DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Notes: when present, semicolon separated fields within the parenthesis (; ;) represent, for example, as (30A; Fig 2B; [0128]) = (element 30A; Figure No. 2B; Paragraph No. [0128]). For brevity, the texts “Element”, “Figure No.” and “Paragraph No.” shall be excluded, though; additional clarification notes may be added within each field. The number of fields may be fewer or more than three indicated above. These conventions are used throughout this document.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Choung et al. (US 20220077251 A1, hereinafter Choung).
Re: Independent Claim 18, Choung teaches a display device (Fig. 1A) comprising:
Choung’s Figure 1A-Annotated.
a lower electrode (104 an anode having left and right portions in [0027], Fig. 1A);
a first organic layer (112-left OLED material in [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) which covers the lower electrode (104-left) and emits light based on application of voltage ([0003]);
a second organic layer (112-right OLED material in [0029], Fig. 1A-Annotated) which is spaced apart from the first organic layer (112-left), covers the lower electrode (104-right) and emits light based on application of voltage ([0003]);
a partition (110 overhang structures including two portions 110A and 110B in [0030, 0040], Fig. 1A) which includes a conductive lower portion (110A made of a conductive material in [0030], Fig. 1A) and an upper portion (110B made of a conductive material in [0040], Fig. 1A) having an end portion protruding (Fig. 1A) from a side surface of the lower portion (110A) and is at least partly located between the first organic layer (112-left) and the second organic layer (112-right);
a first upper electrode (114-left a cathode in [0032], Fig. 1A-Annotated) which covers the first organic layer (112-left) and is in contact with the lower portion (110A); and
a second upper electrode (114-right a cathode in [0032], Fig. 1A-Annotated) which covers the second organic layer (112-right) and is in contact with the lower portion (110A).
Re: Claim 19, Choung discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein the first organic layer (112-left) and the second organic layer (112-right) emit light exhibiting a same color based on application of voltage ([0003]).
Re: Claim 20, Choung discloses the display device of claim 18, wherein the partition (110) has: a first aperture (110-A-1 an aperture between two partitions 110 in Fig. 1A-Annotated) which overlaps the first organic layer (112-left); and a second aperture (110-A-2 an aperture between two partitions 110 in Fig. 1A-Annotated) which overlaps the second organic layer (112-right).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon et al. (US 20210359047 A1, hereinafter Yoon) in view of Choung et al. (US 20220077251 A1, hereinafter Choung).
Re: Independent Claim 1, Yoon discloses a display device (Fig. 3) comprising:
Yoon’s Figure 3.
Yoon’s Figure 8-Annotated.
first (DA display area in [0097], Fig. 3) and second (CA component area in [0097], Fig. 3) areas each of which includes a plurality of subpixels (Pm, Pa plurality of subpixels included in pixels PG1 arranged in display area DA and second pixels PG2 arranged in component area CA in [0109,0111], Fig. 5); wherein
each of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Fig. 5, 8) includes:
a lower electrode (121, 121′, CM electrodes and connection metals CM in [0154,0155], Fig. 8-Annotated);
an organic layer (122, 122′ in [0169-0172], Fig. 8) which covers the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM) and emits light based on application of voltage ([0105]); and
an upper electrode (123 electrodes in [0164], Fig. 8) which covers the organic layer (122, 122′),
the second area (CA) has a plurality of transmissive areas (TA, Figs. 3,5) and do not overlap (an opening OP2 that correspond to the transmission portion TA in [0150], Fig. 8) the lower electrode (121, 121′), and
a resolution of the second area (CA) is lower than a resolution ([0063]) of the first area (DA).
