DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (i.e.; circuit board materials and conductor tracks materials) that is coupled with functional language (i.e.; the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14) without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-12, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bombelli et al. (US 2024/0219588 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Bombelli”).
With respect to claim 1, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, an X-ray detection device comprising: a circuit board supporting conductor tracks (18) on a base body (10, 16); and an X-ray detector (100, 200) mounted on the based body (10, 16) and configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14 (see Par.[0001], [0017] wherein a hybrid integrated silicon drift detector (HiSDD) for X-ray detection, particularly to a HiSDD combining a silicon drift detector (SDD) with a low-noise preamplifier module on an SDD sensor chip to improve the electrical and structural properties of the detector assembly; the preamplifier module is arranged directly in or at least near the centre of the sensitive region of the SDD sensor chip where the X-ray photons are incident from the opposite side; see Par.[0036] wherein the aperture defines the sensitive region where X-ray radiation can be detected by the SDD sensor chip; see Par.[0050]-[0053] wherein an SDD sensor chip 100 connected to an external preamplifier module 200; the SDD sensor chip 100 and the external preamplifier module 200 can be separately combined on an appropriate holder 300 configured for supporting both components; like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0065] wherein insulation layer 16 (preferably a dielectric layer, e.g. SiO.sub.2, SI.sub.3N.sub.4, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2 or ZrO.sub.2); see Par.[0066] wherein contact 18 (preferably a metal contact, e.g. an Al, Ag, Cu or Au contact); it is submitted that atomic number of aluminum is 13 (i.e.; less than 14)).
With respect to claim 3, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the sensitive section includes all regions of the circuit board from which X-rays of a specific photon energy are able to directly reach an active volume of the X-ray detector (see Par.[0001], [0017] wherein a hybrid integrated silicon drift detector (HiSDD) for X-ray detection, particularly to a HiSDD combining a silicon drift detector (SDD) with a low-noise preamplifier module on an SDD sensor chip to improve the electrical and structural properties of the detector assembly; the preamplifier module is arranged directly in or at least near the centre of the sensitive region of the SDD sensor chip where the X-ray photons are incident from the opposite side).
With respect to claim 4, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board further comprises an electrical through-connection running from a first main side to a second main side of the circuit board, and wherein the electrical through-connection comprises the circuit board materials (see Fig.2 a) wherein through via through insulative 16 are shown).
With respect to claim 5, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the electrical through-connection comprises a hole and an electrically conductive coating covering side faces and a rim of the hole, and wherein the rim of the hole is in direct contact with the conductor tracks (see Fig.2 a) wherein through via through insulative 16 are shown).
With respect to claim 6, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the hole is predominantly or completely filled with the electrically conductive coating (see Fig.2 a) wherein through via through insulative 16 are shown).
With respect to claim 7, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board comprises an insensitive section different from the sensitive section, wherein the insensitive section includes at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 and being prone to emit the contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein the X-ray detector is mounted within the sensitive section (see Par.[0036] wherein the aperture defines the sensitive region where X-ray radiation can be detected by the SDD sensor chip; see Par.[0050]-[0053] wherein an SDD sensor chip 100 connected to an external preamplifier module 200; the SDD sensor chip 100 and the external preamplifier module 200 can be separately combined on an appropriate holder 300 configured for supporting both components; like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0065] wherein insulation layer 16 (preferably a dielectric layer, e.g. SiO.sub.2, SI.sub.3N.sub.4, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2 or ZrO.sub.2); see Par.[0066] wherein contact 18 (preferably a metal contact, e.g. an Al, Ag, Cu or Au contact); it is submitted that atomic number of aluminum is 13 (i.e.; less than 14)).
With respect to claim 8, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section is shielded from an active volume of the X-ray detector with respect to the relevant energy detection range (see Fig.2).
With respect to claim 9, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section is shielded from the X-ray detector by the base body (see Fig.2).
