DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/2/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 8 under the Remarks “For example, although Walsh discloses the use of an antenna coil, Walsh does not teach or suggest that the purported Walsh “dock” (i.e., the combined headpiece connector 1412 and power/data connector 1414) is separately connected to both the purported Walsh “power supply” (i.e., power portion 1404) and the antenna coil. Instead, Walsh merely discloses that the antenna coil is used to "power the operations of the case and/or charge the case's on-board power supply." To the extent that one could potentially take the position that the Walsh antenna is connected to "dock" at all, the antenna is connected to the power/data connector 1414 by way of the "power supply," not "separately connected" as claimed. Additionally, there is no reason to modify the Walsh case so as to add a separate connection because no separate connection to the antenna is needed on the Walsh body worn case.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
First Walsh clearly discloses that the case may include an antenna and “may also include other power sources such as a rechargeable or primary battery”, see par. [0135]. Walsh also discloses that the “main portion 1402, power portion 1404 and control portion 1406 in the illustrated implementation are separate structural elements that may be physically and electrically connected (or ‘docked’), disconnected from one another, and re-connected.” (par. [0147]). Thus, the embodiment of Fig. 44 discloses a power supply 1404 that is separate from dock 1412, 1414 as it is removable/able to be disconnected. In a separate embodiment, the antenna 1010 is configured to charge the on-board power supply and can be used in conjunction with other power sources (par. [0135]). Since power supply 1404 can be removably coupled (disconnected from the dock) while the antenna stays within the dock, the combination established by Walsh provides for two power sources (an antenna and power supply 1404) that are separately connected to the dock. In other words, the dock is separately connectable to the antenna and power supply 1404. The rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 11 includes the limitation “means…for maintaining the position of the inductive coupled over the implant receiver”. Applicant’s specification never uses the term “means” and instead only describes a magnet that performs the function of maintaining the position of the headpiece transmitter over the implant. For the purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret this “means” as a magnet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Applicant amended claim 11 to include “means, associated with the inductive coupler, for maintain the position of the inductive coupler over the implant receiver”. However, Applicant’s specification never used the broad term “means” and only provides for a magnet for this function. The Examiner suggests amending the claim to recite only a magnet since the specification does not provides support for any broader disclosure commensurate in scope with “means”.
Claims 12-19 are rejected due to their dependence on Claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh et al. (2012/0041517).
Regarding Claims 1, 4 and 5, Walsh discloses a case having a main portion 1402; a cover 1442 moveable relative to the main portion such that the case has an open state and a closed state where the main portion and the cover define a storage area 1410 (par. [0148, 0154]; Fig. 44; a power supply 1404 (such as a rechargeable power supply, see par. [0149]) within the main portion; and a dock 1412, 1414 within the storage area, operably connected to the power supply and configured to dock the behind-the-ear processor unit (par. [0148]; Fig. 44). Walsh further discloses that the “main portion 1402, power portion 1404 and control portion 1406 in the illustrated implementation are separate structural elements that may be physically and electrically connected (or ‘docked’), disconnected from one another, and re-connected.” (par. [0147]). The embodiment of Fig. 44 does not include an inductive coupling. However, Walsh does disclose “Speech processor cases in accordance with the present inventions may be provided with an antenna coil, or equivalent structure, that that receives power through an inductive link from an external source. The power received may be used to power the operations of the case and/or charge the case's on-board power supply” (see par. [0121]) and further notes, in the embodiment of Fig. 26, “…a case 1000 in accordance with at least one of the present inventions that receives power to an antenna coil 1010 or equivalent structure through an inductive link 1020 from an external source 1030. The case 1000 may also include other power sources such as a rechargeable or primary battery as explained above with reference to FIG. 25. The inductive link 1020 provide operational power for the desired functions of a case of the present invention.” Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the embodiment of Fig. 44 of Walsh to include an inductive coupler operably connected to the power supply and the BTE unit, as taught more generally by Walsh in par. [011] and more specifically with the embodiment of Fig. 26, for the purpose of powering the operations of the case and/or charge the case's on-board power supply.
Since the combination provides that the power supply 1404 can be removably coupled (disconnected from the dock) while the antenna stays within the dock, the combination established by Walsh provides for two power sources (an antenna and power supply 1404) that are separately connected to the dock. In other words, the dock is separately connectable to the antenna and power supply 1404.
