Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1, 14 and 19 are independent claims. Claim 1, 8, 10-11, 14 and 19 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Graubner(US Publication No. 2017/0054691 A1) in view of Lindteigen(US Publication No. 2015/0163229 A1) in further view of Robertson(International Publication No. WO 201200359 A1) and in further view of Sibert(US Publication No. 20200159966 A1)
Regarding Claim 1:
Lindteigen discloses:
A system, comprising: a processing system including a processor; and a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processing system, facilitate performance of operations comprising(Lindteigen, [0021], The remote attestation server 1500 includes hardware and software components such as a communication network interface, database 1540, memory 1530, processor 1520, and application software 1510. ):
capturing data by a first communication device associated with a data producer(Lindteigen, [0021], the device 1100 communicates with an attestation server 1500 through the communication network 1300. The remote attestation server 1500 may be a server, router, personal computer, or other device capable of receiving data communicated to and from the mobile 1100 or fixed 1200 devices);
signing the data with a signing key resulting in signed data(Lindteigen, [0025], . Each particular device is expected to generate a signature result. The invention determines a statistical known-good configuration based on the signature result of multiple devices.);
storing the encrypted signed data in a storage device(Lindteigen, [0018], the attestation server stores the consolidated and encrypted results of the inventory and content scan of the device's hardware and software stack in a storage database);
Lindteigen does not disclose:
encrypting the signed data according to an encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data
receiving, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer
Graubner discloses:
encrypting the signed data according to an encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data (Graubner, [0012], at least one further communication device during joint key encryption key generation. Thereby, the identity of the individual communication devices is assured. Especially, advantageously, signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation.);
receiving, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer(Graubner, [0044], …the individual communication devices for establishing a secure connection between each other by providing traffic encryption keys. According to the invention, it is possible to configure the communication devices in such a manner, that they no longer require online-access to a key server…root certificate to the respective communication device. The authenticity of device certificates of other communication devices can then be checked. This data can be supplied to the respective communication device when the device is initialized before being brought to the area of use.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure the authenticity of the transmitted data and only the intended recipient can read the data.
The motivation is to modify a robust key management system to create, store, and rotate encryption and signing keys securely. Furthermore, to ensure data policies that automatically apply encryption and signing to specific data type for particular data consumers within the system.
Lindteigen and Graubner do not disclose:
the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data;
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data
Robertson discloses:
the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data(Robertson, [0052], The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption… Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted, the MAS 308 may be confident that the processor 128 possesses the processor private key 31 1 . [0054] Upon failing to validate the signed data),
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data(Robertson,[0052] …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053], … the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order to ensure the confidentiality and integrity of data shared with a consumer over an untrusted network.
The motivation is to authenticating the decrypted data, wherein the second device can verify that the message has not been altered in any way since the sender signed it within the system.
Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson do not disclose:
and providing, over the communication network
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on:
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals
Sibert discloses:
and providing, over the communication network(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. ),
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device(Sibert, [0036], SEP 130 may then use the key 132 to generate a digital signature from challenge 252 and provide the signature as attestation 134 to application 122. may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246)
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on: (Silbert, [0035]-[0036], SEP 130 may generate a public key pair and return a corresponding key certificate 246. In various embodiments, key certificate 246 includes the public key of the public key pair… Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals(Sibert, [0041], In some instances, this may result in a large number of requests 242 being sent to server 160 when multiple applications 122 on multiple devices 100 are requesting attestations 134. In other embodiments, multiple requests 242 may be grouped together and issued as a periodic batch request to server 160. For example, OS 126 may convey a single batch request once a day for all key certificates 246 requested by applications 122… OS 126 may further track when an attestation 134 associated with a particular application key 132 was last generated. If a particular amount of time (e.g., thirty days) has passed since an attestation 134 associated with the particular application key 132 was issued, OS 126 may forgo asking for a renewal of a certificate 246 in an upcoming batch request)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner in view of Robertson’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s in view of Robertson’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Sibert to enable a remote computing device to authenticate received signed data using certificates issued for application keys and to obtain such certificates at periodic intervals.
The motivation is to improve the security and reliability of remote attestation by allowing verification of signed attestation obtaining certificates to maintain trust and prevent the use of compromised or expired keys.
Regarding Claim 2:
The system of claim 1, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the operations comprise obtaining the signing key(Graubner, [0012], signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure the signing key is compromised, attackers can use it to sign malicious code or data.
The motivation is to enhance security for operations involving obtaining a signing key, the core motivation is to prevent key exposure and unauthorized use by malicious actors within the system.