With respect to claim 10, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section comprises a further conductor track made of the at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 (see Par.[0036] wherein the aperture defines the sensitive region where X-ray radiation can be detected by the SDD sensor chip; see Par.[0050]-[0053] wherein an SDD sensor chip 100 connected to an external preamplifier module 200; the SDD sensor chip 100 and the external preamplifier module 200 can be separately combined on an appropriate holder 300 configured for supporting both components; like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0065] wherein insulation layer 16 (preferably a dielectric layer, e.g. SiO.sub.2, SI.sub.3N.sub.4, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2 or ZrO.sub.2); see Par.[0066] wherein contact 18 (preferably a metal contact, e.g. an Al, Ag, Cu or Au contact); it is submitted that atomic number of aluminum is 13 (i.e.; less than 14)).
With respect to claim 11, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the further conductor track is located on a side of the base body remote from the X-ray detector (see Fig.2).
With respect to claim 12, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board consists of the sensitive section so that there is no insensitive section including at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 and being prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0065] wherein insulation layer 16 (preferably a dielectric layer, e.g. SiO.sub.2, SI.sub.3N.sub.4, Al.sub.2O.sub.3, TiO.sub.2 or ZrO.sub.2); see Par.[0066] wherein contact 18 (preferably a metal contact, e.g. an Al, Ag, Cu or Au contact); it is submitted that atomic number of aluminum is 13 (i.e.; less than 14)).
With respect to claim 15, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board comprises a plurality of circuit board layers having different lateral extents, seen in top view onto the X-ray detector (see Fig.2).
With respect to claim 16, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein at least one of the conductor tracks runs along side faces of the circuit board layers, and/or wherein the X-ray detector is electrically connected with a side of the circuit board facing away from the X-ray detector by a bond wire (A-B), the bond wire passing through at least one of a hole or a cutout in the circuit board (see Par.[0052]-[0053] wherein that means the contact 18 is adapted for a wire bond connection A to a preamplifier module 200, in particular to a signal input of the external preamplifier 200; the shown drift ring contact 22-1 is adapted for a wire bond connection B to a drift ring voltage supply).
With respect to claim 17, Bombelli discloses, in Fig.2, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board (10, 16) further comprises an insulation layer (16), wherein the base body is semiconductive or electrically conductive, and wherein the insulation layer is located directly between the conductor tracks and the base body (see Par.[0055] wherein a plurality of drift ring regions 20 formed as trench-shaped structures and arranged in the second surface of the chip substrate 10 opposite to the first surface of the chip substrate 10 with the contact region 14 as common centre, wherein the drift ring regions 20 and the contact region 14 are spaced apart from one another, wherein the doping of the drift ring regions 20 is opposite to the doping of the semiconductor material of the chip substrate 10; an insulation layer 16 covering the second surface of the chip substrate 10).
Claims 1, 3-13, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ogura et al. (US 2014/0211919 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Ogura”).
With respect to claim 1, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, an X-ray detection device comprising: a circuit board supporting conductor tracks (9b) on a base body (9a); and an X-ray detector (9c, 19) mounted on the based body and configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14 (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; The electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite; see Par.[0061]-[0062] wherein the X-ray imaging apparatus is provided with an X-ray generator 18, an X-ray detector 19, a signal processor 20, a device controller (hereafter, "controller") 21 and a display unit 22).
With respect to claim 3, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the sensitive section includes all regions of the circuit board from which X-rays of a specific photon energy are able to directly reach an active volume of the X-ray detector (see Fig.5).
With respect to claim 4, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board further comprises an electrical through-connection (7) running from a first main side to a second main side of the circuit board, and wherein the electrical through-connection comprises the circuit board materials (see Par.[0027], [0030] wherein the target 9c and an electron path formation member 7; the substrate 9a functions also as an X-ray transmission window).
With respect to claim 5, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the electrical through-connection comprises a hole and an electrically conductive coating covering side faces and a rim of the hole, and wherein the rim of the hole is in direct contact with the conductor tracks (see Par.[0027], [0030] wherein the target 9c and an electron path formation member 7; the substrate 9a functions also as an X-ray transmission window).
With respect to claim 6, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the hole is predominantly or completely filled with the electrically conductive (7) coating (see Par.[0027], [0030] wherein the target 9c and an electron path formation member 7; the substrate 9a functions also as an X-ray transmission window).
With respect to claim 7, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board comprises an insensitive section different from the sensitive section, wherein the insensitive section includes at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 and being prone to emit the contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein the X-ray detector is mounted within the sensitive section (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; The electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite).
