DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Drawings
The drawings were received on 4/20/2026. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the gyroscopic disc of Claim 59 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 56 objected to because of the following informalities: “at least propulsion arrangement” in line 4 should be amended to --at least one propulsion arrangement-- and “at least one arrangement” in line 5 should be amended to --at least one propulsion arrangement-- so as to maintain consistent term language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 56, 58, 60, 62-63, 66-68, 70, 72-74, and 77-79 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cvrlje (US PgPub #2014/0151494).
For Claim 56, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses an aerial vehicle comprising: an annular airframe (2); a cockpit (31) located within a concentric annulus of annular airframe; at least one propulsion arrangement (13 and 24) mounted to the annular airframe, the at least one propulsion arrangement being configured for providing thrust to the aerial vehicle; and a gyroscopic stabilization assembly (26) including at least one rotatable gyroscopic member located centrally within the annular airframe of the aerial vehicle.
For Claim 58, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member comprises a gyroscopic fan with a plurality of pivotally adjustable fan blades (27), and a pitch of the adjustable fan blades is adjustable.
For Claim 60, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 disclose that the vehicle further comprises at least one controller for controlling operation of the aerial vehicle.
For Claim 62, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the annular airframe defines a central aperture and the at least one rotatably gyroscopic member is located in the central aperture.
For Claim 63, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the gyroscopic stabilization assembly includes a plurality of parallel gyroscopic members.
For Claim 66, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the aerial vehicle is configured to be operated from piloted operation.
For Claim 67, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the aerial vehicle includes a support structure (40) coupled to the propulsion arrangement (24) and configured for controlling the direction of the thrust of the propulsion arrangement.
For Claim 68, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one propulsion arrangement includes an airflow directing assembly (45) arranged adjacent to a thrust outlet and configured to direct the thrust of the at least one propulsion arrangement.
For Claim 70, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the cockpit is a fixed attachment to the annular airframe.
For Claim 72, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one propulsion arrangement (13) comprises a centrally located propulsion arrangement, and the centrally located propulsion arrangement includes an axis of rotation that is concentric with an axis of rotation of the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member (26).
For Claims 73 and 74, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member (26) is powered from a central hub (19).
For Claim 77, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the annular airframe comprises an annular fuselage, the annular fuselage defining an annular cabin forming an internal area of the annular fuselage.
For Claim 78, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one propulsion arrangement is configured for varying the direction of thrust downwardly for vertical take-off and landing ability as well as for providing horizontal thrust for moving the annular airframe horizontally.
For Claim 79, figure 4 of Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one propulsion arrangement is fixedly mounted to the annular airframe.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 59, 61, 65, and 68 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvrlje (US PgPub #2014/0151494).
For Claim 59, while Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the gyroscopic member includes fan blades, it is silent about it being a disc. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to use discs to help stabilize a system and they are less complicated. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cvrlje ‘494 with a known gyroscopic disc. The motivation to do so would be to simplify the system.
For Claim 61, while Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the at least one propulsion arrangement (24) rotates about an axis of rotation and the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member (26) rotates about an axis of rotation such that the axis of rotation of the at least one propulsion arrangement and the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member are traverse to each other, it is silent about the at least one propulsion arrangement being pivotable so as to be parallel to the gyroscopic member. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the to have pivoting propulsion arrangements so as to be able to vector the thrust to provide vertical take off and landing. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cvrlje ‘494 with a well known pivotable propulsion assembly. The motivation to do so would be to provide vectorable thrust to assist with vertical takeoff.
For Claim 65, while Cvrlje ‘494 is silent about attachment points for attaching adjacent similar vehicles, the Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to have tandem vehicles that can be attached in flight for joint flying. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cvrlje ‘494 with the well known attachment points. The motivation to do so would be to allow for tandem flying where the vehicles can support one another.
Claim(s) 75 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvrlje (US PgPub #2014/0151494) as applied to claim 58 above, and further in view of Sanders (US Patent #7249732).
For Claim 75, while Cvrlje ‘494 discloses that the plurality of pivotally adjustable fan blades of the rotatable gyroscopic member is driven by a drive assembly (18), the drive assembly being configured to impart rotational movement to the at least one rotatable gyroscopic member, it is silent about it being a radially distal fan blade drive assembly. However, figures 1a-4c of Sanders ‘732 teaches a gyroscopic member that is driven by a radially distal fan blade drive assembly (23 and 25) driving rotational movement of the distal radial ends of the fan blades. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cvrlje ‘494 with the fan drive of Sanders ‘732. The motivation to do so would be to provide a frictionless drive assembly that reduces noise.
Claim(s) 76 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cvrlje (US PgPub #2014/0151494) as applied to claim 56 above, and further in view of Ward (US Patent #3481405).
For Claim 76, while Cvrlje ‘494 providing additional stabilization and thrust to the aerial vehicle it is silent about fire suppression. However, the figures of Ward ‘405 teach moving an aerial vehicle to point the thrust unit at a fire so as to suppress the fire and control the vehicle to have a control flight to maintain a position for fire suppression. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Cvrlje ‘494 with the method of using thrust to suppress fires as taught by Ward ‘405. The motivation to do so would be to provide fire safety.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-15, filed 4/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 56 under 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cvrlje ‘494.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 5/12/2026