DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 12/23/2025, in which, claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 is/are pending.
Claim(s) 2-3, 9-10 and 16-17 is/are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claim amendments reciting “displaying, on one of the management and a remote display panel, the unique identifier”.
There is no disclosure in the specification stating that the unique identifier is displayed on both the management device and remote display panel at the same time. Applicant’s point towards paragraph 44 of the specification for supports; however, the paragraph disclosed that the unique identifier can be display on either the management device or remote display panel, but not at the same time. As such, the amendment contains new matter.
The claim amendments reciting “assigning, responsive to a managed device scanning the unique identifier displayed on one of the manager device and the remote display panel and based on confirmation to assign, the one member selected to the managed device.”.
There is no disclosure in the specification stating that scanning the unique identifier on both the management device and remote display panel at the same time. Applicant’s point towards paragraph 44 of the specification for supports; however, the paragraph disclosed that the scanning of unique identifier on either the management device or remote display panel, but not on both. As such, the amendment contains new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-8, 11-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Albrecht et al. (US 20210174921 A1; hereinafter Albrecht) in view of Daniels, JR (US 20120305644 A1; hereinafter Daniels) further in view of Sharma et al. (US 20140045472 A1; hereinafter Sharma).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Albrecht discloses a computer-implemented method comprising:
Displaying, on a manager device, a selection of groups of members associated with a manager device (group management server, hosting the groups information shown by software of the group management [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
retrieving, responsive to selection of one group of the groups of members associated with the manager device, group objects associated with the one group that is selected (retrieved user information from the group, including device and identifiers [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
determining whether the members of the group selected are selected to be unassigned (users and bots may be added or removed based on the creation, termination and changes to one or more communication groups [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
displaying, on the manager device, responsive to determining that the members of the group selected are to remain assigned, a list of members of the group selected (show the users in each selected group [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
receiving, on the manager device, a selection of one member of the list of the group selected (selected the user to modify, removed, changes [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
determining whether the one member selected is assigned (moved or modify the selected user [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]);
creating, responsive to determining that the one member selected is unassigned, a unique identifier associated the group objects and the one member selected (assigned user in each group a unique identifier, may be a member of any number of data structures. Data structures may include service IDs or identifiers for any user nodes as well. Service IDs may be anything, including a user name, group messaging ID, and/or email address, or anything else that assists in uniquely identifying a user or user node [Albrecht; ¶50-54, 91-98; Figs. 3A-3B, 10 and associated text]);
displaying the unique identifier (the identifier is seen by different services [Albrecht; ¶50-54, 91-98; Figs. 3A-3B, 10 and associated text]). Albrecht does not explicilty discloses displaying the unique identifier; and assigning, responsive to a managed device scanning the unique identifier and based on confirmation to assign, the one member selected to the managed device; however, in a related and analogous art, Daniels teaches this feature.
In particular, Daniels teaches a user identification cards tied to a particular group, with QR codes, when scans will authenticate the user’s service and add the user to that particular service locations [Daniels; ¶25, 64-70; Figs. 1, 6-7 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albrecht in view of Daniels to user bar/QR codes to allow access to user’s data with the motivation for faster validation and allowing services.
Albrecht-Daniels combination discloses determine members and allowing members access services using cards with QR codes. Albrecht-Daniels combination does not explicilty discloses displaying on one of the manager device and the remote display panel, the unique identifier; and scanning the unique identifier displayed on one of the manager device and the remote display panel; however, in a related and analogous art, Sharman teaches these features.
In particular, Sharman teaches generating of QR codes, displaying on different devices in different networks, one can scan the QR codes from different devices to join a group [Sharman; ¶62-70; Figs. 6-7 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Albrecht-Daniels combination to display identifier on various devices in view of Sharma with the motivation to allow easier access and convenances as it would be easier to carry the identifier on devices such as mobile phone.
With respect to claim 15, querying, responsive to a selection of a settings button on a technician device, groups associated with a location (determine the group based on an event, query or other communication an appropriate communication to group or selected members of the group. In some implementations service provides the original recorded message to the group in order to inform other user nodes of the message sent [Albrecht; ¶6, 50-54, 91-98; Figs. 3A-3B, 10 and associated text]).
Regarding claims 4, 11 and 18, Albrecht-Daniels-Sharman combination discloses further comprising: unassigning, responsive to determining that the members of the group selected are to be unassigned, all members of the group selected (selected the user to add, remove, modify [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 19, Albrecht-Daniels-Sharman combination discloses further comprising: unassigning, responsive to determining selection to unassign has been selected, the one member selected (selected the user to add, remove, modify [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]).
Regarding claims 6 and 13, Albrecht-Daniels-Sharman combination discloses wherein the list of members of the group selected are students (user can be of any occupations [Albrecht; ¶50-54; Figs. 3A-3B and associated text]).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Albrecht-Daniels-Sharman combination discloses wherein the unique identifier is one of a bar code, a QR code, and a unique code (Bar/QR codes [Daniels; ¶25, 64-70; Figs. 1, 6-7 and associated texts]. The motivation for faster validation and allowing services.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432