Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-17 & 20-23 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 5 & 19 have been cancelled.
Claims 1 & 15 have been amended.
Claims 21-23 have been added and are presented for examination.
Rejections of claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-17 & 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2025 have been withdrawn, however new grounds of rejections to these claims under 35 USC 103 have been introduced in view of new reference Xing et al. (CN 102045865)(herein after “Xing”).
Rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is moot since claim 19 has been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 2/20/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-17 & 20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made under 35 USC 103 in view of new reference Xing.
Regarding claim 1, applicant argues that amendment to claim 1 to include the limitation “receive, from a network device, a radio resource control, RRC, message comprising a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth” traverses the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Xing. Applicant’s arguments on page 6 of “Remarks” filed 2/20/2026 related to this amended limitation have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s further arguments made for claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant further argues that amendment to claim 1 to add the limitation “wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth” traverses the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026 because Sayenko and Bengtsson, individually or in combination, fail to disclose all the limitations in claim. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that, per 35 U.S.C. 103, a patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains (see §MPEP 2141).
Applicant argues that adding the limitation “wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth” to claim 1 leads to a “bracketing” configuration requirement where the analog filter is set to the next smaller standard bandwidth, while the digital filter is set to the next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth, which Sayenko and Bengtsson, individually or in combination, fail to disclose. Examiner respectfully disagrees noting that Sayenko discloses of configuring a digital filter to the next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (see Fig 8 & [0044]), while Bengtsson teaches of configuring an analog filter to the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 2A and [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having or ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the digital filter configured to the next larger standard channel bandwidth of an irregular channel bandwidth, as disclosed by Sayenko, with the analog filter configured to the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth, as taught by Bengtsson, to disclose the “bracketing” configuration of amended claim 1.
Based on the above discussion, examiner withdraws rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026, but introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Xing.
Regarding claim 15, applicant submits that this claim traverses the rejection of this claim under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026 based on similar amendments and arguments as made for claim 1 above. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejection of claim 15 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces a new ground of rejection of claim 15 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Xing.
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-17 & 20, applicant submits that these claims traverses the rejection of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026 based on amendments and arguments made for claims 1 & 15 above, and due to their dependency on claims 1 or 15. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 11/28/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces a new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Xing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-17, 20, 21 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayenko et al. (US 2023/0131663)(herein after “Sayenko”) in view of Bengtsson et al. (US 20180054239)(herein after “Bengtsson”), and further in view of Xing et al. (CN 102045865)(herein after “Xing”).
Regarding claim 1, Sayenko discloses a terminal device comprising: at least one processor (Fig 1 & [0028] disclose an electronic device 10 including processor 12.); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (Fig 1 & [0030] disclose memory 14 that may store programs or instructions that can be executed by processor 12.), cause the terminal device at least to:
receive, from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 12 & [0048] discloses a network may configure an irregular bandwidth. Fig 13 & [0049] disclose that the irregular bandwidth may be signaled through a SIB message from the network to a UE (i.e. UE receives an SIB configuration message).); and
configure a plurality of bandwidths for a plurality of filters based on the irregular channel bandwidth, wherein the plurality of filters comprise an analog filter and a digital filter (Fig 4 & [0038] disclose a receiver of an electronic device that includes analog filter 84 and digital filter 89. Analog filter 84 may be configured to remove signals received at frequencies other than the desired signal (e.g. bandwidth of the analog filter may be a carrier bandwidth). [0047] discloses that digital filters in UEs may be capable of filtering at sufficiently granular steps (e.g. 1 MHz steps) to filter for an irregular bandwidth of an allocated channel.), and
wherein a first bandwidth is a next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 12 & [0058] disclose an example where a network may schedule a UE to operate on a next smaller standard channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz) than that of the allocated channel bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz representing the irregular channel bandwidth).), and
a second bandwidth for the digital filter is not smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 12 & [0057] disclose the UE may use its digital filter to filter for the non-standard irregular allocated bandwidth of 7 MHz (i.e. not less than 7 MHz).); and
wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 8 & [0044] disclose the digital filter may be configured to filter for the next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth.).
Sayenko fails to disclose wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter.
However, Bengtsson discloses wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter (Fig 2A and [0046] disclose a Front End Module (FEM) 12 for translating analog RF signals to analog baseband signals including a bandpass filter (i.e. an analog filter). The analog filter bandwidth in based on LTE standard channel bandwidths, such as 5 MHz, which is a first bandwidth that is the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal device receive, from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth, configure a plurality of bandwidths for a plurality of filters based on the irregular channel bandwidth, wherein the plurality of filters comprise an analog filter and a digital filter, and wherein a first bandwidth is a next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth, and a second bandwidth for the digital filter is not smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth; and wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth, as disclosed by Sayenko, wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter, as taught by Bengtsson. The motivation to do so would be to save cost in implementing a UE device by only having analog filters based on standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz), with digital filters that can filter to any bandwidth based on a granularity (e.g. 1 MHz granularity that can filter to 5 MHz, 6 MHz, 7MHz, etc.) so that in scenarios where a blocking signal is present near to, but outside of, an irregular channel bandwidth (e.g. blocking signal is located from 3 MHz to 5 MHz above where a 7 MHz irregular channel bandwidth is located), the UE can filter out the entire blocking signal bandwidth using the UE’s next smaller standard channel bandwidth analog filter of 5 MHz, and still capture the full irregular channel bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz) by using a digital filter of up to the next larger standard channel bandwidth of 10 MHz.