With respect to claim 8, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section is shielded from an active volume of the X-ray detector with respect to the relevant energy detection range (see Fig.5).
With respect to claim 9, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section is shielded from the X-ray detector by the base body (see Fig.5).
With respect to claim 10, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the insensitive section comprises a further conductor track made of the at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; the electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite).
With respect to claim 11, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the further conductor track is located on a side of the base body remote from the X-ray detector (see Fig.5).
With respect to claim 12, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board consists of the sensitive section so that there is no insensitive section including at least one of the contamination materials having the atomic number greater than 14 and being prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; the electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite).
With respect to claim 13, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, further comprising a shielding element (17), wherein an insensitive section is shielded from stray X-rays by the shielding element (see Par.[0032] wherein the electron path 8 functions as a path for guiding the electron beam 5 to an electron beam irradiation region (i.e., an X-ray generation area) of the target 9c in an area further toward the electron source 3 than the target 9c; if the electron path formation member 7 is made of a material which is capable of shielding the X-ray, most of the X-ray emitted toward the electron source 3 (i.e., a rear side) from the target 9c is shielded by an inner wall of the electron path 8 (i.e., the electron path formation member 7 surrounding the periphery of the electron path 8); the electron path formation member 7 forms a cylindrical-shaped X-ray path on the side further toward the X-ray extraction window 17 than the target 9c. If the electron path formation member 7 is made of a material which is capable of shielding the X-ray, an unnecessary X-ray among the X-ray emitted toward the X-ray extraction window 17 (i.e., a front side) from the target 9c is shielded by the inner wall of the X-ray path).
With respect to claim 15, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, the X-ray detection device, wherein the circuit board comprises a plurality of circuit board layers having different lateral extents, seen in top view onto the X-ray detector (see Fig.5).
With respect to claim 18, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, a manufacturing method for producing the X-ray detection device, the method comprising providing the base body of the circuit board; applying the conductor tracks on the base body; applying the X-ray detector on the circuit board; and encapsulating (14) the X-ray detector by applying a housing cap over the X-ray detector (see Par.[0032] wherein the electron path formation member 7 is in contact with the insulation oil 14; therefore, the electron path formation member 7 further has a function to transfer heat generated in the target 9c to the insulation oil 14 and to make the heat escape out of the X-ray source 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ogura in view of Yumoto et al. (US 2021/0296204 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Yumoto”).
With respect to claim 2, Ogura discloses all the claimed limitations of claim 1. However, Ogura does not disclose all the claimed limitations of claim 2.
Yumoto discloses, in Figs.1-8C, the X-ray detection device, wherein in the sensitive section the base body comprises at least one of an aluminum oxide, a silicon oxide, a boron nitride or an aluminum nitride with a purity of at least 95 mass-%, and wherein the conductor tracks comprises aluminum with a purity of at least 98 mass-% (see Par.[0047] wherein For the aluminum board or the aluminum alloy board used for the aluminum layer 31, an aluminum board (2N—Al) with purity not less than 99.9% by mass, an aluminum board (4N—Al) with purity not less than 99.99% by mass, a board of A3003, a board of A6063 or the like can be used; see Par.[0051]-[0053] wherein For aluminum impregnated in the porous body 21 of the heat sink 20, pure aluminum such as aluminum (2N—Al) with purity not less than 99% by mass or aluminum (4N—Al) with purity not less than 99.99% by mass, or an aluminum alloy having composition of Al: 80% to 99% by mass (inclusive), Si: 0.01% to 13.5% by mass (inclusive), Mg: 0.03% to 5.0% by mass (inclusive), and a remainder: impurities can be used. Aluminum alloys such as ADC12 or A356 can be also used; see Par.[0056] wherein electronic parts 80 such as a semiconductor element and the like are mounted on an upper surface of the circuit layer 12 of the power-module substrate with heat-sink 101 structured as above, as shown in FIG. 1, the power module 201 is manufactured; the electronic parts 80 are soldered on the upper surface of the circuit layer 12 with a solder material such as Sn—Cu, Sn—Cu—Ni or the like).
