DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/918,239, filed on 3/12/2018.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/1/2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15, 16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al (US 5,513,045).
In regard to claim 15, Ito et al discloses an optical imaging lens (column 7, line 18 – column 8, line 29, Figure 1) comprising a first lens element (Figure 1, “d1”), a second lens element (Figure 1, “d3”), a third lens element (Figure 1, “d5”), a fourth lens element (Figure 1, “d7”), a fifth lens element (Figure 1, “d9”), a sixth lens element (Figure 1, “d11”), a seventh lens element (Figure 1, “d12”) and an eighth lens element (Figure 1, “d14”) sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, the optical imaging lens comprises no other lens elements beyond the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements (Figure 1, “d1, d3, d5, d7, d9, d11, d12, d14”) wherein: a periphery region of the image-side surface of the first lens element is concave (Figure 1, “r2”); a periphery region of the image-side surface of the second lens element is concave (Figure 1, “r4”); a periphery region of the object-side surface of the fifth lens element is concave (Figure 1, “r9”); and an abbe number of the first lens element is greater than an abbe number of the fourth lens element (column 7, TABLE 1, “ν1=49.6 > ν4=23.8”).
Regarding claim 16, Ito et al discloses wherein a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens elements along the optical axis is represented by AAG, a distance between the image-side surface of the first lens element and the object-side surface of the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by G12, a distance between the image-side surface of the third lens element and the object-side surface of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: AAG/(G12+G34)≧2.000 → (4.91+2.16+0.1+17.52+0.1+0+0.1)/(4.91+0.1) = 5.0 (columns 7 & 8, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 20, Ito et al discloses wherein a distance from the object-side surface of the first lens element to an image plane along the optical axis is represented by TTL, a sum of thicknesses of the eight lens elements from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by ALT, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: TTL/ALT≦2.200 → (1.49+4.91+1.29+2.16+4.49+0.10+3.74+17.52+6.36+0.10+1.49+9.11+0.10+6.36+4.94+6.00)/(1.49+1.29+4.49+3.74+6.36+1.49+9.11+6.36) = 2.0 (columns 7 & 8, TABLE 1).
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wenren (US 2019/0107690 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Wenren discloses an optical imaging lens (page 5, sections [0086]-[0087], Figure 1) comprising a first lens element (Figure 1, “E1”), a second lens element (Figure 1, “E2”), a third lens element (Figure 1, “E3”), a fourth lens element (Figure 1, “E4”), a fifth lens element (Figure 1, “E5”), a sixth lens element (Figure 1, “E6”), a seventh lens element (Figure 1, “E7”) and an eighth lens element (Figure 1, “E8”) sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, the optical imaging lens comprises no other lens elements beyond the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements (Figure 1, “E1, E2, E3, E4, E5, E6, E7, E8”) wherein: an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the second lens element is convex (Figure 1, “S3”); a periphery region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (Figure 1, “S14”); the eighth lens element has negative refracting power (page 5, section [0087]); an abbe number of the first lens element is greater than an abbe number of the fourth lens element (page 5, TABLE 1, “ν1=23.8 > ν4=20.4”); and an abbe number of the fifth lens element is equal to an abbe number of the seventh lens element (page 5, TABLE 1, “ν5=23.5 = ν7=23.5”).
Regarding claim 2, Wenren discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T1+G12)/(T5+G56)≦2.200 → (0.25+0.0481)/(0.4107+0.2788) = 0.4 (page 5, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 4, Wenren discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T7+T8)/T6≦3.300 → (0.3711+0.4935)/0.3488 = 2.5 (page 5, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 5, Wenren discloses wherein said the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T6+G67+T7+G78+T8)/(T1+G12+T2)≦2.200 → (0.3488+0.1535+0.3711+0.1+0.4935)/(0.25+0.0481+0.3575) = 2.2 (page 5, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 6, Wenren discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T6+T7)/T2≦3.800 → (0.3488+0.3711)/0.3575 = 2.0 (page 5, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 7, Wenren discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T1+T3)/G34≧1.500 → (0.25+0.5419)/0.025 = 31.7 (page 5, TABLE 1).
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang (US 2019/0056568 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Huang discloses an optical imaging lens (page 7, section [0101] – page 8, section [0110], Figure 1) comprising a first lens element (Figure 1, “110”), a second lens element (Figure 1, “120”), a third lens element (Figure 1, “130”), a fourth lens element (Figure 1, “140”), a fifth lens element (Figure 1, “150”), a sixth lens element (Figure 1, “160”), a seventh lens element (Figure 1, “170”) and an eighth lens element (Figure 1, “180”) sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, the optical imaging lens comprises no other lens elements beyond the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements (Figure 1, “110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180”) wherein: an optical axis region of the object-side surface of the second lens element is convex (Figure 1, “122”); a periphery region of the image-side surface of the seventh lens element is convex (Figure 1, “172”); the eighth lens element has negative refracting power (page 8, section [0109]); an abbe number of the first lens element is greater than an abbe number of the fourth lens element (page 10, TABLE 1, “ν1=56.0 > ν4=19.5”); and an abbe number of the fifth lens element is equal to an abbe number of the seventh lens element (page 10, TABLE 1, “ν5=56.0 = ν7=56.0”).
