DETAILED ACTION
The amendment filed on July 06, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 4-30 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13, 22-25 and 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bjorklund et al. [US 20030210383 A1, hereafter Bjorklund].
As per Claim 1, Bjorklund teaches a high resolution photolithography system (See fig. 1, Para 8), comprising:
a mounting stage 8 for receiving a substrate 1 in position to receive projected light (imaging patterning beam 7) for photolithography (Para 32, Substrate 1 rides on stage 8);
a light processing system for projecting light onto the mounting stage for photolithography on the substrate (Para 33, the lens subsystem 6), the light processing system including at least one digital light projector (DLP) comprising a Digital Micromirror Device (DMD) chipset comprising a plurality of micromirrors (Para 47, wherein SLMs are on/off devices, either reflective or transmissive, such as digital micromirror devices (DMD));
a positioning system for adjusting relative positioning between the light processing system and the mounting stage (Substrate 1 rides on stage 8, which provides x-y scanning motion); and
a control system (Control computer 11) for conducting operations for high resolution photolithography, the control system configured to determine relative positioning between the light processing system and the mounting stage and for governing operation of the positioning system for adjusting relative positioning (Para 35-36), wherein the control system is configured to calibrate the DLP for illumination intensity by defining a correction profile corresponding to a duty cycle for each of the plurality of micromirrors (See fig. 2, Para 48, wherein each micromirror device can be independently switched between two states--an "on" state where incident light is reflected into the input aperture of the image forming lens system and an "off" state where incident light is reflected outside of this aperture. In this regard each of the micromirror devices can operate as one pixel of digital spatial light modulator).
As per Claims 4-5, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 3, wherein the control system is configured to define the correction profile by setting the duty cycle at 100% for one of the micromirrors having the lowest native intensity as a reference micromirror, and determining the duty cycle for other ones of the micromirrors by comparison to the reference micromirror (Para 48, wherein each micromirror device can be independently switched between two states--an "on" state where incident light is reflected into the input aperture of the image forming lens system and an "off" state where incident light is reflected outside of this aperture. i.e. individual mirrors can be set to a desired duty cycle of a required percentage).
As per Claim 6, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 4, wherein the control system encodes the determined duty cycle for each of micromirrors directly onto the DMD chipset (Para 48).
As per Claim 7, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 4, wherein the control system 11 is configured to define a plurality of grayscale images from a native image, and configured to govern projection of the grayscale images in series from the light processing system onto the mounting stage to build up image-by-image printing of the native image on the substrate (Para 32, wherein the optical track length is corrected to first-order to be constant from the 2-D pixel array of the spatial light modulator to the three-dimensionally curved substrate surface).
As per Claim 8, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for conducting autofocusing by governing projection of a predetermined pattern from the light processing system onto the mounting stage for projection on the substrate, capturing an image of the pattern on the substrate having projection thereon, and decomposing the captured image of the pattern into spatial-frequency amplitude (Para 36, wherein During the scan, stage 8 moves the curved substrate 1 in an x-y plane while the projection subsystem 6 and the spatial light modulator array 2 ride up and down as the substrate 1 surface rises and falls).
As per Claim 9, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 8, wherein the control system is configured to govern adjustment of a focal plane of the DLP based on the spatial-frequency amplitude of the captured image (Para 40).
As per Claim 10, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 9, wherein configuration to govern adjustment of the focal plane includes configuration to govern at least one of adjusting a Z-position of the light projection system relative to the mounting stage, coordinating camera exposure of the substrate by time of light propagation, and maximizing contrast at edges of the predetermined pattern (Para 10).
As per Claim 11, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 2, wherein the control system is configured for conducting tip-tilt adjustment including governing the positioning system for the light processing system relative to the mounting stage to address at least two different portions of the substrate and to adjust a Z-position of the light projection system relative to the mounting stage for each of the at least two different portions of the substrate for autofocusing (Para 36, wherein during the scan, stage 8 moves the curved substrate 1 in an x-y plane while the projection subsystem 6 and the spatial light modulator array 2 ride up and down as the substrate 1 surface rises and falls).
