DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-28 were previously canceled. Claims 29-50 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29-31, 33-34, 42-44, and 46-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreon (US 2021/0086448 A1).
Regarding claims 29 and 31, Carreon teaches a method for printing a 3D part in a layer-wise manner (Fig 1 and ¶0030-0035,0043-0044), the method comprising providing a pool of polymerizable liquid in a vessel over a build window (a resin cassette (10) for an additive manufacturing apparatus includes a light transmissive window (11) and a circumferential frame (12) connected to and surrounding the window (11); the window (11) and frame (12) together form a well configured to receive a light polymerizable resin (21) (Fig 1 and ¶0030-0035); positioning a downward-facing build platform in the pool, thereby defining a build region above the build window and selectively curing a volume of polymerizable liquid in the build region by imparting electromagnetic radiation through the build window to form a printed layer of the part adhered to the build platform (a fluorophore layer is in or on the window, producing the object (31) from the data file and the resin (21) by intermittently and/or continuously exposing the resin (21) to patterned light from the light source of the UV light engine (14) to photopolymerize the resin (21), while advancing the carrier platform (12) and the resin cassette (10) away from one another) (Fig 1 and ¶0030-0035,0043-0044); and actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid (the photopolymerization reaction in stereolithography is exothermic; a cooler is operatively associated with the window (11) and the controller (18)) (Fig 1 and ¶0005,0016,0048).
Carreon teaches a method for printing a 3D part in a layer-wise manner comprising actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid, Carreon does not explicitly teach a method further comprising actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid such that the printed layer is between about 1° C. and about 30° C. below an average part temperature nor wherein the actively cooling step reduces the temperature of the printed layer to between about 5° C. and about 10° C. below the average part temperature.
However, Carreon teaches that the photopolymerization reaction in stereolithography is exothermic, and as the processes become more rapid, the amount of heat generated increases (¶0005). Carreon discloses that some heat generation can be favorable (as a warmer resin is less viscous and flows more easy), but too much heat, or irregular heat patterns, can cause damage to some windows, indicate a problem in the production process, or lead to warping or mechanical problems in the part being produced (¶0005).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon such that actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid such that the printed layer is between about 1° C. and about 30° C. below an average part temperature and wherein the actively cooling step reduces the temperature of the printed layer to between about 5° C. and about 10° C. below the average part temperature with a reasonable expectation of success to avoid warping or mechanical problems in the part being produced (¶0005).
Regarding claims 42 and 44, Carreon teaches a method for printing a 3D part in a layer-wise manner (Fig 1 and ¶0030-0035,0043-0044), the method comprising providing a pool of polymerizable liquid in a vessel over a build window (a resin cassette (10) for an additive manufacturing apparatus includes a light transmissive window (11) and a circumferential frame (12) connected to and surrounding the window (11); the window (11) and frame (12) together form a well configured to receive a light polymerizable resin (21) (Fig 1 and ¶0030-0035); positioning a downward-facing build platform in the pool, thereby defining a build region above the build window and selectively curing a volume of polymerizable liquid in the build region by imparting electromagnetic radiation through the build window to cause the polymerizable liquid to exothermically react and raise the temperature of the polymerizable liquid while forming a polymerized part layer that adheres to the build platform and the top surface of the optically transparent plate (a fluorophore layer is in or on the window, producing the object (31) from the data file and the resin (21) by intermittently and/or continuously exposing the resin (21) to patterned light from the light source of the UV light engine (14) to photopolymerize the resin (21), while advancing the carrier platform (12) and the resin cassette (10) away from one another; the photopolymerization reaction in stereolithography is exothermic) (Fig 1 and ¶0005,0030-0035,0043-0044); and actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the exothermic polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid (a cooler is operatively associated with the window (11) and the controller (18)) (Fig 1 and ¶0016,0048).
Carreon teaches a method for printing a 3D part in a layer-wise manner comprising actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the exothermic polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid, Carreon does not explicitly teach a method further comprising actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the exothermic polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid such that the printed layer is between about 1° C. and about 30° C. below an average part temperature nor wherein the actively cooling step reduces the temperature of the printed layer to between about 5° C. and about 10° C. below the average part temperature.
However, Carreon teaches that the photopolymerization reaction in stereolithography is exothermic, and as the processes become more rapid, the amount of heat generated increases (¶0005). Carreon discloses that some heat generation can be favorable (as a warmer resin is less viscous and flows more easy), but too much heat, or irregular heat patterns, can cause damage to some windows, indicate a problem in the production process, or lead to warping or mechanical problems in the part being produced (¶0005).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon such that actively cooling the build window to remove energy imparted by the electromagnetic radiation and the exothermic polymerization reaction of the polymerizable liquid such that the printed layer is between about 1° C. and about 30° C. below an average part temperature and wherein the actively cooling step reduces the temperature of the printed layer to between about 5° C. and about 10° C. below the average part temperature with a reasonable expectation of success to avoid warping or mechanical problems in the part being produced (¶0005).