Sayenko fails to disclose but Xing further teaches wherein the receiving of the configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth from the network device is via a radio resource control, RRC, message ([0109] discloses an eNb transmitting an RRC configuration message including non-standard bandwidth information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a terminal device receive, from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth, as disclosed by Sayenko, wherein the receiving of the configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth from the network device is via a radio resource control, RRC, message, as further taught by Xing. The motivation to do so would be to have all standards compliant terminal devices be capable of receiving standardized RRC configuration signaling indicating an eNBs ability to support an irregular bandwidth to insure interoperability between terminal devices and eNBs.
Regarding claim 2, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of filters supports a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (Fig 4 & [0049] discloses that digital filter 89 may be configured to support a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on).).
Regarding claim 3, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 2.
Sayenko discloses wherein each of the plurality of standard channel bandwidths equals to a multiple of a minimum the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) the fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) channel bandwidth (Fig 4, [0026] & [0049] discloses that digital filter 89 may be configured to support a plurality of standard channel bandwidths that are a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz 15 MHz, etc. where 5 MHz is the minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth).).
Regarding claim 6, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein the next larger standard channel bandwidth is a minimum standard channel bandwidth larger than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths supported by the digital filter (Fig 4 & [0049] discloses that digital filter 89 may be configured to support a plurality of standard channel bandwidths that are a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, 20 MHz, etc.). Fig 8 & [0044] disclose the digital filter may be configured to filter for the next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth. For example, for a 7 MHz irregular channel bandwidth, the next larger standard channel bandwidth for the digital filter would be 10 MHz, which is the minimum standard bandwidth (i.e. less than 15 MHz, 20 MHz, etc.) larger than the irregular channel bandwidth among the plurality of standard channel bandwidths supported by the digital filter.).
Regarding claim 7, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is the irregular channel bandwidth ([0049] discloses that more advanced UEs may have their digital filters configured to filter the allocated bandwidth (i.e. the irregular channel bandwidth) using appropriate increments (e.g. a second bandwidth for the digital filter may be 7 MHz based on a 5 MHz standard channel bandwidth plus an increment of 2 MHz).).
Regarding claim 8, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein the next smaller standard channel bandwidth is a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths ([0026] discloses standard channel bandwidths supported by 3GPP such as 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, etc.. Fig 12 & [0058] disclose an example where a network may schedule a UE to operate on a next smaller standard channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz) than that of the allocated channel bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz representing the irregular channel bandwidth). 5 MHz represents a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz.).
Sayenko fails to disclose wherein the next smaller standard channel bandwidth, that is a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths, is supported by the analog filter.
However, Bengtsson teaches wherein the next smaller standard channel bandwidth, that is a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths, is supported by the analog filter (Fig 2A and [0046] disclose a Front End Module (FEM) 12 for translating analog RF signals to analog baseband signals including a bandpass filter (i.e. an analog filter). The analog filter bandwidth may be any one of a plurality of LTE standard channel bandwidths, such as 1.4 MHz, 3 MHz, 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz or 20 MHz). Thus, the 5 MHz channel bandwidth, representing the next smaller standard channel bandwidth than the 7 MHz irregular bandwidth which is also the maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth, is supported by the analog filter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the terminal of claim 1 wherein the next smaller standard channel bandwidth is a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths, as disclosed by Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing, wherein the next smaller standard channel bandwidth, that is a maximum standard channel bandwidth smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth among a plurality of standard channel bandwidths, is supported by the analog filter, as taught by Bengtsson. The motivation to do so would be to maximize throughput capability for a UE device only capable of standard bandwidth analog filtering by using a maximum standard bandwidth analog filter (e.g. 5 MHz) that is less than an irregular bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz).
Regarding claim 10, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein the terminal device is further caused to: receive a signal with an adjacent channel interference (Fig 11 & [0046] disclose a UE receiving a blocking signal 132 resulting in adjacent channel interference to an irregular 7 MHz bandwidth carrier.);
filter the adjacent channel interference by the analog filter with the first bandwidth (Fig 11 & [0047] disclose that a network may configure a channel to the next higher standard channel size of the 7 MHz irregular channel bandwidth, specifically to 10 MHz which would them be the bandwidth for the analog filter. The 10 MHz analog filter then filters out part of the adjacent channel interference 5 MHz blocking signal.); and
further filter the adjacent channel interference by the digital filter with the second bandwidth (Fig 11 & [0047] disclose in cases where the UE is capable of digital filtering at granular steps, the UE may further filter the adjacent channel interference by filtering at the irregular bandwidth of 7 MHz.).