As per Claim 12, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 11, wherein the at least two different portions include at least two different perimeter portions of the substrate (Para 33, the surface of the curved substrate).
As per Claim 13, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 11, wherein conducting tilt-tilt adjustment includes governing the positioning system for tip-tilt including rotation of the mounting stage about at least one of X, Y, and Z axes (Para 44).
As per Claim 22, Bjorklund teaches a method of high resolution photolithography (See fig. 1, Para 8), comprising:
defining one or more images for printing via a light processing system onto at least one sample substrate (Para 33, the lens subsystem 6), wherein the light processing system includes at least one digital light projector (DLP) comprising a Digital Micromirror Device (DMD) chipset comprising a plurality of micromirrors; calibrating the DLP for illumination intensity by defining a correction profile corresponding to a duty cycle for each of the plurality of micromirrors (See fig. 2, Para 48, wherein each micromirror device can be independently switched between two states--an "on" state where incident light is reflected into the input aperture of the image forming lens system and an "off" state where incident light is reflected outside of this aperture. In this regard each of the micromirror devices can operate as one pixel of digital spatial light modulator);
aligning the light processing system with the at least one sample substrate received on a mounting stage, wherein aligning includes determining, via a control system, relative positioning between the light processing system and the mounting stage and governing operation of the positioning system for adjusting relative positioning (Para 35, controls positioning motions of stages 8 and 9 and pulse output of illumination subsystem 3 to provide appropriate pixel exposures for seamless patterning of the substrate); and
printing the one or more images by projecting light onto the substrate from the light processing system according to the correction profile (See fig. 1-3, Para 36, wherein the selected pixel positions receive exposure to form the patterns to build the microelectronics features, which include circuit connections or devices).
As per Claim 23, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 22, wherein aligning includes autofocusing by projection of a predetermined pattern from the light processing system onto the mounting stage for projection on the sample substrate, capture of an image of the pattern on the substrate having projection thereon (a wavefront sensor 13), decomposition the captured image of the pattern into spatial-frequency amplitude, and adjustment of a focal plane of a DLP of the light processing system, via the control system, based on the spatial-frequency amplitude of the captured image (Para 40).
As per Claim 24, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 23, wherein aligning includes tip-tilt adjustment comprising addressing at least two different portions of the sample substrate and adjusting a Z-position of the light projection system relative to the mounting stage with respect to each of the at least two different portions of the substrate for autofocusing (Para 36, wherein during the scan, stage 8 moves the curved substrate 1 in an x-y plane while the projection subsystem 6 and the spatial light modulator array 2 ride up and down as the substrate 1 surface rises and falls).
As per Claim 25, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 24, wherein the at least two different portions include at least two different perimeter portions of the substrate (Para 33, the surface of the curved substrate).
As per Claim 27, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 22, wherein printing includes printing high-resolution, wide-area, high-fidelity DNA microarrays onto arbitrarily sized glass substrates, via injection of fluids into the sealed fluidic chamber in coordination with DLP projection (Para 47, wherein SLMs are on/off devices, either reflective or transmissive, such as digital micromirror devices (DMD)).
As per Claim 28, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 27, wherein printing is conducted subsequent to tip-tilt adjustment and auto-focusing (Para 36, wherein during the scan, stage 8 moves the curved substrate 1 in an x-y plane while the projection subsystem 6 and the spatial light modulator array 2 ride up and down as the substrate 1 surface rises and falls).
As per Claim 29, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 22, wherein printing includes microfabricating microfluidics devices, other fluidics devices, sensors, wearable electronic devices, microelectronics, microlenses, metamaterials, microrobotics, microarray fabrication via photopatterning and/or in-situ photosynthesis, and/or tissue engineering (Para 4, microelectronics patterning using maskless techniques).
