Status of Claims
The following is a non-final Office Action in response to application number 18735852 filed on June 06, 2024. Claims 1-31 are currently pending, and have been examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: “…, wherein the second user interface is displayed to preset the device options …” should read “…, wherein the second user interface is displayed to present the device options …”.
Claim Interpretation – Intended Use
Regarding claim 1, Examiner notes that the following limitations: “identifying a plurality of digital wallets available for use …” is an intended use of “a plurality of digital wallets”, and therefore, carries limited patentable weight. Additionally, similar language is recited in claim 10. (MPEP § 2103 I C).
Regarding claim 3, Examiner notes that the following limitations: “…, wherein identifying the plurality of digital wallets available for use”, “using an application programming interface (API) to pass …”, and “using …, wherein the allowed wallets service responds by providing the digital wallets available for use …”, are intended uses of the “plurality of digital wallets” and “an API”, respectively, and therefore carries limited patentable weight. Additionally, similar language is recited in claim 15. (MPEP § 2103 I C).
Regarding claim 16, Examiner notes that the following limitations: “using an application programming interface (API) to pass …” is an intended use of “an API”, and therefore, carries limited patentable weight. (MPEP § 2103 I C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
35 U.S.C. § 101 reads as follows:
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
In the instant case, claims 1-9 are directed to a “non-transitory computer readable medium”; claims 10-25 are directed to a “non-transitory computer readable medium”; and claims 26-31 are directed to a “non-transitory computer readable medium”. Therefore, these claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Claim 1 recites “provisioning a wallet”, which is a form of commercial or legal interactions (i.e., organizing human activity), and an abstract idea. Specifically, claim 1 recites: “identifying a plurality of digital wallets for use on the mobile device”; “displaying a user interface that presents a plurality of digital wallet options each of which corresponds to one of the identified digital wallets”; “receiving a selection of a digital wallet from the digital wallet options ”; and “creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning of a mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the mobile device”. (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.1.).
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because, when analyzed under prong two of step 2A (MPEP §2106.04 II.A.2.), the additional elements of the claim, such as “a non-transitory computer readable medium”, “one or more processors”, “identifying a plurality of digital wallets for use on the mobile device”, “displaying a user interface”, “digital wallet”, and “a mobile device”, which represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to implementing the acts of “provisioning a wallet.”
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “provisioning a wallet” using computer technology (e.g., “a non-transitory computer readable medium” and “one or more processors”). Therefore, as these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a particular technological environment, they do not improve computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field. (MPEP 2106.05 I A (f) & (h)). Therefore, claim 1 is non-statutory.
Claim 10 also recites the abstract idea of “provisioning a wallet”, as well the additional elements of “a non-transitory computer readable medium”, “one or more processors”, “a mobile device”, “identifying a plurality of digital wallets for use on the mobile device”, “displaying a first user interface”, “ a digital wallet”, “identifying a plurality of device types associated with the mobile device”, and “displaying a second user interface”, which represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to implementing the acts of “provisioning a wallet.”
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “provisioning a wallet” using computer technology (e.g., “a non-transitory computer readable medium” and “a mobile device”). Therefore, as these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a particular technological environment, they do not improve computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field. (MPEP 2106.05 I A (f) & (h)). Therefore, claim 10 is non-statutory.
Claim 26 also recites the abstract idea of “provisioning a wallet”, as well the additional elements of “a non-transitory computer readable medium”, “one or more processors”, “a mobile device”, “a digital wallet”, “a device”, “the selected digital wallet of the selected device”, which represent the use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea and/or do no more than generally link the abstract idea to a particular field of use or technological environment. Therefore, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as they do no more than represent a computer performing functions that correspond to implementing the acts of “provisioning a wallet.”