Ogura and Yumoto are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor package device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Ogura to include Yumumoto because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the aluminum content within circuit board material in Ogura by including pure aluminum at least 95 mass % as taught by Yumumoto in order to utilize Al % content with PCB material thereby providing: superior thermal management; enhance mechanical strength and durability for x-ray equipment; better heat dissipation for high-density PCB used in x-ray systems; stability and longevity for x-ray systems.
With respect to claim 19, Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, an X-ray detection device comprising: a circuit board supporting conductor tracks (9b) on a base body (9a); an X-ray detector (9c, 19) mounted on the base body and configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device; and a shielding element, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, wherein, in the sensitive section, the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14, wherein, in the sensitive section, the base body comprises an aluminum oxide or a silicon oxide, wherein the conductor tracks comprise aluminum (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; The electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite; see Par.[0061]-[0062] wherein the X-ray imaging apparatus is provided with an X-ray generator 18, an X-ray detector 19, a signal processor 20, a device controller (hereafter, "controller") 21 and a display unit 22), wherein the sensitive section is shielded from stray X-rays by the shielding element (17), and wherein the sensitive section includes all regions of the circuit board from which X-rays of a specific photon energy are able to directly reach an active volume of the X-ray detector (see Par.[0032] wherein the electron path 8 functions as a path for guiding the electron beam 5 to an electron beam irradiation region (i.e., an X-ray generation area) of the target 9c in an area further toward the electron source 3 than the target 9c; if the electron path formation member 7 is made of a material which is capable of shielding the X-ray, most of the X-ray emitted toward the electron source 3 (i.e., a rear side) from the target 9c is shielded by an inner wall of the electron path 8 (i.e., the electron path formation member 7 surrounding the periphery of the electron path 8); the electron path formation member 7 forms a cylindrical-shaped X-ray path on the side further toward the X-ray extraction window 17 than the target 9c. If the electron path formation member 7 is made of a material which is capable of shielding the X-ray, an unnecessary X-ray among the X-ray emitted toward the X-ray extraction window 17 (i.e., a front side) from the target 9c is shielded by the inner wall of the X-ray path). However, Ogura does not explicitly disclose the X-ray detection device, wherein in the sensitive section the base body comprises at least one of an aluminum oxide, a silicon oxide, a boron nitride or an aluminum nitride with a purity of at least 95 mass-%, and wherein the conductor tracks comprises aluminum with a purity of at least 98 mass-%.
Yumoto discloses, in Figs.1-8C, the X-ray detection device, wherein in the sensitive section the base body comprises at least one of an aluminum oxide, a silicon oxide, a boron nitride or an aluminum nitride with a purity of at least 95 mass-%, and wherein the conductor tracks comprises aluminum with a purity of at least 98 mass-% (see Par.[0047] wherein For the aluminum board or the aluminum alloy board used for the aluminum layer 31, an aluminum board (2N—Al) with purity not less than 99.9% by mass, an aluminum board (4N—Al) with purity not less than 99.99% by mass, a board of A3003, a board of A6063 or the like can be used; see Par.[0051]-[0053] wherein For aluminum impregnated in the porous body 21 of the heat sink 20, pure aluminum such as aluminum (2N—Al) with purity not less than 99% by mass or aluminum (4N—Al) with purity not less than 99.99% by mass, or an aluminum alloy having composition of Al: 80% to 99% by mass (inclusive), Si: 0.01% to 13.5% by mass (inclusive), Mg: 0.03% to 5.0% by mass (inclusive), and a remainder: impurities can be used. Aluminum alloys such as ADC12 or A356 can be also used; see Par.[0056] wherein electronic parts 80 such as a semiconductor element and the like are mounted on an upper surface of the circuit layer 12 of the power-module substrate with heat-sink 101 structured as above, as shown in FIG. 1, the power module 201 is manufactured; the electronic parts 80 are soldered on the upper surface of the circuit layer 12 with a solder material such as Sn—Cu, Sn—Cu—Ni or the like).
Ogura and Yumoto are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor package device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Ogura to include Yumumoto because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the aluminum content within circuit board material in Ogura by including pure aluminum at least 95 mass % as taught by Yumumoto in order to utilize Al % content with PCB material thereby providing: superior thermal management; enhance mechanical strength and durability for x-ray equipment; better heat dissipation for high-density PCB used in x-ray systems; stability and longevity for x-ray systems.
