DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6 thru 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. US 2018/0350905 A1. Yoon discloses (see, for example, FIG. 11P) a semiconductor device comprising: a substrate 110 which includes a cell region CELL and a core region CORE/PERI; a boundary element separation film 112C disposed inside the substrate 110 and between the cell region CELL and the core region CORE/PERI; a separation region capping film 136P embedded in the boundary element separation film 112C and spaced apart from an edge of the boundary element separation film 112C; and a bit line BLS extending from the cell region CELL onto a region of the boundary element separation film 112C on which the separation region capping film 136P is disposed.
Regarding claim 7, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses the edge of the
boundary element separation film 112C is disposed between the cell region CELL and the separation region capping film 136P.
Regarding claim 8, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses the boundary element separation film 112C includes a first region (i.e. left region), a second region (i.e. middle region), and a third region (i.e. right region), wherein the second region (i.e. middle region of the element separation film 112C that directly contacts the separation region capping film 136P), in which the separation region capping film 136P is disposed, is disposed between the first region (i.e. left region) and the third region (i.e. right region), and a height of an upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) and an upper side of the third region (i.e. right side) of the boundary element separation film 112C is higher than a height of an upper side of the second region (i.e. middle region) of the boundary element separation film 112C.
Regarding claim 9, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a buffer layer 134P extending below the bit line BLS, wherein on the boundary element separation film 112C, the buffer layer 134P extends along profiles of the upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) of the boundary element separation film 112C and the upper side of the separation region capping film 136P on the second region (i.e. middle region).
Regarding claim 10, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a bit line capping film 156 extending on the bit line BLS and disposed on the first region of the boundary element separation film 112C and the second region of the boundary element separation film 112C, wherein an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the first region and an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the second region are located on a same plane.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 thru 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. US 2018/0350905 A1 as applied to claims 6-10 above. Yoon discloses (see, for example, FIG. 11P) the bit line BLS superimposes the first region of the boundary element separation film 112C, and over the second region of the boundary element separation film, but Yoon does not expressly disclose the bit line superimposes the second region of the boundary element separation film. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to superimpose the bit line on the second region of the boundary element separation film in order to provide further protection to the interface and boundary element separation film during a processing operation like etching, and provide mechanical stability over the interface and boundary element separation film, and, further, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to further extend the bit line to superimpose the second region of the boundary element separation film since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 05 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 2, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses the first region of the boundary element separation film 112C is nearer to the cell region CELL than the second region of the boundary element separation film 112C.
Regarding claim 3, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a height of the upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) and the upper side of the third region (i.e. right region)of the boundary element separation film 112C is higher than a height of an upper side of the second region (i.e. middle region) of the boundary element separation film 112C.
Regarding claim 4, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a buffer layer 134P extending along the first direction, below the bit line BLS, wherein on the boundary element separation film 112C, the buffer layer 134P extends along profiles of the upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) of the boundary element separation film 112C and the upper side of the separation region capping film 136P on the second region (i.e. middle region).
Regarding claim 5, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a bit line capping film 156 which extends along the first direction on the bit line BLS, and is placed over the first region (i.e. left region) of the boundary element separation film 112C and the second region (i.e. middle region) of the boundary element separation film 112C, wherein an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the first region (i.e. left region) and an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the second region (i.e. middle region) are located on a same plane.
Claim(s) 11 thru 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. US 2018/0350905 A1 as applied to claims 6-10 above, and further in view of Kim et al US 2019/0355728 A1. Yoon does not disclose an upper side of the first region of the boundary element separation film and an upper side of the third region of the boundary element separation film are placed on a plane the same as that of an upper side of the separation region capping film. However, Kim discloses (see, for example, FIG. 7) a semiconductor device comprising an upper side of the first region of the boundary element separation film 112C and an upper side of the third region of the boundary element separation film 112C are placed on a plane the same as that of an upper side of the separation region capping film. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at a time prior to the effective filing date, to have an upper side of the first region of the boundary element separation film and an upper side of the third region of the boundary element separation film are placed on a plane the same as that of an upper side of the separation region capping film in order to provide further support between the boundary element separation film and the overlying layers, and to improve the prevention of a short circuit between the cell region and core region.
Regarding claim 12, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses the first region of the boundary element separation film 112C is nearer to the cell region CELL than the second region of the boundary element separation film 112C.
Regarding claim 13, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a height of the upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) and the upper side of the third region (i.e. right region)of the boundary element separation film 112C is higher than a height of an upper side of the second region (i.e. middle region) of the boundary element separation film 112C.
Regarding claim 14, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a buffer layer 134P extending along the first direction, below the bit line BLS, wherein on the boundary element separation film 112C, the buffer layer 134P extends along profiles of the upper side of the first region (i.e. left region) of the boundary element separation film 112C and the upper side of the separation region capping film 136P on the second region (i.e. middle region).
Regarding claim 15, see, for example, FIG. 11P wherein Yoon discloses a bit line capping film 156 which extends along the first direction on the bit line BLS, and is placed over the first region (i.e. left region) of the boundary element separation film 112C and the second region (i.e. middle region) of the boundary element separation film 112C, wherein an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the first region (i.e. left region) and an upper side of the bit line capping film 156 on the second region (i.e. middle region) are located on a same plane.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
INFORMATION ON HOW TO CONTACT THE USPTO
Eugene Lee
November 4, 2026
/EUGENE LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2815