When analyzed under step 2B (MPEP 2106.05 I.A.), the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself. Viewed as a whole, the combination of elements recited in the claim merely describes the concept of “provisioning a wallet” using computer technology (e.g., “a non-transitory computer readable medium” and “a device”). Therefore, as these additional elements do no more than employ a computer as a tool to implement the abstract idea and/or provide a particular technological environment, they do not improve computer functionality or improve another technology or technical field. (MPEP 2106.05 I A (f) & (h)). Therefore, claim 26 is non-statutory.
Dependent claims 3-5 and 8-21 further describe the abstract idea of “provisioning a wallet”, which is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1, 10, and 26 above.
Dependent claims 2, 11, and 27 recite the additional elements of “the mobile device”, “a mobile phone”, “a wearable computing device”, and “a personal computing tablet; dependent claims 3 and 15 recite the additional elements of “identifying the plurality of digital wallets available for use on the mobile device”, “using an application programming interface (API) … for the mobile device to an API endpoint”, ”the digital wallets”, and “a mobile device”; dependent claims 4 and 17 recite additional element of “the user interface”; dependent claims 5 and 18 recite the additional elements of “the user interface”, “to enable auto-selection of the digital wallet”, and “the auto-selected digital wallet”; dependent claims 6, 22, and 28 recite the additional element of “a full mobile application”; dependent claims 7, 23, and 29 recite the additional element of “a micro application”; dependent claim 12 recites the additional elements of “the mobile device and at least a second mobile device”, “the selected device comprises the mobile device”, and “the selected digital wallet of the mobile device”; dependent claim 13 recites the additional elements of “the mobile device and at least a second mobile device”, “the selected device compris4es the second mobile device”, and “the selected digital wallet of the second digital wallet of the mobile device”; dependent claim 14 recites the additional elements of “the mobile device and at least a second mobile device”, “the device”, “the mobile device”, “the second mobile device”, “the selected digital wallet of the selected device”, and “the selected digital wallet of the mobile device”; dependent claim 16 recites the additional elements of “the mobile device”, “using an application programming interface (API)”, “for the mobile device to an API endpoint”, and “the mobile device for at least one of the identified digital wallets”; dependent claim 19 recites the additional element of “the second user interface”; dependent claim 20 recites the additional elements of “the first user interface is displayed” and “prior to the second user interface is displayed”; and dependent claim 21 recites the additional elements of “the second user interface is displayed” and “the first user interface is displayed”, which amount to merely “apply it” by tying the abstract idea to a technical environment (e.g., a mobile device), and taken alone or in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea alone.
Hence, claims 1-31 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. § 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. § 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Written Description
Claim 1 recites “creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning ...” The specification does not adequately inform one of ordinary skill how the limitation “that enables” is to be performed. The specification does not describe what “that enables” comprises. The term “enables” is broader than what is described in Applicant’s specification. In other words, Applicant has not provided the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function of “that enables” with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function “that enables” to be performed. Therefore, the written description is not met. Additionally, similar language is recited in claims 10 and 26. Dependent claims 2-9, which depend from claim 1; dependent claims 11-25, which depend from claim 10; and dependent claims 27-31, which depend from claim 26, are also similarly rejected. (MPEP § 2161.01 I and MPEP § 2163.03 V).
Claim 12 recites “…, and wherein the mobile credential data is created to enable provisioning ...” The specification does not adequately inform one of ordinary skill how the limitation “to enable” is to be performed. The specification does not describe what “to enable” comprises. The term “enable” is broader than what is described in Applicant’s specification. In other words, Applicant has not provided the algorithm or steps/procedure taken to perform the function of “to enable” with sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand how the inventor intended the function “to enable” to be performed. Therefore, the written description is not met. Additionally, similar language is recited in claim 13. (MPEP § 2161.01 I and MPEP § 2163.03 V).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1-3, 5-16, and 18-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180276657 A1), herein referred to as Cho, and in further view of Glynn-Udrow et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220108304 A1), herein referred to as Glynn-Udrow.