Yoon does not expressly disclose a partition which includes a conductive lower portion and an upper portion having an end portion protruding from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels, an upper electrode in contact with the lower portion of the partition and the second area has a plurality of transmissive areas which are surrounded by the partition.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Choung discloses a partition (110 overhang structures including two portions 110A and 110B in [0030, 0040], Fig. 1A) which includes a conductive lower portion (110A made of a conductive material in [0030], Fig. 1A) and an upper portion (110B made of a conductive material in [0040], Fig. 1A) having an end portion protruding (Fig. 1A) from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels (110 surrounds 108a and 108b subpixels in [0029], Fig. 1A), an upper electrode (114 a cathode in [0032], Fig. 1A) in contact with the lower portion (Fig. 1A) of the partition (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Choung’s partition, wherein the partition includes a conductive lower portion and an upper portion having an end portion protruding from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels, an upper electrode in contact with the lower portion of the partition on the Yoon’s pixel defining layer to obtain the second area has a plurality of transmissive areas which are surrounded by the partition to define each sub-pixel of the sub-pixel circuit of the display and provide the inorganic overhang structures to remain in place after the sub-pixel circuit is formed ([0025], Rahman).
Re: Claim 2, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an organic insulating layer (117 an organic insulating layer in [0133], Fig. 8, Yoon) provided under the lower electrode (121,121’, CM, Fig. 1A, Yoon); and a rib (119-SPC a pixel-defining layer in [0155], Fig. 8, Yoon) which covers an end portion of the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) and the organic insulating layer (117, Yoon) and has a pixel aperture (Fig. 8, Yoon) in each of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Yoon), wherein the organic layer (122, 122′, Yoon) covers the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) through the pixel aperture (Fig. 8, Yoon), and the partition (Yoon’s 110 applied to Choung) is provided on the rib (119-SPC from Yoon).
Re: Claim 3, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 2,
Yoon modified by Choung does not expressly disclose wherein the transmissive areas overlap the organic insulating layer and the rib.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. At meantime, Yoon discloses an opening OP2 that correspond to the transmission portion TA, overlapping the organic insulating layer 117a in [0150], Fig, 8, but not the rid 119, however if OP2 has a larger size, the TA must overlap 117a and 119”, therefore, the size of the transmissive areas is a result effective variable. It has been held that is not inventive to discover the optimum size relation between the transmissive areas, the organic insulating layer and the rib by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib to meet the requirements of the transmissive areas according to the characteristics and design of the device ([0073], 0150], Yoon).
Re: Claim 4, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 2, wherein at least one of the organic insulating layer (117, Yoon) and the rib (119, Yoon) has an aperture which overlaps (117 overlap TA, Fig.8) the transmissive area (TA, Yoon).
Re: Claim 5, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the first area (DA, Yoon) does not have (Fig. 3, Yoon) the transmissive areas (TA, Yoon).
Re: Claim 6, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of pixel circuits (main pixel circuit PCm and the auxiliary pixel circuit PCa in [0190], Fig. 11, Yoon) which apply voltage ([0136], Yoon) to the lower electrodes (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Yoon), wherein the pixel circuit (PCm, Yoon) of at least one of the subpixels (PCm) provided in the second area (CA, Yoon) is provided (PCa is provided in DA) in the first area (DA, Yoon).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Choung and further in view of Park et al. (US 20210399081 A1, hereinafter Park).
Re: Claim 7, Yoon modified by Choung discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view.
Yoon modified by Choung does not expressly disclose wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Park discloses wherein each of the transmissive areas (TA transmissive area, in [0046, 0186], Fig. 9) is circular as seen in plan view (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Park’s feature wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view to the combination of Yoon and Choung to may reduce or minimize loss of light transmittance ([0005], Park)
Claim(s) 8-16 is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Choung and further in view of Lee et al. (US 20230171994 A1, hereinafter Lee).
Re: Independent Claim 8, Yoon discloses a display device (Fig. 3) comprising:
first (DA display area in [0097], Fig. 3) and second (CA component area in [0097], Fig. 3) areas each of which includes a plurality of subpixels (Pm, Pa plurality of subpixels included in pixels PG1 arranged in display area DA and second pixels PG2 arranged in component area CA in [0109,0111], Fig. 5); wherein
each of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Fig. 5, 8) includes:
a lower electrode (121, 121′, CM electrodes and connection metals CM in [0154,0155], Fig. 8-Annotated);
an organic layer (122, 122′ in [0169-0172], Fig. 8) which covers the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM) and emits light based on application of voltage ([0105]); and
an upper electrode (123 electrodes in [0164], Fig. 8) which covers the organic layer (122, 122′),
the second area (CA) has a plurality of transmissive areas (TA, Figs. 3,5) and do not overlap (an opening OP2 that correspond to the transmission portion TA in [0150], Fig. 8) the lower electrode (121, 121′),
the subpixels include:
a first subpixel (Pm, Fig. 5) provided in the first area (DA); and a second subpixel (Pa, Fig. 5) provided in the second area (CA) and displaying a same color as the first subpixel (for example, a blue subpixel Pb in DA and a blue subpixel Pb in CA, Fig. 5).
