DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 4, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Singh (10,328,411). Regarding claim 1, Singh discloses a method and apparatus comprising a laser Doppler vibrometer 1400 in operative communication with a controller 730; the laser Doppler vibrometer comprising a laser 702 configured to emit a laser beam 704 toward an object 708 (106 in Fig. 1), the laser Doppler vibrometer comprising a sensor 1402 configured to sense a reflected laser pattern, wherein the reflected laser pattern comprises a reflection of the laser beam bouncing off the object; and a cutting tool 116 in operative communication with a controller 120 (See Figs. 1 and 14, See Col. 5, lines 49 – 67, Col. 6, lines 26 – 32, Col. 7, lines 6 – 44, Col. 15, lines 20 – 43 and Col. 16, lines 2 – 27).
Regarding claim 2, the object 708 comprises a side surface of a substrate having a coating attached to a substrate upper surface, the substrate upper surface being adjacent to the side surface (See Figs. 1 and 14, See Col. 9, lines 6 – 29).
Regarding claim 3, the reflected laser pattern indicates a level of vibration that the substrate is experiencing as a result of the cutting tool activity during dressing of the coating (See Col. 15, lines 20 – 44).
Regarding claim 4, the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect the acceleration of a vibration along the side surface at a variety of locations along the side surface (See Col. 15, lines 20 – 44 and Col. 16, lines 2 – 27).
Regarding claim 8, the laser Doppler vibrometer is in operative communication with a controller 730; the laser Doppler vibrometer comprises a laser 1402 configured to emit a laser beam 704 toward a side surface of a substrate 708 having a coating attached to a substrate upper surface, the substrate upper surface being adjacent to the side surface, the laser Doppler vibrometer comprising a sensor 1402 configured to sense a reflected laser pattern, wherein the reflected laser pattern comprises a reflection of the laser beam bouncing off the side surface; and a cutting tool 116 in operative communication with a controller 120, wherein the reflected laser pattern indicates a level of vibration that the substrate is experiencing as a result of the cutting tool activity during dressing of the coating (See Figs. 1 and 14, See Col. 5, lines 49 – 67, Col. 6, lines 26 – 32, Col. 7, lines 6 – 44, Col. 15, lines 20 – 43 and Col. 16, lines 2 – 27).
Regarding claim 9, the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect the acceleration of a vibration along the side surface at a variety of locations along the side surface (See Col. 15, lines 20 – 44 and Col. 16, lines 2 – 27). Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 5 - 7 and 10 - 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.6. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect and measure a vibration at a location A proximate to a cutting tool area of impact mapped along the side surface; the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect another vibration at a location B along the side surface distal from the cutting tool area of impact” (referring to claim 5), “acceleration of the vibration detected at each of the locations A and B is determined and compared with a database of vibration data, the database of vibration being in operative communication with the controller” (referring to claim 6) and “the database of vibration data is configured retrievable during a coating dressing operation and relied upon to a provide predetermined acceleration threshold for the substrate and coating; wherein the predetermined acceleration threshold is configured to actuate the controller to send a signal to cease movement of the cutting tool towards the substrate upper surface” (referring to claim 7) in combination with the other limitatios presented in claim 1, “the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect and measure a vibration at a location A proximate to a cutting tool area of impact mapped along the side surface; the laser Doppler vibrometer is configured to detect another vibration at a location B along the side surface distal from the cutting tool area of impact” (referring to claim 10), “acceleration of the vibration detected at each of the locations A and B is determined and compared with a database of vibration data, the database of vibration data being in operative communication with the controller” (referring to claim 11), “the database of vibration data is configured retrievable during a coating dressing operation and relied upon to a provide predetermined acceleration threshold for the substrate and coating; wherein the predetermined acceleration threshold is configured to actuate the controller to send a signal to cease movement of the cutting tool towards the substrate upper surface” (referring to claim 12) and “. “a debris removal device in operative communication with the cutting tool area of impact, the debris removal device configured to remove airborne cuttings and dust produced from the coating materials removed by the cutting tool, wherein the debris removal device clears away the airborne materials enabling the laser Doppler vibrometer scanning of the substrate” (referring to claim 13) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 8.
7. Claims 14 – 20 are allowed.
8. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The primary reasons for indicating allowable subject matter is that the prior art does not anticipate or make obvious the provisions of “mapping the various substrate materials and coatings creating a predetermined acceleration threshold map, the predetermined acceleration threshold map indicates the location of a substrate upper surface”, as well as, “avoiding cutting tool contact with the substrate upper surface, responsive to the predetermined acceleration threshold indication signal” (referring to claim 15), “coupling the laser Doppler vibrometer in operative communication with the controller; the laser Doppler vibrometer comprising a laser configured to emit a laser beam toward the target substrate side surface, the laser Doppler vibrometer comprising a sensor configured to sense a reflected laser pattern, wherein the reflected laser pattern comprises a reflection of the laser beam bouncing off the target substrate side surface; and the cutting tool in operative communication with the controller” (referring to claim 16), “configuring the laser Doppler vibrometer to detect and measure a vibration at a location A proximate to a cutting tool area of impact mapped along the side surface; and configuring the laser Doppler vibrometer to detect another vibration at a location B along the side surface distal from the cutting tool area of impact”(referring to claim 17), “detecting acceleration of the vibration detected at each of the locations A and B; determining and comparing the vibration detected at each of the locations A and B with a database of vibration data, the database of vibration data being in operative communication with the controller” (referring to claim 18), “configuring the database of vibration data retrievable during a coating dressing operation; and configuring the database of vibration data to provide the predetermined acceleration threshold for the target substrate and coating system; and configuring the predetermined acceleration threshold to actuate the controller to send a signal to cease movement of the cutting tool towards the target substrate upper surface” (referring to claim 19) and “a debris removal device in operative communication with the cutting tool area of impact; configuring the debris removal device to remove airborne cuttings and dust produced from coating materials removed by the cutting tool; and clearing away the airborne cuttings and dust enabling scanning of the target substrate by the laser Doppler vibrometer” (referring to claim 20) in combination with the other limitations presented in claim 14.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. 10. Hopkins et al. (2026/0118237) disclose systems and methods for performing response testing at low temperatures. Hoyle et al. (2024/0383088) disclose a method of operating a machine tool apparatus. Koshiishi (11,040,424) discloses a spindle abnormality detection device. Liu et al. (CN107932189) disclose a satellite structure finishing process vibration monitoring method. Li et al. (WO2018098656) disclose a laser vibration detector based machine cutting real-time vibration monitoring device and vibration detection method. Murozaki et al. (JP2004117001) disclose a laser doppler vibrometer.11. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON whose telephone number is (571)272-2176. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9am-5pm.
/OCTAVIA HOLLINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855 7/24/26