Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments/amendments filed 02/13/2026 with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Koji does not disclose the second bracket member being in contacting relationship with the second segment and curved segment of the bus bar.
Examiner respectfully disagrees, Koji discloses a bent bus bar including first segments 7c, second segment 7d and curved transition between see fig. 2. The second bracket member 21 defines insertion portion 21X, and when the bus bar is inserted and secured by fastener 52 fig. 2, 3, fig. 5, the bent geometry necessarily positions the curved segment and second segment adjacent to and in physical contact with the bracket structure. Further claim 1 doesn’t require conformal shaping or a curved channel. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation “contacting relationship” encompasses physical touching. The assembled configuration of Koji inherently results in such contact.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Koji (JP2013113687A).
Regarding claim 1, Koji discloses a bracket assembly for supporting a pass-through current sensor with respect to a bus bar having a first segment (fig. 1 (10) fig. 3 bracket 21-22 holding 10 [0020] bus bar 7U with section 7c), a second segment (fig. 3 7d) and a curved segment (fig. 2, 3 curve area between 7c,d), the first segment and second segment connected through the curved segment (fig. 2,3 curve area between 7c,d), the bracket assembly comprising:
a first bracket member (fig. 3 (22)); including a first channel that conforms to the shape of the first segment of the bus bar (fig. 2, 3 slot area 22x for passage of 7c of bus bar); a second bracket member (fig. 3 (21));
a fastener configured to secure the first bracket member to the second bracket member such that (fig. 3 (fastening portion 23, 49)):
the first bracket member is in a contacting relationship with the first segment of the bus bar (fig. 5 (22 in contact with 7c));
the second bracket member is in a contacting relationship with the first segment second segment, and curved segment of the bus bar (fig.2, 5 (21 in contact with 7c) the bent bus bar 7U, including segments 7c and 7d and the curved transition therebetween, is positioned within insertion portions 21x and 22x of the bracket member, the second bracket member 21 defines insertion portion 21x bounded by sidewall portions (46-48), and when the bus bar 7U is secured by 52 to boss portion 51, the geometry of the bent bus bar necessarily positions the curved segment between 7c and 7d and the second segment 7d in contacting relationship with the surrounding structure of the second bracket. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation “contacting relationship” encompasses physical touching and does not require conforming geometry or spatially contoured channel. The assembled configuration of Koji inherently results in the curved segment and second segment being in contact with the second bracket member when the bus bar is secured within the bracket assembly);
the bus bar extends through the current sensor (fig. 5 (7c passing the current detection device 70 [0020])).
Regarding claims 4, Koji further discloses wherein the second bracket member includes a second channel having: a first channel section that conforms to the shape of the first segment of the bus bar, a second channel section that conforms to the shape of the second segment of the bus bar, and a curved channel section that conforms to the shape of the curved segment of the bus bar (fig. 3 (bar 7c passing through 21-23)).
Regarding claim 5, Koji further discloses wherein the first channel section is oriented 90 degrees with respect to the second channel section (fig. 2 (curved areas of 7U)).
Regarding claim 6, Koji further discloses wherein the depth of the first channel of the first bracket member is less than the thickness of the first segment (“when the conductor is inserted into the insertion portion of the substrate, the thickness of the substrate which is the arrangement space of the magnetic detection element is also used as the arrangement space of the conductor. For this reason, for example, the arrangement space of the conductors can be made smaller than in the case where the conductors are arranged on a substrate having no insertion portion. As a result, when the conductor is inserted into the insertion portion, the arrangement space of the current detection device and the conductor can be reduced” [0008] thickness adjustable).
Regarding claims 7, Koji further discloses wherein the second bracket member includes a first leg and a second leg spaced to conform to the shape of the sensor, a portion of the sensor fitting between the legs ((fig. 2 (31))).
Regarding claims 8, Koji further discloses wherein the current sensor includes outwardly extending ears which mate with bottoms of the legs when the sensor is attached to the second bracket member (fig. 2 32).
Regarding claims 9, Koji further discloses the sensor includes an aperture therethrough, the bracket assembly being positioned outside the aperture (fig. 6 21x,22x, 60x).
Allowable Subject Matter
4. Claims 10, 13-20 are allowed
Reason for Allowance
5. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant amended independent claim 10 by adding the limitations of claims and overcome rejection. In combination with other limitations of the claims. The cited prior arts fail to teach “A bus bar assembly, comprising: a bus bar having a first side and a second side opposite the first side, the bus bar further having a first segment, a second segment and a curved segment, the first segment and second segment connected through the curved segment;,.., a first channel section that conforms to the portion of the first segment of the bus bar, the first channel section including a bottom side engaging the second side of the first segment; and a second channel section that conforms to a portion of the second segment of the bus bar, the second channel section including a bottom side engaging the second side of the second segment; and a curved channel section that conforms to a portion of the curved segment of the bus bar, the curved channel section including a bottom side engaging the second side of the curved segment; a pass-through current sensor including an aperture having a portion of the bus bar extending therethrough; a fastener: securing the first bracket member to the second bracket member over the first segment of the bus bar such that the first segment sits within the first channel and the first channel section; and securing the sensor to the second bracket member”, as required by claim 10 and 18.
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 are in condition for allowance, based on their dependencies.
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAQI R NASIR/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858