DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. (US 2023/0009852 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Lin discloses a semiconductor device (Fig 28), comprising: a first source/drain region (234p); a conductive layer (258) over a top surface and upper half of sidewalls of the first source/drain region; and a first contact (260) connecting the first source/drain region to a back end of line (BEOL) through the conductive layer, a via and a metal line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin et al. (US 2023/0009852 A1).
Lin discloses a semiconductor device (Fig 28), comprising: a first source/drain region (234p); a conductive layer (258) over a top surface and upper half of sidewalls of the first source/drain region; and a first contact (260) connecting the first source/drain region.
Lin does not explicitly disclose that the contact connects the first source/drain region to a BEOL through the conductive layer, a via and a metal line. However, such a connection would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing as the connection of source/drain regions to a BEOL through the conductive layer, a via and a metal line is how the source/drain regions of a transistor are wired so that they may be addressed and form a functional device. This means of connecting a source/drain to the metallization layer of an integrated device is a standard practice in the art which is old and well-known.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of More (US 2022/0051949 A1).
Lin discloses a second source/drain region (234n) but does not disclose that the length of the first source/drain is larger than a length of the second source/drain.
More discloses forming a p-type source/drain (as is the first source/drain of Lin) to have a greater width (i.e. a larger length as the direction which defines length versus width of the source/drains is not claimed) than the n-type source/drain (as is the second source/drain of Lin) in order optimize the contact resistance of the p-type source/drain region for a logic device.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to form the source/drain contacts of Lin such that the p-type source/drain has a larger length than the n-type source/drain as suggested by More in order to optimize the contact resistance of the p-type source/drain region when integrated into a logic device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-18 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Park et al.(US 2025/0351567 A1) discloses a semiconductor device (Fig 3E) similar to that claimed in claim 1 and manufactured by the method of 11, including a top source/drain region (235); and a bottom source/drain region (135), wherein a length of the bottom source/drain region is larger than a length of the top source/drain region.
Park does not disclose a conductive layer over a top surface and upper half of sidewalls of the bottom source/drain region but rather makes contact to the bottom source/drain region through contact structure 118. It would not have been obvious to modify the bottom source/drain region of Park nor that of other prior art to have the conductive layer as claimed due to the increase in process complexity without a benefit recognized in the art. Even if a silicide was formed between source/drain 135 and contact 118, such a silicide would not extend over the top surface and upper half of the sidewalls as claimed.
Conclusion
/DANIEL P SHOOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896