DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 11/25/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ham (KR 10-1304978 and see also the machine translation) in view of Lin ‘760 et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0201760), Lin ‘117 et al. (WO 2013/130117), and Mileti et al. (U.S. Patent 7,455,744).
Regarding claim 18, Ham discloses a system capable of for continuously producing an inflatable product including a first sheet (14 continuously rolled out) and a second sheet (12 continuously rolled out), the system comprising (i.e. comprising is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements see MPEP 2111.03): a tensioning structure production subsystem configured to produce at least a first tensioning structure (16) having a leading end and a trailing end and a second tensioning structure (16) having a leading end and a trailing end, the tensioning structure production subsystem including a first blade (53) configured to separate the trailing end of the first tensioning structure from the leading end of the second tensioning structure; and a preassembly production subsystem in communication with the tensioning structure production subsystem and including a first melting glue applicator (air injector 62 and glue gun 72) configured to couple the leading ends of the first and second tensioning structures to the first sheet and a second melting glue applicator (air injector 61 and glue gun 71) configured to couple the trailing ends of the first and second tensioning structures to the second sheet, wherein the tensioning structure production subsystem feeds (via clip-cylinder 52) the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem (Figure 8 and Pages 7-9 of the machine translation).
As to the limitations in claim 18 of “a first welder” and “a second welder”, Ham teaches coupling the ends of the tensioning structures to the sheets using melting glue. Ham does not teach away from coupling by welding. It is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to couple the ends of tensioning structures to the sheets using welding or adhesive as evidenced Lin ‘760 (Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0024 and 0025) and including it being also well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art welding or adhesive on a tensioning structure is by a welder (such as a pressing die) or gluing device (in each case similarly arranged) as evidenced by Lin ‘117 (Paragraphs 0080 and 0081). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the preassembly production subsystem taught by Ham include a first welder and a second welder for coupling the ends of the tensioning structures to the sheets as a simple substitution of one known technique for coupling (of welders) for another (for the air injectors and glue guns) to yield predictable results as evidenced by Lin ‘760 and Lin ‘117.
As to the limitations in claim 18 of “the preassembly production subsystem further including a second blade configured to cut the first and second sheets after the first and second tensioning structures are coupled to the first and second sheets” and in claims 27 and 28, Ham does not expressly teach a second blade wherein it is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art the continuously produced inflatable product produces a continuous roll of the product that is rolled out, cut to length, and sealed at open ends thereof to form an individual product as evidenced by Mileti (Column 1, line 66 to Column 2, line 6 and Column 5, line 65 to Column 6, line 7). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the preassembly production subsystem taught by Ham further include a roll (analogous to the roll 31 and roll 32 of Ham rolling up the first sheet and the second sheet, respectively, to provide each to the system and optionally further in view of Lin ‘117 as a take up roll well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to rollup up continuously produced product, see paragraph 0082, stored for later use) to roll up the continuously produced inflatable product into a continuous roll of product, a second cutter (of a second blade wherein conventional cutting well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art is by a blade 53 as evidenced by Ham) configured to cut the first and second sheets, into a preassembly, after the first and second tensioning structures are coupled to the first and second sheets and the continuous roll produced (and thus wherein unrolling the continuously produced inflatable product for cutting then includes wherein the preassembly production subsystem further includes a preassembly output roller, the roll, configured to convey a preassembly to the second blade), and a sealer to seal open ends of the preassembly comprising the cut first and second sheets (and thus, wherein the preassembly production subsystem further includes a preassembly receiver of a sealer that receives a preassembly comprising the cut first and second sheets after the first and second sheets are cut by the second blade) to form an individual product from the continuously produced inflatable product as would have been well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Mileti.
Regarding claim 19, the tensioning structure production subsystem taught by Ham operates simultaneously with the preassembly production subsystem (see Figure 8).
Regarding claim 20, the first tensioning structure taught by Ham is coupled (pressing die in place of 61) to the first sheet of the first and second sheets while the second tensioning structure is aligned with the first blade (Figure 8).