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses … creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning of a mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the mobile device (FIG. 7A, items 702, 703, 705, 707, 709, 711; para 36 “… FIG. 7A depicts an embodiment of a push load process user interface (UI) 702 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank," as shown on the display screen 703. A list of available devices and merchants is shown for selection by the user associated with a plurality of third party applications, devices and/or merchants … illustrated are a Netflix® icon 705 (an application), an Amazon Echo® icon 707 (a device), a Cortana® icon 709 (a third-party application), a "Smart" TV icon 711 (a device), and BestBuy® icon 713 (a merchant). If a particular device, application and/or merchant is not present in the list, then the user may select the query icon 715 to conduct a search for other devices, applications and/or merchants for selection …”).
Claim 10 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above, with additional consideration for these limitations: … identifying a plurality of device types associated with the mobile device types (FIG. 8A, items 802, 806, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “… The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with representations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts) …”);
displaying a second user interface (FIG. 8A, item 802; para 40 “… FIG. 8A depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803 …”) that presents a plurality of device options each of which corresponds to one of the identified device types (FIG. 8A, items 802, 806, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “… The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with representations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts) …”);
receiving a selection of a device from the device options types (FIG. 8A, items 802, 806, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “…When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts) … the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it, payment card information 816, …”); and
creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning of a mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the selected device types (FIG. 7A, items 702, 703, 705, 707, 709, 711; para 36 “… FIG. 7A depicts an embodiment of a push load process user interface (UI) 702 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank," as shown on the display screen 703. A list of available devices and merchants is shown for selection by the user associated with a plurality of third party applications, devices and/or merchants … illustrated are a Netflix® icon 705 (an application), an Amazon Echo® icon 707 (a device), a Cortana® icon 709 (a third-party application), a "Smart" TV icon 711 (a device), and BestBuy® icon 713 (a merchant). If a particular device, application and/or merchant is not present in the list, then the user may select the query icon 715 to conduct a search for other devices, applications and/or merchants for selection …”).
Claim 26 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 1 above, with additional consideration for these limitations: … providing a plurality of device options (FIG. 8A, items 802, 806, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “… The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with representations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts) …”);
receiving a selection of a device from the device options (FIG. 8A, items 802, 806, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “…When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts) … the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it, payment card information 816, …”); and
creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning of a mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the selected device types (FIG. 7A, items 702, 703, 705, 707, 709, 711; para 36 “… FIG. 7A depicts an embodiment of a push load process user interface (UI) 702 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank," as shown on the display screen 703. A list of available devices and merchants is shown for selection by the user associated with a plurality of third party applications, devices and/or merchants … illustrated are a Netflix® icon 705 (an application), an Amazon Echo® icon 707 (a device), a Cortana® icon 709 (a third-party application), a "Smart" TV icon 711 (a device), and BestBuy® icon 713 (a merchant). If a particular device, application and/or merchant is not present in the list, then the user may select the query icon 715 to conduct a search for other devices, applications and/or merchants for selection …”).
