DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the figures appear to be poor scans of product diagrams. Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two planes and four axes in claims 1-22 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 8, 11-13, 17, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bierman et al (US 20040204684).
Regarding claim 1, Bierman discloses:
An intravenous (IV) line securement system (Fig. 4) comprising: a first layer (32b) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein the first surface of the first layer (32b) couples to an adhesive that is configured to couple the first layer (32b) to a patient's skin (¶0075 – underside of layer 32b has an adhesive to secure to a patient); a second layer (30b) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein: (a) the first surface (underside) of the second layer (30b) is fixedly coupled to the second surface of the first layer (32b; ¶0075), and (b) the second layer (30b) is more rigid than the first layer (32b) (¶0051, 0054 – the second layer 30 is hard plastic such as polypropylene or polyethylene while the first layer 32 is a flexible structure meant to conform to a body); a third layer (46) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein: (a) the first surface (underside) of the third layer (46) is fixedly coupled to the second surface of the second layer (30b) (¶0073), (b) the third layer (46) is less rigid than the second layer (30b) (¶0073, 0051 – the third layer 46 is a foam versus the hard plastic of the second layer 30b), (c) the second surface of the third layer (46) couples to an adhesive (24b) that is configured to couple to the IV line (¶0073), (d) the second surface of the third layer (46) includes a channel (44) configured to receive the IV line (¶0072), (e) the first surface of the third layer (46) is primarily disposed in a first plane (a horizontal plane encompasses most of the third layer 46), and (f) a second plane, parallel to the first plane, intersects the third layer (46) and the channel (44) (a horizontal plane above the first plane can be drawn that still intersects the third layer 46 and therefore the channel 44).
Regarding claim 2, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 1, wherein: a second axis (an axis offset from the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first and second layers (32b, 30b) but not the third layer (46) (if the axis does not overlap with the cradle 42, it does not intersect with the third layer 46); a third axis (an axis intersecting the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first, second, and third layers (if the axis overlaps with the cradle 42, it intersects all three layers).
Regarding claim 8, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 2, wherein a first axis (axis offset from the retainer 30b), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first layer (32b) but not the second layer (30b) and not the third layer (46).
Regarding claim 11, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 1, wherein: the first layer (32b) includes no sublayers; the second layer (30b) includes no sublayers; and the third layer (46) includes no sublayers.
Regarding claim 12, Bierman discloses:
An intravenous (IV) line securement system (Fig. 4) comprising: a first layer (32b) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein the first surface of the first layer (32b) couples to an adhesive that is configured to couple the first layer (32b) to a patient's skin (¶0075 – underside of layer 32b has an adhesive to secure to a patient); a second layer (30b) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein the first surface (underside) of the second layer (30b) is fixedly coupled to the second surface of the first layer (32b; ¶0075); a third layer (46) including first and second opposing surfaces, wherein: (a) the first surface (underside) of the third layer (46) is fixedly coupled to the second surface of the second layer (30b) (¶0073), (b) the second surface of the third layer (46) couples to an adhesive (24b) that is configured to couple to the IV line (¶0073), (c) the second surface of the third layer (46) includes a channel (44) configured to receive the IV line (¶0072), (d) the first surface of the third layer (46) is primarily disposed in a first plane (a horizontal plane encompasses most of the third layer 46), and (e) a second plane, parallel to the first plane, intersects the third layer (46) and the channel (44) (a horizontal plane above the first plane can be drawn that still intersects the third layer 46 and therefore the channel 44).
Regarding claim 13, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 12, wherein: a second axis (an axis offset from the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first and second layers (32b, 30b) but not the third layer (46) (if the axis does not overlap with the cradle 42, it does not intersect with the third layer 46); a third axis (an axis intersecting the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first, second, and third layers (if the axis overlaps with the cradle 42, it intersects all three layers).
Regarding claim 17, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 13, wherein a first axis (axis offset from the retainer 30b), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first layer (32b) but not the second layer (30b) and not the third layer (46).
Regarding claim 22, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 12, wherein: the first layer (32b) includes no sublayers; the second layer (30b) includes no sublayers; and the third layer (46) includes no sublayers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-7, 14, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman in view of Howell et al (US 2015/00224285).
Regarding claim 3, Bierman discloses the IV line securement system of claim 2 but is silent regarding “in a system open orientation the third axis intersects the first layer only one time; in a system closed orientation the third axis intersects the first layer two times respectively at first and second locations; the second and third layers are between the first and second locations.” However, Howell teaches a securement system (Fig. 54) for securing a catheter to a patient (Abstract; ¶0077), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that teaches a system that includes a flap (708) that is part of the first layer (104) and is folded over to further secure the catheter line (¶0137). This results in an open orientation, (Fig. 54) where a vertical axis offset from the second layer (102) only goes through the first layer (104), and a closed orientation (Fig. 67), where that same vertical axis goes through the first layer (104) twice at first and second locations on the flap (708) and the main body of the first layer (104). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bierman to incorporate a flap as part of the first layer taught by Howell in order to provide a means of further securing the catheter line.
Regarding claim 4, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 3, wherein the first and second locations taught by the modification in view of Howell in the rejection of claim 3 are included on a monolithic portion of the first layer (¶0137 – the flap 708 and the first layer 104 are monolithic and unitary).
Regarding claim 6, Bierman discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 2, wherein: a fourth axis (axis intersecting the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first, second, and third layers (32b, 30b, 46) and the adhesive (24b) coupled to the second surface of the third layer (46).
