DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 newly recites “first side portions of a plurality of elastic members… second side portion of the plurality of elastic members…”. It’s unclear if these are the same or different elastic members introduced in earlier limitation. Based on the specification and drawing, it appears to be referring to the same structure. In order to examine this application, examiner will consider the limitation as “first side portions of the elastic members… second side portion of the elastic members…”.
Claims 3-11 depends on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo et al. (US 10,871,797; hereinafter “Jo”) in view of Ahn (US 2021/0405696) and Kim et al. (US 7,967,346; hereinafter “Kim”).
Regarding claim 1 as best understood, Jo teaches a display device (Figs. 2-9) comprising:
a display module (151, Fig. 7);
a supporting plate (103, 104 and the unreferenced plate under 1511 in Fig. 7) disposed under the display module, the supporting plate including:
a plate (left unreferenced plate under 1511 in Fig. 7); and
a plurality of supporting bars (103, 104, 1041, Fig. 7) arranged in a first direction (main sliding direction in Figs. 5-6, 8) along with the plate, and extending in a second direction (direction at the roller 1028 in Fig. 5, which cross the first direction) crossing the first direction;
a main case (101, Figs. 3-7) disposed under the supporting plate;
a moving case (102, Figs. 3-7) which at least partially overlaps the supporting plate, is at least partially disposed in the main case (102 is at least partially overlaps the supporting plate in both retracted and expanded positions, and 102 is also at least partially disposed in 101 in both retracted and expanded positions), and moves in the first direction with respect to the main case (sliding direction as shown in 5(a)-6(b)).
Jo does not teach elastic members disposed on an upper surface of the moving case, and coupled to the supporting plate, wherein in a state in which an overlapping area of the moving case and the main case is at a minimum, the elastic members are stretched and apply elastic force to the supporting plate, and first side portions of the elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case, and second side portions of the elastic members, opposed to the first side portions, are rotatably coupled to the supporting plate. However, Ahn teaches elastic members (two SR, Figs. 2A-3B) disposed on an upper surface of the moving case (upper surface of CS2, Figs. 2A-3B; [0079]: “…elastic member SR may be fixed to the second case CS2…”), and coupled to a supporting portion of display module (one end portion of SR is attached to the supporting portion of display module DM), wherein in a state in which an overlapping area of the moving case (state shown in Fig. 2B and 3B) and the main case is at a minimum, the elastic members are stretched and apply elastic force to the supporting plate (SR stretched as shown in Figs. 2B and 3B); first side portions of the elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case (as shown in Figs. 2A-3B), and second side portions of the elastic members, opposed to the first side portions, are coupled to the supporting portion (supporting portions of display module DM). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have an elastic member disposed on an upper surface of the moving case, and coupled to the supporting plate, wherein in a state in which an overlapping area of the moving case and the main case is at a minimum, the elastic member is stretched and applies elastic force to the supporting plate, and first side portions of the elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case, and second side portions of the elastic members, opposed to the first side portions, are coupled to the supporting plate in Jo, as taught by Ahn, in order to help provide elastic forces to assist sliding between different states of the display device.
Jo in view of Ahn above does not explicitly teach about the side portions of elastic members are rotatably coupled to the supporting plate. However, Kim teaches side portions of elastic members (sides of 142A or 142B, Fig. 1) are rotatably coupled to a supporting plate (110 or 120, Fig. 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the side portions of elastic members are rotatably coupled to the supporting plate in Jo in view of Ahn, as taught by Kim, in order to improve durability and smoothness of the sliding motion at the coupling ends.
Regarding claim 10, Jo in view of Ahn and Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, and Anh further teaches wherein the elastic member includes a tension spring (SR, established in above claim 1 by Anh, is a tension spring as shown in Figs. 2A-3B of Ahn; [0088]: “…tension by the elastic force of the elastic member SR…”).
Regarding claim 11, Jo in view of Ahn and Kim teaches the display device of claim 10, and Anh further teaches wherein the elastic member (SR, Figs. 2A-3B) comprises: a first fixation portion such as (left end of SR in Fig. 3B) coupled to the moving case; and a second fixation portion (right end of SR in Fig. 3B) coupled to the supporting plate, and the tension spring is disposed between the first fixation portion and the second fixation portion (as shown in Fig. 3B; also see [0088]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jo in view of Ahn, Kim, and further in view of Park (US 2012/0154999).
Regarding claim 3, Jo in view of Ahn and Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, and Jo further teaches wherein a supporting bar spaced farthest apart from the plate, among the plurality of supporting bars, is defined as a coupling supporting bar (103, Fig. 7), a guide groove (end of 103 shown an elongated groove in Fig. 7) extending in the second direction is defined in an upper surface (on upper surface of 103 as shown in Fig. 7) of the coupling supporting bar.
Jo teaches a guide groove but does not teach a plurality of guide grooves; second side portions of the plurality of elastic members are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves. However, Park teaches a plurality of guide grooves (35a, Fig. 5); second side portions of a plurality of elastic members (33 shown in Fig. 5) are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves (33 rotates as shown in Figs. 4 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of guide grooves; second side portions of the plurality of elastic members are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves in Jo in view of Ahn and Kim, as taught by Park, in order to provide smoother sliding motions.
