DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 through 8 in the reply filed on 7/15/26 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 through 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Van (US 2015/0084063)
Regarding claim 1.
Van teaches:
A transistor (fig 5:60; [para 0053]) comprising: a substrate (fig 5:64; [para 0053]);
a drain layer (fig 5:64; [para 0055]) formed within the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) at a first side of the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]);
a first well implant (fig 5:76; [para 0053]) formed within the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) at a second side of the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]), the first well implant having a first implant depth;
a second well implant (fig 5 annotated; [para 0053]) formed within the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) at the second side of the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]), the second well implant (fig 5 annotated; [para 0053]) having a second implant depth, wherein the second implant depth is greater than the first implant depth (fig 5);
a third well implant (fig 5 annotated; [para 0053]) formed within the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) at the second side of the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]), the third well implant having a third implant depth, wherein the third implant depth is greater than the second implant depth;
and a gate (fig 5:84; [para 0054]) formed at the second side of the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]), wherein the gate (fig 5:84; [para 0054]) overlaps the first well implant (fig 5:76; [para 0053]) by a first distance, the gate (fig 5:84; [para 0054]) overlaps the second well implant by a second distance and the gate (fig 5:84; [para 0054]) overlaps the third well implant by a third distance.
Regarding claim 2.
Van teaches the transistor of claim 1,
wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (fig 5 annotated).
Regarding claim 3.
Van teaches the transistor of claim 2,
wherein the second distance is greater than the third distance (fig 5 annotated).
Regarding claim 4
Van teaches the transistor of claim 1,
wherein the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) comprises a first type dopant (fig 5:N) and the first well implant, the second well implant and the third well implant comprises a second type dopant (fig 5:P).
Regarding claim 5
Van teaches the transistor of claim 4,
wherein the substrate (fig 5:64,66,68; [para 0055]) comprises a first concentration (N) of the first type dopant and the drain layer (fig 5:64; [para 0055]) comprises a second concentration (N+) of the first type dopant.
Regarding claim 6
Van teaches the transistor of claim 5,
wherein the second concentration (fig 5, N+) is greater than the first concentration (fig 5, N).
Regarding claim 7.
Van teaches the transistor of claim 6,
wherein the first type dopant comprises an n-type dopant (fig 5:N) and the second type dopant comprises a p-type dopant (fig 5:P).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van (US 2015/0084063) as applied to claim 6 and further in view Ryu (US 2010/0301335)
Regarding claim 8.
Van teaches the transistor of claim 6,
Van does not teach the first type dopant comprises a p-type dopant and the second type dopant comprises an n-type dopant.
Ryu teaches:
the first type dopant (fig 4:140,145,150,155; [para 0046]) comprises a p-type dopant (fig 4:P; [para 0046]) and the second type dopant (fig 4:160; [para 0046]) comprises an n-type dopant (fig 4:N; [para 0046]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the first type dopant comprises a p-type dopant and the second type dopant comprises an n-type dopant in order to provide more flexibility in circuit design by enabling the formation of complementary transistor devices.
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817 /NICHOLAS J TOBERGTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2817