DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ikehira in view of KR 20210122173 in view of Palmese US 20180044473A.
Regarding claims 1-10, Ikehira teaches a resin composition which comprises a compound with a novolac structure and the compound can be PT-30 (Page 13). It would have been obvious to select PT-30 (phenol novolak type polyfunctional cyanate ester resin) as the curing agent because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
This reads on the claimed polyfunctional cyanate ester resin. The Instant Specification teaches the PT-30 is a suitable polyfunctional cyanate ester that falls within the claimed glass transition temperature, molecular weight, and structure of claim (I), (Page 8 Lines 27-29). This reads on the limitations of claims 1-6.
Ikehira also teaches the composition comprises a hydroxy containing silicone oil (Page 17). Ikehira teaches the hydroxy containing silicone oil can be KF-2201. It would have been obvious to select KF-2201 as the hydroxy containing silicone oil because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
The instant specification teaches that KF-2201 is a suitable hydroxy containing silicone oil which has the claimed structure of formulas II and III (Page 9 Lines 27-30). This reads on the limitations of claims 6 and 7.
Ikehira is silent on the curing accelerator being an imidazolium dicyanamide.
Ikehira teaches the composition is a thermosetting composition (Abstract, Page 22). Ikehira teaches the resin composition is used in printed circuit wiring boards (Abstract, Title).
Palmese teaches a method of catalyzing cyanate esters to form thermosetting polymers using dicyanamide containing ionic liquids (Abstract). Palmese teaches the cyanate ester compound can be PT-30 (Paragraph [0047]). Palmese teaches the catalyzing component is 1-ethyl-3-methyl imidazolium dicyanamide compound (Paragraph [0041]). It would have been obvious to use the 1-ethyl-3-methyl imidazolium dicyanamide as the imidazolium dicyanamide compound of Palmese because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Palmese teaches the resulting thermoset polymer is used in microelectronics applications (Abstract). Palmese also teaches that the dicyanamide catalyst provides an advantage over conventional polymers synthesized with metal catalysts, because the metals remaining in conventional polymers can also catalyze the degradation of the polymer when the polymer is exposed to high temperatures (Paragraph [0061]). Further Palmese teaches the inventive thermoset polymer having a triazine polymer has a high resistance to: i) network degradation; ii) Tg loss under humid conditions; and iii) blistering (Paragraph [0061]). Ikehira teaches the composition comprises a metal-based curing accelerator (Page 15). It would have been obvious to replace the metal-based curing accelerator of Ikehira with the imidazolium dicyanamide catalyst of Palmese for the advantages described in Palmese, including resistance to network degradation.
This reads on the limitation of claims 1-10.
Regarding claim 11, Ikehira teaches the composition is cured into a cured product (Abstract). This reads on the claimed resin blend.
Regarding claim 12, Ikehira teaches the components of the resin composition are mixed together (Example 1, Page 32) then cured (Page 32 and 33).
Conclusion
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762