DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/19/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 8/3/2026 wherein the examiner acknowledges that claims 1, 3-9 & 15-20 have been amended, no additional claims have been added and no claims have been canceled. Consequently, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
Specifically, in the independent claims, the specification fails to provide support for “a first coupling mechanism positioned on a coupling tab pivotally connected to the main cabinet” and “a second coupling mechanism, the second coupling mechanism engaged with the first coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the button deck to the gaming device.”
Similarly, the specificaition also fails to provide support for the following limitations: “first signal connector is positioned on the coupling tab”, as recited in claim 7; And, “first coupling mechanism at a second end portion of the button deck”, in claim 8. And “the at least one first coupling mechanism extends in a second direction different from the first direction.”
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/8/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 11,551,505 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haga et al. (US Patent 7,976,393; referred to hereinafter as Haga), and further in view of Lamb et al. (US Patent 10,854,039; referred to hereinafter as Lamb).
Claims 1, 8 & 15: Haga disclose a gaming device (figure 1) comprising, a main cabinet (figure 1), a first signal connector (figure 4, element 204), a first coupling mechanism (figure 4, elements 206 connects the panel to cabinet), electrical circuitry (figure 5), and a button deck coupled to the main cabinet and configured to receive inputs to the gaming device (figure 2), the button deck comprising, a button deck enclosure (figure 2, element 104), a second signal connector connected to the first signal connector to electrically couple the button deck to the electrical circuitry (figure 7, cols. 5-6: 30-11, disclose electrically couple the button deck to cabinet), and a second coupling mechanism, the second coupling mechanism engaged with the first coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the button deck to the gaming device (figure 5:15-11, disclose the secondary coupling mechanism on the cabinet to insert the coupling mechanism on button deck). Haga, however, fails to disclose the first coupling mechanism is position on a coupling tab pivotally connected to the cabinet. In an analogous art, Lamb teaches a gaming machine pedestal which further includes a button deck adjustably coupled to the pedestal, the button deck including one or more extendable arms, each arm coupled at one end to the pedestal and at a second end to the button deck, the button deck extendable away from and towards the pedestal (col. 2: 12-19). Lamb, further teaches coupling mechanism is position on a coupling tab pivotally connected to the cabinet (col. 4: 30-55). It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of applicant’s invention to modify the gaming device disclosed by Haga, to include a coupling mechanism connected to a coupling tab pivotally connected to the cabinet, as taught by Lamb, as to provide player with comfortable ergonomics while using the device (col. 1: 28-31).
Claims 2 & 9-10: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the first signal connector and the second signal connector comprise a pair of mating connectors (Haga figure 7, element 204 connecting the button deck to cabinet, wherein the insert connects to the receptors).
Claim 3: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the first coupling mechanism further comprises at least one alignment mechanism (Haga figure 6).
Claim 4: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the second coupling mechanism comprises an additional at least one alignment mechanism operable to interact with the at least one alignment mechanism (Haga, col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 5-6: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the at least one alignment mechanism comprises a pair of alignment mechanisms positioned adjacent the first signal connector (Haga, figure 7, element 204).
Claim 7: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the first signal connectors is positioned on the coupling tab (Haga, cols. 5-6: 30-11).
Claim 11: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein a first of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism (Haga figures 5-7).
Claim 12: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein a first of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector (Haga, col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 13: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of the button deck enclosure and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the button deck enclosure (Haga figure 6).
Claim 14: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the first side of the button deck is opposite the second side of the button deck (Haga, col. 4: 26-68).
Claims 16-17: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of an opening defined in the main cabinet; and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (Haga figures 2-3) wherein the first side of the opening defined in the main cabinet is opposite the second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (Haga figures 1-3).
Claim 18: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the at least one first signal connector is oriented perpendicular to the at least one first coupling mechanism when the button deck is mechanically coupled to the gaming device (Haga figure 4).
Claim 19: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein an orientation of the at least one first signal connector with respect to the at least one first coupling mechanism is changeable (Haga figure 4 disclose multiple changeable orientation).
Claim 20: The combination of Haga and Lamb teach wherein the at least one first signal connector is operable to pivot along a pivot axis (Haga figures 3-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715