DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 01/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Lawrence (US 20170064329 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-9, 12-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunphy (US 20150381978 A1) in view of Lawrence (US 20170064329 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dunphy teaches one or more processors comprising:
one or more circuits (circuits [0104]) to:
select, according to a request that indicates a start position and an end position for retrieval of video data, a video data element comprising the start position ([0049] the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh).);
encode, responsive to decoding a portion of the video data element that comprises the start position (The assignment component 344 may operate the interface 390 to monitor the state of each of the transcoding devices 400a-x for indications of which one(s) of the transcoding devices 400a-x are available to assign one of the compressed video portions 333a-x to for decoding. [0056]), a subset of a plurality of first frames of the video data element comprising
(i) one of the plurality of first frames corresponding to the start position (the division component 343 divides the compressed video data 130 at the point at which that first GOP refresh occurs to define the beginning of the compressed video portion 333a. [0049]) and
(ii) each first frame of the plurality of first frames following the one of the plurality of first frames until a key frame of the video data element, to provide a first video output ([0082] If the maximum period of time has been exceeded at 2160, or if both a NAL unit that represents a portion of an IDR frame and another NAL unit that includes a SPS or PPS message specifying compression parameters for at least that IDR frame at 2150 have been detected at 2150, then a division is made in the compressed video data at 2170 to define a compressed video portion. Examiner’s note: IDR frame is the key frame); and
combine the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position for the video data (Fig .6: Compressed video portion stream).
Dunphy does not explicitly teaches the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Lawrence combining the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position without transcoding the second video output ([0041] At source device 205, either or both of audio and video stream transcoding may be bypassed, or not. Controller 218 is to determine at least whether a compressed video data stream is to be fully transcoded, selectively transcoded, or simply passed-through to multiplexer 122.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Lawrence an apply them to Dunphy. One would be motivated as such thereby improving wireless display streaming.
Regarding claim 2, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the one or more processors of claim 1. Dunphy teaches wherein the one or more circuits are to combine the first video output with the second video output by providing, to a multiplexer, the first video output and the second video output without decoding the second video output (Fig. 6: compressed video 130 to compressed video compressed without decoding).
Regarding claim 5, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the one or more processors of claim 1. Dunphy teaches wherein the one or more circuits are to discard from inclusion in the first video output and the second video output any one or more frames of the video data element subsequent to the end position ( Thus, as depicted, the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh). [0049]).
Regarding claim 6, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the one or more processors of claim 1. Dunphy teaches wherein the video data element comprises a plurality of groups of pictures (GOPs), the plurality of first frames is of a first GOP of the plurality of GOPs, and the key frame is of a second GOP of the plurality of GOPs subsequent to the first GOP (Fig. 6 GOP).
Regarding claim 7, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the one or more processors of claim 1. Dunphy teaches wherein the one or more processors are comprised in at least one of:
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for performing simulation operations;
a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for generating synthetic data;
a system for performing digital twin operations;
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented using a robot;
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system comprising one or more vision language models (VLMs);
a system comprising one or more large language models (LLMs);
a system for performing conversational AI operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Other examples of devices that may be communicatively coupled through one or more interface controllers of the interface 990 include, without limitation, microphones, remote controls, stylus pens, card readers, finger print readers, virtual reality interaction gloves, graphical input tablets, joysticks, other keyboards, retina scanners, the touch input component of touch screens, trackballs, various sensors, a camera or camera array to monitor movement of persons to accept commands and/or data signaled by those persons via gestures and/or facial expressions, laser printers, inkjet printers, mechanical robots, milling machines, etc.).
