Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,6-8,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(A)(1) as being anticipated by Ding et al. (US-20220271045-A1; Ding).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a first active pattern (Fig. 3D, AP1; ¶34) that extends in a first direction (D2); a second active pattern (Fig. 3D, AP2; ¶34) spaced apart from the first active pattern in a second direction (D1) that crosses the first direction; a first source/drain pattern (Fig. 3D, SD1; ¶36) disposed on the first active pattern; a second source/drain pattern (Fig. 3D, SD2; ¶36) disposed on the second active pattern; a first active contact (Fig. 3D, AC OVER PR; ¶64) electrically connected to the first source/drain pattern; a second active contact (Fig. 3D, AC OVER NR; ¶64) electrically connected to the second source/drain pattern; and an insulating structure (Fig. 3D, 110/ST; ¶35/42) disposed between the first and second active contacts, wherein the insulating structure includes a first insulating layer (Fig. 3D, ST; ¶35 ) and a second insulating layer (Fig. 3D, 110 ; ¶ 42) disposed on the first insulating layer, and each of the first and second insulating layers is in contact with the first and second active contacts.
Regarding claim 6, Ding discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a level of a lowermost portion of the first insulating layer (Fig. 3D, ST; ¶35 ) is higher than a level of a lowermost portion of the first (Fig. 3D, AP1; ¶34) and second (Fig. 3D, AP2; ¶34) active contacts
The lowermost portion of the first insulation layer is the portion aligned with trench TR. The lowermost portion has an upper surface above the lowermost portion of AP1/AP2
Regarding claim 7, Ding discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer (Fig. 3D, ST; ¶35 ) comprises a material that has an etch selectivity with respect to the second insulating layer. (Fig. 3D, 110 ; ¶ 42)
An etch selectivity with respect to the second insulating layer can be higher, lower, or equal. What does applicant intend by, “with respect”
Regarding claim 8, Ding discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, wherein a level of a lowermost portion of the first insulating layer (Fig. 3D, ST; ¶35 ) is lower than a level of a lowermost portion of the first (Fig. 3D, AP1; ¶34) and second (Fig. 3D, AP2; ¶34) active contacts.
The lowermost portion of the first insulation layer is the portion aligned with trench TR. The lowermost portion has a lower surface below the lowermost portion of AP1/AP2
Regarding claim 13, Ding discloses a semiconductor device, comprising: a first active pattern (Fig. 3D, AP1; ¶34) that extends in a first direction (D2); a second active pattern (Fig. 3D, AP2; ¶34) spaced apart from the first active pattern in a second direction (D1) that crosses the first direction; a first source/drain pattern (Fig. 3D, SD1; ¶36) disposed on the first active pattern; a second source/drain pattern (Fig. 3D, SD2; ¶36) disposed on the second active pattern; a first active contact (Fig. 3D, AC OVER PR; ¶64) electrically connected to the first source/drain pattern; a second active contact (Fig. 3D, AC OVER NR; ¶64) electrically connected to the second source/drain pattern; and an insulating structure (Fig. 3D, 110/ST; ¶35/42) disposed between the first and second active contacts, wherein the insulating structure includes a first insulating layer (Fig. 3D, ST; ¶35) and a second insulating layer (Fig. 3D, 110; ¶ 42) disposed on the first insulating layer, wherein the second insulating layer comprises: a first surface in contact with the first insulating layer; and a second surface in contact with the first and second active contacts.
Regarding claim 18, Ding discloses the semiconductor device of claim 13, wherein a level of the first surface (Fig. 3D, bottom of 110; ¶ 42) is lower than a level of the first (Fig. 3D, AC OVER PR; ¶64) and second (Fig. 3D, AC OVER NR; ¶64) active contacts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding et al. (US-20220271045-A1; Ding) in view of Deepak et al. (US-20180130786-A1; Deepak).
Regarding claim 2, Ding discloses the semiconductor device of claim 1, but is silent on further comprising: a third active pattern disposed between the first active pattern and the second active pattern; and an intervening source/drain pattern disposed on the third active pattern, wherein the intervening source/drain pattern is spaced apart from the first and second active contacts.
Deepak discloses first (Fig. 4, PR2; ¶57), second (Fig. 4, NR; ¶57), and third (Fig. 4, PR1; ¶57) active patterns, where the third pattern (Fig. 4, PR1; ¶57) is between first and second patterns without sharing active contacts (Fig. 4,AC; ¶57).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to add a third active pattern for the benefit of increased reliability and multi-functional ability.
object
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 9-12,14-17 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 4 is objected to due to dependence on claim 3. Claims 10-12 are objected to due to dependence on claim 9. Claims 15-17 are objected to due to dependence on claim 14.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limited, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Regarding claim 3, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the first insulating layer comprises a curved surface in contact with the intervening source/drain pattern.”, as recited in Claim 3, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 5, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the intervening source/drain pattern comprises an upper portion in contact with the first insulating layer, and the upper portion of the intervening source/drain pattern is disposed between the first and second active contacts.”, as recited in Claim 5, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 9, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " wherein the first insulating layer comprises a curved surface in contact with the second interlayer insulating layer.”, as recited in Claim 9, with the remaining features.
Regarding claim 14, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " further comprising: a third active pattern disposed between the first active pattern and the second active pattern; and a first intervening source/drain pattern disposed on the third active pattern, wherein the first insulating layer includes a first curved surface in contact with the first intervening source/drain pattern.”, as recited in Claim 14, with the remaining features.
Claims 19-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance, which paraphrases and summarizes the claimed invention without intending to be limiting, wherein the legally defined scope of the claimed invention is defined by the allowed claims themselves in view of the written description under 35 USC 112. This statement is not intended to necessarily state all the reasons for allowance or all the details why the claims are allowed and has not been written to specifically or impliedly state that all the reasons for allowance are set forth (MPEP 1302.14).
Regarding claim 19, the references of the Prior Art of record and considered pertinent to the applicant's disclosure and to the examiner’s knowledge does not teach or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan, the instant invention regarding: " a curved surface in contact with the first and second interlayer insulating layers; and a connection surface that connects the inner surface to the curved surface,”, as recited in Claim 19, with the remaining features.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE C TYNES JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2899