Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 and 08/29/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as file 07/29/2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Title Objection
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “…comprises adjusting a start measurement value of the measurement circuit based on a measurement value…” in lines 4-5 of Claim 1. It is not clear if the limitation in question refers to the same “current measurement circuit” or if it refers to a different “measurement circuit”. If this is the case, then please change the limitation to “the current measurement circuit”.
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph as they further limit Claim 1.
Please make the proper corrections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Babazadeh et al. US 2014/0002037 (Provided by Applicant; Hereinafter Babazadeh).
Regarding claim 1, Babazadeh teaches a method (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
measuring a current (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0013-0014]) in a conductor (Figs. 1-4; [0013-0018, 0028, 0029]; buck, boost, buck-boost, flyback and SEPIC converters) in successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0014]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”) using a current measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation),
wherein measuring the current (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation), in each of the successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; [0014]), comprises adjusting a start measurement value of the measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; controller, 106) based on a measurement value obtained in a preceding measurement cycle (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”).
Regarding claim 2, Babazadeh further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the start measurement value is obtained in the preceding measurement cycle at a time instance that is different from a beginning of the preceding measurement cycle and that is different from an end of the preceding measurement cycle (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”).
Regarding claim 3, Babazadeh further teaches the method of claim 1, wherein measuring the current comprises measuring the current in a power converter (Figs. 1-4; [0013-0018, 0028, 0029]; converter) that includes at least one electronic switch (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; switching regulator).
Regarding claim 4, Babazadeh further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein each of the successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”) is during an on-time of the at least one electronic switch (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; switching regulator) and is shorter than the on-time of the at least one electronic switch (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; switching regulator).
Regarding claim 6, Babazadeh further teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the power converter is selected from the group consisting of: a buck converter ([0013]; buck converter); a boost converter ([0013]; boost converter); a buck-boost converter ([0013]; buck-boost converter); a flyback converter ([0013]; flyback converter); and a Sepic converter ([0013]; SEPIC converter).
Regarding claim 7, Babazadeh teaches a current measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation) configured to measure a current (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0013-0014]) in a conductor (Figs. 1-4; [0013-0018, 0028, 0029]; buck, boost, buck-boost, flyback and SEPIC converters) in successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0014]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”),
wherein the current measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation) is further configured, in each of the successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; [0014]), to adjust a start measurement value based on a measurement value (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; controller, 106) obtained in a preceding measurement cycle (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”).
Regarding claim 8, Babazadeh further teaches the current measurement circuit according to claim 7, wherein the current measurement circuit is configured to obtain the start measurement value in the preceding measurement cycle at a time instance that is different from a beginning of the preceding measurement cycle and that is different from an end of the preceding measurement cycle (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”).
Regarding claim 9, Babazadeh teaches a power converter (Figs. 1-4), comprising:
at least one electronic switch (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; switching regulator);
a control circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; controller, 106) configured to control operation of the at least one electronic switch (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; switching regulator); and
a current measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation) configured to measure a current (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0013-0014]) in a conductor (Figs. 1-4; [0013-0018, 0028, 0029]; buck, boost, buck-boost, flyback and SEPIC converters) of the power converter (Figs. 1-4; [0013-0018, 0028, 0029]) in successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; Abstract; [0014]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”) and provide a current measurement signal based on the measured current to the control circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0016-0021]; controller, 106),
wherein the current measurement circuit (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; circuits implement cycle-by-cycle current estimation) is further configured, in each of the successive measurement cycles (Figs. 1-4; [0014]), to adjust a start measurement value based on a measurement value obtained in a preceding measurement cycle (Figs. 1-4; [0013, 0014, 0019-0024]; “The current is estimated cycle-by-cycle based on the measured current in the previous cycle and a prediction of the pulse width of the present cycle.”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 5, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claims 1, 3 and 4,
“…wherein the at least one electronic switch has a minimum on-time, and wherein the start measurement value is obtained at a time instance when the minimum on-time of the at least one electronic switch expires.”
Regarding claim 10, the prior art does not teach or suggest, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 9,
“…wherein the control circuit is configured to operate the at least one electronic switch in a plurality of successive drive cycles each including a minimum on-time; and wherein the current measurement circuit is configured to obtain the start measurement value at a time instance at which the minimum on-time in each of the plurality of successive drive cycles expires.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. US 2024/0006986 - A voltage spike measurement circuit for a power switch includes a rectifier unit, a capacitive divider unit and a discharge unit, the rectifier unit configured to receive a voltage signal at both ends of a power switch and output a rectified signal.
Kris et al. US 2016/0344289 - The average of a complex waveform measured over a time period may be determined by first converting the complex waveform to a voltage, then converting this voltage to a current and using this current to charge a capacitor.
Hartlieb et al. US 2010/0315091 - A method detects a short circuit in a load current path that includes an inductive load.
/RAUL J RIOS RUSSO/Examiner, Art Unit 2858