DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/25/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Su (US 2021/0335792).
As to claim 1, Su teaches a semiconductor device structure (see annotated fig. 24 below), comprising:
a first dielectric layer (143/147) disposed over a semiconductor substrate (101, [0074]);
a second dielectric layer (157) disposed over the first dielectric layer (143/147, [0081]);
a first conductive plug (149/151) disposed in the first dielectric layer (143/147, [0075]),
wherein an upper portion (149A/151A) of the first conductive plug (149/151) extends into the second dielectric layer (157, [0078] – [0079]);
a silicide layer (155) disposed in the second dielectric layer (157) and covering a top surface and sidewalls of the upper portion (149A/151A) of the first conductive plug (149/151, [0079]); and
a second conductive plug (159) disposed in the second dielectric layer (157) and directly over the first conductive plug (149/151) and the silicide layer (155, [0081]).
As to claim 2, Su further teaches the silicide layer (155) is in direct contact with the first conductive plug (149/151, see fig. above).
As to claim 3, Su further teaches the silicide layer (155) is in direct contact with the first dielectric layer (147, the bottom surface of the silicide contacts the top surface of the first dielectric layer.).
As to claim 4, Su further teaches a first liner (151) separating the first conductive plug (149/151) from the first dielectric layer (143/147) and the semiconductor substrate (101, see fig above).
As to claim 5, Su further teaches the first liner (151) extends between the silicide layer (155) and the sidewalls of the upper portion (149A/151A) of the first conductive plug (149/151, see fig. above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su.
As to claim 6, Su doesn’t explicitly teach a second liner separating the second conductive plug from the second dielectric layer and the silicide layer. However, depositing liners between a plug and the surrounding dielectric layer is known in the art and would have been obvious so as to prevent diffusion of the metal ions into the dielectric layer.
As to claim 7, Su further teaches the second liner is in direct contact with the silicide layer (see annotated figure above, the liner would be similar to the one shown in the first conductive plug, therefore the silicide would be in direct contact with it.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su in view of Pandit (US 2022/0375898).
As to claim 8, Su does not teach a third conductive plug disposed in the first dielectric layer and penetrating through the second dielectric layer, wherein the first conductive plug, the silicide layer and the second conductive plug are disposed in a pattern-dense region, and the third conductive plug is disposed in a pattern-loose region; and a third liner separating the third conductive plug from the semiconductor substrate, the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer.
However, the first and second conductive plugs of Su are contacts that connect to a pattern-dense region (i.e. they connect to source/drain regions of a transistor, [0075]). Su only shows the pattern-dense region that contains the active circuitry. Su is silent on the pattern-loose region (i.e. where there is no active circuitry to connect to).
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pandit teaches first and second conductive plugs in a pattern-dense region in first and second dielectric layers and a third conductive plug in a pattern-loose region penetrating the second dielectric layer (see annotated fig. 1B below).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed that there would be a third conductive plug in a pattern-loose region of Su so as to enable electrical coupling between the metallization layers and the device/package substrate, as taught by Pandit ([0043]).
Pandit doesn’t explicitly teach a third liner separating the third conductive plug from the surrounding dielectric layers. However, liners are very well-known in the art and would have been obvious so as to prevent metal diffusion into the dielectric layers.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-Delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22313
/KAREN KUSUMAKAR/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897
9/18/26