DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dalmia et al. (US 2020/0253040).
Regarding claim 1, Dalmia teaches (FIG. 3 – 7):
An antenna device, comprising:
an antenna substrate (102) comprising a base and an input pad (124), wherein the base has a first surface, and the input pad is disposed on a first portion of the first surface (FIG. 4); and
a semiconductor package () disposed on the first surface of the base;
wherein the semiconductor package (111/106) has a second surface facing the first surface, and an entirety of the second surface and a second portion of the first surface overlap (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, further comprising: a Radio frequency (RF) passive circuitry disposed within the base (104).
Regarding claim 3, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the semiconductor package comprises: a semiconductor substrate; and an integrated circuit (IC) disposed on the semiconductor substrate (111/106).
Regarding claim 4, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base comprises a grounding layer; the antenna substrate comprises: a RF passive circuitry (104) disposed within the base; and an antenna layer (127) disposed on the base; wherein the antenna layer and the RF passive circuitry share the grounding layer ([0041]).
Regarding claim 5, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the antenna substrate comprises only one grounding layer ([0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Dalmia teaches (FIG. 5 – 7):
The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base comprises: a core (130) having a first core surface and a second core surface opposite to the first core surface; a first layer structure (126-3/128-2/126-4) disposed within the first core surface and comprising a plurality of first layers; and a second layer structure (126-1/128-1/126-2) disposed within the second core surface and comprising a plurality of second layers; wherein the input pad is disposed on the first layer structure, and the number of the first layers is more than the number of the second layers ([0038] – [0041]).
Regarding claim 7, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the base comprises: a core (130) having a first core surface and a second core surface opposite to the first core surface; a first layer (126-3/128-2/126-4) structure disposed within the first core surface and comprising a plurality of first layers; and a second layer structure (126-1/128-1/126-2) disposed within the second core surface and comprising a plurality of second layers; wherein the input pad is disposed on the first layer structure, and the number of the first layers is equal to the number of the second layers ([0038] – [0041]).
Regarding claim 8, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 6, wherein the antenna substrate comprises: two grounding layers; and a RF passive circuitry disposed between the two grounding layers ([0041]).
Regarding claim 9, Dalmia teaches (FIG. 3 – 7):
An antenna device, comprising:
a semiconductor package comprising a base (102) and an input pad (124), wherein the base has a first surface on which the input pad is disposed; and
an antenna substrate (112) disposed on the first surface of the semiconductor package and having a second surface facing the first surface;
wherein the semiconductor package has a projected region projected on the first surface of the base in a thickness direction of the antenna device, and the projected region entirely overlaps the first surface (FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 9, further comprising: a RF passive circuitry (104) disposed within the base.
Regarding claim 11, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the semiconductor package comprises: a semiconductor substrate; and an integrated circuit disposed on the semiconductor substrate (111/106).
Regarding claim 12, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the base comprises a grounding layer; the antenna substrate comprises: a RF passive circuitry (104) disposed within the base; and an antenna layer (127) disposed on the base; wherein the antenna layer and the RF passive circuitry share the grounding layer ([0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 12, wherein the antenna substrate comprises only one grounding layer ([0036]).
Regarding claim 14, Dalmia teaches (FIG. 5 – 7):
The antenna device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the base comprises: a core (130) having a first core surface and a second core surface opposite to the first core surface; a first layer structure (126-3/128-2/126-4) disposed within the first core surface and comprising a plurality of first layers; and a second layer structure (126-1/128-1/126-2) disposed within the second core surface and comprising a plurality of second layers; wherein the input pad is disposed on the first layer structure, and the number of the first layers is more than the number of the second layers ([0038] – [0041]).
Regarding claim 15, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 9, wherein the base comprises: a core (130) having a first core surface and a second core surface opposite to the first core surface; a first layer (126-3/128-2/126-4) structure disposed within the first core surface and comprising a plurality of first layers; and a second layer structure (126-1/128-1/126-2) disposed within the second core surface and comprising a plurality of second layers; wherein the input pad is disposed on the first layer structure, and the number of the first layers is equal to the number of the second layers ([0038] – [0041]).
Regarding claim 16, Dalmia teaches:
The antenna device as claimed in claim 14, wherein the antenna substrate comprises: two grounding layers; and a RF passive circuitry disposed between the two grounding layers ([0041]).
Conclusion
/CORY W ESKRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624