Regarding Claim 2, Walsh discloses the cover 1442 is separable from the main portion 1402 (see Fig. 45).
With regard to Claim 3, Walsh discloses the cover 1442 and main portion 1402 are connectable via a hinge 1444 (Fig. 47, par. [0154]).
Regarding Claim 6, Walsh discloses the main portion includes a charging port 1422, 1424 operably connected to power supply 1420 (Fig. 30).
In regard to Claim 7, Walsh discloses the main portion (case) can include a microphone (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 8, Walsh discloses the BTE unit includes a headpiece port 106b that is connectable to a headpiece connector 1412 (Fig. 44; par. [0148]) This would provide connection to any of the combination of power sources (antenna and/or rechargeable battery) as disclosed in the combination of Claim 1..
In regard to Claim 9, Walsh discloses the dock 1414 has contacts that can connect to respective contacts 1562 of BTE portion 116b (Fig. 42, 43; par. [0169]).
Claims 10-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walsh et al. (2012/0041517) in view of Lee et al. (2017/0239476).
Regarding Claims 10, 11, 14 and 15, Walsh discloses a case having a main portion 1402; a cover 1442 moveable relative to the main portion such that the case has an open state and a closed state where the main portion and the cover define a storage area 1410 (par. [0148, 0154]; Fig. 44; a power supply 1404 (such as a rechargeable power supply, see par. [0149]) within the main portion; and a dock 1412, 1414 within the storage area, operably connected to the power supply and configured to dock the behind-the-ear processor unit (par. [0148]; Fig. 44). Walsh further discloses that the “main portion 1402, power portion 1404 and control portion 1406 in the illustrated implementation are separate structural elements that may be physically and electrically connected (or ‘docked’), disconnected from one another, and re-connected.” (par. [0147]). The embodiment of Fig. 44 does not include an inductive coupling. However, Walsh does disclose “Speech processor cases in accordance with the present inventions may be provided with an antenna coil, or equivalent structure, that that receives power through an inductive link from an external source. The power received may be used to power the operations of the case and/or charge the case's on-board power supply” (see par. [0121]) and further notes, in the embodiment of Fig. 26, “…a case 1000 in accordance with at least one of the present inventions that receives power to an antenna coil 1010 or equivalent structure through an inductive link 1020 from an external source 1030. The case 1000 may also include other power sources such as a rechargeable or primary battery as explained above with reference to FIG. 25. The inductive link 1020 provide operational power for the desired functions of a case of the present invention.” Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the embodiment of Fig. 44 of Walsh to include an inductive coupler operably connected to the power supply and the BTE unit, as taught more generally by Walsh in par. [011] and more specifically with the embodiment of Fig. 26, for the purpose of powering the operations of the case and/or charge the case's on-board power supply.
The combination as disclosed by Walsh does disclose the use of magnets to align and secure components (par. [0160]) but does not disclose a magnet encircled by the inductive coupler (antenna). However, in the same field of endeavor as cochlear implants, Lee discloses providing a magnet 100 that is encircled by the antenna (inductive coupler) for the purpose of ensuring proper alignment and position of two coupling antennas (par. [0069]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Walsh reference to include a magnet encircled by an antenna, as taught and suggested by Lee, for the purpose of ensuring proper alignment and position of two coupling antennas.
Regarding Claim 12, Walsh discloses the cover 1442 is separable from the main portion 1402 (see Fig. 45).
With regard to Claim 13, Walsh discloses the cover 1442 and main portion 1402 are connectable via a hinge 1444 (Fig. 47, par. [0154]).
Regarding Claim 16, Walsh discloses the main portion includes a charging port 1422, 1424 operably connected to power supply 1420 (Fig. 30).
In regard to Claim 17, Walsh discloses the main portion (case) can include a microphone (par. [0126]).
Regarding Claim 18, Walsh discloses the BTE unit includes a headpiece port 106b that is connectable to a headpiece connector 1412 (Fig. 44; par. [0148]) This would provide connection to any of the combination of power sources (antenna and/or rechargeable battery) as disclosed in the combination of Claim 1..
In regard to Claim 19, Walsh discloses the dock 1414 has contacts that can connect to respective contacts 1562 of BTE portion 116b (Fig. 42, 43; par. [0169]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796