Regarding Claim 3:
The system of claim 2, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the signing key comprises generating the signing key(Robertson, [0047], application developers submit a request, specific to a given application, to the internal environment 306 of the organization that has contracted the production of the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to the request, and assuming the requested is granted, the code signing server 302 of the internal environment 306 signs the given application with the code signing private key.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson to ensure that the generated keys are unpredictable, unique, and protected from compromise throughout their lifecycle.
The motivation is to enhance focusing on using strong cryptographic processes and secure hardware to prevent attackers from predicting, stealing, or misusing the keys
Regarding Claim 4:
The system of claim 2, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the signing key comprises obtaining the signing from a third-party communication device(Graubner, Claim 16, wherein the method further comprises authenticating the at least one further communication device by exchanging certificates with the at least one further communication device, signing exchanged messages).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner to ensure significant security vulnerabilities by expanding the attack surface beyond the primary system.
The motivation is to enhance the mitigation of the substantial risks associated with entrusting a critical, private cryptographic key to an external, less-controlled environment within the system.
Regarding Claim 5:
The system of claim 1, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the operations comprise obtaining the encryption key(Graubner, [0014], the communication device is furthermore configured to receive at least one further traffic encryption key,).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure that even the strongest encryption remains effective.
The motivation is to enhance modern attacks like side-channel attacks within the robust security enhancements can make these attacks far more difficult and to prevent a single individual from compromising the system.
Regarding Claim 6:
The system of claim 5, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the encryption key comprises generating the encryption key(Graubner, [0007], encryption key generator configured to generate at least one key encryption key).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure that even the strongest encryption remains effective.
The motivation is to enhance modern attacks like side-channel attacks within the robust security enhancements can make these attacks far more difficult and to prevent a single individual from compromising the system.
Regarding Claim 7:
The system of claim 5, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the encryption key comprises obtaining the encryption key from a third-party communication device(Graubner, [0061], …a traffic encryption key encrypted with the priorly generated key encryption key is received from the communication device by the further communication device. In a third step 202 the traffic encryption key is decrypted using the key encryption key by the further communication device…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure that even the strongest encryption remains effective.
The motivation is to enhance modern attacks like side-channel attacks within the robust security enhancements can make these attacks far more difficult and to prevent a single individual from compromising the system.
Regarding Claim 8:
The system of claim 1, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the authenticating of the data with the signing key comprises generating a quote based on the signing key and a nonce(Graubner, [0012], signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure both signing key and nonce the integrity within the authentication process.
The motivation is to enhance security by combining cryptographic authenticity with freshness and platform integrity thereby distinguishing the authenticated data using a signing key without incorporating nonces or quotes within the system.
Regarding Claim 9:
The system of claim 8, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the providing of the encrypted signed data comprises providing, over the communication network, the quote to the second communication device, wherein the second communication device authenticating the signed data comprises the second communication device authenticating the decrypted signed data based on the quote(Robertson, [0052], …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053],…The MAS 308 encrypt some random data with the processor public key 310, thereby generating encrypted random data. The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data. The mobile communication device 100 then transmits, to the MAS 308, the random data. Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order ensure several strategies can be implemented, including layered security, advanced cryptography, and zero trust principles.
The motivation is to modify a quote to authenticate signed data over a network is a robust security measure, but it is not invulnerable. Furthermore, enhancing the process to prevent several types of sophisticated attacks that could bypass the authentication, compromise the system, or steal sensitive data.
Regarding Claim 10:
The system of claim 8, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the authenticating of the data with the signing key comprises obtaining a certificate from a remote attestation service based on the quote(Graubner, [0012], authenticate the at least one further communication device by exchanging certificates with the at least one further communication device during joint key encryption key generation. Thereby, the identity of the individual communication devices is assured. Especially, advantageously, signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation. ).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order ensure the integrity of both the platform state and the signing key are validated by a trusted external authority.
The motivation is to enhance trust for a remote attestation service based on the quote by introducing an independent third-party validation layer. Furthermore, the certificate enables verifiable trust establishment across distributed systems.
Regarding Claim 11:
The system of claim 10, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein providing of the encrypted signed data comprises providing, over the communication network, the certificate to the second communication device, wherein the second communication device authenticating the decrypted signed data comprises the second communication device authenticating the decrypted signed data based on the certificate(Robertson, [0052], …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053],…The MAS 308 encrypt some random data with the processor public key 310, thereby generating encrypted random data. The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data. The mobile communication device 100 then transmits, to the MAS 308, the random data. Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order ensure several strategies can be implemented, including layered security, advanced cryptography, and zero trust principles.
