DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed 1/21/2026 are entered.
Claims 1-6 are pending.
Claim 1 is independent.
Claim 1 is currently amended.
Claims 2-6 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
35 U.S.C. 102
Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior rejection of claims 1-6 under 35 U.S.C. 102(b) as being anticipated by Miu (US 2021/0216982 A1) have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the current amendment presented herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US 2021/0192508 A1) in view of Ramalingam (US 8,255,284 B1), further in view of Sohrab (WO 2013/098851 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Edwards discloses an augmented passport, comprising:
a substrate (see Fig. 4A, paras. 0050-0051);
information printed on or otherwise encoded on the substrate sufficient to enable a payor to lawfully enter a plurality of countries (see Figs. 1, 4A, 4B, paras. 0001, 0020); and
a payment device printed on or embedded within the substrate, the payment device being configured to generate payment signals in response to being scanned by an electronic scanning device at a border crossing to initiate a payment from an account associated with the payor to purchase a visa for entry into one of the plurality of countries based upon the augmented passport (see Figs. 1, 4A, 4B, paras. 0001, 0020; Note that the claim limitations “at a border crossing” and “to purchase a visa for entry into one of the plurality of countries based upon the augmented passport” are directed to intended use);
wherein the payment is initiated when aspects of the payment signals are compared to a predefined context associated with transactions stored in identification payment settings linked to the account associated with the payor (see para. 0042).
Edwards does not explicitly disclose, but Ramalingam teaches a transaction automatically initiated at a border crossing for entry into one of the plurality of countries based upon the augmented passport (see cols. 14-15, ll. 51-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Edwards to include the feature of Ramalingam.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to reduce the friction associated with processing people entering a country (see Ramalingam cols. 14-15, ll. 51-9).
Edwards and Ramalingam do not explicitly disclose, but Sohrab teaches the transaction including a payment to purchase a visa (see pp. 14-15)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Edwards further to include the feature taught by Sohrab.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to assist a user in completing formalities associated with visa processing (see Sohrab, pg. 14).
Regarding claim 4, Edwards discloses wherein the payment device includes a radio-frequency identification (RFID) tag (see para. 0019).
Regarding claim 5, Edwards discloses wherein the payment device includes a near field communication (NFC) chip (see para. 0019).
Regarding claim 6, Edwards discloses wherein the payment device includes an integrated circuit (IC) chip (see para. 0019).
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Edwards (US 2021/0192508 A1) in view of Ramalingam (8,255,284 B1), further in view of Sohrab (WO2013098851 A1), further in view of Miu (US 2021/0216982).
Regarding claim 2, Edwards does not explicitly disclose, but Miu teaches an image of a face of the payor printed on or secured to the substrate (see Figs. 2 & 4, para. 0041-0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Edward further to include the feature of Miu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to provide identity attributes required by various standards (see Miu, para. 0041-0044).
Regarding claim 3, Edwards does not explicitly disclose, but Miu wherein the payment device includes a magnetic stripe (see Figs. 2 & 4, para. 0029, 0041-0044).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the product of Edward further to include the feature of Miu.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to enable use with physical readers (see Miu, para. 0029)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693