With respect to claim 1, Cho does not specifically disclose, however, Glynn-Udrow discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (FIG. 3, items 310, 320; paras 40, 62) of a mobile device (FIG. 1, item 110; paras 44, 47-48), cause the one or more processors to perform a plurality of operations comprising:
identifying a plurality of digital wallets available for use on the mobile device (FIG. 13, items 1310, 1320; para 102 “… the interface 1300 includes a first selectable option 1310 associated with Digital Wallet A and a second selectable option 1320 associated with Digital Wallet B. The first selectable option 1310, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet A on the computing device 110 and the second selectable option 1320, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet B. …”);
displaying a user interface that presents a plurality of digital wallet options each of which corresponds to one of the identified digital wallets (FIG. 6, item 600; para 72 “… interface 600 is shown in FIG. 6 … the interface 600 includes a first selectable option 610 associated with a first digital wallet application ("Digital Wallet A") and a second selectable option 620 associated with a second digital wallet application ("Digital Wallet B") …”; para 73 “… Although only two (2) selectable options associated with digital wallet applications are shown, it will be appreciated that any number of selectable options associated with digital wallet applications may be displayed and that the number selectable options provided may be related to how many digital wallet applications are resident on the computing device 110. As mentioned, this may be determined during a configuration process of the digital wallet management application …”);
receiving a selection of a digital wallet from the digital wallet options (FIG. 6, items 600, 610, 620; para 72 “… Each selectable option 610, 620 may be selected by the user of the computing device 110 via touch input … the user may select the first selectable option 610 via touch input on the display screen of the computing device 110. The first selectable option 610 and the second selectable option 620 are selected by the user to identify which digital wallet applications the user would like to update the account information for or add account informa-tion to. The account information may be for example payment card information …”); and …
With respect to claim 10, Cho does not specifically disclose, however, Glynn-Udrow discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (FIG. 3, items 310, 320; paras 40, 62) of a mobile device (FIG. 1, item 110; paras 44, 47-48), cause the one or more processors to perform a plurality of operations comprising:
identifying a plurality of digital wallets available for use on the mobile device (FIG. 13, items 1310, 1320; para 102 “… the interface 1300 includes a first selectable option 1310 associated with Digital Wallet A and a second selectable option 1320 associated with Digital Wallet B. The first selectable option 1310, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet A on the computing device 110 and the second selectable option 1320, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet B. …”);
displaying a first user interface that presents a plurality of digital wallet options each of which corresponds to one of the identified digital wallets (FIG. 6, item 600; para 72 “… interface 600 is shown in FIG. 6 … the interface 600 includes a first selectable option 610 associated with a first digital wallet application ("Digital Wallet A") and a second selectable option 620 associated with a second digital wallet application ("Digital Wallet B") …”; para 73 “… Although only two (2) selectable options associated with digital wallet applications are shown, it will be appreciated that any number of selectable options associated with digital wallet applications may be displayed and that the number selectable options provided may be related to how many digital wallet applications are resident on the computing device 110. As mentioned, this may be determined during a configuration process of the digital wallet management application …”);
receiving a selection of a digital wallet from the digital wallet options (FIG. 6, items 600, 610, 620; para 72 “… Each selectable option 610, 620 may be selected by the user of the computing device 110 via touch input … the user may select the first selectable option 610 via touch input on the display screen of the computing device 110. The first selectable option 610 and the second selectable option 620 are selected by the user to identify which digital wallet applications the user would like to update the account information for or add account informa-tion to. The account information may be for example payment card information …”); …
With respect to claim 26, Cho does not specifically disclose, however, Glynn-Udrow discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors (FIG. 3, items 310, 320; paras 40, 62) of a mobile device (FIG. 1, item 110; paras 44, 47-48), cause the one or more processors to perform a plurality of operations comprising:
providing a plurality of digital wallet options (FIG. 13, items 1310, 1320; para 102 “… the interface 1300 includes a first selectable option 1310 associated with Digital Wallet A and a second selectable option 1320 associated with Digital Wallet B. The first selectable option 1310, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet A on the computing device 110 and the second selectable option 1320, when selected, causes the computing device 110 to open Digital Wallet B. …”);
receiving a selection of a digital wallet from the digital wallet options (FIG. 6, items 600, 610, 620; para 72 “… Each selectable option 610, 620 may be selected by the user of the computing device 110 via touch input … the user may select the first selectable option 610 via touch input on the display screen of the computing device 110. The first selectable option 610 and the second selectable option 620 are selected by the user to identify which digital wallet applications the user would like to update the account information for or add account informa-tion to. The account information may be for example payment card information …”); …
Glynn-Udrow discloses a system and method for digital wallet management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a system and method for digital wallet management, as in Glynn-Udrow, to improve and/or enhance the technology for a digital wallet for the provisioning and management of tokens, as in Cho, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide a system and method in assisting a user to easily add or update a payment card linked to digital wallets or digital applications, which has been difficult and time consuming for the user in navigating within the digital wallet to find the appropriate setting to add or update a new payment card.
