DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 17-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 19 November 2025.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: an abrasive cleaning component in claims 1 and 6 (corresponds to an abrasive surface, various abrasive materials, bristles; see paragraphs [0069]-[0070]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 6, 10-11, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steen, US 9,543,723.
Regarding claim 6, Steen discloses a cleaning tool capable of scouring a terminal of a charging socket of an electric vehicle (100, for cleaning terminals of a trailer light harness, see column 1 lines 21-23, 28-40; MPEP 2115 states: “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935)), the tool (100) comprising: a plug fitting extending outwardly from a terminal side of a connecting interface to be removably received by the charging socket (portion of 151 that includes 158 as shown in Figure 4; alternatively 150 or 151 when 103 is a connecting interface); further comprising: terminal receiving ports to receive the terminal while inserting the plug fitting into the socket (153, 154, or 158; Figure 4; receives 301 or 302, Figure 5), an abrasive cleaning component provided by an interfacing surface of the terminal receiving ports to contact the terminal (sanding elements 156 or sanding tube 158, column 3 lines 56-67); an operatively connected handle extending outwardly from an operator side of the connecting interface away from the plug fitting (101, Figures 4-5). Regarding claim 10, the terminal receiving ports comprise a stationary terminal receiving port (each of 153, 154, and/or 158 are stationary). Regarding claim 11, the abrasive cleaning component comprises an abrasive surface (sanding elements 156 or sanding tube 158, column 3 lines 56-67). Regarding claim 15, the terminal receiving ports comprise a control pilot receiving port and a proximity pilot receiving port (in that the ports 153 are capable of receiving a control pilot and a proximity pilot, see MPEP 2115, the claims are drawn to a cleaning tool).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dyke et al., US 8,627,534 in view of Snelling, GB 2244641 A and Girolstein, US 2023/0378704.
Regarding claim 1, Van Dyke et al. disclose the claimed invention including a cleaning tool (215) for scouring a terminal of a charging socket of an electric vehicle comprising (Abstract): a plug fitting extending outwardly from a terminal side of a connecting interface to be removably received by the charging socket (plug fitting comprises the unlabeled leftward extending portions of 220 as shown in Figure 2, the connecting interface includes the rightmost portion of 220), further comprising: stationary terminal receiving ports (port regions adjacent 230 that correspond to sockets 210, Figure 2 and column 3 lines 38-43 and 56-61), the terminal is scoured upon moving the terminal receiving ports relative to the terminal (column 2 lines 5-15), and wherein the connecting interface comprises an operator side facing away from the terminal side (Figure 2, rightmost side of 220). Regarding claim 2, the stationary terminal receiving ports (port regions adjacent 230 that correspond to sockets 210, Figure 2 and column 3 lines 38-43 and 56-61) are capable of corresponding to a control pilot terminal and a proximity pilot terminal of the charging socket (the claims are drawn to the cleaning tool that works on a charging socket, the tool of Van Dyke et al. is capable of cleaning a control pilot terminal and a proximity pilot terminal; MPEP 2115 states: “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).”).
Van Dyke et al. teach terminal receiving ports for receiving female connectors (Figure 2, female connectors are sockets 210) and recognize that the cleaning tool can also be used for male electrical connectors (column 3 lines 40-43) but fail to disclose that the receiving ports include a rotatable terminal receiving port capable of receiving a DC terminal while inserting the plug fitting into the charging socket. Also, VanDyke et al. does not describe a material for constructing the receiving ports.
Snelling teaches a cleaning tool (12) for scouring or cleaning electrical pins or pin sockets (16 or 17, Figures 1-2), the tool has a male cleaning structure (18, 22) for cleaning a socket (16, Figure 1) and a female cleaning structure (hollow 26 with spring 24, Figure 2) that receives an electrical pin that transmits DC electricity (page 2 lines 21-28). In particular regarding claim 1, Snelling teaches that the female cleaning structure is a rotatable terminal receiving port (Figure 2, the helical spring 24 undergoes rotation, page 1 lines 18-27) and receives a DC terminal pin (17, Figure 2, page 2 lines 21-28), there is an abrasive cleaning component provided by an interfacing surface of the terminal receiving ports to receive the terminal (abrasive surface, page 2 line 30 to page 3 line 2), wherein the terminal is scoured upon moving the terminal receiving port about the terminal (page 4 lines 20-25). Regarding claim 5, the abrasive cleaning component comprises an abrasive surface (surface of 24, page 2 line 30 to page 3 line 2).