Regarding claims 30 and 43, as applied to claims 29 and 42, Carreon teaches a method further comprising separating the cooled printed layer from the top surface of the build window; raising the build platform in a z-direction to a height of a next layer to be printed such that a gap is formed between the cooled printed layer and the build window such that the polymerizable liquid flows into the gap; and repeating the selectively curing, actively cooling, separating and raising steps until the 3D part is printed (Fig 1 and ¶0005,0030-0035,0043-0044).
Regarding claims 33-34 and 46-47, as applied to claims 29 and 42, Carreon teaches a method wherein the active cooling is continuous, wherein the active cooling utilizes conduction (Peltier coolers) (¶0048).
Claims 32, 35-37, 41, 45, and 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreon (US 2021/0086448 A1), as applied to claims 29 and 42, and in further view of Comb (US 2013/0186558 A1).
Regarding claims 32, 35-37, 41, 45, and 48-50, as applied to claims 29 and 42, Carreon does not teaches a method wherein the active cooling is transient; wherein the active cooling utilizes convection; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing air knives imparting a flow of a gas on a bottom surface of the window; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a flow of a cooling fluid between spaced apart panes of the build window; and wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing one or more thermoelectric devices contacting a bottom surface of the build window to conduct heat from the printed layer.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (active cooling; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Comb discloses the known technique of an active cooling device like a thermoelectric cooler, and active heat sink (e.g., liquid or air-cooled), an air blower (e.g., air knife, convection air tunnel), a phase change material (e.g., liquid water, liquid nitrogen, carbon dioxide, Freon, etc.), and/or other suitable cooling mechanism that removes thermal energy in a line or over an area (wherein the active cooling is transient; wherein the active cooling utilizes convection; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing air knives imparting a flow of a gas on a bottom surface of the window; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a flow of a cooling fluid between spaced apart panes of the build window; and wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing one or more thermoelectric devices contacting a bottom surface of the build window to conduct heat from the printed layer) (¶0083,0220).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon by applying the known technique wherein the active cooling is transient; wherein the active cooling utilizes convection; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing air knives imparting a flow of a gas on a bottom surface of the window; wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a flow of a cooling fluid between spaced apart panes of the build window; and wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing one or more thermoelectric devices contacting a bottom surface of the build window to conduct heat from the printed layer disclosed in Comb to the method disclosed in Carreon with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreon (US 2021/0086448 A1), as applied to claim 29, and in further view of Brewington (US 2011/0012969 A1).
Regarding claim 38, as applied to claim 29, Carreon does not teach a method wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a chilled roller contacting a bottom surface of the build window.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (active cooling; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Lee discloses the known technique wehrein active cooling comprises utilizing a chilled roller (¶0045).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon by applying the known technique wherein active cooling comprises utilizing a chilled roller disclosed in Brewington to the method disclosed in Carreon such that the chilled roller contacts a bottom surface of the build window with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreon (US 2021/0086448 A1), as applied to claim 29, and in further view of Lee (US 2019/0202124 A1).
Regarding claim 39, as applied to claim 29, Carreon does not teach a method wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a metal plate or shutter contacting a bottom surface of the build window.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (active cooling; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Lee discloses the known technique active cooling comprises utilizing a metal plate or shutter (¶0019-0020).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon by applying the known technique wherein active cooling comprises utilizing a metal plate or shutter disclosed in Lee to the method disclosed in Carreon such that the metal plate contacts a bottom surface of the build window with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carreon (US 2021/0086448 A1), as applied to claim 29, and in further view of Zhang (DE-102015009720-A1 - translation provided).
Regarding claim 40, as applied to claim 29, Carreon does not teach a method wherein the active cooling comprises utilizing a plurality of thermally conductive 1-dimensional strands embedded in the build window to conduct heat from the printed layer.
However, reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the applicant was concerned (active cooling; see MPEP 2141.01(a)), Lee discloses the known technique wherein active cooling comprises utilizing a conductor strand or a winding (utilizing a plurality of thermally conductive 1-dimensional strands) (Translation, Pg 3).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to modify the method disclosed in Carreon by applying the known technique wherein active cooling comprises utilizing a conductor strand or a winding disclosed in Zhang to the method disclosed in Carreon such that the plurality of conductor strands are embedded in the build window to conduct heat from the printed layer with predictable results and resulting in an improved method. MPEP 2143(D).
Double Patenting
Claims 29-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,608 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 29-41, the limitations recited in claims 1-6, 8, and 10-12 of the reference patent disclose a similar method.
Claims 42-50 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,128,608 B2 (reference patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 42-50, the limitations recited in claims 13-18 of the reference patent disclose a similar method.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hart (US 2018/0200790 A1) systems and tooling for cooling components during additive manufacturing (abstract), wherein build plates with built in cooling means below the build surface and system configurations for air cooling the component (¶0005).
/JAMEL M NELSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743