The motivation is to modify a quote to authenticate signed data over a network is a robust security measure, but it is not invulnerable. Furthermore, enhancing the process to prevent several types of sophisticated attacks that could bypass the authentication, compromise the system, or steal sensitive data.
Regarding Claim 12:
The system of claim 1, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the operations comprise storing the decryption key in a key vault, wherein the second communication device obtains the decryption key from the key vault(Robertson, [0053], The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data. The mobile communication device 100 then transmits, to the MAS 308, the random data).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order to ensure that only authorized devices or services on a specific network can retrieve the keys.
The motivation is to enhance a communication device by obtaining a decryption key from a key vault to implement an authorization process and to verify the entity can request a key and only under strictly controlled and monitored circumstances.
Regarding Claim 13:
The system of claim 1, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the operations comprise providing, over the communication network, the decryption key to the second communication device(Graubner, [0007-0008], a communication device for performing encrypted communication with at least a further communication device in a communication network comprises a communication unit and a cryptographic unit …which any communication device is able to decrypt, no matter, which communication device is the target of the data packet…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order to ensure that only authorized devices or services on a specific network can retrieve the keys.
The motivation is to enhance a communication device by obtaining a decryption key from a key vault to implement an authorization process and to verify the entity can request a key and only under strictly controlled and monitored circumstances.
Regarding Claim 14:
Lindteigen discloses:
A non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by a client computing device including a processing system including a processor, facilitate performance of operations, the operations comprising (Lindteigen, [0021], The remote attestation server 1500 includes hardware and software components such as a communication network interface, database 1540, memory 1530, processor 1520, and application software 1510. ):
capturing data by a first communication device associated with a data producer(Lindteigen, [0021], the device 1100 communicates with an attestation server 1500 through the communication network 1300. The remote attestation server 1500 may be a server, router, personal computer, or other device capable of receiving data communicated to and from the mobile 1100 or fixed 1200 devices);
obtaining a signing key (Lindteigen, [0021], the device 1100 communicates with an attestation server 1500 through the communication network 1300. The remote attestation server 1500 may be a server, router, personal computer, or other device capable of receiving data communicated to and from the mobile 1100 or fixed 1200 devices);
signing the data with the signing key resulting in signed data (Lindteigen, [0025], Each particular device is expected to generate a signature result. The invention determines a statistical known-good configuration based on the signature result of multiple devices.);
obtaining an encryption key(Lindteigen, [0007], comprises a key encryption key generator);
storing the encrypted signed data in a storage device(Lindteigen, [0018], the attestation server stores the consolidated and encrypted results of the inventory and content scan of the device's hardware and software stack in a storage database);
Lindteigen does not disclose:
encrypting the signed data according to the encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data
receiving, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer
Graubner discloses:
encrypting the signed data according to the encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data(Graubner, [0012], at least one further communication device during joint key encryption key generation. Thereby, the identity of the individual communication devices is assured. Especially, advantageously, signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation.);
receiving, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer (Graubner, [0044], …the individual communication devices for establishing a secure connection between each other by providing traffic encryption keys. According to the invention, it is possible to configure the communication devices in such a manner, that they no longer require online-access to a key server…root certificate to the respective communication device. The authenticity of device certificates of other communication devices can then be checked. This data can be supplied to the respective communication device when the device is initialized before being brought to the area of use.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure the authenticity of the transmitted data and only the intended recipient can read the data.
The motivation is to modify a robust key management system to create, store, and rotate encryption and signing keys securely. Furthermore, to ensure data policies that automatically apply encryption and signing to specific data type for particular data consumers within the system.
Lindteigen and Graubner do not disclose:
wherein the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data
Robertson discloses:
wherein the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data (Robertson, [0052], The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption… Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted, the MAS 308 may be confident that the processor 128 possesses the processor private key 31 1. [0054] Upon failing to validate the signed data),
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data (Robertson,[0052] …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053], … the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order to ensure the confidentiality and integrity of data shared with a consumer over an untrusted network.
The motivation is to authenticating the decrypted data, wherein the second device can verify that the message has not been altered in any way since the sender signed it within the system.
Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson do not disclose:
and providing, over the communication network
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on:
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals
Sibert discloses:
and providing, over the communication network(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. ),
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device(Sibert, [0036], SEP 130 may then use the key 132 to generate a digital signature from challenge 252 and provide the signature as attestation 134 to application 122. may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246)
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on: (Silbert, [0035]-[0036], SEP 130 may generate a public key pair and return a corresponding key certificate 246. In various embodiments, key certificate 246 includes the public key of the public key pair… Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals(Sibert, [0041], In some instances, this may result in a large number of requests 242 being sent to server 160 when multiple applications 122 on multiple devices 100 are requesting attestations 134. In other embodiments, multiple requests 242 may be grouped together and issued as a periodic batch request to server 160. For example, OS 126 may convey a single batch request once a day for all key certificates 246 requested by applications 122… OS 126 may further track when an attestation 134 associated with a particular application key 132 was last generated. If a particular amount of time (e.g., thirty days) has passed since an attestation 134 associated with the particular application key 132 was issued, OS 126 may forgo asking for a renewal of a certificate 246 in an upcoming batch request)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner in view of Robertson’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s in view of Robertson’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Sibert to enable a remote computing device to authenticate received signed data using certificates issued for application keys and to obtain such certificates at periodic intervals.
The motivation is to improve the security and reliability of remote attestation by allowing verification of signed attestation obtaining certificates to maintain trust and prevent the use of compromised or expired keys.
Regarding Claim 15:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the signing key comprises generating the signing key (Graubner, [0012], signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure the signing key is compromised, attackers can use it to sign malicious code or data.
The motivation is to enhance security for operations involving obtaining a signing key, the core motivation is to prevent key exposure and unauthorized use by malicious actors within the system.
Regarding Claim 16:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the signing key comprises obtaining the signing from a third-party communication device (Graubner, Claim 16, wherein the method further comprises authenticating the at least one further communication device by exchanging certificates with the at least one further communication device, signing exchanged messages).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner to ensure significant security vulnerabilities by expanding the attack surface beyond the primary system.
The motivation is to enhance the mitigation of the substantial risks associated with entrusting a critical, private cryptographic key to an external, less-controlled environment within the system.
Regarding Claim 17:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the encryption key comprises generating the encryption key (Graubner, [0007], encryption key generator configured to generate at least one key encryption key).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure that even the strongest encryption remains effective.
The motivation is to enhance modern attacks like side-channel attacks within the robust security enhancements can make these attacks far more difficult and to prevent a single individual from compromising the system.
Regarding Claim 18:
The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 14, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein the obtaining of the encryption key comprises obtaining the encryption key from a third-party communication device (Graubner, [0061], …a traffic encryption key encrypted with the priorly generated key encryption key is received from the communication device by the further communication device. In a third step 202 the traffic encryption key is decrypted using the key encryption key by the further communication device…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure a second communication device decrypts and authenticates data as taught by Graubner in order to ensure that even the strongest encryption remains effective.
The motivation is to enhance modern attacks like side-channel attacks within the robust security enhancements can make these attacks far more difficult and to prevent a single individual from compromising the system.
Regarding Claim 19:
Lindteigen discloses:
A method, comprising: capturing, by a processing system including a processor, data by a first communication device associated with a data producer(Lindteigen, [0021], The remote attestation server 1500 includes hardware and software components such as a communication network interface, database 1540, memory 1530, processor 1520, and application software 1510. the device 1100 communicates with an attestation server 1500 through the communication network 1300. The remote attestation server 1500 may be a server, router, personal computer, or other device capable of receiving data communicated to and from the mobile 1100 or fixed 1200 devices);
generating, by the processing system, a signing key (Lindteigen, [0021], the device 1100 communicates with an attestation server 1500 through the communication network 1300. The remote attestation server 1500 may be a server, router, personal computer, or other device capable of receiving data communicated to and from the mobile 1100 or fixed 1200 devices);
signing, by the processing system, the data with the signing key resulting in signed data (Lindteigen, [0025], . Each particular device is expected to generate a signature result. The invention determines a statistical known-good configuration based on the signature result of multiple devices.);
generating, by the processing system, an encryption key (Lindteigen, [0007], comprises a key encryption key generator);
storing the encrypted signed data in a storage device(Lindteigen, [0018], the attestation server stores the consolidated and encrypted results of the inventory and content scan of the device's hardware and software stack in a storage database);
storing, by the processing system, the encrypted data in a storage device (Lindteigen, [0018], the attestation server stores the consolidated and encrypted results of the inventory and content scan of the device's hardware and software stack in a storage database);
Lindteigen does not disclose:
encrypting, by the processing system, the signed data according to the encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data
receiving, by the processing system, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer
Graubner discloses:
encrypting, by the processing system, the signed data according to the encryption key resulting in encrypted signed data (Graubner, [0012], at least one further communication device during joint key encryption key generation. Thereby, the identity of the individual communication devices is assured. Especially, advantageously, signature keys of the certificates are created and verified during joint key encryption key generation.);
receiving, by the processing system, over a communication network, a request associated with the data from a second communication device associated with a data consumer (Graubner, [0044], …the individual communication devices for establishing a secure connection between each other by providing traffic encryption keys. According to the invention, it is possible to configure the communication devices in such a manner, that they no longer require online-access to a key server…root certificate to the respective communication device. The authenticity of device certificates of other communication devices can then be checked. This data can be supplied to the respective communication device when the device is initialized before being brought to the area of use.);
Lindteigen and Graubner do not disclose:
wherein the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data
Robertson discloses:
wherein the second communication device decrypting the encrypted signed data according to a decryption key resulting in decrypted signed data (Robertson, [0052], The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption… Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted, the MAS 308 may be confident that the processor 128 possesses the processor private key 31 1 . [0054] Upon failing to validate the signed data),
wherein the second communication device authenticates the decrypted signed data (Robertson,[0052] …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053], … the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data…).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Robertson in order to ensure the confidentiality and integrity of data shared with a consumer over an untrusted network.
