is provided on the panel (see Fig. 2) . With regard to claim 3, as best understood, Aghssa discloses that a plurality of fragile portions (32, 34) are provided. With regard to claim 4, Aghssa teaches that the plurality of reinforcement members are provided symmetrically in a rightward-leftward direction with reference to a middle in the vehicle width direction (the first and third reinforcement members—unlabeled but identified in the Fig. provided above—are provided symmetrically about the second reinforcement member, which coincides with the center axis of the vehicle) . With regard to claim 5, Aghssa teaches that a number of the plurality of reinforcement members is odd (i.e. three) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references provide further examples of vehicle rear structures with longitudinal reinforcement . Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT E FULLER whose telephone number is (571)272-6300. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30AM - 5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tara Schimpf can be reached at 571-270-7741. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROBERT E FULLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/735,252 Page 2 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/735,252 Page 3 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/735,252 Page 4 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/735,252 Page 5 Art Unit: 3676 Application/Control Number: 18/735,252 Page 6 Art Unit: 3676