DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species 2 in the reply filed on 7/21/26 is acknowledged.
Based on Applicant’s clarification regarding claim 7 in the Remarks (pp 6-7), Examiner now considers claim 7 as part of the elected invention (I) and species (2). Claims 1-11 and 15-20 are pending in this application. Claims 12-14 are withdrawn.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the 2D buffer layer grown in stacks along a direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located (subject matter of claim 8) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the term “close” in line 4 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “close” as - - closer - -. However, appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested. Claims 2-10 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections based on their dependencies on claim 1.
Regarding claim 11, the term “close” in line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “close” as - - closer - -. However, appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested.
Regarding claim 15, the term “close” in line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For the purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “close” as - - closer - -. However, appropriate correction and/or clarification is requested. Claims 16-20 inherit the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, rejections based on their dependencies on claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation).
Regarding claim 1, Dong discloses an epitaxial structure of a semiconductor device, comprising:
A substrate (6, Fig. 1) ([0029]);
A nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) located at a side of the substrate (6, Fig. 1), the nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of nucleation units (1, Fig. 1), surfaces, closer to the substrate, of the plurality of nucleation units being communicated with each other, and surfaces, away from the substrate, of the plurality of nucleation units being separated from each other ([0029]); and
A buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) located at a side, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer, the buffer layer comprising a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer (2, Fig. 1), and the 3D buffer layer being formed on a surface, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer ([0029]).
Regarding claim 7, Dong discloses the 3D buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) is grown directly along a direction perpendicular to a plane where the substrate (6, Fig. 1) is located.
Regarding claim 9, Dong discloses a nucleation unit (1, Fig. 1) is island-shaped ([0031]).
Regarding claim 10, Dong discloses a material of the substrate (6, Fig. 1) is silicon carbide ([0029]).
Regarding claim 11, Dong discloses a method comprising:
Providing a substrate (6, Fig. 1) ([0029]);
Forming a nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) on a side of the substrate (6, Fig. 1), the nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of nucleation units (1, Fig. 1), surfaces, closer to the substrate (6, Fig. 1), of the plurality of nucleation units (1, Fig. 1) being communicated with each other, and surfaces, away from the substrate, of the plurality of nucleation units being separated from each other; and
Forming a buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) on a side, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer, the buffer layer comprising a 3D buffer layer (2, Fig. 1), and the 3D buffer layer being formed on a surface, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer ([0029]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20090016051; published 2/13/09; references to English translation; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 2, Dong discloses at least a nucleation unit (1, Fig. 1) with a cross-section perpendicular to a plane of the substrate (6, Fig. 1) ([0029]) but does not disclose the shape of the cross-section is a trapezoid. However, Kim discloses a nucleation unit (215, Fig. 6-7) having a cross-section which is in the shape of a trapezoid. This has the advantage of promoting growth of an overlying compound semiconductor (pp 11-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Dong with a shape of the cross-section of at least a nucleation unit to be a trapezoid, as taught by Kim, so as to promote growth of an overlying layer.
Regarding claim 3, Dong and Kim disclose the first cross-section of at least a nucleation unit is a trapezoid (see claim 2 rejection above) but do not disclose the specific relationship between the edges, wherein a length of the first edge is P1, a length of the second edge is P2, where 1<P2/P1 ≤ 3; and, along the direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located, a distance between the first edge and the second edge is T1, where 10 nm ≤ T1 ≤ 100 nm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a relationship between edges of the cross-section of a nucleation unit to be 1<P2/P1 ≤ 3; and, along the direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located, a distance between the first edge and the second edge is T1, where 10 nm ≤ T1 ≤ 100 nm, wherein a length of the first edge is P1 and a length of the second edge is P2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Schultz et al. (U.S. 2018/0286954 A1; “Schultz”).
Regarding claim 4, Dong discloses the buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) comprises a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) ([0029]) but does not disclose the buffer layer further comprises a two-dimensional (2D) buffer layer. However, Schultz discloses a buffer layer comprises a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer and a two-dimensional (2D) buffer layer, and the 2D buffer layer is located at a side, away from a nucleation layer, of the 3D buffer layer ([0037]). This has the advantage of reducing defects in a subsequently formed compound semiconductor layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Dong with the buffer layer comprising a 2D buffer layer, as taught by Schultz, so as to improve the quality of a subsequently formed compound semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 5, Dong and Schultz disclose the buffer layer comprises a 3D buffer layer and a 2D buffer layer (see claim 4 rejection above) but do not disclose when the thickness of the 3D buffer is T2 and a thickness of the 2D buffer is T3, ¼ ≤T2/(T2+T3)≤ ½. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a thickness of the 3D buffer (T2) and a thickness of the 2D buffer (T3) to follow the condition of ¼ ≤T2/(T2+T3)≤ ½, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Dong and Schultz disclose the buffer layer comprises a 3D buffer layer and a 2D buffer layer (see claim 4 rejection above) but do not disclose when the thickness of the 3D buffer is T2 and a thickness of the 2D buffer is T3, 0.1 µm ≤ T2+T3 ≤ 10 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a thickness of the 3D buffer (T2) and a thickness of the 2D buffer (T3) to follow the condition of 0.1 µm ≤ T2+T3 ≤ 10 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Dong and Schultz disclose the 2D buffer layer is first grown (first layer, Fig. 3) in 2D along a direction parallel to a plane where the substrate is located to form a planar thin film, and then is grown in stacks (third layer, Mth layer, Fig. 3) along a direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located ([0038]-[0039]).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation) in view of Ren et al. (U.S. 2017/0294528 A; “Ren”).