Regarding claims 21-24, Ham teaches the tensioning structure production subsystem provides the tensioning structures from a roll (51). Ham does not require the tensioning structures have any particular structure. It is known to one of ordinary skill in the art a tensioning structure production subsystem for forming tensioning structures rolled and then cut for installation wherein the tensioning structures have high tensile strength by each tensioning structure (and including the leading end) comprises a pair of weld strips, the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip, and a plurality of strands captured between the weld strips is taught by Lin ‘117 (e.g. Figure 14) wherein the subsystem includes a strand roller (several spools of yarn see paragraphs 0079 and 0095) operable to dispense the plurality of strands (32), a first weld strip dispenser (first conveying roller C see Figure 24 and paragraph 0096) operable to dispense a first weld strip material (131) and a second weld strip dispenser (second conveying roller C see Paragraph 0099) operable to dispense a second weld strip material (131) wherein the dispensers together form a strand press operable to apply the plurality of strands across a first weld strip of the pair of weld strips, a third welder (hot roller D see Figure 24 and paragraph 0097) operable to weld the pair of weld strips together, and a take-up device such as a spool or roll (Paragraph 0082). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the tensioning structure production subsystem taught by Ham as modified by Lin ‘760, Lin ‘117, and Mileti further include a strand roller operable to dispense a plurality of strands, a first weld strip dispenser operable to dispense a first weld strip material and a second weld strip dispenser operable to dispense a second weld strip material cooperating together to form a strand press operable to apply the plurality of strands across a first weld strip of the pair of weld strips, and a third welder operable to weld the pair of weld strips together to produce each tensioning structure (and including the leading end) comprises a pair of weld strips, the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip, and a plurality of strands captured between the weld strips not only as a simple substitution of one type of tensioning structure produced by the tensioning structure production subsystem to be cut into individual tensioning structures to yield predictable results but so that the tensioning structures have high tensile strength as taught by Lin ‘117.
Regarding claim 25, Ham teaches the tensioning structure production subsystem further includes a conveyor (clip-cylinder 52) operable to feed the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem (Figure 8).
Regarding claim 26, the preassembly production subsystem taught by Ham further includes a first sheet roller (31) operable to dispense a first sheet material and a second sheet roller (30) operable to dispense a second sheet material (Figure 8).
It is noted for claim interpretation and clarity of the record claims 18-28 are directed to a system considered the apparatus/machine statutory category of invention. The limitations “a first sheet and a second sheet”, “a first tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end”, “a second tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end”, “the leading end of the first tensioning structure comprises a pair of weld strips and a plurality of strands captured between the pair of weld strips”, and “the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip” are directed to the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus. Inclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims (see MPEP 2115). Ham as modified by Lin ‘760, Lin ‘117, and Mileti teach all of the structural limitations of the claims as set forth above and is capable of use with “a first sheet and a second sheet”, “a first tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end”, “a second tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end”, “the leading end of the first tensioning structure comprises a pair of weld strips and a plurality of strands captured between the pair of weld strips”, and “the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip” wherein as the materials or articles worked upon by the apparatus include a first sheet, a second sheet, a first tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end, a second tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end, and the leading end of the first tensioning structure comprises a pair of weld strips and a plurality of strands captured between the pair of weld strips wherein the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip (and including as also set forth above).
Claims 18, 19, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘503 et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0147503) in view of Ham and Kimura et al. (JP 07-067749 and see also the machine translation).
Regarding claim 18, Lin ‘503 discloses a system capable of for producing an inflatable product including a first sheet (5) and a second sheet (7), the system comprising: a preassembly production subsystem including a first welder (2, 21) configured to couple leading ends of first and second tensioning structures (4, 4’) to the first sheet and a second welder (1, 11) configured to couple trailing ends of the first and second tensioning structures to the second sheet (Figures 1-7 and Paragraphs 0022-0025, 0028, and 0029).
As to the limitations in claim 18 of “a tensioning structure production subsystem configured to produce at least a first tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end and a second tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end, the tensioning structure production subsystem including a first blade configured to separate the trailing end of the first tensioning structure from the leading end of the second tensioning structure”, the preassembly production subsystem “in communication with the tensioning structure production subsystem”, and “wherein the tensioning structure production subsystem feeds the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem”, and in claim 19, Lin ‘503 teaches the tensioning structures are formed by cutting a sheet of bulk material into strips (Paragraph 0024) wherein such cutting is known in the art wherein the preassembly production subsystem is in communication with a tensioning structure production subsystem configured to unroll and cut from a sheet of bulk material at least the first tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end and the second tensioning structure having a leading end and a trailing end, the tensioning structure production subsystem including a first blade (53) configured to separate the trailing end of the first tensioning structure from the leading end of the second tensioning structure wherein the tensioning structure production subsystem feeds via a clip-cylinder (52) the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem and between the first and second sheets as taught by Ham (described above in full detail) and including the tensioning structure production subsystem operates simultaneously with the preassembly production subsystem. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the preassembly production subsystem taught by Lin ‘503 is in communication with a tensioning structure production subsystem including a first blade and a clip-on cylinder (and including simultaneously producing tensioning structures for a trailing inflatable product and coupling tensioning structures for a leading inflatable product) as taught by Ham to conventionally and predictably cut and feed the tensioning structures from the bulk material to the preassembly production subsystem and between the first and second sheets to form the inflatable product.