Claims 12, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Park.
Regarding claim 12, Ahn teaches a display device (Figs. 1-4B) comprising:
a display module (DM, Figs. 1A-1B);
a supporting portion (edge side on DM that support connecting SR shown in Figs. 2A-3B);
a main case (CS1, Figs. 1A-4B) disposed under the supporting portion;
a moving case (CS2, Figs. 1A-4B) which at least partially overlaps the supporting portion, is at least partially disposed in the main case (CS2 is at least partially overlaps the supporting portion in both retracted and expanded positions, and CS2 is also at least partially disposed in CS1), and is slidably coupled to the main case; and
a plurality of elastic members (SR, Figs. 2A-3B) disposed on an upper surface of the moving case (upper surface of CS2, Figs. 2A-3B; [0079]: “…elastic member SR may be fixed to the second case CS2…”),
wherein in a state in which the moving case moves in a first direction (DR1, Figs. 1A-4B) with respect to the main case, portions of the plurality of elastic members, which are coupled to the supporting portion (one end portion of SR is attached to the supporting portion of display module DM), become close to each other or away from each other (two end portions of SR away from each other as shown from Figs. 3A to 3B), and
in a state in which a distance between the portions of the plurality of elastic members is at a maximum, the plurality of elastic members is stretched and applies elastic force to the supporting portion (SR stretched as shown in Figs. 2B and 3B).
Ahn teaches the supporting portion, but does not explicitly teach a supporting plate which is disposed under the display module, and in which a plurality of guide grooves is defined; the plurality of elastic members coupled to the plurality of guide grooves; the portions of the plurality of elastic members are coupled to the coupled to the plurality of guide grooves. However, Park teaches a supporting plate (22, 23, 32, 35, 34, Fig. 5) which is disposed under a display module (21, Fig. 1), and in which a plurality of guide grooves (35a, Fig. 5) is defined; a plurality of elastic members (33, Fig. 5) coupled to the plurality of guide grooves (as shown in Figs. 4, 6); portions (33c, Fig. 5) of the plurality of elastic members are coupled to the coupled to the plurality of guide grooves (33c coupled to 35a through 36 as shown in Figs. 4-6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a supporting plate which is disposed under the display module, and in which a plurality of guide grooves is defined; the plurality of elastic members coupled to the plurality of guide grooves; the portions of the plurality of elastic members are coupled to the coupled to the plurality of guide grooves in Ahn, as taught by Park, in order to support the display module and provide smoother sliding motions by using the guide grooves.
Regarding claims 16-17, Ahn in view of Park teaches the display device of claim 12. Ahn does not explicitly teach a plurality of coupling units disposed on the plurality of guide grooves to connect the supporting plate and the plurality of elastic members to each other, wherein first side portions of the plurality of elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case, and second side portions of the plurality of elastic members, disposed to be opposed to the first side portions, are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves by the plurality of coupling units; wherein in a state in which second side portions of the plurality of elastic members rotate, the plurality of coupling units moves along the plurality of guide grooves in a second direction crossing the first direction. However, Park further teaches a plurality of coupling units (36, Fig. 5) disposed on the plurality of guide grooves to connect the supporting plate (35, Fig. 5) and the plurality of elastic members (33, Fig. 5) to each other, wherein first side portions of the plurality of elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case (20, Figs. 2, 4, 6), and second side portions of the plurality of elastic members, disposed to be opposed to the first side portions, are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves (35a, Fig. 5) by the plurality of coupling units (33 rotates as shown in Figs. 4, 6); wherein in a state in which second side portions of the plurality of elastic members rotate, the plurality of coupling units moves along the plurality of guide grooves in a second direction (direction of the elongated guide grooves 35a) crossing the first direction (sliding direction shown in Figs. 4 and 6). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a plurality of coupling units disposed on the plurality of guide grooves to connect the supporting plate and the plurality of elastic members to each other, wherein first side portions of the plurality of elastic members are coupled onto the upper surface of the moving case, and second side portions of the plurality of elastic members, disposed to be opposed to the first side portions, are rotatably coupled to the plurality of guide grooves by the plurality of coupling units; wherein in a state in which second side portions of the plurality of elastic members rotate, the plurality of coupling units moves along the plurality of guide grooves in a second direction crossing the first direction in Ahn in view of Park, as taught by Park, in order to secure the plurality of elastic members and provide stable elastic force for sliding.
Regarding claim 19, Ahn in view of Park teaches the display device of claim 12, and Ahn further teaches wherein an elastic member (SR, Figs. 2A-3B) of the plurality of elastic members further comprises a tension spring (SR is a tension spring as shown in Figs. 2A-3B of Ahn; [0088]: “…tension by the elastic force of the elastic member SR…”).
