DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendments filed on 4/8/26 wherein the examiner acknowledges that no claims have been amended, no additional claims have been added or canceled. Consequently, claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 4/8/26 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent No. 11,551,505 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haga et al. (US Patent 7,976,393; referred to hereinafter as Haga).
Claims 1, 8 & 15: Haga disclose a gaming device (figure 1) comprising, a main cabinet (figure 1), a first signal connector (figure 4, element 204), a first coupling mechanism (figure 4, elements 206 connects the panel to cabinet), electrical circuitry (figure 5), and a button deck coupled to the main cabinet and configured to receive inputs to the gaming device (figure 2), the button deck comprising, a button deck enclosure (figure 2, element 104), a second signal connector connected to the first signal connector to electrically couple the button deck to the electrical circuitry (figure 7, cols. 5-6: 30-11, disclose electrically couple the button deck to cabinet), and a second coupling mechanism, the second coupling mechanism engaged with the first coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the button deck to the gaming device (figure 5:15-11, disclose the secondary coupling mechanism on the cabinet to insert the coupling mechanism on button deck).
Claims 2 & 9-10: Haga disclose wherein the first signal connector and the second signal connector comprise a pair of mating connectors (figure 7, element 204 connecting the button deck to cabinet, wherein the insert connects to the receptors).
Claim 3: Haga disclose wherein the gaming device further comprises at least one alignment mechanism (figure 6).
Claim 4: Haga disclose wherein the button deck further comprises an additional at least one alignment mechanism operable to interact with the at least one alignment mechanism (col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 5-6: Haga disclose wherein the at least one alignment mechanism comprises a pair of alignment mechanisms positioned adjacent the second signal connector (figure 7, element 204).
Claim 7: Haga disclose further comprising a coupling tab pivotally connected to the main cabinet wherein the button deck is coupled to the coupling tab (col. 4: 26-68).
Claim 11: Haga disclose wherein a first of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism (figures 5-7).
Claim 12: Haga disclose wherein a first of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector (col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 13: Haga disclose the at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of the button deck enclosure and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the button deck enclosure (figure 6).
Claim 14: Haga disclose wherein the first side of the button deck is opposite the second side of the button deck (col. 4: 26-68).
Claims 16-17: Haga disclose the at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of an opening defined in the main cabinet; and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (figures 2-3) wherein the first side of the opening defined in the main cabinet is opposite the second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (figures 1-3).
Claim 18: Haga disclose wherein the at least one first signal connector is oriented perpendicular to the at least one first coupling mechanism when the button deck is mechanically coupled to the gaming device (figure 4).
Claim 19: Haga disclose wherein an orientation of the at least one first signal connector with respect to the at least one first coupling mechanism is changeable (figure 4 disclose multiple changeable orientation).
Claim 20: Haga disclose wherein the at least one first signal connector is operable to pivot along a pivot axis (figures 3-4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant should submit an argument under the heading “Remarks” pointing out disagreements with the examiner’s contentions. Applicant must also discuss the references applied against the claims, explaining how the claims avoid the references or distinguish from them.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNIT PANDYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715