As to the limitations in claim 18 of “the preassembly production subsystem further including a second blade configured to cut the first and second sheets after the first and second tensioning structures are coupled to the first and second sheets” and in claim 28, Lin ‘503 teaches the preassembly production subsystem includes after coupling the leading ends of the first and second tensioning structures to the first sheet and the trailing ends of the first and second tensioning structures to the second sheet welding/adhering at edges of the sheets to form an inflatable interior/chamber (Paragraph 0028). It is known in the same art that prior to welding/adhering at edges of sheets (1, 2) with a tensioning structure (3) connected therebetween to form an inflatable interior/chamber the edges are trimmed (i.e. free of excess or extraneous material by or as if by cutting as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as the ordinary and customary meaning of “trim”) as evidenced by Kimura (Figures 1-3 and Pages 3 and 4 of the machine translation and including “the edges are trimmed, and the adhesive and heat-welding material are processed on the inner surface of the edge. Then, the entire circumference is sewn and glued to make the whole airtight.”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the preassembly production subsystem taught by Lin ‘503 further include a second trimmer/cutter (i.e. second blade wherein conventional cutting of material in an inflatable product well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as by a blade 53 as evidenced by Ham) configured to trim/cut the first and second sheets after the first and second tensioning structures are coupled to the first and second sheets as is known in the art as evidenced by Kimura to remove any excess sheet material prior to welding/adhering at edges of the sheets to form the inflatable interior/chamber (and thus, wherein the preassembly production subsystem further includes a preassembly receiver of a welder for the edges that receives a preassembly comprising the cut first and second sheets after the first and second sheets are cut by the second blade).
Regarding claim 26, Lin ‘503 does not expressly teach how the first and second sheets are provided in the system wherein it is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the first and second sheets by the preassembly production subsystem further includes a first sheet roller operable to dispense a first sheet material and a second sheet roller operable to dispense a second sheet material as evidenced by Ham (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the preassembly production system taught by Lin ‘503 as modified by Ham and Kimura further includes a first sheet roller operable to dispense a first sheet material and a second sheet roller operable to dispense a second sheet material to conventionally and predictably provide the first and second sheets as is well understood by one of ordinary skill in the art as evidenced by Ham.
Claims 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin ‘503, Ham, and Kimura as applied to claims 18, 19, 26, and 28 above, and further in view of Lin ‘117.
Lin ‘503 as modified by Ham and Kimura above teach all of the limitations in claims 21-25 except for a specific teaching the tensioning structure production subsystem further includes a third welder wherein Lin ‘503 (Paragraph 0029) teaches details of suitable tensioning structures (including wherein the tensioning structures, including at the leading ends thereof, comprise a pair of weld strips, the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip, and a plurality of strands captured between the pair of weld strips) are taught by Lin ‘117 (described above in full detail). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the tensioning structure production subsystem taught by Lin ‘503 as modified by Ham and Kimura further include a strand roller operable to dispense a plurality of strands, a first weld strip dispenser operable to dispense a first weld strip material and a second weld strip dispenser operable to dispense a second weld strip material cooperating together to form a strand press operable to apply the plurality of strands across a first weld strip of the pair of weld strips, and a third welder operable to weld the pair of weld strips together to produce each tensioning structure (and including the leading end) comprises a pair of weld strips, the pair of weld strips comprises a first weld strip and a second weld strip, and a plurality of strands captured between the weld strips to form the bulk material of tensioning strips as detailed by Lin ‘117 and directed to by Lin ‘503.
Regarding claim 25, Lin ‘503 as modified by Ham, Kimura, and Lin ‘117 teaches the tensioning structure production subsystem further includes a conveyor (clip-cylinder 52) operable to feed the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/25/2025 have been fully considered.
In view of the amendments filed 11/25/2025 the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Ham in view of Mileti as set forth in the Office action mailed on 6/30/2025 are withdrawn. In view of the amendments the current claim limitations do not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The claims as amended are fully addressed above.
Applicants argue, “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that Lin and Kimura, alone or in combination, fail to disclose or render obvious the claimed combinations comprising, among other features, “wherein the tensioning structure production subsystem feeds the first and second tensioning structures to the preassembly production subsystem.”.”.
This argument is not persuasive wherein Lin ‘503 as modified by Ham teach the tensioning structure production subsystem includes a clip-on cylinder (52) to feed the first and second tensioning structures cut by the first blade (53) to the preassembly production subsystem (including the first welder and the second welder) and between the first sheet and the second sheet.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN L GOFF II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746