DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: please change “incudes” to “includes”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention' s limitations. The recitation in the preamble is not given a patentable weight.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0030152).
Regarding to claim 9, Lee teaches an imprint die comprising:
a needle (Fig. 2, element 10); and
an introduction path that supplies a liquid to the needle (Fig. 2, element 17).
Regarding to claim 10, Lee teaches
the needle is attached to one surface of a needle base portion (Fig. 2, element 16a), and
the introduction path is provided to penetrate through the needle base portion near the needle (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 11, Lee teaches a plurality of the needles each being the needle (Fig. 2).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Streeter et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0228806).
Regarding to claim 9, Streeter teaches an imprint die comprising:
a needle (Fig. 16B, element 320); and
an introduction path that supplies a liquid to the needle (Fig. 16B, element 270).
Regarding to claim 10, Streeter teaches
the needle is attached to one surface of a needle base portion (Fig. 16B), and
the introduction path is provided to penetrate through the needle base portion near the needle (Fig. 16B).
Regarding to claim 11, Streeter teaches a plurality of the needles each being the needle (Fig. 16B).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0286618).
Regarding to claim 9, Choi teaches an imprint die comprising:
a needle (Fig. 2, element 310); and
an introduction path that supplies a liquid to the needle (Fig. 2, element 115).
Regarding to claim 10, Choi teaches
the needle is attached to one surface of a needle base portion (Fig. 2, element 200), and
the introduction path is provided to penetrate through the needle base portion near the needle (Fig. 2).
Regarding to claim 11, Choi teaches a plurality of the needles each being the needle (Fig. 2).
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fischer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2009/0234322).
Regarding to claim 9, Choi teaches an imprint die comprising:
a needle (Fig. 1B, element 108); and
an introduction path that supplies a liquid to the needle (Fig. 1B, element 104).
Regarding to claim 10, Fischer teaches
the needle is attached to one surface of a needle base portion (Fig. 1B, element 110), and
the introduction path is provided to penetrate through the needle base portion near the needle (Fig. 1B).
Regarding to claim 11, Fischer teaches a plurality of the needles each being the needle (Fig. 1B).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aoki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,299,606).
Regarding to claim 9, Aoki teaches an imprint die comprising:
a needle (Fig. 1D, element 54); and
an introduction path that supplies a liquid to the needle (Fig. 1D, element 58).
Regarding to claim 10, Aoki teaches
the needle is attached to one surface of a needle base portion (Fig. 1D, element 52), and
the introduction path is provided to penetrate through the needle base portion near the needle (Fig. 1D).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,293,983) in view of Aoki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,299,606).
Regarding to claim 1, Yamaguchi teaches a bump manufacturing method for manufacturing a bump on an object, the method comprising:
preparing an object that includes an electrode pad and a resist layer including an opening portion on the electrode pad (Fig. 1B; column 4, lines 41-42, an object that includes electrode pad 13/17 and a resist layer 16 including an opening portion on the electrode pad);
filing the opening portion with a metal particle dispersion by transferring the metal particle (Fig. 1C, column 4, lines 44-45); and
sintering the metal particle dispersion filling the opening portion (Fig. 1D, column 4, lines 46-48).
Yamaguchi discloses a filling could be done using an injection head (Fig. 6A, element 22b, column 22, line 36). However, Yamaguchi does not explicitly disclose inserting a needle having a diameter smaller than an opening diameter of the opening portion to the opening portion to come into contact with the electrode pad.
Aoki discloses inserting a needle having a diameter smaller than an opening diameter of the opening portion to the opening portion to come into contact with the electrode pad (Fig. 1D, inserting needle 54 having a diameter smaller than an opening diameter of the opening portion to the opening portion to come into contact with the electrode pad 12 via air). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Yamaguchi in view of Aoki to fill the openings by inserting a needle having a diameter smaller than an opening diameter of the opening portion to the opening portion to come into contact with the electrode pad in order to maintain a clear surface during filling.
Regarding to claim 2, Yamaguchi as modified discloses the filling of the metal particle dispersion is performed while the needle is pulled out of the opening portion (Aoki, Fig. 1D). Further, filling is performed while the needle is pulled out of the opening portion would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding to claim 3, Yamaguchi as modified discloses the needle is provided in an imprint die, and the imprint die includes an introduction path for introducing the metal particle dispersion to the needle near a root of the needle (Aoki, Fig. 1D).
Regarding to claim 6, Yamaguchi teaches the object is a semiconductor element (column 4, lines 34-35).
Regarding to claim 7, Yamaguchi teaches the object is a circuit board (column 25, lines 58-59).
Regarding to claim 8, Yamaguchi teaches the object includes a plurality of the electrode pads each being the electrode pad (Fig. 1, plurality of the electrode pads 13).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,293,983) and Aoki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,299,606), further in view of Lee et al. (U.S. Patent No. 10,376,615).
Regarding to claim 4, Yamaguchi as modified discloses the needle is provided in an imprint die, and the imprint die for introducing the metal particle dispersion to the needle (Aoki, Fig. 1D). Yamaguchi as modified does not disclose the imprint die includes a porous body. Lee discloses an imprint die includes a porous body (Fig. 5). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to include a porous body for introducing the metal particle dispersion to the needle in order to increase viscosity, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamaguchi et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,293,983) and Aoki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,299,606), further in view of Urich (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0196515).
Regarding to claim 5, Yamaguchi as modified does not disclose in the inserting of the needle, at least one of the object and the needle is vibrated in a direction parallel to a front surface of the object. Urich discloses in the inserting of the needle, at least one of the object and the needle is vibrated in a direction parallel to a front surface of the object ([0057], lines 5-8). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to apply vibration to the needle in a direction parallel to a front surface of the object in order to prevent forming of voids, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-11305058-B2, US-9831201-B2, US-10814116-B2, and US-20070017533-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose “filing the opening portion with a metal particle dispersion by transferring the metal particle dispersion to the needle and sintering the metal particle dispersion filling the opening portion.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897