Regarding claim 8, Dunphy teaches a system comprising: one or more processing units; and one or more memory units storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processing units, cause the one or more processing units to execute operations comprising: (circuits [0104])
selecting, according to a request that indicates a start position and an end position for retrieval of video data, a video data element comprising the start position ([0049] the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh).);
encoding, responsive to decoding a portion of the video data element that comprises the start position (The assignment component 344 may operate the interface 390 to monitor the state of each of the transcoding devices 400a-x for indications of which one(s) of the transcoding devices 400a-x are available to assign one of the compressed video portions 333a-x to for decoding. [0056]), a subset of a plurality of first frames of the video data element comprising
(i) one of the plurality of first frames corresponding to the start position (the division component 343 divides the compressed video data 130 at the point at which that first GOP refresh occurs to define the beginning of the compressed video portion 333a. [0049]) and
(ii) each first frame of the plurality of first frames following the one of the plurality of first frames until a key frame of the video data element, to provide a first video output ([0082] If the maximum period of time has been exceeded at 2160, or if both a NAL unit that represents a portion of an IDR frame and another NAL unit that includes a SPS or PPS message specifying compression parameters for at least that IDR frame at 2150 have been detected at 2150, then a division is made in the compressed video data at 2170 to define a compressed video portion. Examiner’s note: IDR frame is the key frame); and
combining the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position for the video data (Fig .6: Compressed video portion stream).
Dunphy does not explicitly teaches the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Lawrence combining the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position without transcoding the second video output ([0041] At source device 205, either or both of audio and video stream transcoding may be bypassed, or not. Controller 218 is to determine at least whether a compressed video data stream is to be fully transcoded, selectively transcoded, or simply passed-through to multiplexer 122.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Lawrence an apply them to Dunphy. One would be motivated as such thereby improving wireless display streaming.
Regarding claim 9, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the system of claim 8. Dunphy teaches wherein the one or more processing units are to combine the first video output with the second video output by providing, to a multiplexer, the first video output and the second video output without decoding the second video output (Fig. 6: compressed video 130 to compressed video compressed without decoding).
Regarding claim 12, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the system of claim 8. Dunphy teaches wherein the one or more processing units are to discard from inclusion in the first video output and the second video output any one or more frames of the video data element subsequent to the end position ( Thus, as depicted, the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh). [0049]).
Regarding claim 13, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the system of claim 8. Dunphy teaches wherein the video data element comprises a plurality of groups of pictures (GOPs), the plurality of first frames is of a first GOP of the plurality of GOPs, and the key frame is of a second GOP of the plurality of GOPs subsequent to the first GOP (Fig. 6 GOP).
Regarding claim 14, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the system of claim 8. Dunphy teaches wherein the system is comprised in at least one of:
a system for performing deep learning operations;
a system for performing simulation operations;
a system for performing collaborative content creation for 3D assets;
a system for generating synthetic data;
a system for performing digital twin operations;
a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a perception system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine;
a system incorporating one or more virtual machines (VMs);
a system implemented using a robot;
a system implemented using an edge device;
a system comprising one or more vision language models (VLMs);
a system comprising one or more large language models (LLMs);
a system for performing conversational AI operations;
a system for performing light transport simulation;
a system implemented at least partially in a data center; or
a system implemented at least partially using cloud computing resources (Other examples of devices that may be communicatively coupled through one or more interface controllers of the interface 990 include, without limitation, microphones, remote controls, stylus pens, card readers, finger print readers, virtual reality interaction gloves, graphical input tablets, joysticks, other keyboards, retina scanners, the touch input component of touch screens, trackballs, various sensors, a camera or camera array to monitor movement of persons to accept commands and/or data signaled by those persons via gestures and/or facial expressions, laser printers, inkjet printers, mechanical robots, milling machines, etc.).
Regarding claim 15, Dunphy teaches method comprising:
selecting, according to a request that indicates a start position and an end position for retrieval of video data, a video data element comprising the start position ([0049] the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh).);
encoding, responsive to decoding a portion of the video data element that comprises the start position (The assignment component 344 may operate the interface 390 to monitor the state of each of the transcoding devices 400a-x for indications of which one(s) of the transcoding devices 400a-x are available to assign one of the compressed video portions 333a-x to for decoding. [0056]), a subset of a plurality of first frames of the video data element comprising
(i) one of the plurality of first frames corresponding to the start position (the division component 343 divides the compressed video data 130 at the point at which that first GOP refresh occurs to define the beginning of the compressed video portion 333a. [0049]) and
(ii) each first frame of the plurality of first frames following the one of the plurality of first frames until a key frame of the video data element, to provide a first video output ([0082] If the maximum period of time has been exceeded at 2160, or if both a NAL unit that represents a portion of an IDR frame and another NAL unit that includes a SPS or PPS message specifying compression parameters for at least that IDR frame at 2150 have been detected at 2150, then a division is made in the compressed video data at 2170 to define a compressed video portion. Examiner’s note: IDR frame is the key frame); and
combining the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position for the video data (Fig .6: Compressed video portion stream).