Regarding claim 2, Huang discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T1+G12)/(T5+G56)≦2.200 → (0.525+0.149)/(0.584+0.08) = 1.0 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 3, Huang discloses wherein a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T8, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: T1/T8≧1.200 → 0.525/0.369 = 1.4 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 4, Huang discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T7+T8)/T6≦3.300 → (0.346+0.369)/0.345 = 2.1 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 5, Huang discloses wherein said the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T6+G67+T7+G78+T8)/(T1+G12+T2)≦2.200 → (0.345+0.412+0.346+0.388+0.369)/(0.525+0.149+0.2) = 2.1 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 6, Huang discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T6+T7)/T2≦3.800 → (0.345+0.346)/0.2 = 3.5 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 7, Huang discloses wherein the optical imaging lens satisfies an inequality: (T1+T3)/G34≧1.500 → (0.525+0.446)/0.41 = 2.4 (page 10, TABLE 1).
In regard to claim 8, Huang discloses an optical imaging lens (page 7, section [0101] – page 8, section [0110], Figure 1) comprising a first lens element (Figure 1, “110”), a second lens element (Figure 1, “120”), a third lens element (Figure 1, “130”), a fourth lens element (Figure 1, “140”), a fifth lens element (Figure 1, “150”), a sixth lens element (Figure 1, “160”), a seventh lens element (Figure 1, “170”) and an eighth lens element (Figure 1, “180”) sequentially from an object side to an image side along an optical axis, each of the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements having an object-side surface facing toward the object side and allowing imaging rays to pass through as well as an image-side surface facing toward the image side and allowing the imaging rays to pass through, the optical imaging lens comprises no other lens elements beyond the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth lens elements (Figure 1, “110, 120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180”) wherein: an optical axis region of the image-side surface of the second lens element is concave (page 10, TABLE 1, “S5=1.790 mm,” Figure 1, “122”); the eighth lens element has negative refracting power (page 10, TABLE 1, “F8 = -4.56 mm”); an abbe number of the first lens element is greater than an abbe number of the fourth lens element (page 10, TABLE 1, “ν1=56.0 > ν4=19.5”); and an abbe number of the fourth lens element is equal to an abbe number of the sixth lens element (page 10, TABLE 1, “ν4=19.5 = ν6=19.5”).
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses wherein an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens is represented by EFL, a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens elements along the optical axis is represented by AAG, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: EFL/AAG≧2.200 → 3.94/(0.149+0.116+0.41+0.118+0.08+0.412+0.388) = 2.4 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 10, Huang discloses wherein a sum of thicknesses of the eight lens elements from the first lens element to the eighth lens element along the optical axis is represented by ALT, a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a distance between the image-side surface of the second lens element and the object-side surface of the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by G23, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: ALT/(T1+G23)≦5.000 → (0.525+0.2+0.446+0.262+0.584+0.345+0.346+0.369)/(0.525+0.116) = 4.8 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 11, Huang discloses wherein a sum of seven air gaps from the first lens element to the eighth lens elements along the optical axis is represented by AAG, a thickness of the first lens element along the optical axis is represented by T1, a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T5, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: AAG/(T1+T5)≦2.500 → (0.149+0.116+0.41+0.118+0.08+0.412+0.388)/(0.525+0.584) = 1.5 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 12, Huang discloses wherein a thickness of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T4, a distance between the image-side surface of the fourth lens element and the object-side surface of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G45, a thickness of the fifth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T5, a distance between the image-side surface of the third lens element and the object-side surface of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T4+G45+T5)/G34≧1.500 → (0.262+0.118+0.584)/0.41 = 2.4 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 13, Huang discloses wherein an effective focal length of the optical imaging lens is represented by EFL, a thickness of the sixth lens element along the optical axis is represented by T6, a thickness of the seventh lens element along the optical axis is represented by T7, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: EFL/(T6+T7)≧3.900 → 3.94/(0.345+0.346) = 5.7 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Regarding claim 14, Huang discloses wherein a thickness of the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by T3, a thickness of the second lens element along the optical axis is represented by T2, a distance between the image-side surface of the second lens element and the object-side surface of the third lens element along the optical axis is represented by G23, a distance between the image-side surface of the third lens element and the object-side surface of the fourth lens element along the optical axis is represented by G34, and the optical imaging lens further satisfies an inequality: (T3+G34)/(T2+G23)≦2.800 → (0.446+0.41)/(0.2+0.116) = 2.7 (page 10, TABLE 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 17: an optical imaging lens as claimed, specifically satisfying an inequality: T1/(G12+T2)≧1.300.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 18: an optical imaging lens as claimed, specifically satisfying an inequality: (G34+G45)/G23≦4.000.
The prior art fails to teach a combination of all the claimed features as presented in claim 19: an optical imaging lens as claimed, specifically satisfying an inequality: ALT/AAG≧1.600.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM CHOI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 April 21, 2026