DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claim 1-14, in the reply filed on 11/13/2025 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a first securing fixing” in claim 1, and “a second securing fixing” in claim 8 and 11.
According to [0097]-[0098], a securing fixing is interpreted as a fastener such as a pin, bolt, and stud, and its equivalents.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 6, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the second deformable support”.
In claim 8, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the second securing fixing”.
In claim 11, there is a lack of antecedent basis for “the second securing fixing”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund-Laverick (PG-PUB 2022/0134685) in view of Muraoka (WO 2024048094, machine translation relied upon for citations) and Desautels (US 5,597,435).
Regarding claim 1, Lund-Laverick teach a method of manufacturing a composite article precursor, the method comprising the steps of:
laying down a first grouping of at least one layer of composite material upon a substantially upwardly-facing first surface of a preform of the composite article precursor (Figure 7A-7P and [0088]-[0094]);
disposing a first sealing member in the form of a vacuum bag over the first grouping of the at least one layer of composite material (Figure 7A-7P, items 60 and 62 and [0093], [0099]);
securing the first sealing member to the preform by fastening (e.g., by double sided tape) [0056]-[0057];
rotating the preform about an axis such that the first surface is no longer
substantially upwardly-facing and a second surface of the preform is substantially
upwardly-facing (Figure 7A-7P and [0097]-[0098]);
laying down a second grouping of at least one layer of composite material
upon the second surface of the preform (Figure 7A-7P and [0088]-[0094], [0099); and
vacuum debulking an assembly comprising the first grouping of at least
one layer of composite material, the second grouping of at least on], [e layer of
composite material, the first deformable support, and the preform [0088], [0092], [0102].
Lund-Laverick does not teach disposing a first deformable support over the first grouping of the at least one layer of composite material securing the first deformable support to the preform via a first securing fixing.
Muraoka teaches an assembly for vacuum debulking using a breather, tensioning generating film, and release film. Muraoka teaches the breather forms a degassing circuit that serves as a flow path through which the internal atmosphere of the bag film flows during vacuum suction.
Muraoka teaches the breather 14 is arranged to cover the outside of the mold 11, the tension-generating film 12, and the pressure plate 13 installed on the bottom plate 35, and its periphery is placed on the bottom plate 35, and the breather 14 is arranged so as to face the suction hole 15a (Figure 6 and Page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Lund-Laverick with breather structures coupled to each cavity for the purpose of providing a porous structure that serves as a degassing circuit and allows for unhindered vacuum suction as taught by Muraoka.
Desautels teaches a L-shaped restraining knuckle clamp attached to a mold base for clamping ends of an assembly of base duction portion 112, restraining caul 120, elastomer member 130, and elastomer restraint 140 (Figure 6 and Col 5, ln 18-67). Desautels teaches the clamp uses a bolt to pass through the clamp to attach the clamp (Figure 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Lund-Laverick, in particularly the fastening mechanism of the sealing members, in view of Muraoka with the restraining knuckle clamps of Desautels, a known suitable mechanism for fastening sealing members and composite material against a work surface.
Regarding claim 2, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, further comprising disposing a second deformable support over the second grouping of at least one layer of composite material (Lund-Laverick, Figure 7A-7P, items 60 and 62 and [0088]-[0091], [0093], [0099], Muroka, Figure 6 and Page 5); securing the second deformable support to the first deformable support via a second securing fixing (Desautels, Figure 6 and Col 5, ln 18-67).
Regarding claim 4, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1.
Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels does not teach:
placing a first release layer over the first grouping of at least one layer of composite material before disposing the first deformable support over the first grouping of at least one layer of composite material; and/or
placing a second release layer over the second grouping of at least one layer of composite material before disposing the second deformable support over the second grouping of at least one layer of composite material.
Muraoka teaches an assembly for vacuum debulking using a breather, tensioning generating film, and release film. Muraoka teaches the release film allows for the removal of the composite material (Page 3). Muraoka teaches the breather 14 is arranged to cover the outside of the mold 11, the tension-generating film 12, and the pressure plate 13 installed on the bottom plate 35, and its periphery is placed on the bottom plate 35, and the breather 14 is arranged so as to face the suction hole 15a (Figure 6 and Page 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Lund-Laverick with the release films of Muroka for the benefit of easy composite removal.
Regarding claim 5, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the wherein the first surface of the preform
and the second surface of the preform of the composite component are opposed (Lund-Laverick, Figure 7A-7P).
Regarding claim 6, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the first deformable support is porous (Muraoka, Figure 6 and Page 5).
Regarding claim 8 and 9, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the first securing fixing forms a clamping arrangement, wherein the clamping arrangement is a bolting arrangement comprising a plurality of studs aligned in a common direction (see rejection of claim 1, Lund-Laverick Figures 7A-7P and Desautels, Figure 6).
Regarding claim 10, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the bolting arrangement of the first securing fixing is aligned with the bolting arrangement of a second securing fixing (Lund-Laverick, Figures 7A-7P and [0088]-[0094] and Desautels, Figure 6 and Col 5, ln 18-67).
Regarding claim 11, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein, the first securing fixing and a second securing fixing is located in a peripheral portion of the preform that surrounds a core portion of the preform (Lund-Laverick, Figures 7A-7P and [0088]-[0094] and Desautels, Figure 6 and Col 5, ln 18-67).
Regarding claim 13 and 14, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein the composite article is an airfoil, wherein the aerofoil is a fan blade of a wind turbine blade (Lund-Laverick, [0008]-[0009]).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund-Laverick (PG-PUB 2022/0134685) in view of Muraoka (WO 2024048094, machine translation relied upon for citations) and Desautels (US 5,597,435), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Astwood (US 8,419,886).
Regarding claim 7, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1, wherein vacuum debulking the assembly comprising disposing flexible and non-porous bags (i.e., vacuum bags) on each stack of composite material and at least partially evacuating the flexible and non-porous bag (Lund-Laverick, [0088], [0092], [0102].
Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels does not teach
placing the assembly within a flexible and non-porous bag, sealing the flexible and non-porous bag, and at least partially evacuating the flexible and non-porous bag.
Astwood teaches a method of manufacturing composite parts assembling composite material onto a mandrel and disposing the assembly into a vacuum bag for debulking (Figures 8-10 and Col 4, ln 20-32 and 52-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Lund-Laverick, in particularly the two individual vacuum bags, with the single vacuum bag of Astwood, a known suitable vacuum bag for debulking at least two composite parts on a mandrel.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lund-Laverick (PG-PUB 2022/0134685) in view of Muraoka (WO 2024048094, machine translation relied upon for citations) and Desautels (US 5,597,435), as applied to claim 1, in further view of Osborne (PG-PUB 2018/0056610).
Regarding claim 12, Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 1.
Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels does not teach:
at least one additional method is performed on at least the composite article precursor to form a composite article, the at least one additional method being selected from one of trimming the composite article precursor, reinforcing the composite article precursor and/or coating the composite article precursor.
Osborne teaches a method of fabricating a composite structure, comprising trimming a cured composite structure and removing the composite from a mandrel [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of Lund-Laverick with a step of trimming as taught by Osborne, a known suitable processing step for finishing a cured composite to yield a finished article.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels teaches the process as applied to claim 3.
Lund-Laverick in view of Muraoka and Desautels does not teach the second securing fixing comprises an elastically deformable member which applies a compressive force to the first grouping of at least one layer of composite material and a compressive force to the second grouping of at least one layer of composite
material.
Conclusion
HANA C. PAGE
Examiner
Art Unit 1745
/HANA C PAGE/Examiner, Art Unit 1745