DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hieda (US 2004/0079980.)
In regard to claim 1, in fig. 2, Hieda discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a device layer on a substrate 10 (semiconductor substrates include device layer 11, for example, para [0034]);
an interconnection layer 24 disposed on the device layer, wherein the interconnection layer includes conductive interconnections forming a plurality of layers; and
first and second capacitor structures A and B disposed inside the interconnection layer,
wherein each of the first and second capacitor structures includes:
electrode layers 13/17 spaced apart from each other in a vertical direction and forming three or more layers (para [0035]);
dielectric layers 16 between the electrode layers;
conductive vias 25, for example, respectively connected to one of the electrode layers and extending vertically;
a first connection terminal 26 electrically connected to a lowermost electrode layer; and
a second connection terminal 26 electrically connected to at least one of the electrode layers,
wherein the first capacitor structure and the second capacitor structure include the same number of electrode layers, and wherein a first capacitance of the first capacitor structure is
different from a second capacitance of the second capacitor structure (capacitor A has two dielectric layers formed of different dielectric materials 14 and 16; thus, has a different capacitance, para [0035].)
Regarding claim 5, wherein the dielectric layers comprise silicon nitride (para [0044].)
Regarding claim 6, wherein a second connection terminal included in the first capacitor structure is in contact with a plurality of conductive vias. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 7, wherein the conductive interconnections comprise lower interconnections 12, wherein the capacitor structures are disposed on upper surfaces of the lower interconnections. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 9, wherein at least one of electrode layers included in the first capacitor structure is not electrically connected to the first connection terminal and the second connection terminal. Fig. 2.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the number of conductive vias included in the first capacitor structure is different from the number of conductive vias included in the second capacitor structure. Figs/ 1-2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hieda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2024/0313041, hereinafter, Tsai.)
Regarding claim 2, Hieda discloses all of the claimed limitations as mentioned above. Hieda also discloses the electrodes are made of TiN and the conductive interconnection 25 is made of metal, except further mentioning which metal. Tsai, in fig. 1, discloses an analogous semiconductor device 2 including capacitor formed on a device layer of a substrate 10 and capacitors 46A, 46B, and 46C. Tsai further teaches the interconnect made of copper, Cu (para [0020], a common metal that provides better conductivity and availability.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the application was filed to use the metal as taught in order to take the advantage.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the electrode layers comprise a material different from a material of the conductive interconnections. Layer in via 25 is made of metal and electrodes are made of TiN (see the description in paras [0051] and [0036].)
Regarding claim 4, wherein a specific resistance of the electrode layers is greater than a specific resistance of the conductive interconnections, copper and TiN.
Regarding claim 8, Tsai further discloses wherein the first capacitor structure is located on a different vertical level from the second capacitor structure. Fig. 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not show wherein the semiconductor device further comprises a third capacitor structure,
wherein the number of electrode layers included in the third capacitor structure is different from the number of electrode layers included in the first capacitor structure, and
a third capacitance of the third capacitor structure is different from the first capacitance and the second capacitance.
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Conclusion
/NATHAN W HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2814