Regarding claim 11, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 1.
Sayenko discloses wherein the terminal device is further caused to: get updated based on a configuration of the plurality of filters (Fig 14 & [0055]-[0056] disclose a UE receiving an allocated bandwidth from a base station through steps 162 and 164. The UE then determines whether it can filter, based on its plurality of filter capabilities, the allocated bandwidth and reports this to the base station in step 172. The base station then determines whether the UE can filter the allocated bandwidth in step 174, and if so, then the base station, in step 176, sends an update to reconfigure the UE to operate on a next high standard channel bandwidth greater than the allocated bandwidth and may also send an update to reconfigure the UE to operate on a non-standard channel bandwidth to optimize its filter configuration.).
Regarding claim 12, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 11.
Sayenko discloses, wherein at least one of the plurality of filters is updated to support the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 14 & [0053]-[0057] disclose a base station configuring a UE to use a standard channel bandwidth equal to an allocated bandwidth in step 164. The UE then uses a digital filter to filter for a standard channel bandwidth in step 165. Then, in step 172, the UE reports its filtering capability to a base station and in step 174 the base station determines whether the UE can filter the allocated bandwidth. If so, then the base station, in step 176, sends an update to reconfigure the UE to operate on a next high standard channel bandwidth greater than the allocated bandwidth and may also send an update to reconfigure the UE to operate on a non-standard channel bandwidth to optimize its filter configuration. The UE then updates its digital filter to filter for the non-standard bandwidth in step 178.).
Regarding claim 13, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 2.
Sayenko discloses wherein the irregular channel bandwidth is different from each of the standard channel bandwidths ([0049] discloses an irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz that is different from each of a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on).).
Regarding claim 14, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal of claim 2.
Sayenko discloses wherein each of the standard channel bandwidths is equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth ([0026] & [0049] discloses a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on) equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth of 5 MHz.); and
wherein the irregular channel bandwidth is not equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth ([0049] discloses an irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz that is not a multiple of the minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth of 5 MHz.).
Regarding claim 15, Sayenko discloses a method comprising: receiving, by a terminal device from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth ([0006] & [0007] disclose a methods performed by a wireless communication network that configures UE equipment for carrier bandwidths based on allocation bandwidths. Fig 12 & [0048] discloses the method may include a network configuring an irregular bandwidth. Fig 13 & [0049] disclose that the irregular bandwidth may be signaled through a SIB message from the network to a UE (i.e. UE receives an SIB configuration message).); and
configuring, by the terminal device, a plurality of bandwidths for a plurality of filters based on the irregular channel bandwidth, wherein the plurality of filters comprise an analog filter and a digital filter (Fig 4 & [0038] disclose a receiver of an electronic device that includes analog filter 84 and digital filter 89. Analog filter 84 may be configured to remove signals received at frequencies other than the desired signal (e.g. bandwidth of the analog filter may be a carrier bandwidth). [0047] discloses that digital filters in UEs may be capable of filtering at sufficiently granular steps (e.g. 1 MHz steps) to filter for an irregular bandwidth of an allocated channel.),
wherein a first bandwidth is a next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 12 & [0058] disclose an example where a network may schedule a UE to operate on a next smaller standard channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz) than that of the allocated channel bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz representing the irregular channel bandwidth).), and
a second bandwidth for the digital filter is not smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 12 & [0057] disclose the UE may use its digital filter to filter for the non-standard irregular allocated bandwidth of 7 MHz (i.e. not less than 7 MHz).); and
wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth (Fig 8 & [0044] disclose the digital filter may be configured to filter for the next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth.).
Sayenko fails to disclose wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter.
However, Bengtsson discloses wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter (Fig 2A and [0046] disclose a Front End Module (FEM) 12 for translating analog RF signals to analog baseband signals including a bandpass filter (i.e. an analog filter). The analog filter bandwidth in based on LTE standard channel bandwidths, such as 5 MHz, which is a first bandwidth that is the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a terminal device to receive, from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth, configure a plurality of bandwidths for a plurality of filters based on the irregular channel bandwidth, wherein the plurality of filters comprise an analog filter and a digital filter, and wherein a first bandwidth is a next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth, and a second bandwidth for the digital filter is not smaller than the irregular channel bandwidth; and wherein the second bandwidth for the digital filter is a next larger standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth as disclosed by Sayenko, wherein the first bandwidth of the next smaller standard channel bandwidth of the irregular channel bandwidth is for the analog filter, as taught by Bengtsson. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for saving cost in implementing a UE device by only having analog filters based on standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz), with digital filters that can filter to any bandwidth based on a granularity (e.g. 1 MHz granularity that can filter to 5 MHz, 6 MHz, 7MHz, etc.) so that in scenarios where a blocking signal is present near to, but outside of, an irregular channel bandwidth (e.g. blocking signal is located from 3 MHz to 5 MHz above where a 7 MHz irregular channel bandwidth is located), the UE can filter out the entire blocking signal bandwidth using the UE’s next smaller standard channel bandwidth analog filter of 5 MHz, and still capture the full irregular channel bandwidth (e.g. 7 MHz) by using a digital filter of up to the next larger standard channel bandwidth of 10 MHz.