Claims 1, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshihiro II (US 2017/0111027 A1) in view of Ogura.
With respect to claim 1, Toshihiro II discloses, in Figs.1-13, a device comprising: a circuit board supporting conductor tracks (24) on a base body (21); and a device (10) mounted on the based body, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14 (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0070] wherein A ceramics insulating material such as an aluminum oxide sintered body obtained by molding and then calcining a ceramic green sheet, a mullite sintered body, an aluminum nitride sintered body, a silicon carbide sintered body, or a glass ceramics sintered body, a quartz crystal, glass, silicon (high-resistivity silicon), or the like is used for the package base 21; see Par.[0076] wherein the extraction electrode 15a of the quartz crystal vibrator element 10 and the internal terminal 24b of the package base 21 are connected to each other with a bonding wire 40 made of Au, Al, or the like). However, Toshihiro II does not explicitly disclose an X-ray detection device comprising: an X-ray detector mounted on the based body and configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device.
Ogura discloses, in Figs.1A-5, an X-ray detection device comprising: a circuit board supporting conductor tracks (9b) on a base body (9a); and an X-ray detector (9c, 19) mounted on the based body and configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays , and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14 (like wise to the present Invention, in Par.[0075] wherein the base body 30 is made, for example, of pure aluminum oxide, aluminum nitride or silicon oxide, and the conductor tracks 31 are made, for example, of pure aluminum which are configured to detect X-rays within a relevant energy detection range of the X-ray detection device, wherein a sensitive section of the circuit board is free of contamination materials prone to emit contaminating X-ray emission within the relevant energy detection range upon being excited with X-rays, and wherein in the sensitive section the base body and the conductor tracks consist essentially of circuit board materials having an atomic number of at most 14; see Par.[0026]-[0028] wherein the substrate 9a may be made of diamond, silicon nitride, silicon carbide, aluminum carbide, aluminum nitride, graphite and beryllium; The thickness of the substrate 9a may be determined arbitrarily as long as the function described above is carried out: desirably, 0.3 mm or more to 2 mm or less depending on the material; The electron beam 5 is capable of entering a target 9c disposed to face the electron emitting portion 2; see Par.[0042] wherein the conductive layer 9b are light elements, such as aluminum, titanium, silicon nitride, silicon and graphite; see Par.[0061]-[0062] wherein the X-ray imaging apparatus is provided with an X-ray generator 18, an X-ray detector 19, a signal processor 20, a device controller (hereafter, "controller") 21 and a display unit 22).
Toshihiro II and Ogura are analogous art because they are all directed to a semiconductor package device, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success by modifying Toshihiro II to include Ogura because they are from the same field of endeavor.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify device application in Toshihiro II by including X-ray device as taught by Ogura in order to utilize the circuit board material adaptable to x-ray detector device that offers a high signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) that allows operation with moderate cooling.
With respect to claim 14, the combination of Toshihiro II and Ogura discloses, see Toshihiro II in Figs.1-13, the X-ray detection device, wherein the conductor tracks (24) further comprise an adhesion layer (30) located directly between the base body and at least part of the conductor tracks, wherein the adhesion layer comprises at least one of Cr, Ni or Ti (see Par.[0075] wherein the electrically-conductive adhesive 30 is not particularly limited, but there can be cited a material obtained by forming particles of metal including Au, Ag (silver), Cu (copper), Al (aluminum), Ni, or the like as a principal component, or an electrically-conductive material including C (carbon) or the like; the idea of having x-ray detector device is borrowed from Ogura), and wherein a thickness of the adhesion layer amounts to at most percentage of a thickness of the conductor tracks (see Fig.2).
Even though Toshihiro II does not disclose a thickness of the adhesion layer amounts to at most 10% of a thickness of the conductor tracks, the said range is predictable by simple engineering optimization motivated by a design choice such as the adhesiveness of adhesive material. In cases like the present, where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen dimensions or upon another variable recited within the claims, applicant must show that the chosen dimensions are critical. As such, the claimed dimensions appear to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record (e.g.; see PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Examiner’s Telephone/Fax Contacts
/Mouloucoulaye Inoussa/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818