Yoon does not expressly disclose a partition which includes a conductive lower portion and an upper portion having an end portion protruding from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels, an upper electrode in contact with the lower portion of the partition and the second area has a plurality of transmissive areas which are surrounded by the partition and the first subpixel and the second subpixel have shapes or sizes different from each other.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Choung discloses a partition (110 overhang structures including two portions 110A and 110B in [0030, 0040], Fig. 1A) which includes a conductive lower portion (110A made of a conductive material in [0030], Fig. 1A) and an upper portion (110B made of a conductive material in [0040], Fig. 1A) having an end portion protruding (Fig. 1A) from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels (110 surrounds 108a and 108b subpixels in [0029], Fig. 1A), an upper electrode (114 a cathode in [0032], Fig. 1A) in contact with the lower portion (Fig. 1A) of the partition (110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Choung’s partition, wherein the partition includes a conductive lower portion and an upper portion having an end portion protruding from a side surface of the lower portion, and surrounds each of the subpixels, an upper electrode in contact with the lower portion of the partition on the Yoon’s pixel defining layer to obtain the second area has a plurality of transmissive areas which are surrounded by the partition to define each sub-pixel of the sub-pixel circuit of the display and provide the inorganic overhang structures to remain in place after the sub-pixel circuit is formed ([0025], Choung).
Yoon modified by Choung does not expressly disclose the first subpixel and the second subpixel have shapes or sizes different from each other.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Lee discloses the first subpixel (EDb1 in region DA1, in [0066], Fig. 2) and the second subpixel (EDb2 in region DA2, in [0068], Fig. 2) have shapes or sizes different from each other (different size in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Lee’s feature wherein the first subpixel and the second subpixel have shapes or sizes different from each other to the combination of Yoon and Choung to improve the transmittance of the light transmission area positioned on the front surface of the optical element ([0028], Lee).
Re: Claim 9, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8,
Yoon modified by Choung and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the size of the second subpixel is smaller than the size of the first subpixel.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“size of the second subpixel is smaller than the size of the first subpixel” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed relation of the size between the first and the second subpixels). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of size of the second subpixel is smaller than the size of the first subpixel” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art.
Therefore it is a prima facie obvious in view of In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see 2144.04 IV(A).
Re: Claim 10, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8,
Yoon modified by Choung and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the size of the second subpixel is larger than the size of the first subpixel.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“size of the second subpixel is larger than the size of the first subpixel” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed relation of the size between the first and the second subpixels). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of the size of the second subpixel is larger than the size of the first subpixel” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art.
Therefore it is a prima facie obvious in view of In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device, see 2144.04 IV(A).
Re: Claim 11, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8,
Yoon modified by Choung and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein the first subpixel is rectangular, and the second subpixel is circular.
However, the Applicant does not show persuasive evidence that the particular configuration wherein the first subpixel is rectangular, and the second subpixel is circular is critical for the invention.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention to choose the shape of the first subpixel and the second subpixel as it best fits its particular device (MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B)).
Re: Claim 12, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising: an organic insulating layer (117 an organic insulating layer in [0133], Fig. 8, Yoon) provided under the lower electrode (121,121’, CM, Fig. 1A, Yoon); and a rib (119-SPC a pixel-defining layer in [0155], Fig. 8, Yoon) which covers an end portion of the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) and the organic insulating layer (117, Yoon) and has a pixel aperture (Fig. 8, Yoon) in each of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Yoon), wherein the organic layer (122, 122′, Yoon) covers the lower electrode (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) through the pixel aperture (Fig. 8, Yoon), and the partition (Yoon’s 110 applied to Choung) is provided on the rib (119-SPC from Yoon).