Sayenko fails to disclose but Xing further teaches wherein the receiving of the configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth from the network device is via a radio resource control, RRC, message ([0109] discloses an eNb transmitting an RRC configuration message including non-standard bandwidth information.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a method for a terminal device to receive, from a network device, a configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth, as disclosed by Sayenko, wherein the receiving of the configuration of an irregular channel bandwidth from the network device is via a radio resource control, RRC, message, as further taught by Xing. The motivation to do so would be to have a method for all standards compliant terminal devices to be capable of receiving standardized RRC configuration signaling indicating an eNBs ability to support an irregular bandwidth to insure interoperability between terminal devices and eNBs.
Regarding claim 16, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the method of claim 15.
Sayenko discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of filters supports a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (Fig 4 & [0049] discloses that digital filter 89 may be configured to support a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on).).
Regarding claim 17, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the method of claim 16.
Sayenko discloses wherein each of the plurality of standard channel bandwidths equals to a multiple of a minimum the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) the fifth generation (5G) new radio (NR) channel bandwidth (Fig 4, [0026] & [0049] discloses that digital filter 89 may be configured to support a plurality of standard channel bandwidths that are a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz 15 MHz, etc. where 5 MHz is the minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth).).
Regarding claim 20, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the method of claim 16.
Sayenko discloses wherein the irregular channel bandwidth is different from each of the standard channel bandwidths ([0049] discloses an irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz that is different from each of a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on).);
wherein each of the standard channel bandwidths is equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth ([0026] & [0049] discloses a plurality of standard channel bandwidths (e.g. 5 MHz, 10 MHz, 15 MHz, and so on) equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth of 5 MHz.); and
wherein the irregular channel bandwidth is not equal to a multiple of a minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth ([0049] discloses an irregular channel bandwidth of 7 MHz that is not a multiple of the minimum 3GPP 5G NR channel bandwidth of 5 MHz.).
Regarding claim 21, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal device of claim 1. Sayenko discloses wherein the configuration of the irregular channel bandwidth indicates at least one of: a quantity of physical resource blocks, PRBs, of the irregular channel bandwidth ([0048]-[0049] disclose that a network may configure an irregular bandwidth through SIB signaling indicating an allocated bandwidth that may be expressed in a number of physical resource blocks (e.g. 52 PRBs).); or a subcarrier spacing, SCS, of the irregular channel bandwidth (optional).
Regarding claim 23, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal device of claim 1. Sayenko discloses wherein the plurality of filters comprise an analog filter and a digital filter arranged in a same signal path or common receiver chain (Fig 4 & [0038] discloses an analog filter 84 and a digital filter 89 is a same signal path or common receiver chain consisting of an LNA 82, the analog filter 84, a modulator 86, an ADC 88 and the digital filter 89.).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sayenko et al. (US 2023/0131663)(herein after “Sayenko”) in view of Bengtsson et al. (US 20180054239)(herein after “Bengtsson”) and Xing et al. (CN 102045865)(herein after “Xing”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Lesso et al. (GB 2606797)(herein after “Lesso”).
Regarding claim 22, Sayenko in view of Bengtsson and Xing disclose the terminal device of claim 1. Sayenko fails to disclose but Lesso further teaches wherein the analog filter comprises a Biquadratic, BQ, filter ([0016] discloses that an analog filter may comprise a biquadratic filter.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the terminal device of claim 1, as disclosed by Sayenko and Bengtsson and Xing, wherein the analog filter comprises a Biquadratic, BQ, filter, as further taught by Lesso. The motivation to do so would be to have a terminal device comprising an analog filter that is a BQ filter in order to provide versatility in being able to simultaneously support low-pass, high-pass and band-pass filtering for filtering of irregular bandwidth signals.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Schmidt et al. (WO 2017064101) discloses Supporting Flexible Bandwidth Operation in LTE.
Gheorghiu et al. (US 2021/0091897) discloses Flexible Spectrum Usage with Carrier Aggregation.
Dosho et al. (EP 1061647) discloses a Ladder Filter, Analog Equalizer and Signal Readout System.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419