As per Claim 30, Bjorklund teaches the method of high resolution photolithography of claim 29, wherein compatible materials include but are not limited to commercial photoresists, hydrogels, biomolecules, polymers, and/or any other suitable photoresponsive materials (Para 32, Patterning beam 7 impinges on the surfgace of substrate 1, which is photosensitive and thus patternable to the image).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-21 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjorklund as applied above, in view of Song et al. [CN 118079818 A, hereafter Song].
Note: machine translation of the document to Song is attached to this Office Action.
As per Claim 14, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system
of claim 1.
Bjorklund does not explicitly teach a sample environmental control feedback system for precisely modulating the temperature and humidity of the environment for patterning the substrate.
Song teaches a micro-fluidic chip with temperature control function. Referring to FIG. 1, the micro-fluidic chip comprises a first base 100, a second base 300, a sealing component and a temperature control module, the first base 100 and the second base 300 are detachably connected, the sealing component is arranged at the joint of the first base 100 and the second base 300, the temperature control module is set in the first base 100 (Page 8, Para 4, temperature of the reaction tank 111 in real time).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the temperature control system as disclosed by Song in the photolithography system of Bjorklund in order to improve accuracy of image transfer.
As per Claims 15, 16 and 26, Bjorklund teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 1.
Bjorklund does not explicitly teach a sample environment control system for introduction of one or more fluids for patterning the substrate.
Song teaches the microfluidic chip of the present embodiment may also be applied to the MEMS processing of photochemical wet etching of some products, and the processing process includes: The blank of the sample to be processed is placed in the reaction tank 111, and then the transparent glass 220 is placed in the working part 110 of the first base 100, and the transparent glass 220 is covered in the reaction tank 111 (Page 13, Para 2-3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the temperature control system as disclosed by Song in the photolithography system of Bjorklund in order to improve accuracy of image transfer.
As per Claims 17-20, Bjorklund in view of Song teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 16.
Song further disclosed wherein the fluidics system includes a number of fluid reservoirs and a fluidic flow control system for controlling injection of the one or more fluids into the sealed chamber, the fluidic control system including one or more fluidic chip modules for processing fluids before injection into the sealed chamber (Page 3, Para 2-3, wherein the micro-flow control chip is provided with a self-temperature control system).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the temperature control system as disclosed by Song in the photolithography system of Bjorklund in order to improve accuracy of image transfer.
As per Claim 21, Bjorklund in view of Song teaches the high resolution photolithography system of claim 17.
Song further disclosed wherein the fluidics system includes a mixing chamber for mixing two of more fluids according to governing by the control system (Page 13, Para 5, then the micro-fluidic chip is placed on the lithography machine, the liquid inlet channel 131 and the liquid outlet channel 141 are butted with the external liquid inlet device, the pressure controller of the liquid inlet device is adjusted, so that one or more wet corrosion reagents can be conveyed to the reaction tank 111 through one or more liquid inlet channels 131).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time the invention was made to incorporate the temperature control system as disclosed by Song in the photolithography system of Bjorklund in order to improve accuracy of image transfer.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on July 06, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remark section, with respect to claim 1, Applicant argued that Bjorklund is directed to controlling the distance/height of mirrors relative to curved surfaces to affect the waveform. Bjorklund makes no mention of duty cycles of its mirrors, and fails to disclose or suggest calibration of the DLP for illumination intensity "by definition of a correction profile corresponding to duty cycle of each micromirror.".
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Bjorkland disclosed each micromirror device can be independently switched between two states--an "on" state where incident light is reflected into the input aperture of the image forming lens system and an "off" state where incident light is reflected outside of this aperture (Para 48, wherein this activity can be performed by tilting an individual SLM element as disclosed in figure 2 of Bjorkland). Therefore, Applicant’s argument on this point is not persuasive.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MESFIN T ASFAW/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882