Girolstein teach a cleaning tool for cleaning electrical sockets (Abstract, paragraph [0008]) and specifically teaches that it is known to construct the tool from an insulating material such as plastic, so that the tool is electrically insulating to protect a user from electric shocks (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cleaning tool of Van Dyke et al. so that the receiving ports additionally include a rotatable terminal receiving port capable of receiving a DC terminal while inserting the plug fitting into the charging socket, as taught by Snelling, so that the cleaning tool can be used to clean both female and male electrical terminals and by providing a cleaning surface designed for cleaning a DC terminal pin, and further it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to construct the entire tool including the receiving ports from an insulated material, as taught by Girolstein, so that a user is protected from electrical shocks when cleaning.
Claim(s) 6, 10-13, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dyke et al., US 8,627,534 in view of Thompson et al., US 8,146,241.
Regarding claims 6 and 10, Van Dyke et al. disclose the claimed invention including a cleaning tool (215) for scouring a terminal of a charging socket of an electric vehicle comprising (Abstract): a plug fitting extending outwardly from a terminal side of a connecting interface to be removably received by the charging socket (plug fitting comprises the unlabeled leftward extending portions of 220 as shown in Figure 2, the connecting interface includes the rightmost portion of 220), further comprising: stationary terminal receiving ports (port regions adjacent 230 that correspond to sockets 210, Figure 2 and column 3 lines 38-43 and 56-61), the terminal is scoured upon moving the terminal receiving ports relative to the terminal (column 2 lines 5-15), an abrasive cleaning component provided by an interfacing surface of the terminal receiving ports (225, column 4 lines 40-44, abrasive enough to remove dirt, dust, moisture/water), and wherein the connecting interface comprises an operator side facing away from the terminal side (Figure 2, rightmost side of 220). Regarding claim 11, the abrasive cleaning component further comprises an abrasive surface (surface of 225). Regarding claims 12-13, the abrasive cleaning component further comprises bristles (Figures 7 and 9-10), the bristles are angled at and least partially scour the terminal relative to a rotation direction (embodiment of Figure 10). Regarding claim 15, the stationary terminal receiving ports (port regions adjacent 230 that correspond to sockets 210, Figure 2 and column 3 lines 38-43 and 56-61) are capable of corresponding to a control pilot terminal and a proximity pilot terminal of the charging socket (the claims are drawn to the cleaning tool that works on a charging socket, the tool of Van Dyke et al. is capable of cleaning a control pilot terminal and a proximity pilot terminal; MPEP 2115 states: “Claim analysis is highly fact-dependent. A claim is only limited by positively recited elements. Thus, "[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims." In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); see also In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935).”).
Van Dyke et al. fails to disclose an operatively connected handle extending outwardly form an operator side of the connecting interface away from the plug setting.
Thompson et al. teach a tool for working with an electrical connector of a vehicle (100, Title), the tool has a plug fitting extending outwardly from a terminal side of a connecting interface (at 125, Figures 1 and 3-4) and an operatively connected handle extending outwardly from an operator side of the connecting interface away from the plug fitting (105, Figures 1 an 3-4). Regarding claim 16, the operatively connected handle further comprises finger grips (115, Figure 1) so that a user’s hand does not slip during use (column 3 lines 24-28).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the connecting interface of the cleaning tool of Van Dyke et al. to operatively connect a handle having finger grips extending outwardly from an operating side away from the plug fitting, as taught by Thompson et al., so that a user can conveniently grasp the cleaning tool in a non-slip manner.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steen, US 9,543,723 in view of Girolstein, US 2023/0378704.
Regarding claim 14, Steen discloses all elements previously recited above, however fails to disclose that the operatively connected handle, the connecting interface, and the plug fitting are constructed using insulated material. Note, the tool of Steen is intended to clean electric terminals of trailer light harnesses (Abstract).
Girolstein teach a cleaning tool for cleaning electrical sockets (Abstract, paragraph [0008]) and specifically teaches that it is known to construct the tool from an insulating material such as plastic, so that the tool is electrically insulating to protect a user from electric shocks (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the entire tool of Steen including the connected handle, the connecting interface, and the plug fitting from an insulated material, as taught by Girolstein, so that a user is protected from electrical shocks when cleaning.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art made of record discloses, teaches, or suggests the invention of claims 3-4 and 7-9, specifically wherein a rotatable terminal receiving port passes through the connecting interface to extend outwardly on the terminal side to a terminal end of the rotatable receiving port and to extend outwardly on the operator side to an operator end of the rotatable terminal receiving port; or a rotatable terminal receiving port passes through the connecting interface and extends outwardly from the operator side and the terminal side of the connecting interface.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4,740,169 to Gordon, US 2025/0057309 to Madnick et al., DE 102023004709 A to Warnke et al. (published May 2025) are each cleaning tools related to charging sockets of an electric vehicle or for electrical terminals.
/LAURA C GUIDOTTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723
lcg