Detailed Action
This office action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on 06/07/24. Claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 06/27/24 and 06/07/24 and are being considered.
Claim Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. §102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Nishiyama (JP 2022117270 A).
Regarding claim 1, Nishiyama discloses a method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, the method comprising:
providing a layered body including a wavelength conversion layer 23, a light-transmissive layer 22 disposed above the wavelength conversion layer (see fig 4), and a semiconductor layer 10 disposed above the light-transmissive layer (see fig 3-4, disclosing 23, 22, 10);
separating the semiconductor layer into a plurality of semiconductor portions above the wavelength conversion layer by removing a part of the semiconductor layer (see fig 6c); and
singulating the layered body into a plurality of light-emitting devices by cleaving the wavelength conversion layer along a portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed (see fig 8c-9 disclosing singulation at etch area of 23, 22, 10.
Regarding claim 2, . The method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 1, wherein in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions (see fig 8c and 9 disclosing singulating separation), the part of the semiconductor layer is removed by etching.1
Regarding claim 3, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 2, wherein in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions, a part of the light-transmissive layer is also removed (see figs 8c and 9 disclosing all layers are partially removed), and the wavelength conversion layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer and the light-transmissive layer in the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing all layers are partially removed).
Regarding claim 4, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 1, wherein in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions, a part of the light-transmissive layer is also removed, and the wavelength conversion layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer and the light-transmissive layer in the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing all layers are partially removed).
Regarding claim 5, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 1, wherein in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing devices are singulated), the light-transmissive layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer at the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing layers 22, 23 are partially exposed), and in the singulating of the layered body into the plurality of light-emitting devices, the light-transmissive layer and the wavelength conversion layer are cleaved along the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing all layers are partially removed).
Regarding claim 6, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 2, wherein in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions, the light-transmissive layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer at the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing layers 22, 23 are partially exposed), and in the singulating of the layered body into the plurality of light-emitting devices, the light-transmissive layer and the wavelength conversion layer are cleaved along the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed(see figs 8c and 9 disclosing all layers are partially removed).
Regarding claim 7, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 12, wherein in the providing of the layered body (see fig 8c, disclosing layered body), the light-transmissive layer is disposed above the wavelength conversion layer, the light-transmissive layer includes a first light-transmissive layer and a second light-transmissive layer disposed above the first light-transmissive layer (see transmissive elements 22 and 23, and phosphors and serrated edges), and the first light-transmissive layer includes a plurality of dielectric layers in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions (see elements 10 n/p), the first light-transmissive layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer and the second light-transmissive layer at the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed (see fig 8c where etching removes parts of the layer), and in the singulating of the layered body into the plurality of light-emitting devices, the first light-transmissive layer and the wavelength conversion layer are cleaved along the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed (see figs 8c-9 disclosing cleaving along etched portion).
Regarding claim 8, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 7, wherein in the providing of the layered body, a dielectric layer in contact with the second light-transmissive layer among the plurality of dielectric layers is thicker than each of the dielectric layers other than the dielectric layer in contact with the second light-transmissive layer among the plurality of dielectric layers (see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 9, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 2, wherein in the providing of the layered body, the light-transmissive layer is disposed above the wavelength conversion layer, the light-transmissive layer includes a first light-transmissive layer and a second light-transmissive layer disposed above the first light-transmissive layer (see fig 8b disclosing arrangement of 23, phosphors, serrated edge, and 22), and the first light-transmissive layer includes a plurality of dielectric layers in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions (see layers of 10, 13-18), the first light-transmissive layer is exposed from the semiconductor layer and the second light-transmissive layer at the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed (see trench 31), and in the singulating of the layered body into the plurality of light-emitting devices, the first light-transmissive layer and the wavelength conversion layer are cleaved along the portion where the part of the semiconductor layer is removed (see fig 9 disclosing cleaving).
Regarding claim 10, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 9, wherein in the providing of the layered body, a dielectric layer in contact with the second light-transmissive layer among the plurality of dielectric layers is thicker than each of the dielectric layers other than the dielectric layer in contact with the second light-transmissive layer among the plurality of dielectric layers (see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 11, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the part of the semiconductor layer removed in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions is greater than a thickness of the light-transmissive layer (see for example in fig 8b, disclosing the thickness of 18 is thick at the cleavage site).