Regarding claims 2, 11, and 27, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 26. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the mobile device comprises one of a mobile phone (para 21 “… application to application integration may be performed using a wallet software development kit ("SDK") (such as the Master-Pass® SDK) to identify and launch an installed wallet on a user's mobile device, such as on the user's smartphone …”; para 30, “… the user interacts with a companion application running on his or her mobile device, such as a smartphone or tablet computer, to initiate the load transaction …”), a wearable computing device (FIG. 6C, items 603, 620, 621, 623, 625; para 33 “… FIG. 6C on the display screen 603. The selection screen includes a StayFit icon 620 that reminds the consumer that the load process is being undertaken for this device, and several payment card account selections 621, 623 and 625, which are the available payment card accounts in the user's wallet (which can be associated with the StayFit companion application) … the consumer has selected the "Black Elite" card 625 from his or her "Partner Bank" wallet, and the payment card account data for the "Black Elite" card is then digitized as a device token to the device (here, the "Stay Fit" wearable device) associated with the companion application …”), or a personal computing tablet.
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein identifying the plurality of digital wallets available for use on the mobile device comprises:
using an application programming interface (API) to pass a device type for the mobile device to an API endpoint of an allowed wallets service, wherein the allowed wallets service responds by providing the digital wallets available for use on a mobile device having the device type (para 21 “… To support the server to server integration option, wallet application programming interfaces ("APIs") may be used to indicate that payment credentials are being requested and/or returned for the purpose of tokenization by the companion application. To support a server to server integration, merchant APIs may be used to indicate that payment credentials are being requested and/or returned for the purpose of tokenization by the companion application …”; FIG. 8A, 8B, items 803, 806; para 40 “… FIG. 8A depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803. The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens …”).
Regarding claims 5 and 18, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Cho does not specifically disclose, however, Glynn-Udrow discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the user interface presents an additional option to enable auto-selection of the digital wallet from the digital wallet options, wherein the auto-selected digital wallet comprises a preferred one of the wallet options (para 34 “… authenticating a user of the remote computing device; and automatically adding the account information to the digital wallet management application based on authentication information obtained during the authentication …”; para 69 “… When the user has been authenticated, the computing device 110 may display a graphical user interface (GUI) of the digital wallet manage-ment application … the digital wallet management application, together with the application server 120, may be used to update or add account information such as for example payment card information to one or more digital wallets resident on the computing device 110. The digital wallet management application may determine the digital wallets resident on the computing device 110 during a configuration process and this may be done automatically or may require input from the user selecting which digital wallets to associate with the digital wallet management application …”).
Glynn-Udrow discloses a system and method for digital wallet management. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include a system and method for digital wallet management, as in Glynn-Udrow, to improve and/or enhance the technology for a digital wallet for the provisioning and management of tokens, as in Cho, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide a system and method in assisting a user to easily add or update a payment card linked to digital wallets or digital applications, which has been difficult and time consuming for the user in navigating within the digital wallet to find the appropriate setting to add or update a new payment card.
Regarding claims 6, 22, and 28, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 26. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions comprise a full mobile application (FIG. 4, item 402; para 35 “… In FIG. 4, the user interacts with his mobile device and selects to launch 402 a wallet application ( e.g., such as the MasterPass wallet) with an intent to load a payment card account to a companion application or device …”).
Regarding claims 7, 23, and 29, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 26. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions comprise a micro application (para 38 “… before displaying the list of avail-able payment card accounts, the mobile device processor prompts the user to provide authentication data, receives authentication data from the user, and authenticates the user before transmitting payment account credentials of the selected payment card account to a wallet server computer for digitization …”).
Regarding claims 8, 24, and 30, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 26. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured for use by a plurality of users to provision a plurality of respective mobile credentials associated with a single institution (FIG. 7A, item 703; para 36 “… FIG. 7A depicts an embodiment of a push load process user interface (UI) 702 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank," as shown on the display screen 703 …”).
