DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1 and 2 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/15/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Mao fails to provide a method for evaluating the concentrations of the N-H bond by converting the concentration of the N-H bond into an equivalent value corresponding to the concentration of the Si-H bond. Therefore, Applicant contends that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to set the supply flow ratio according to a sum of a concentration of the N-H bond multiplied by the binding energy ratio and a concentration of the Si-H bond. However, the Examiner disagrees and maintains that since the binding energy ratio is unchanged, the claims are setting the flow rate essentially based on a sum of the concentration of the N-H bond and the Si-H bond. Mao specifically teaches adjusting the flow rate to minimize the sum of the concentration of the N-H bond and the Si-H bond (Results and Discussion section), which also necessarily minimizes the sum of the concentration of the N-H bond multiplied by the binding energy ratio and a concentration of the Si-H bond. Therefore, the Examiner maintains that combination of references make obvious all the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katagiri (JP 3045945, reference is made to the provided English translation) in view of Mao et al. (“Correspondence Relation Between [N-H]/[Si-H] Ratio and Their Optical Loss Properties in Silicon Nitride Thin Films”).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Katagiri teaches a process for forming a silicon nitride film (abstract) comprising: supplying silane, ammonia and nitrogen into a reaction chamber (abstract) in which a semiconductor substrate (0001) is installed and forming a silicon nitride film on a surface of the semiconductor substrate by plasma accelerated chemical vapor deposition (abstract). Katagiri fails to teach a supply rate ratio setting step of setting the supply flow rate ratio so that a sum of a concentration of the N-H bond multiplied by the binding energy ratio and a concentration of the SiH bond is minimized and supplying the silane and ammonia at the supply ratio that is set. Katagiri further fails to teach the ratio determined using Fourier transform IR.
However, Mao teaches forming silicon nitride films with precursors including nitrogen and silane (abstract). Mao further teaches using FTIR (Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy) to analyze the silicon nitride film when various flow ratios of the silicon and nitrogen precursors are used and selecting a flow ratio that can minimize the sum of the Si-H and N-H bonds (see Results and Discussion section, and note that the binding energy ratio does not fluctuate based on conditions, see 0020 of Applicant’s specification), thereby the flow rate is also selected to minimize the sum of the concentration of N-H bond multiplied by the binding energy ratio and a concentration of the Si-H bond. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Katagiri’s process by analyzing the silicon nitride film by FTIR and the setting the supply flow ratio of silane and ammonia (a nitrogen precursor) to minimize the claimed sum as disclosed by Mao. One would have been motivated to make this modification as Mao teaches that Si-H and N-H bonds negatively effect the qualities of the silicon nitride film (see Introduction section).
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 2 are pending.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
October 22, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717