Regarding claim 15, Dong discloses an epitaxial structure of a semiconductor device, comprising:
A substrate (6, Fig. 1) ([0029]);
A nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) located at a side of the substrate (6, Fig. 1), the nucleation layer (1, Fig. 1) comprising a plurality of nucleation units (1, Fig. 1), surfaces, closer to the substrate, of the plurality of nucleation units being communicated with each other, and surfaces, away from the substrate, of the plurality of nucleation units being separated from each other ([0029]); and
A buffer layer (2, Fig. 1) located at a side, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer, the buffer layer comprising a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer (2, Fig. 1), and the 3D buffer layer being formed on a surface, away from the substrate, of the nucleation layer ([0029]).
Yet, Dong does not disclose the semiconductor device further comprises a heterojunction structure located at a side, away from the substrate, of the epitaxial structure, and a gate, a source and a drain located at a side, away from the substrate, of the heterojunction structure, and the gate is located between the source and the drain. However, Ren discloses a semiconductor device further comprises a heterojunction structure located at a side, away from a substrate (13, Fig. 2), and a gate (4, Fig. 2), a source (3, Fig. 2) and a drain (5, Fig. 2) located at a side, away from the substrate, of the heterojunction structure, and the gate (4, Fig. 2) is located between the source (3, Fig. 2) and the drain (5, Fig. 2) ([0033], [0035]). This has the advantage of forming a HEMT device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Dong with a heterojunction structure, a gate, a source, and a drain, as taught by Ren, so as to more fully form a HEMT device.
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation) as modified by Ren et al. (U.S. 2017/0294528 A; “Ren”) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20090016051; published 2/13/09; references to English translation; “Kim”).
Regarding claim 16, Dong and Ren disclose at least a nucleation unit (Dong: 1, Fig. 1) with a cross-section perpendicular to a plane of the substrate (Dong: 6, Fig. 1) (Dong: [0029]) but do not disclose the shape of the cross-section is a trapezoid. However, Kim discloses a nucleation unit (215, Fig. 6-7) having a cross-section which is in the shape of a trapezoid. This has the advantage of promoting growth of an overlying compound semiconductor (pp 11-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Dong as modified by Ren with a shape of the cross-section of at least a nucleation unit to be a trapezoid, as taught by Kim, so as to promote growth of an overlying layer.
Regarding claim 17, Dong, Ren, and Kim disclose the first cross-section of at least a nucleation unit is a trapezoid (see claim 16 rejection above) but do not disclose the specific relationship between the edges, wherein a length of the first edge is P1, a length of the second edge is P2, where 1<P2/P1 ≤ 3; and, along the direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located, a distance between the first edge and the second edge is T1, where 10 nm ≤ T1 ≤ 100 nm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a relationship between edges of the cross-section of a nucleation unit to be 1<P2/P1 ≤ 3; and, along the direction perpendicular to the plane where the substrate is located, a distance between the first edge and the second edge is T1, where 10 nm ≤ T1 ≤ 100 nm, wherein a length of the first edge is P1 and a length of the second edge is P2, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dong (CN 207925476(U); published 9/28/18; reference to English translation) as modified by Ren et al. (U.S. 2017/0294528 A; “Ren”) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Schultz et al. (U.S. 2018/0286954 A1; “Schultz”).
Regarding claim 18, Dong and Ren disclose the buffer layer (Dong: 2, Fig. 1) comprises a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer (Dong: 2, Fig. 1) (Dong: [0029]) but do not disclose the buffer layer further comprises a two-dimensional (2D) buffer layer. However, Schultz discloses a buffer layer comprises a three-dimensional (3D) buffer layer and a two-dimensional (2D) buffer layer, and the 2D buffer layer is located at a side, away from the nucleation layer, of the 3D buffer layer ([0037]). This has the advantage of reducing defects in a subsequently formed compound semiconductor layer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the invention of Dong and Ren with the buffer layer comprising a 2D buffer layer, as taught by Schultz, so as to improve the quality of a subsequently formed compound semiconductor layer.
Regarding claim 19, Dong, Ren, and Schultz disclose the buffer layer comprises a 3D buffer layer and a 2D buffer layer (see claim 18 rejection above) but do not disclose when the thickness of the 3D buffer is T2 and a thickness of the 2D buffer is T3, ¼ ≤T2/(T2+T3)≤ ½. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a thickness of the 3D buffer (T2) and a thickness of the 2D buffer (T3) to follow the condition of ¼ ≤T2/(T2+T3)≤ ½, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Dong, Ren, and Schultz disclose the buffer layer comprises a 3D buffer layer and a 2D buffer layer (see claim 18 rejection above) but do not disclose when the thickness of the 3D buffer is T2 and a thickness of the 2D buffer is T3, 0.1 µm ≤ T2+T3 ≤ 10 µm. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select a thickness of the 3D buffer (T2) and a thickness of the 2D buffer (T3) to follow the condition of 0.1 µm ≤ T2+T3 ≤ 10 µm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/REEMA PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 9/16/2026