Regarding claims 9, 25, and 31, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1, 10, and 26. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the instructions are configured for use by a plurality of users to provision a plurality of respective mobile credentials associated with a plurality of different institutions (FIG. 1, items 100, 104; para 36 “… system 100 may process many or a large amount of such loading operations (including simultaneous operations), and thus may include a considerable number of wallet server computers 104, a plurality of different wallet providers and their computers, a considerable number of different issuers and their computers, numerous different tokenization providers, and a plurality of different commerce platforms and their computers. The system may also include a very large number of payment card account holders (users or consumers), who carry payment-enabled mobile devices …”).
Regarding claim 12, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the device options comprise the mobile device and at least a second mobile device, wherein the selected device comprises the mobile device, and wherein the mobile credential data is created to enable provisioning of the mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the mobile device (FIG. 8A, 8B, items 802, 803, 804, 806; para 40 “… FIG. 8A depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803. The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with representations of their device tokens … the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it, payment card information 816, …”).
Regarding claim 13, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the device options comprise the mobile device and at least a second mobile device, wherein the selected device comprises the second mobile device, and wherein the mobile credential data is created to enable provisioning of the mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the second mobile device (FIG. 8A, 8B, items 802, 803, 804, 806; para 40 “… FIG. 8A depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803. The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with representations of their device tokens … the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it, payment card information 816, …”).
Regarding claim 14, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the device options comprise the mobile device and at least a second mobile device, wherein receiving the selection of the device from the device options comprises (a) receiving a first selection comprising the mobile device and (b) receiving a second selection comprising the second mobile device, and wherein creating mobile credential data that enables provisioning of the mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the selected device comprises (a) creating first mobile credential data that enables provisioning of the mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the mobile device and (b) creating second mobile credential data that enables provisioning of the mobile credential in the selected digital wallet of the second mobile device (FIG. 8A, 8B, 8C, items 802, 803, 804, 806, 808, 812; para 40 “… a series of screen shots 802, 804 and 806 of a touch screen display 803 of a user's mobile device associated with the token management process illus-trated by FIG. 5, and in accordance with some embodiments. FIG. SA depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803. The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts). In the present example, the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it, payment card information 816, …”).
Regarding claim 16, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein identifying the plurality of device types associated with the mobile device comprises:
using an application programming interface (API) to pass a device type for the mobile device to an API endpoint of an allowed wallets service, wherein the allowed wallets service responds by providing one or more additional device types associated with the mobile device for at least one of the identified digital wallets (para 21 “… To support the server to server integration option, wallet application programming interfaces ("APIs") may be used to indicate that payment credentials are being requested and/or returned for the purpose of tokenization by the companion application. To support a server to server integration, merchant APIs may be used to indicate that payment credentials are being requested and/or returned for the purpose of tokenization by the companion application …”; FIG. 8A, 8B, items 803, 806; para 40 “… FIG. 8A depicts an embodiment of a wallet application user interface (UI) 802 provided by the user's wallet associated with "Partner Bank" on the touch screen 803. The wallet application UI 802 includes a plurality of options, including one for "card management" 804. When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens …”).
Regarding claim 19, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the second user interface presents the device options so as to visually emphasize a preferred one of the device options (FIG. 8B, items 804, 808, 810, 812; para 40 “… When the user selects the card management option 804, the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to provide a device list 806 that includes icons representing a "Smart Auto" 808, a "Smart Fridge" 810, and a "Smart Watch" 812 along with repre-sentations of their device tokens (which here are depicted as credit card and/or debit card representations, which are associated with one or more of the user's payment accounts).…”).
Regarding claim 20, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the first user interface is displayed to present the wallet options prior to the second user interface is displayed to present the device options (FIG. 5, items 502, 504, 506; para 39 “… FIG. 5 illustrates an embodiment of a token management process 500 in accordance with some embodiments. The user or consumer launches 502 a wallet application on his or her mobile device, and then selects 504 a card management option to view his or her payment card accounts that have been tokenized. In some embodiments, the consumer's mobile device displays a list of devices, third parties and/or merchants on a touch screen ( or display screen), and then the user selects 506 one of the devices, third parties or mer-chants to manage. The user or consumer is then presented with a touch screen display of the selected device, third party or merchant, …”).