The motivation is to authenticating the decrypted data, wherein the second device can verify that the message has not been altered in any way since the sender signed it within the system.
Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson do not disclose:
and providing, over the communication network
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on:
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals
Sibert discloses:
and providing, over the communication network(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. ),
the encrypted signed data to the second communication device(Sibert, [0036], SEP 130 may then use the key 132 to generate a digital signature from challenge 252 and provide the signature as attestation 134 to application 122. may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246)
to cause the second communication device to authenticate decrypted signed data according to a certificate of a group of certificates based on: (Silbert, [0035]-[0036], SEP 130 may generate a public key pair and return a corresponding key certificate 246. In various embodiments, key certificate 246 includes the public key of the public key pair… Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
the second communication device receiving the encrypted signed data(Sibert, [0036], Application 122 may then provide key certificate 246 and attestation 134 to remote server 150, which verifies attestation 134 using key certificate 246. If the verification is successful (meaning that application 122 has been verified by SEP 130 as corresponding to application certificate 234), remote server 150 may proceed to provide a requested service to application 122.)
and the second communication device obtaining each of the group of certificates associated with the signed data at periodic time intervals(Sibert, [0041], In some instances, this may result in a large number of requests 242 being sent to server 160 when multiple applications 122 on multiple devices 100 are requesting attestations 134. In other embodiments, multiple requests 242 may be grouped together and issued as a periodic batch request to server 160. For example, OS 126 may convey a single batch request once a day for all key certificates 246 requested by applications 122… OS 126 may further track when an attestation 134 associated with a particular application key 132 was last generated. If a particular amount of time (e.g., thirty days) has passed since an attestation 134 associated with the particular application key 132 was issued, OS 126 may forgo asking for a renewal of a certificate 246 in an upcoming batch request)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Lindteigen in view of Graubner in view of Robertson’s data security and integrity by remote attestation by enhancing Lindteigen in view of Graubner’s in view of Robertson’s remote attestation and performing an initial inventory to ensure the communication device for performing encrypted communication as taught by Sibert to enable a remote computing device to authenticate received signed data using certificates issued for application keys and to obtain such certificates at periodic intervals.
The motivation is to improve the security and reliability of remote attestation by allowing verification of signed attestation obtaining certificates to maintain trust and prevent the use of compromised or expired keys.
Regarding Claim 20:
The method of claim 19, Lindteigen in view of Graubner in further view of Robertson in further view of Sibert disclose wherein authenticating of the data with the signing key comprises generating a quote based on the signing key and a nonce, wherein providing of the encrypted signed data comprises providing, over the communication network, the quote to the second communication device, wherein the second communication device authenticating the decrypted signed data comprises the second communication device authenticating the decrypted signed data based on the quote (Robertson, [0052], …The MAS 308 generates some random data and sends the random data to the mobile communication device 1 00. The mobile communication device 100 signs the random data with the processor private key 31 1 and sends the signed data to the MAS 308. [0053],…The MAS 308 encrypt some random data with the processor public key 310, thereby generating encrypted random data. The MAS 308 transmits the encrypted random data to the mobile communication device 100. Responsive to receiving the encrypted random data, the mobile communication device 100 performs a decryption, using the processor private key 31 1 to obtain the random data. The mobile communication device 100 then transmits, to the MAS 308, the random data. Upon receiving the random data correctly decrypted).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA A. SHAAWAT/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433