DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/6/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,551,505. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the current application substantially claim similar limitations as patent `505 with some exceptions.
The current application fails to claim a coupling tab pivotally connected to the main cabinet and comprising a first signal connector and a second signal connector defining a protrusion extending from a first end portion of the button deck enclosure in a first direction that is substantially parallel to the button surface of the button deck enclosure, the protrusion configured to be inserted into a recess defined by the first signal connector to electrically couple the one or more buttons to the game controller. It would have been obvious for one with ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to have modified the gaming device to include an additional signal connector and a coupling tab pivotally connected to the main cabinet to allow for more secure physical connectivity of the button deck to the gaming cabinet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Haga et al. (US Patent 7,976,393; referred to hereinafter as Haga).
Claims 1, 8 & 15: Haga disclose a gaming device (figure 1) comprising, a main cabinet (figure 1), a first signal connector (figure 4, element 204), a first coupling mechanism (figure 4, elements 206 connects the panel to cabinet), electrical circuitry (figure 5), and a button deck coupled to the main cabinet and configured to receive inputs to the gaming device (figure 2), the button deck comprising, a button deck enclosure (figure 2, element 104), a second signal connector connected to the first signal connector to electrically couple the button deck to the electrical circuitry (figure 7, cols. 5-6: 30-11, disclose electrically couple the button deck to cabinet), and a second coupling mechanism, the second coupling mechanism engaged with the first coupling mechanism to mechanically couple the button deck to the gaming device (figure 5:15-11, disclose the secondary coupling mechanism on the cabinet to insert the coupling mechanism on button deck).
Claims 2 & 9-10: Haga disclose wherein the first signal connector and the second signal connector comprise a pair of mating connectors (figure 7, element 204 connecting the button deck to cabinet, wherein the insert connects to the receptors).
Claim 3: Haga disclose wherein the gaming device further comprises at least one alignment mechanism (figure 6).
Claim 4: Haga disclose wherein the button deck further comprises an additional at least one alignment mechanism operable to interact with the at least one alignment mechanism (col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 5-6: Haga disclose wherein the at least one alignment mechanism comprises a pair of alignment mechanisms positioned adjacent the second signal connector (figure 7, element 204).
Claim 7: Haga disclose further comprising a coupling tab pivotally connected to the main cabinet wherein the button deck is coupled to the coupling tab (col. 4: 26-68).
Claim 11: Haga disclose wherein a first of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first coupling mechanism and the at least one second coupling mechanism (figures 5-7).
Claim 12: Haga disclose wherein a first of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector is operable to be inserted into a second of the at least one first signal connector and the at least one second signal connector (col. 5: 51-10).
Claim 13: Haga disclose the at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of the button deck enclosure and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the button deck enclosure (figure 6).
Claim 14: Haga disclose wherein the first side of the button deck is opposite the second side of the button deck (col. 4: 26-68).
Claims 16-17: Haga disclose the at least one first signal connector is positioned on a first side of an opening defined in the main cabinet; and the at least one first coupling mechanism is positioned on a second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (figures 2-3) wherein the first side of the opening defined in the main cabinet is opposite the second side of the opening defined in the main cabinet (figures 1-3).
Claim 18: Haga disclose wherein the at least one first signal connector is oriented perpendicular to the at least one first coupling mechanism when the button deck is mechanically coupled to the gaming device (figure 4).
Claim 19: Haga disclose wherein an orientation of the at least one first signal connector with respect to the at least one first coupling mechanism is changeable (figure 4 disclose multiple changeable orientation).
Claim 20: Haga disclose wherein the at least one first signal connector is operable to pivot along a pivot axis (figures 3-4).
Examiner’s Note
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lamb (10,854,039) refers to gaming machine includes a base, a columnar pedestal extending vertically from the base, and a button deck adjustably coupled to the pedestal. The button deck includes an upper surface including a transparent touchscreen element, a lower surface opposite the upper surface, and a button deck body extending therebetween. At least one of the lower surface and the body include one or more transparent display elements, the one or more transparent display elements are configured to generate images of gaming machine control actuators viewable on the upper surface. The transparent touchscreen element is configured to receive touches and gestures indicating control inputs. The gaming machine also includes a player tracking card reader positioned within the button deck and accessible through a slot in a front edge of the button deck, the player tracking card reader communicatively coupled to a player tracking display area of the gaming machine.
Barbour (20190096161) refers to baming machines which include a slide-out player interface button deck including a video display and a glass insulator provided with a capacitive touch screen layer overlying the video display. A cast flange surrounds at least a portion of the button deck and is slidably attached and interlocked with the button deck via mating projections and openings. First and second drawer slide assemblies are coupled to the flange and a manually operable push-to release latch mechanism locks and unlocks the slide-out player interface for movement between a retracted position and an extending position relative to a gaming support structure.
Tastad (7,955,176) refers to gaming machine comprises a display, a cabinet, a front door, and a slide-in button panel. The display depicts a randomly selected game outcome. The cabinet houses the display. The front door is hinged to the cabinet and includes a frame. The slide-in button panel is mounted by sliding it into the frame and supports a plurality of physical buttons for operating the gaming machine. The button panel is easily removed from the frame for maintenance or replacement purposes.
The referenced citations made in the rejection(s) above are intended to exemplify areas in the prior art document(s) in which the examiner believed are the most relevant to the claimed subject matter. However, it is incumbent upon the applicant to analyze the prior art document(s) in its/their entirety since other areas of the document(s) may be relied upon at a later time to substantiate examiner's rationale of record. A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). However, "the prior art's mere disclosure of more than one alternative does not constitute a teaching away from any of these alternatives because such disclosure does not criticize, discredit, or otherwise discourage the solution claimed ...." In re Fulton, 391F.3d 1195, 1201,73 USPQ2d 1141, 1146 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Conclusion
/SUNIT PANDYA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715