Regarding claim 12, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 2, wherein a thickness of the part of the semiconductor layer removed in the separating of the semiconductor layer into the plurality of semiconductor portions is greater than a thickness of the light-transmissive layer(see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 13, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 1, wherein the providing of the layered body includes providing a wafer including a first substrate and the semiconductor layer disposed above the first substrate; exposing a first surface of the semiconductor layer by removing the first substrate of the wafer (see figs 8b-c disclosing etching 22 and 23 to expose semiconductor); forming the light-transmissive layer above the first surface; and bonding the wavelength conversion layer to the light-transmissive layer (see fig 8c disclosing device formed on 22/23).
Regarding claim 14, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 13, wherein the providing of the layered body further includes bonding the wafer to a second substrate such that the second substrate is bonded to a surface side of the wafer opposite to the first substrate (see fig 8b/c disclosing layers formed on substrate surfaces), and after the wafer and the second substrate are bonded to each other, the first substrate is removed (see part of 23a is removed in forming second groove 32, fig 6d).
Regarding claim 15, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 13, wherein the providing of the layered body further includes roughening the first surface of the semiconductor layer(see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 16, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 15, wherein in the forming of the light-transmissive layer, the light-transmissive layer is formed above the first surface having been roughened, and the providing of the layered body further includes polishing, by chemical mechanical polishing, a surface of the light-transmissive layer to which the wavelength conversion layer is bonded(see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 17, Nishiyama. The method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 2, wherein the providing of the layered body includes providing a wafer including a first substrate and the semiconductor layer disposed above the first substrate (elements, 21, 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15); exposing a first surface of the semiconductor layer by removing the first substrate of the wafer; forming the light-transmissive layer above the first surface(see part of 23a is removed in forming second groove 32, fig 6d); and bonding the wavelength conversion layer to the light-transmissive layer (see fig 8b/c where the layers 21-23 and 10 are bonded).
Regarding claim 18, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 17, wherein the providing of the layered body further includes bonding the wafer to a second substrate such that the second substrate is bonded to a surface side of the wafer opposite to the first substrate, and after the wafer and the second substrate are bonded to each other(see fig 8b/c where the layers 21-23 and 10 are bonded), the first substrate is removed(see part of 23a is removed in forming second groove 32, fig 6d).
Regarding claim 19, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 17, wherein the providing of the layered body further includes roughening the first surface of the semiconductor layer(see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15).
Regarding claim 20, Nishiyama discloses the method for manufacturing a light-emitting device, according to claim 19, wherein in the forming of the light-transmissive layer, the light-transmissive layer is formed above the first surface having been roughened(see elements 22/23, disclosing serrated edge and is thicker than 10 along the top of 15), and the providing of the layered body further includes polishing, by chemical mechanical polishing (see fig 3, and description disclosing cmp), a surface of the light-transmissive layer to which the wavelength conversion layer is bonded(see fig 8b/c where the layers 21-23 and 10 are bonded).
Conclusion
/EDWARD CHIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893
1 See description disclosing: the first grooves 31 can be formed more easily than forming the first grooves 31 by etching. The first groove portion 31 is positioned above the groove 17 and formed at a position overlapping the groove 17 in a plan view. The first groove portions 31 may be formed at all positions overlapping the grooves 17 in plan view, and the first groove portions 31 may not be formed at some of the positions overlapping the grooves 17 in plan view. . The first groove portion 31 does not reach the semiconductor layer 10 . In this embodiment, the first groove portion 31 does not penetrate the wavelength conversion member 23 and does not reach the intermediate film 22 . By forming the first groove 31 so as not to reach the intermediate film 22 , it is possible to make it difficult for the blade to apply pressure to the vicinity of the semiconductor layer 10 when forming the first groove 31 . For example, the depth of the first groove portion 31 is 10% or more and 90% or less, preferably 20% or more and 80% or less, more preferably 30% or more and 75% or less of the thickness of the wavelength conversion member 23 . By setting the depth of the first groove portion 31 to such a depth, it is possible to reduce the etching time in forming the second groove portion 32 to be described later while making it difficult for the blade to apply pressure to the vicinity of the semiconductor layer 10. can be done. The laminated body 100 in which the first groove portion 31 is formed in the wavelength conversion member 23 may be purchased and prepared.
Next, the layered body 100 is etched using the wavelength conversion member 23