DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/951528 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the copending application contain one extra limitation but otherwise are identical to the claims of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-15 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mun (U.S. PGPub 2024/0120280).
Regarding claim 11, Mun teaches a package (Fig. 9, [0090]), comprising:
a metallization portion (110, [0027]),
an integrated device coupled to the metallization portion (120, [0038]-[0040]),
a substrate (160, [0047]),
a plurality of post interconnects coupled to the substrate and the metallization portion (155, [0045]); and
an encapsulation layer coupled to the metallization portion, wherein the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the integrated device, the plurality of post interconnects and the substrate (151, [0042]-[0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Mun teaches wherein the substrate includes an interposer (Mun, Fig. 9, 160, [0046]-[0047]).
Regarding claim 13, Mun teaches wherein the substrate comprises at least one substrate dielectric layer and a plurality of interconnects (161/163, [0047]-[0049]), and wherein the metallization portion comprises at least one dielectric layer and a plurality of metallization interconnects (111/113, [0027]-[0029]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches wherein the plurality of post interconnects are coupled to the plurality of interconnects and the plurality of metallization interconnects (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 15, Mun teaches another integrated device or another package, coupled to the substrate through a plurality of solder interconnects (181, 183, [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 18, Mun teaches a heat sink, wherein the integrated device is coupled to the heat sink through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive (Mun, 185, 187, [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun (U.S. PGPub 2024/0120280) in view of Chen (U.S. PGPub 2022/0084925).
Regarding claim 1, Mun teaches a package (Fig. 9, [0090]), comprising:
a metallization portion (110, [0027]),
an integrated device coupled to the metallization portion (120, [0038]-[0040]),
a substrate (160, [0047]),
a plurality of vertical connection conductors coupled to the substrate and the metallization portion (155, [0045]); and
an encapsulation layer coupled to the metallization portion, wherein the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the integrated device, the plurality of vertical connection conductors and the substrate (151, [0042]-[0043]).
Mun does not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of vertical connection conductors are a plurality of wire bonds. Mun is silent on the method of formation of the vertical connection conductors.
Chen teaches wherein a plurality of vertical connection conductors coupling two redistribution layers are a plurality of wire bonds (500, [0058]-[0059]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Chen with Mun such that the plurality of vertical connection conductors are a plurality of wire bonds for the purpose of implementing the vertical connection conductors of Mun according to a known suitable method (Chen, [0058]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches wherein the substrate includes an interposer (Mun, Fig. 9, 160, [0046]-[0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Chen for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches wherein the substrate comprises at least one substrate dielectric layer and a plurality of interconnects (Mun, 161/163, [0047]-[0049]), and wherein the metallization portion comprises at least one dielectric layer and a plurality of metallization interconnects (Mun, 111/113, [0027]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Chen for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches wherein the plurality of wire bonds are coupled to the plurality of interconnects and the plurality of metallization interconnects (Mun, Fig. 9; Chen, Fig. 21). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Chen for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches another integrated device or another package, coupled to the substrate through a plurality of solder interconnects (Mun, 181, 183, [0055]-[0056]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Chen for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Mun and Chen teaches a heat sink, wherein the integrated device is coupled to the heat sink through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive (Mun, 185, 187, [0058]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Chen for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun (U.S. PGPub 2024/0120280) in view of Chen (U.S. PGPub 2022/0084925) and further in view of Kim (U.S. PGPub 2022/0102236).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Mun and Chen does not explicitly teach wherein the integrated device is coupled to the substrate through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive.
Kim teaches wherein an integrated device is coupled to a substrate comprising heat dissipation vias through an adhesive layer (Fig. 1B, 120, 190, 199, 130, [0034], [0043], [0047]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim with Mun and Chen such that the integrated device is coupled to the substrate through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive for the purpose of improving adhesion (Kim, [0034]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Mun, Chen, and Kim teaches wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of heat sink interconnects configured as a heat sink (Mun, 172, [0091]-[0092]; Kim, [0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun, Chen, and Kim for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin (U.S. PGPub 2025/0096066) in view of Lee (U.S. PGPub 2023/0069490).
Regarding claim 9, Lin teaches a package (Fig. 4, [0061]), comprising:
a metallization portion (100, [0062]),
a first integrated device coupled to the metallization portion (300, [0063]),
a second integrated device (500, [0062]),
a heat sink coupled to the first integrated device through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive (400/430, [0064]),
a plurality of package interconnects coupled to the second integrated device and the metallization portion (380, [0064]), and
an encapsulation layer coupled to the metallization portion, wherein the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the first integrated device, the plurality of package interconnects and the heat sink (391, [0064]).
Lin does not explicitly teach wherein the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the second integrated device.
Lee teaches a package (Fig. 6, [0107]), comprising a metallization portion (100, [0108]), a first integrated device coupled to the metallization portion (210, [0108]), a second integrated device (220, [0108]), a plurality of package interconnects coupled to the second integrated device and the metallization portion (250, [0118]), and an encapsulation layer coupled to the metallization portion, wherein the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the first integrated device, the second integrated device, and the plurality of package interconnects (300, [0103]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lee with Lin such that the encapsulation layer at least partially encapsulates the second integrated device because the prior art teaches every element, a person of ordinary skill could have combined them as claimed and in combination each element performs the same function as it does separately, and the combination w have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of the invention. See MPEP 2143(I)A.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lin and Lee teaches wherein the plurality of package interconnects comprise a plurality of wire bonds or a plurality of post interconnects (Lin, [0069]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Lin and Lee for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 9.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun (U.S. PGPub 2024/0120280) in view of Kim (U.S. PGPub 2022/0102236).
Regarding claim 16, Mun does not explicitly teach wherein the integrated device is coupled to the substrate through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive.
Kim teaches wherein an integrated device is coupled to a substrate comprising heat dissipation vias through an adhesive layer (Fig. 1B, 120, 190, 199, 130, [0034], [0043], [0047]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Kim with Mun such that the integrated device is coupled to the substrate through a thermal interface material (TIM) and/or an adhesive for the purpose of improving adhesion (Kim, [0034]).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Mun and Kim teaches wherein the substrate comprises a plurality of heat sink interconnects configured as a heat sink (Mun, 172, [0091]-[0092]; Kim, [0047]). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further combine the teachings of Mun and Kim for the reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 6.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mun (U.S. PGPub 2024/0120280) in view of Lin 2016 (U.S. PGPub 2016/0322330).
Regarding claim 20, Mun does not explicitly teach wherein the package is incorporated in a device from a group consisting one of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle.
Lin 2016 teaches wherein an integrated device package may be used for mobile computing, a wearable device, or an IoT device ([0012]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the time of the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Lin 2016 with Mun such that the package is incorporated in a device from a group consisting one of a music player, a video player, an entertainment unit, a navigation device, a communications device, a mobile device, a mobile phone, a smartphone, a personal digital assistant, a fixed location terminal, a tablet computer, a computer, a wearable device, a laptop computer, a server, an internet of things (IoT) device, and a device in an automotive vehicle for the purpose of utilizing the device of Mun in an electronic device (Mun, [0003]).
Conclusion
/ALIA SABUR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812