DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in United Kingdom on 6/22/23. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the GB2309434.5 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 9, “resilient means” is seen as invoking 112(f) and is disclosed in the specification at [0119] and drawings as spring 80.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 14, next to last line, there are 2 punctuation marks “. ;” after “the second valve”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lixil Corp WO 2015/146360 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Lixil Corp discloses an apparatus comprising:
a valve assembly including:
at least one valve inlet 25 adapted to connect to a fluid supply pipe 29;
two or more valve outlets including a first valve outlet 41 and a second valve outlet 77;
a switching element 70 selectively allowing fluid communication between the at least one inlet and the first valve outlet and/or the second valve outlet, wherein:
when fluidic pressure acting on the switching element is below a threshold fluidic pressure, the switching element operates in a first mode in which the at least one inlet and the first valve outlet are in fluid communication, and the at least one inlet and the second valve outlet are not in fluid communication (Figs. 3a, 6a);
when the fluidic pressure acting on the switching element meets or exceeds the threshold fluidic pressure, the switching element operates in a second mode in which the at least one inlet and the second valve outlet are in fluid communication (Figs. 3b-2c, 6b-6c); and
the switching element is actuated by fluidic pressure and switches from operating in the first mode to operating in the second mode and vice versa, as a result of a change in fluidic pressure through the threshold fluidic pressure (fluidic pressure moves switching element based on the pressure overcoming spring 80);
a first set of fluid delivery outlets for providing a first spray mode, the first set of fluid delivery outlets being in fluid communication with the first valve outlet (see Figs. 3b and 6b); and
a second set of fluid delivery outlets for providing a second spray mode, the second set of fluid delivery outlets being in fluid communication with the second valve outlet (see Figs. 3c and 6c).
Regarding claim 2, wherein when the switching element operates in the second mode, the valve assembly allows fluid communication between the at least one valve inlet and the first valve outlet (see Fig. 6(b) for second mode).
Regarding claim 3, wherein the valve assembly includes at least one pressure relief valve (valve in Figs. seen as a pressure relief valve).
Regarding claim 4, wherein at least one of the two or more valve outlets includes a flow regulator to limit a maximum flow rate output from said valve outlet (the size of the apertures is seen as a “flow regulator to limit a maximum flow rate output from said valve output”).
Regarding claim 5, wherein when the switching element operates in the second mode, the valve assembly prevents fluid communication between the at least one inlet and the first valve outlet (see Fig. 6(b) for second mode).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the valve assembly includes a diverter valve assembly (valve in Figs. seen as a diverter valve).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the switching element includes a moveable carriage that translates relative to the two or more valve outlets (see Fig. 4, movable cylinder, valve 70).
Regarding claim 8, wherein the moveable carriage is perforated with one or more apertures to enable fluidic connection, in use, between the at least one valve inlet and one of the two or more valve outlets (see Fig. 5, apertures 41).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the switching element further includes a resilient means (see Fig. 4, movable cylinder, valve 70 with spring 80).
Regarding claim 10, wherein the moveable carriage is perforated with two or more apertures and wherein the apertures are distributed around a circumference of the carriage (see Fig. 5, apertures 41).
Regarding claim 11, wherein the apertures include a first set of apertures and a second set of apertures offset from the first set of apertures along a length of the moveable carriage (see Fig. 4, apertures 41, 77).
Regarding claim 12, wherein the apertures include a single set of apertures (see Fig. 4, apertures 41 and/or 77 seen as a “single set”).
Regarding claim 13, further including a controller 110 for varying flow rate from a fluid supply pipe to the at least one valve inlet.
Regarding claim 14, Lixil Corp discloses a system for installation in an ablutionary environment, comprising:
a valve assembly including:
at least one valve inlet 25;
two or more valve outlets including a first valve outlet 41 and a second valve outlet 77;
a switching element 70, wherein:
when in a first mode in which fluidic pressure acting on the switching element is below a threshold fluidic pressure, the at least one inlet and the first valve outlet are in fluid communication, and the at least one inlet and the second valve outlet are not in fluid communication (Figs. 3a, 6a);
when in a second mode in which the fluidic pressure acting on the switching element meets or exceeds the threshold fluidic pressure, the at least one inlet and the second valve outlet are in fluid communication (Figs. 3b-2c, 6b-6c); and
the switching element switches from operating in the first mode to operating in the second mode and vice versa based on fluidic pressure (fluidic pressure moves switching element based on the pressure overcoming spring 80);
a first set of fluid delivery outlets for providing a first spray mode, the first set of fluid delivery outlets being in fluid communication with the first valve outlet (see Figs. 3b and 6b);
a second set of fluid delivery outlets for providing a second spray mode, the second set of fluid delivery outlets being in fluid communication with the second valve outlet (see Figs. 3c and 6c); and
a controller 110 for varying the flow rate from the fluid supply to the apparatus.
Regarding claim 15, further including a mixing valve (mixing valve not shown but implicit in any shower apparatus).
Regarding claim 16, wherein the controller varies the fluidic pressure acting on the switching element, thereby switching the switching element between modes of operation (Figs. 17, 19-21, [0090]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the controller is a digital controller (Figs. 17, 19-21, [0090]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 18, wherein the digital controller causes the switching element to: switch from the first mode to another mode of operation upon user actuation of the digital controller; and/or switch to the first mode after a predetermined time period (Figs. 17, 19-21, [0090]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 19, wherein the controller causes the switching element to: switch from the first mode to another mode of operation upon user actuation of the digital controller; and/or switch to the first mode once a limiting condition is met (Figs. 17, 19-21, [0090]-[0098]).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the limiting condition is that the predetermined time period has elapsed or a predetermined volume of fluid has been output from the fluid delivery outlets (Figs. 17, 19-21, [0090]-[0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lixil Corp WO 2015/146360 A1 in view of Laker US 7,431,224.
Regarding claim 4, Lixil Corp lacks at least one of the two or more valve outlets includes a (separate) flow regulator to limit a maximum flow rate output from said valve outlet. Laker discloses a (separate) flow regulator 6 to limit a maximum flow rate output from said valve outlet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a separate flow regulator as disclosed by Laker in the valve outlet of the Lixil Corp to regulate/limit the flow out of the valve.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dai discloses a similar valve assembly. Shfaram and Schumacher disclose flow regulators to limit the outlet flow rate.
/John Bastianelli/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753
571-272-4921