Re: Claim 13, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 12,
Yoon modified by Choung does not expressly disclose wherein the transmissive areas overlap the organic insulating layer and the rib.
However, the Applicant has not presented persuasive evidence that the claimed
“transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib” is for a particular purpose that is critical to the overall claimed invention (i.e. the invention would not work without the specific claimed transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib). Also, the applicant has not shown that the claimed “difference of transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib” produces a result that was new or unexpected enough to patentably distinguish the claimed invention over the cited prior art. At meantime, Yoon discloses an opening OP2 that correspond to the transmission portion TA, overlapping the organic insulating layer 117a in [0150], Fig, 8, but not the rid 119, however if OP2 has a larger size, the TA must overlap 117a and 119”, therefore, the size of the transmissive areas is a result effective variable. It has been held that is not inventive to discover the optimum size relation between the transmissive areas, the organic insulating layer and the rib by routine experimentation (In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 II).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add transmissive areas overlapping the organic insulating layer and the rib to meet the requirements of the transmissive areas according to the characteristics and design of the device ([0073], 0150], Yoon).
Re: Claim 14, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 12, wherein at least one of the organic insulating layer (117, Yoon) and the rib (119, Yoon) has an aperture which overlaps (117 overlap TA, Fig.8) the transmissive area (TA, Yoon).
Re: Claim 15, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the first area (DA, Yoon) does not have (Fig. 3, Yoon) the transmissive areas (TA, Yoon).
Re: Claim 16, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, further comprising a plurality of pixel circuits (main pixel circuit PCm and the auxiliary pixel circuit PCa in [0190], Fig. 11, Yoon) which apply voltage ([0136], Yoon) to the lower electrodes (121, 121′, CM, Yoon) of the subpixels (Pm, Pa, Yoon), wherein the pixel circuit (PCm, Yoon) of at least one of the subpixels (PCm) provided in the second area (CA, Yoon) is provided (PCa is provided in DA) in the first area (DA, Yoon).
Claim(s) 17, is/are rejected under AIA 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon in view of Choung and further in view of Park et al. (US 20210399081 A1, hereinafter Park).
Re: Claim 17, Yoon modified by Choung and Lee discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view.
Yoon modified by Choung and Lee does not expressly disclose wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view.
However, in the same semiconductor device field of endeavor, Park discloses wherein each of the transmissive areas (TA transmissive area, in [0046, 0186], Fig. 9) is circular as seen in plan view (Fig. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the Park’s feature wherein each of the transmissive areas is circular as seen in plan view to the combination of Yoon, Choung and Lee to may reduce or minimize loss of light transmittance ([0005], Park).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Kim et al. (US 20240260391 A1) teaches “TRANSPARENT DISPLAY DEVICE”. This document is related to a transparent display device, according to an aspect of the present disclosure, the transparent display device includes a first substrate including a first area and a second area, the transparent display device includes an anode disposed on the first substrate and including a first anode disposed in the first area and a second anode corresponding to the second area, further, the transparent display device includes a first emission layer disposed on the first anode in the first area, and a second emission layer disposed on the first emission layer and the second anode in the second area, furthermore, the transparent display device includes a cathode disposed on the second emission layer. The first anode and the second anode include at least one transparent electrode layer, and the first anode further includes a reflective layer.
Lee et al. (US 11626569 B1) teaches “QUASI GLOBAL CATHODE CONTACT METHOD FOR ADVANCED PATTERNING”. This document is related to sub-pixel circuits and methods of forming sub-pixel circuits that may be utilized in a display such as an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display. The sub-pixel circuit includes a plurality of contact overhangs. The plurality of contact overhangs are disposed between adjacent sub-pixels of a sub-pixel circuit to be formed. The contact overhangs are formed over a metal grid exposed through a PDL structure. A cathode is deposited via evaporation deposition to be in contact with the contact overhang. The metal grid is perpendicular to a plurality of metal layers disposed on the substrate.
/SANDRA MILENA RODRIGUEZ VILLANUEVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2898
/JESSICA S MANNO/SPE, Art Unit 2898