Bierman is silent regarding “a system open orientation the fourth axis intersects the first layer only one time” and “a system closed orientation the fourth axis intersects the first layer two times respectively at first and second locations; the second and third layers are between the first and second locations.” However, Howell teaches a securement system (Fig. 54) for securing a catheter to a patient (Abstract; ¶0077), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that teaches a system that includes a flap (708) that is part of the first layer (104) and is folded over to further secure the catheter line (¶0137). This results in an open orientation, (Fig. 54) where a vertical axis offset from the second layer (102) only goes through the first layer (104), and a closed orientation (Fig. 67), where that same vertical axis goes through the first layer (104) twice at first and second locations on the flap (708) and the main body of the first layer (104). This would result in the retainer (102) being sandwiched between two layers of the first layer (104) as seen in Fig. 68. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bierman to incorporate a flap as part of the first layer taught by Howell in order to provide a means of further securing the catheter line.
Regarding claim 7, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 6, wherein the first and second locations taught by the modification in view of Howell in the rejection of claim 6 are included on a monolithic portion of the first layer (¶0137 – the flap 708 and the first layer 104 are monolithic and unitary).
Regarding claim 14, Bierman discloses the IV line securement system of claim 13 but is silent regarding “a system open orientation the third axis intersects the first layer only one time” and “a system closed orientation the third axis intersects the first layer two times respectively at first and second locations; the second and third layers are between the first and second locations.” However, Howell teaches a securement system (Fig. 54) for securing a catheter to a patient (Abstract; ¶0077), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that teaches a system that includes a flap (708) that is part of the first layer (104) and is folded over to further secure the catheter line (¶0137). This results in an open orientation, (Fig. 54) where a vertical axis offset from the second layer (102) only goes through the first layer (104), and a closed orientation (Fig. 67), where that same vertical axis goes through the first layer (104) twice at first and second locations on the flap (708) and the main body of the first layer (104). This would result in the retainer (102) being sandwiched between two layers of the first layer (104) as seen in Fig. 68. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bierman to incorporate a flap as part of the first layer taught by Howell in order to provide a means of further securing the catheter line.
Regarding claim 16, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 14, wherein the first and second locations taught by the modification in view of Howell in the rejection of claim 14 are included on a monolithic portion of the first layer (¶0137 – the flap 708 and the first layer 104 are monolithic and unitary).
Regarding claim 18, Bierman in view of Howell discloses:
The IV line securement system of claim 13, wherein: a fourth axis (axis intersecting the cradle 42), orthogonal to the first plane, intersects the first, second, and third layers (32b, 30b, 46) and the adhesive (24b) coupled to the second surface of the third layer (46).
Bierman is silent regarding “a system open orientation the fourth axis intersects the first layer only one time” and “a system closed orientation the fourth axis intersects the first layer two times respectively at first and second locations; the second and third layers are between the first and second locations.” However, Howell teaches a securement system (Fig. 54) for securing a catheter to a patient (Abstract; ¶0077), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that teaches a system that includes a flap (708) that is part of the first layer (104) and is folded over to further secure the catheter line (¶0137). This results in an open orientation, (Fig. 54) where a vertical axis offset from the second layer (102) only goes through the first layer (104), and a closed orientation (Fig. 67), where that same vertical axis goes through the first layer (104) twice at first and second locations on the flap (708) and the main body of the first layer (104). This would result in the retainer (102) being sandwiched between two layers of the first layer (104) as seen in Fig. 68. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Bierman to incorporate a flap as part of the first layer taught by Howell in order to provide a means of further securing the catheter line.
Regarding claim 19, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 18, wherein the first and second locations taught by the modification in view of Howell in the rejection of claim 18 are included on a monolithic portion of the first layer (¶0137 – the flap 708 and the first layer 104 are monolithic and unitary).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bierman in view of Howell further in view of Bracken et al (US 2013/0150827).
Regarding claim 5, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 3 but is silent regarding “at least one compliant pad connected to the first layer, wherein in the system closed orientation the at least one compliant pad and the third layer are configured to sandwich a portion of the IV line between the at least one compliant pad and the third layer.” However, Bracken teaches an IV line securement system (Fig. 24), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that encloses a medical line (182) between two layers of material (10, 20c) that uses a compliant pad (30; Fig. 27) in the form of a tacky gel pad (¶0016) that inhibits lateral and longitudinal motion of the medical article by conforming to the outer surface of the medical article. This results in a portion of the medical article being sandwiched between the compliant pad (30) and the top layer of the base (20c). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Bierman to incorporate a compliant pad as taught by Bracken in order to provide sufficient structure to prevent lateral and longitudinal motion of the medical article, as recognized by Bracken.
Regarding claim 15, Bierman in view of Howell discloses the IV line securement system of claim 14 but is silent regarding “at least one compliant pad to the first layer at the second location.” However, Bracken teaches an IV line securement system (Fig. 24), thus being in the same field of endeavor, that encloses a medical line (182) between two layers of material (10, 20c) that uses a compliant pad (30; Fig. 27) in the form of a tacky gel pad (¶0016) that inhibits lateral and longitudinal motion of the medical article by conforming to the outer surface of the medical article. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the system of Bierman to incorporate a compliant pad as taught by Bracken in order to provide sufficient structure to prevent lateral and longitudinal motion of the medical article, as recognized by Bracken.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, 20, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TASNIM MEHJABIN AHMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783