Dunphy does not explicitly teaches the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Lawrence combining the first video output with a second video output comprising one or more second frames of the video data up to the end position without transcoding the second video output ([0041] At source device 205, either or both of audio and video stream transcoding may be bypassed, or not. Controller 218 is to determine at least whether a compressed video data stream is to be fully transcoded, selectively transcoded, or simply passed-through to multiplexer 122.)
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Lawrence an apply them to Dunphy. One would be motivated as such thereby improving wireless display streaming.
Regarding claim 16, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the method of claim 15. Dunphy teaches wherein the first video output with the second video output by providing, to a multiplexer, the first video output and the second video output without decoding the second video output (Fig. 6: compressed video 130 to compressed video compressed without decoding).
Regarding claim 19, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the method of claim 15. Dunphy teaches wherein any one or more frames of the video data element subsequent to the end position in the first video output and the second video output are discarded from inclusion position in the first video output and the second video output ( Thus, as depicted, the compressed video portion 333a is defined by the division component 343 as starting at a point coincident with the occurrence of the first GOP refresh (e.g., starting with the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the start of the GOP 289 that starts coincident with the first GOP refresh), but ending at a point before the second GOP refresh (e.g., ending with the end of the NAL unit 233 that is coincident with the end of the GOP 289 that immediately precedes the GOP 289 that starts at a point coincident with the second GOP refresh). [0049]).
Regarding claim 20, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the method of claim 15. Dunphy teaches wherein the video data element comprises a plurality of groups of pictures (GOPs), the plurality of first frames is of a first GOP of the plurality of GOPs, and the key frame is of a second GOP of the plurality of GOPs subsequent to the first GOP (Fig. 6 GOP).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 11, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dunphy in view of Lawrence further in view of Naletov (US 10264255 B2).
Regarding claim 4, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the one or more processors of claim 1. Dunphy in view of Lawrence does not teach the following limitation, however, in an analogous art, Naletov teaches wherein the one or more circuits are to encode the subset of the plurality of first frames according to one or more encoding parameters by which frames of the second video output are encoded ( first coding scheme to generate a plurality of decoded images; receiving a plurality of encoding parameters from the storage device; and encoding the plurality of decoded images into a second plurality of encoded images based on a second coding scheme and the plurality of encoding parameters. [Col 2: lines 1-6]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Naletov and apply them to Dunphy in view of Lawrence. One would be motivated as such as to increase coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 11, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the system of claim 8. Dunphy in view of Lawrence does not teach the following limitation, however, in an analogous art, Naletov teaches wherein the one or more processing units are to encode the subset of the plurality of first frames according to one or more encoding parameters by which frames of the second video output are encoded ( first coding scheme to generate a plurality of decoded images; receiving a plurality of encoding parameters from the storage device; and encoding the plurality of decoded images into a second plurality of encoded images based on a second coding scheme and the plurality of encoding parameters. [Col 2: lines 1-6]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Naletov and apply them to Dunphy in view of Lawrence. One would be motivated as such as to increase coding efficiency.
Regarding claim 18, Dunphy in view of Lawrence teaches the method of claim 15. Dunphy in view of Lawrence does not teach the following limitation, however, in an analogous art, Naletov teaches wherein encoding the subset of the plurality of first frames is according to one or more encoding parameters by which frames of the second video output are encoded ( first coding scheme to generate a plurality of decoded images; receiving a plurality of encoding parameters from the storage device; and encoding the plurality of decoded images into a second plurality of encoded images based on a second coding scheme and the plurality of encoding parameters. [Col 2: lines 1-6]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Naletov and apply them to Dunphy in view of Lawrence. One would be motivated as such as to increase coding efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 10, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486