Regarding claim 21, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claim 10. Cho further discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 10, wherein the second user interface is displayed to preset the device options prior to the first user interface is displayed to present the wallet options (FIG. 3, items 302, 304; para 30 “… the user may interact with her smartphone to launch 302 a device application (referred to herein as a "companion application," which in some examples corresponds to an IoT application associated with an internet-connected device, such as a wearable device like a smart watch or health device) with an intent to load the companion application with payment card information. Once launched, the companion application may display 304 a user interface ("UI") on a display screen of the user's mobile device which offers the user the choice to load one or more payment card accounts from a wallet application to associate with the companion application (and thus, in some examples, for association with the internet-connected device) … The selected payment account(s) is/are then digitized 308 as one or more device token(s) to the device (for example, in the manner described above …”; FIG. 8B, 8C, items 806, 808, 810, 812, 814; para 40 “… the user selects the "Smart Watch" icon 812, and then the mobile device processor causes the wallet application to display a device token management screen 806 which includes the representation of the "Smart Watch" icon 812 at the top, a payment card representation 814 beneath it …”).
Claims 4 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20180276657 A1), herein referred to as Cho, in view of Glynn-Udrow et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220108304 A1), herein referred to as Glynn-Udrow, and in further view of Ready et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20150066691 A1), herein referred to as Ready.
Regarding claims 4 and 17, Cho and Glynn-Udrow disclose the limitations of claims 1 and 10. Cho and Glynn-Udrow do not specifically disclose, however, Ready discloses the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1, wherein the user interface presents the wallet options so as to visually emphasize a preferred one of the wallet options (FIG. 3A, 3B, items 120, 305; para 66 “… FIGS. 3A and 3B are screenshots of a checkout page 300 from an online merchant's purchase flow for presentation on a user device 120, where the merchant supports multiple electronic wallets, and the checkout page is optimized to present multiple digital wallets that have been recommended to the user. In FIG. 3A, two digital wallets 305 (Pay Pal® and Coinbase®) are prioritized in a horizontal bar and are the only digital wallets displayed, although additional wallets are available when the user presses the "more" button. A user can also choose to input payment card information …”; para 67 “… FIG. 3B illustrates a screenshot 300 of multiple digital wallets 305 that are displayed vertically. In this example, the service provider determined that PayPal®, Coinbase®, Venmo®, Google®, and Square® are the most applicable digital wallets and that all should be presented as options to the user 102 …”).
Ready discloses methods and systems for facilitating a digital wallet transaction. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include methods and systems for facilitating a digital wallet transaction, as in Ready; and to include a system and method for digital wallet management, as in Glynn-Udrow, to improve and/or enhance the technology for a digital wallet for the provisioning and management of tokens, as in Cho, because it would amount to combining elements that in the combination would perform the same function as they functioned separately. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have been motivated to combine the references to provide methods and systems decreasing shopping cart abandonment due to displaying more payment options that overwhelm a purchaser at the time of purchase and negatively impacting a merchant’s conversion rate, and simplifying the shopping experience for the consumer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Andrews et al (U. S. Patent Application Publication No. 20190057364 A1) – Managing Devices Associated With A Digital Wallet Account
Andrews discloses managing user devices associated with a digital wallet account associating, using one or more computing devices, one or more user computing devices with a digital wallet account of a user, each of the associated one or more user computing devices being activated to conduct financial transactions with a merchant utilizing the digital wallet account; presenting the associated user computing devices in a list of associated user computing devices; receiving a request to deactivate a particular user computing device from the list of associated user computing devices; deactivating the particular user computing device, the deactivation being sufficient to prevent the user computing device from conducting transactions with a merchant utilizing the digital wallet account; and presenting a deactivated status of the particular user computing device.
/STEVEN CHISM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3692
/RYAN D DONLON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3692 December 19, 2025