Regarding claim 20, Ahn in view of Park teaches the display device of claim 19, and Ahn further teaches wherein the elastic member (SR, Figs. 2A-3B) further comprises: a first fixation portion (left end of SR in Fig. 3B) coupled onto an upper surface of the moving case; and a second fixation portion (right end of SR in Fig. 3B) coupled to each of the plurality of guide grooves, and the tension spring is disposed between the first fixation portion and the second fixation portion (as shown in Fig. 3B; also see [0088]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Park, and further in view of Jo.
Regarding claim 13, Anh in view of Park teaches the display device of claim 12. Anh does not teach wherein the supporting plate comprises: a plate including a flat surface defined by the first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction; and a plurality of supporting bars arranged in the first direction along with the plate, and extending in the second direction, and the plurality of guide grooves is defined in a coupling supporting bar which is defined as a supporting bar, among the plurality of supporting bars, spaced farthest apart from the plate. However, Jo teaches a supporting plate (103, 104, 1041, Fig. 7) comprises: a plate (left unreferenced plate under 1511 in Fig. 7) including a flat surface defined by a first direction (main sliding direction in Figs. 5-6, 8) and a second direction (direction at the roller 1028 in Fig. 5, which is crossing the first direction) crossing the first direction; and a plurality of supporting bars (103, 104, 1041, Fig. 7) arranged in the first direction along with the plate, and extending in the second direction (as shown in Fig. 7), and a guide groove (end of 103 shown an elongated groove in Fig. 7) is defined in a coupling supporting bar (same as 103, Fig. 7) which is defined as a supporting bar, among the plurality of supporting bars, spaced farthest apart from the plate (103 farther from plurality of 1041, Fig. 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the supporting plate comprises: a plate including a flat surface defined by the first direction and a second direction crossing the first direction; and a plurality of supporting bars arranged in the first direction along with the plate, and extending in the second direction, and the plurality of guide grooves (note plurality of guide grooves was taught by Park in claim 12 above) is defined in a coupling supporting bar which is defined as a supporting bar, among the plurality of supporting bars, spaced farthest apart from the plate in Ahn in view of Park, as taught by Jo, in order to stably support and slide the display module in different states.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Re claims 4-5, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display device of claim 4, in particular, wherein in a state in which the overlapping area of the moving case and the main case increases, the display module operates in a reduced mode in which the display module shrinks into the moving case, in a state in which the overlapping area of the moving case and the main case decreases, the display module operates in an extended mode in which the display module extends out of the moving case, and in a state in which the reduced mode is switched to the extended mode, a distance between second side portions of the plurality of elastic members increases.
Re claims 6-9, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display device of claim 6, in particular, a pressing part disposed on the moving case, and including a plurality of sidewall portions facing each other in the second direction,
wherein a plurality of sliding grooves is defined in mutually facing surfaces of the plurality of sidewall portions, and opposite sides of each of the plurality of supporting bars, opposed to each other in the second direction, are disposed on the plurality of sliding grooves.
Re claims 14-15, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display device of claim 14, in particular, a pressing part coupled to the moving case, and including a plurality of sidewall portions facing each other in the second direction,
wherein a plurality of sliding grooves is defined in mutually facing surfaces of the plurality of sidewall portions, and opposite sides of each of the plurality of supporting bars, opposed to each other in the second direction, are disposed on the plurality of sliding grooves.
Re claim 18, prior arts do not teach or suggest the combination of the display device of claim 18, in particular, wherein in a state in which an overlapping area of the moving case and the main case increases, the display module operates in a reduced mode in which the display module shrinks into the main case, in a state in which the overlapping area of the moving case and the main case decreases, the display module operates in an extended mode in which the display module extends out of the main case, and a distance between second side portions of the plurality of elastic members in the reduced mode is smaller than a distance between second side portions of the plurality of elastic members in the extended mode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-13, 16-17 and 19-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant also made the following argument:
Applicant alleges, regarding claim 12, that referring to FIG. 6 of Park (reproduced below), for example, it is noted that the alleged elastic member (33) is routed along a groove (35) in a folding (hinge-type) display device rather than a slidable display device in which a moving case is slidable with respect to the main case, as disclosed in the present application or other cited prior art references (e.g., Ahn and Jo). Due to this different purpose/operation of Park to provide stable and smooth hinge movement (compared to ), Park has a distinct structure in which the alleged elastic member (33) and the alleged grooves (35a) together are disposed inside a single non- expandable display module, and the alleged elastic member (33) and the alleged grooves (35a) are not provided in a moving case and in a supporting plate, respectively, which are slidable relative to each other. Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that one of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to apply the alleged elastic member (33) and the alleged groove (35) of Park to the alleged moving case and the alleged supporting plate of Ahn, respectively, at the time the invention. (Response at pg. 19)
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner did not use the hinge nor folding function of Park, rather, Examiner utilize the sliding motion that cause a device to expand as shown in Figs. 1 and 2 of Park. This particular sliding mechanism taught by Park, as mentioned in the rejection above, provide good support of the display module and provide smoother sliding motions by using the guide grooves of Park into Anh. Thus, examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES WU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841